Dear ladies; all you need to wash your vagina is clean hands & water | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 September 2012

Dear ladies; all you need to wash your vagina is clean hands & water

This is according to a LIB reader who says she's a gynaecologist.
Hello Linda, I am a gynaecologist and I need you to pass a message to your female readers. Warning Ladies! Do not use soap to wash your vagina. Don't use anything at all. It's self-cleaning. The discharge you get through out the day? That's how the vagina cleans itself. Using soap will only put you at higher risk of developing irritation or infection. Using warm water and clean hand is enough. Discharge cleans out dirt and dead cells. The vagina is also acidic so kills off harmful bacteria while allowing healthy bacteria to thrive. You don't need to clean your vagina, just your vulva but you do this with water only! Soaps, washes, wipes are potentially harmfully and may kill off healthy bacteria! Bear in mind that your vagina/vulva is made up of mucosa - like skin but without the top protective layer. Mucosa is sensitive so more prone to irritation from chemicals in soaps &washes. All you need to wash your vagina is clean hands & water!

328 comments:

1 – 200 of 328   Newer›   Newest»

She is extremely right but most of you will be too stubborn to agree.
There are many useful bacteria in there and soap can kill them off

http://www.wikihow.com/Wash-Your-Vagina

@ivieayo said...

I'm a final year medical student and I agree with this completely. I only wash with water and I've never had an infection. We see more problems in the clinic with women who douche and use all sorts of 'cleansers'.

Ye she is right. ur gp always advises to use just water.

True @ what d gyna said,clean water is enough.. Soaps are harmful,especially medical and antiseptic soaps

Hmmmmm....intrestin..

Dis is confusing. Can someone atleast use baby wipe?

Madam gynaeo abeg, using a mild soap to wash d exterior part of the vagina is a normal thing to do. U shld advise those putting their hand inside d vagina(interior) part. Cos that's d one dats dangerous,they use soap and all dz fem fresh for stuff like that and it's deadly. But as for washing d normal outter part of it, it's not wrong. Thanks n God bless. Linda pls post my comment

Layo said...

Well this is true, however if you are not comfortable with not using soap you can use soap that isn't scented as they are not so harsh or even natural goat milk soap. These are usually very mild.

When I went for my doctor's appointment last week, my doctor informed me the same information, so ladies don't watch ur Vigaga with soap pls it's can cause bacteria ....I had the same issue

Yep. It's actually healthier to wash with just water. Had a health week in my school. And a gynaecologist also said the same thing.

LOL. It's people like her that keeps ladies vag smelling like fish

Heard about it before and knew someone that practiced it. She used to do it minimum of twice everyday.

Linda am surprised u don't knw dis already! Use perfumed talc powder around de area but not inside if u want to smell nice.

I've been washing my vee jay jay for years with only water for years. Saved the money I used to spend on feminine washes. It really is healthier,you should try it. And i have had no issues...+ my boyfriend doesnt complain so i must be doing something good!

She does not know what she's talking about, water only no, omo detergent no...

Ladies, don't use have soap, but you can use a gentle soap or baby soap / baby wash...

Michael says..
Khai, this one pass man to comment on but will watch carefully how the females respond to this.
Nice one Linda for bringing some health issues into your blog. But don't bring penis washing issue next abeg. Na omo detergent we de use :)

But the smell put off men

Please ur gyno needs to be more informative, some women have bacterial odor in which water and hands can't cure. Moisture, yeast infection causes odor. Multiple sex partners can cause odor where did she get her degree from? Mushin market? There are soaps that the ph level is very low so it can be used to cleanse the vj

lol the boys will laugh at us heheh! The honest truth is that these medical people always scream "use only water and a clean hand" but the truth is it will smell! we are human, if that place is not well taken care of , it will stink! i use very mild soap and warm water and i always ensure i wear panty liner daily! i shower twice daily and do not wear panties to bed so that area can breath!i also prefer a very low shave in that region!
My own take o!

This is very true..I keep telling my friends, but out of over-sabi and forming clean' they'll be washing with soap. The vagina is self-cleansing, d one that irritates me is all those vagina wash they use. Continue making ur vagina a breeding ground for infections. Thnx doc

R said...

It sounds counter intuitive but its true. Soaps affect the pH of the vagina and causes it to have fishy odor.

janded said...

Vagisil and the likes are good. No?

NEKS said...

Hehehe..its too late to try to change me now..I like to hear dat clean,squeaky sound when I wash mine(My apologies 2 d sensitiv peeps)..and I feel dat wld only come from using water and oda tnzzzz..mayb some oda LIBers will obey..;-)

Yaay!! My first tym of commenting nd I'm d 1st,thanks for the advice.

deekay said...

Last line says AND SOAP! So which one is it?

Using just water seems boring ........please don't remind me before I get carried away ^_^

So you mean after sex all you need to wash is the vulva? What about the stinking sticky sperm inside? Ugh!

California love. said...

Pucy wey go smell go smell if you like use Klein or kerosine or even all the feminine wash on earth. Some mature clean babes outside their puccy smells down there plus all their effizy and every. Some village timid girls pucy clean pass most international and city ladies and thEy will carry "always" pads inbetween their legs dey do shakara for road like say all is well. Women sha lol.. So the doctor is right.

deekay said...

Please advice them to use wipes jor...esp when she's only jst had one shower the whole day, and esp in naija.....No wonder some guys dont go down on women...oops!

Udo said...

I am a guy and he is right, the girls that have clean punanis dont use soap, and the exes I dated tasted SO GOOD.and I am not a gynecologist. ;)

Illiterate Linda. Soap is bad for that place please. If you must, use vaginal wash. It's soapless but like soap. You and your Mushin mentality.

UNA MENNNNN, YOU HAVE FORGOTTEN THE OTHER OPTION, WHAT IF WE CLEAN WITH LONG AND BIG TONGUE, IS THERE ANY HARM ?
LINDAAAAAAA ABEG POST.

kyia said...

Thank goodness she posted this. I am a female who has smell "down there". I am very obsessed with my body. I clean several times a day. I do not douche cos I have very bad yeast infections but I do clean with very mild soap and wash as often as I can. I have seen different gynos and been tested for all types of STD's. Still no cure. I went online and there are women out there like me that have had the smelly problem for years and there is no cure. Maybe the water and hand regimen will work but what about the assole?

Fatimah said...

Yes you can, just to keep it dry after cleaning. Linlin, na im you don hear so, no soap!

If your fear is vaginal odour, make sure your vagina is always dry (clean with tissue/baby wipes) and wash the outer region and your anal area with toilet soap. Don't let the soap trickle into your V area o. Btw, thanks gyn!

jbaby said...

nna ehn, how will i not wash my pucci? Aldoe i use mild soap, how will i feel it neat enuf?

i heard this months ago, and ive been doing this, so all ladies should also try to,

"Watch" "Vigaga" ahh lobatan

Ya I concur..I had severe vagina infection which frustrated me quite a long time that I had to travel outside the country for treatment. The gynaecologist over dere jst told me to wash with plenty water and over time I will ok. That was how I became ok

Truth is 2 some xtent dis is true if u use soap make sur u use mild soap not harsh soap or better still der r vaginal washes dt cleanse nd dnt harm ur vagina

I remember saying this to some corpers few years back and the reply I got was tufiakwa.A lot of ladies are so ignorant of this. The gyneacologist should also explain what happens on red coloured days?

This may seem like a no brainer -- keep healthy to keep a healthy vagina. For this you need to minimize sugar intake, and maximize yogurt intake. Why yogurt? Simple, really. The bacteria in your vagina is a certain type that is in only a couple of foods that you can find in the grocery store. It just so happens, though, that yogurt contains good bacteria called acidophilus. Sugar, meanwhile, promotes the type of bacteria that the yogurt bacterias, if you will, try to kill off. So, as said before, minimize sugar, and maximize yogurt, sugar-free preferably.
Keep yourself clean. A large cause of infections happen simply because sweat or oils built up until there was nothing for it to do except fester and form an infection. Never fun. So bathe and shower regularly, and try and keep "down there" as clean as possible, without using a douche. Douches clean too much-- they take away some of the bad bacteria, but then they also take away massive amounts of the good bacteria. Unfortunately, the bad bacteria builds itself up, and you're worse off than before. Douching can also lead to increased inflammation (vaginitis). 1. A simple washcloth, with a small amount of mild unscented soap and water works fine, but do not wash inside. 2. The vagina is constantly flushing itself. So allow it to work the way it was designed.
Use condoms! Condoms, while helping to protect you against pregnancy, also help keep your vagina clean. Having unprotected sex often can lead to vagina problems as well as the obvious pregnancy and STDs.
Use dental dams and gloves If you receive oral sex or are being fingered.
Wear cotton underwear. Cotton is very breathable, if you will, and allows the vagina to get air circulating around it. This helps to keep things from building up "down there", and also helps maintain good skin around the vagina area.
Take out your old tampons. Leaving a tampon in your vagina too long, more than six hours, is a very bad idea. It can cause a toxic syndrome (TSS), as well as some very disgusting build up. Use smaller size and change sooner. Changing out pads often is also a good idea-- leaving a pad on too long can cause serious irritation to the skin on and around the vagina like diaper rash! So keep the diaper rash at bay, and change your pad throughout the day.
Avoid sprays and scented soaps. Actually, try and avoid soaps "down there" as much as possible. They can get caught in the crevices of the vagina and fester. And you have an infection of the vagina in no time at all. Sprays and scented soaps, though, are more damaging, as they are designed to leave a bit behind-- the scent, and you don't want anything left on the skin of your vagina at all. Soaps and bubble baths can also worsen vaginal dryness.
Visit your gynecologist regularly. Only your doctor can accurately diagnose any problems you may be having. If you do suspect anything at all, call and make an appointment as soon as you can.
Rinse Well. While showering or taking a bath, rinse your vagina with lots of water, especially if you use soap. Rinsing will help remove any "build-up, discharge, etc" It will also give you that fresh scent, but if you have extra discharge or build-up, like the above step says see your gynecologist. Tnx linda fr allowing me to share this as well.. Amanda Ojeh

jbaby said...

abeg what if she is on her period? What can i do? What if dat place start oozing?

you women should get a room. i just had my lunch:(

yinka said...

Pls mine smells a lot,yet I use feminie spray n wash*d smell tho*

You can wash around the vagine and of course the nook and crannies but not inside the vagine with the soap. Douching is a BIG no no and I heard naija babes douche like mad

@ivieayo said...

Sigh. I don't know why Nigerians act like this. These are simple facts that every woman should know. I wash with only water and I'm certain my vagina does not smell!

pls tell dem dat insertin finger into dere vaginal is so unhealthy too

ibere said...

Please i also have a constant bad smell down yonder and haven't had sex in like 3 yrs. Also have no std's. water alone cannot stop the smell o. Any other suggestions

sexylove said...

She is very right!! I asked my g.p sometime ago too and she said its best to use water only, dat bacteria thrives on the surface of the vagina wen u use soaps and vagina washes, and it disturbs the original environment of the vagina, so me I just use water only o, lol

lee jones said...

i will be surprised if ladies are not aware of that by now,cos even as a guy read that sometime ago. the reason is that it affects the pH balance of the vagina hence increases offensive odor of the vagina.

Truth is every vagina has its unique smell (nt bad though) and this is a fact...but when it starts to smell like fish or flower, sumtin is deftly wrong. U shd wash only d vulva(outer part of vagina) with water, nt touchn the vagina. Any dirt insyd, mucor and maybe sperm residues would be swept outside by d healthy bacteria working endlessly in the vagina. Just wash betweek the labia lips carefully, and raise the hood on the clitoris and rinse well...u'd be fyn...if ur still bothered abt the asshole, wash from the back wit soap not allowing the soap flow to the vulva. If ur vagina smells badly, see ur doc, you have an infection

Omg, hahahahah, na wa oh, how come gals av smelly punanis???? What is d cause????,pls ladies, ensure u wear panties made of cotton, it helps a lot,and if u av a odour around dat place, try to change ur panties @ least 2times everyday, avoid sleeping @ night wit ur pant,so dat fresh air can go in.stop dipping ur finger nails in2 ur virginal,u can carry bacteria in tru dat means #okbye# aunty Linda pls post my comment dis time oh, #ooOoh

Linda from the title of your post and the readers' comments I see terrible confusion. What the gynecologist said is true to the extreme - DO NOT WASH YOUR VAGINA AT ALL!!! YES - NEVER NEVER NEVER WASH IT - it causes terrible harm. But many readers and you Linda seem to confuse "vulva" with "vagina". You can wash your vulva but never the vagina. The vulva is the external part of the female genitalia, the vagina is the inner part. Linda, stop washing your vagina!

U dis california luv! U can write rubbish gan an!

I agree with the writer, my doctor detected something in my vagina when i went for check up and said was too much soap, any thing that has got fragrance, even sanitaries with fragrance., bath wash etc and i should stop if it is too much it will be harmful... so dear females soap and rest aint good for the vagina u might just be only lucky if you have no problem yet if you be using it all your life.

I still dnt understand how des generation think?? During d time of our parents,they never ever use vaginal wash or dounch, what ever it is called,they never had any issues, but dis generation, tufiakwa, is everything they see they use,hiss Use water only,

Heard dis b4 4rm ma Dr. Frnd too....She says even if its "femfresh" I dnt agree but truth b told no matter hw much we wash our V it till has "dis" smell.....so I guess they r rite but I can't s top using ma femfresh *big smile*

Why is it such a big deal. i have learnt this from secondary school. if you do not know by now, use ariel, jik and iron sponge. the ones that will obey will still obey. its a pretty straight forward message if you ask me. if you dont agree, consult ur native doctor.

anon 6.33pm is a stupid person.
I am a man.

happyhausabunny said...

I can't do witout washing down dere during my monthly period! It's a must! I jst try nt 2 use d wash too often afta d@. As 4 d@ period tym I will use n cont 2 use d wash!

Nice one amanda ojeh!

Honestly i love dis but pls what if smone dat experience discharge for long

iyawo said...

Vagina will always have a smell to it. There's nothing that will take that particular smell away.

The only thing we can do is, wash it as often as we can. I'm sorry, but I use wipes after peeing, and when I do number 2, meaning stool, I use water to wash myself. If I don't have access to water, I use tissue but I make sure I wash it with water whenever I get the chance.

I don't have major smell, just the regular smell. My husband doesn't complain, when he's down there, so it must not be that bad.

AJ said...

wow, amazing...A friend told me this today and I just typed this same question on Google...as in just some seconds ago and while it was loading, I came here and voila! answer already here...wow!

Anyway, wat of having bubble baths in tubs and soaking yourself in bath salts? doesnt the water 'sip' in? is that also dangerous?

LALICIOUS said...

Hehehehehehehehehehehe;!!!!!!! U killd me...choi;
I wash with unscented soap,,can't wash wiv just water...biko mba

So in ur mind, u know book...bigboy/girl.. But U be havard grad?

Nice 1 linda,also hear abt it. Bt ℓ also learnt dat eatin raw onion causes odour in U̶̲̥̅̊я vagina n many source confirm it...

tanx 4 d advise,i really feel so bad nw cos i do allow my boyfriend 2 finger me wit out evenin washin his hands let alone usin hand glove.

@yinka and Ibere, the only way you can control the foul smell is to treat the inside 1st.. Go for vagina swap and treat it then I assure u all will be history, avoid sex without condom the sperm causes foul smell esp when most of us don't know how to wash the inside and sleeps with more than one guy without condom.. Try this step 1st.. Amanda Ojeh

What about those who do not clean themselves up after urinating yet complain that their pussi smell. You must clean urself with atleast toilet paper each time you urinate if you must be clean.

If ur vajayjay smells fishy then u have an infection...get ur facts straight

and these are the same women that will be complaining about men not going down on them, please tell me how any right thinking man can wrap his mind around going down on a vagina that flushes itself and is full of bacteria. SMH.

Mumu

It's sad how people display ignorance publicly. A trained professional gives an advise, and u say she doesn't know what she is saying. I'm a Microbiologist, lifestyle of microorganisms is my area. Water and Clean hands is all u need to avoid complications down there. The normal flora (good bacteria) of the vagina was put there by God to help stop d bad ones. So when they are washed away, the vagina becomes prone to infection by the bad ones. Pls ladies try it for your safety.

Beauty said...

@ Kyia: You may have bacteria vaginosis....It just an overgrowth of bad bacteria, you should go to a pharmacy or to see a doctor to inform you about available medications for it.

In my opinion, most ladies use soap because that's what we've known to work all our lives. I would feel weird not washing with soap, but I use un-scented, mild soap and wash gently with my hand in the shower. Sometimes the weather gets too hot for us not to wash with soap, and its worse for women who don't shave down there (which I don't believe you should shave completely, but that's another topic). Just do whatever makes you comfortable, but be sure not to over-do or under-do. :)

Linda, please post my comment

sexy22 said...

this is true, i do this and my vajayjay stays ok if i use soap, i get thrush, but when i told a friend,she said i wasnt taking care of it well, so i stopped telling girls to use just water....some girls like acting like they know it all, so i dont talk about it again..

Flakkie said...

Well ladies, pussy thens to smell especially when you work around in the hot sun and you pee n clean with tissue. Idealy, you should rinse with water. Also wearing a panty liner might help absorb the moisture. When you're home after work, do take a shower and dont wear any pant. That place needs some air. Occasionatly, you can have a smelly infection which could be caused by the detergent you use to wash you undies. So you can pop Difflucan or Canestean. But generally, if you keep yourself neat, as possible ,especially after peeing, use water, you should be fine.

Had slept with a guy once and he told me that i was very neat with no odours. I ask him to explain and he said some ladies, immediately you pull their panties the whole room stinks of smelly pussy!!! Eeeewwww, yea, that why you have to stay neat.

BIBI said...

bt wot of using alum na? n wey r all d male commenters na? dis one pass dia power. even bonario who no de miss 2 comment on any post.

It's funny how Linda puts this up today coz for the past couple of days, I've been doing my research and they all say the same thing. Wat baffles me now is they advise against usuage of pantiliners on a regular. Wetin man go do now coz I can't remember the last time I stayed without using pantiliners, hate any discharge on my panties. Another thing is try to keep ur bush/forest (watever u call it)clean ie cleanly shaved as this will also help to eradicate the odour. Whenever u visit the loo, always wash afterwards. All in all, I support the motion that says water and your hands do a very good job coz I can safely say I'm odourless down there. *wink*wink*. P.S. Linlin, abeg post my comment oh

~Sirius~ said...

What you eat has a lot to do with smell as well. Most ladies use all sorts of things in the name of cleaning down there not knowing it causes more harm than good. Then every other week you see them buying canestine.

u r so very on point, I do dat also n am so used 2 d daily panty liner tingy. Most esp I use water 2 clean up afta every pee n I dry up n use a fresh liner. No soap @ all.

Ola said...

This is very true and I'm so glad someone brought this topic up.i tell people,do not use perfumed soap or some vaginal spray or whatever.it doesn't help it smell fresh,it only increases infection.awon olodo.

God bless u oooooooo. Haba?

Been using water for years n it works!

LMAO!!!! *WHEWWW*

See wetin vagina don cause o.. i pity the men reading this sha...

Wow! Amanda, thanx for tht. You seem to be very knowledgeable abt this. Do u knw anything about spotting? Please enlighten me. Thanx

White pearl said...

Nice topic..thumbs up lindodo

linda so a whole u that i use to tink u are a big girl to d core dnt even knw that u dnt use soup inside ur virgina too?that means u must hv had alot of infections cos d vigina is too sensitive,i hv always kwn that anyways thanks.

Chaiiiiiii God bless you for this your comment especially about Linda.thank you.

Thanks linda for this,tell them,there are people that can't jes hear any thing,I am glad that even the people that are claiming to know it all now will get the result of what they did today,gracias mi senorita lina,y medico/gyno,muchas gracias a todos.

Ladies, I wash my pusy by rinsin wit just water bfor I start scrubin my body wit sponge, den as d bath continues, I scrub d pussy (outer) gently wit sponge and soap concentratin on d corner, d hood of my clit, den I rinse, den I also use Savlon, yes ladies, savlon is very VERY good in washin d pussy.(My mom told me dis)I've used it and my dear una nor go leave am if una begin use am.

nini said...

Ladies, if u feel clean water is not enuff to wash up wat u've got down der, apple cider vinegar is d way to go. U can use it once or 2ce a week to wash the internal and external part of ur veejayjay. Just add like 2 lid fulls to a 2litre bowl of water. Apple cider vinegar is good for douching and also replenishes the good bacteria down der like natural yogurt and garlice would.

This is a very correct piece of advice. For ladies who suffer from vaginal odour, try a one time treatment of douching with a spoon of 3% hydrogen peroxide thinned with 3-4 spoons of clean water. Also increase your intake of milk yoghurt (from real milk, not powder). It increases the probiotic content of the stomach flora, which positively influences the production of helpful bacteria in the vagina, among other places. Inserting a tampon soaked in yoghurt up the vagina for up to 4 hours can also help milden the odour for a day.
You will notice a major difference after about 1 week.

My own set of vajayjay bacteria are soap resistant. So my honey coated "kini" is doing great.. Thank you :)

See who dey talk?which degree u get?am sure its definitely not medicine related.d gyn is 100% correct.its healthier to wash wit jst water n clean hands.soap ll not remove odour from a vagina.d soaps can alter d ph n normal flora there hence it goes odourous.my name is ninalove

For the ladies who complained about having "smell" or itch under there and are unable to treat it using the regular medicine, simply but natural yoghurt (white without the flavor or sugar etc added), keep it cold in the fridge then when about to go sleep, apply it to a tampon or cotton wool and insert it into your vagina.You can do this for 2-3 day or longer, but the good news is that your problem will be treated in no time.

God Bless.

but wait is dis virgina tightner soup involve?cos i hv been using that for lk 2yrs nw and is working for me cos it mks me very tight and keeps my man at home always pls is that wrong too?cos i use it to wash both inside and outside of my virgina?pls someone should talk to me.

Vigaga abi ooo lobata

its sad to see how many of us ladies don't know this. I personally had loads of outbreaks when i kept on using soap to wash my vagina. Not until when my gp told me to stop. since then i've not had any bad symptoms what so ever or outbreaks.Plus i still smell fresh and clean. Also for ladies who keep having episodes of thrush, you using soap might just be the problem. Give up the soap and starting using your hands and water!

Amanda.mrs copy cat.

Thrs sumfin kald Yeast and good bacteria in d vagina, d yeast could b harmful 2d vaginal if d good bacteria is not present! Washin d vagina wid soaps can kil dis good bacteria and allows yeast to thrive! And wen yeast thrives, u strt getin vaginal odour,coloured discharges n wot av u! Also 4dos dat spray perfs on dia pants, dis is also veri dangerous n risky cus dis perfs,spray n deodorant interupts d normal ph of d vaginal, d same gos 4 gurls dat use pads dat coms wid smell of perfumes.. If u are really clean down thr,u wil get neat discharges dat smells like honey..even durin ovulation.. So therfore, clean water,clean hands and eatin lots of fruits is all u nid 2 mk u smell gud down thr.. Also abstain frm alocohol,garlic,ginger.. Dey mk u smell bad beneath..

Deczy

Amana miss copy cat.copy and paste pro

This true, bt nt dt easily 2 abide by cos dere is ds mentality of feeln clean wen u use soap.

olufunmi said...

ok adding to that some of the reason d vagina smell is bcos u use soaps! its simple use water 4 a week and see how well it wprks! also wen u dnt shave that also causes some really bad odor .. so shave every 3-4 days wth b4 and after shave. there are dermatological tested soaps that yoy can use aswell which are made wth d normal acidic ph of d vagina... so if u can get those ones den u can use dme but never use bar soap!!!

what do u do if your on ur period???

abeggggii!! forget that gist meehn...

ive been washing my pum for 23 years with soap NO PROBLEMS and I will continue to do so

pls linda i want to ask a question about dis odour of a ting coming out of d vagina i hv neve had any odour coming out of my virgina only a day my boyfriend came inside me and that day i percieved odour for lk 2days, after that i hv neve had any odour of any kind again frm my vagina and my guy has neve cm inside me again,anytime u touch me u wil neve percieve anything even if i dnt bath for 6months u wount percieve any odour and my boyfriend praise me alot for that but i wnt to ask if is ok or is a woman discharge suppose to hv smell?

I do put my middle finger wen washing my vagina,is anything wrong wit it? Pls I need to kn

WOMEN WHO HV VIRGINA ODOUR ARE WOMEN WHO HV FREQUENT ROUGH SEX COS IS ONLY SPERM THAT PASSES D NIGHT IN D VIRGINA THAT SMELL IF NT NO WOMAN IS BORN WT VIRGINA ODOUR.

Michael says..
Khai, this one pass man to comment on but will watch carefully how the females respond to this.
Nice one Linda for bringing some health issues into your blog. But don't bring penis washing issue next abeg. Na omo detergent we de use :)

Is it ok to use water that has dettol in it to wash the vagina and inside the vagina?

LMFAO!!!!!

LoolZ ode :P

Hi kyia, try original olive oil-you can put a little quantity and freeze it (this is just to make it harden and easy to use) otherwise use it straight up, then apply a pinch to your vagina and your vulva and even your anus once or twice a day and you will not smell anything anymore all day long trust me you will smell so fresh. Meanwhile wash before hand with just water NO SOAP. P.S: this works for those who are naturally dry down there too. Linda pls post cos it might help one ot two people.

Ibere it cud b toilet infection..
jus c a pharmacist..

Deczy

Istanboi said...

Hehehe...dis one pass my powr o

What a world of women...am speechless,bt plsss ladies take 2 d advice...make una no form abeg,bcos if u refuse d guys will b avoidn u and even if u stay 4rm .....till marriage,u will make ur hus 2 b unfaithful....a stitch in time,dey say saves nine.

Pls sister, dnt b stubborn witout gud reason wen it comes 2 ur health. B rational. Try it first. Shave d headquarter, let it air, n try washin wit just water 4 sum days b4 u judge.

Nkechi said...

i was with cold water and natural plain yoghurt never had problems and smell fresh all day

Don't worry we, men, dey use mouth wash am for them these days. I think that works better because the chemical on our tongue is better than soap.

Hi ladies, If you are concerned with getting rid of any unpleasant odor get a Brazilian wax (to remove all the hair from your entire genital region). Also make sure you get rid of the hair around your anal area. Hair tends to hold on to sweat, pee and fecal residue which can make the area smelly. Waxing keeps you hair free for approx. 3weeks, this makes it easier to wash with just water and not worry about any smell...You will be amazed at how much cleaner you will feel. I get my waxing done myself using Brazilian hard wax in the comfort of my own home but this is not advisable for beginners. Find a clean spa you can trust if you can't do it yourself. It may be painful at first but you'll get used to it and the benefits are worth it. If you are sexually active, you'll love how waxing really increases the sensation, plus it makes oral sex easier...for a lot of women, this may lead to your first multiple orgasm ;)

These days we clean them up with our tongues that works better. Eating pussy cleans it better cos the chemical on the tongue is stronger than soap.

Don't worry we, men, dey use mouth wash am for them these days. I think that works better because the chemical on our tongue is better than soap.

Ok. Not sure how true this is but I have always washed with soap and I ve also NEVER had a virgina infection! I think as long as u r not actually opening "evrything" then u'll be fine!

Lool neks ur vjayjay is in trouble not ours! :P.. Squeaky sound kwa?

Mtschewwwww! If den open one b4 u now, u go troway ur lunch follow abeg shut up wile we dey discuss serious life issues.

See as dem dey talk 'wash' like say na motor dem dey wash. What happened to 'clean'?

=)) Hªª=)) hªª=)) hªª

Yea the gyne ℓ̊s very right ℓ̊, battles with infection for almost 2 yrs not knowing ɑ̤̈̊♍ †̥h̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊ cause of it cause ℓ̊ wash wish soap,dettol water,tcp all I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ †̥h̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊ name of freshness until ℓ̊ meet ɑ̤̈̊ gyne game ♏ε̲̣ some medications and adviced ℓ̊ wash with water only 3 yrs running now ₪☺t ɑ̤̈̊ single infection down dere and ♏Ɣ bobo ℓ̊s always ☺n it now more than ever wink

That is quite true. There is a lot girls do not know. I have been reading this girl's blog here: http://lotusfemme.tumblr.com/

Warri Girl said...

Ok, this is true.but can u take ur bath without soap getting there?

Professor X said...

O_O

Lol @ sticky sperm.If u think it stinks why do u allow it to be deposited inside u?

Ask dis bushgirl called Linda o. Acting all shocked to hear about water only. This infor has been out there since time immemorial

VAGINA TEACHER.....
i knw its hard to bliv 4 sumpipu dat dere vagina is suffering frm very porous odours sum pipu use b29,,harpic,,bleach and so on,,buh d safer way is WATER..AF TALK MY OWN NOW OH...

Of cos u r not! It will take a very BRAVE Gynaecologist to go down on a woman! Lol! Not with all their know abt dat region.

Just use Clean Water and clean hands and you will be fine.thanx

ChiChiLuv said...

Anonymous said...September 11, 2012 6:47 PM

What in the hell are you talking about? People are having healthy discussion about important issues and you are talking about "get a room" and your damn lunch. Please, how old are you? There are many people here who probably could use this information personally or to send to someone else. You could have skipped this particular post, you know?

What do you need the guys for now, on this subject matter?

I am shocked that a lot of ladies don't know this, that water is the only thing to use in washing your vigina. I have a colleague that uses soap and sponge and sticks d soapy sponge in her V in d name of keeping it clean I don talk I don tire.

Ahmed said...

It's true, but some ladies need surgical gloves, gas mask, washing powder, bleach, Dettol, vinegar and holy water to wash their vagina.

lol

Rosellar said...

So why are feminine washes for 'this region' produced at all? Please was the outside with soap/wash and leave d inside to 'self-wash' itself!

True talk but if u must use soap, make sure its d regular toilet soap and not medicated or antiseptic

It's pple like u who don't listen to good advice and use soap that ends up havin BV(bacteria vaginosis) and dts when ur vag smells like fish!

Linda pls listen. Don't fall ur own hand with 'open eye' o! You DONT need soap. I used to be obsessed with using soap to clean my vagina in secondary school. My sister would beg me to stop but over-sabi wouldn't let me hear. I was getting all forms of colored discharge and masking smells with baby powder. When I got fed up with the smell, I decided to try my sisters 'no soap' and I haven't turned back since. That aw 10 yrs ago. Pls try it for a week at least. I hope u rinse ur vagina with water after every pee...a.k.a tamba. I know some chicks feel its 'local' and think tissue alone is sufficient. Tissue is for drying, Water is for cleaning!

coolant said...

Am S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ happy ♡̷̴̬̩̃̊ ave learn sumtin to nite

So damn right....I concur.and for pple douching,stop abeg

Iv hadd the same problem its called BV bacterial Vaginosis, you need antibiotics to clear the smell tell ur pharmacist, to give u antibiotics for BV, I used to get the smell n I wud wash wth soap to try n clear n no change it untill my doc told me that it is the soap that is causing it, and oh yea only cotton panties to allow ur vagina to breathe,now I have been smell free for years, apperantly some women are just extra sensitve

If u smell after washing with water,then u have a problem.vajeje has itz own natural smell so ur guy should get used to that

true but for people who insists, do not use ordinary soap. There are intimate wash that can be used. buy at any supermarket.the original ones o. check out these link

http://www.girlslovestyle.com/12-basic-rules-for-womens-intimate-hygiene/ and

- olah

yes i live in uk and my doctor told me the same thing.

You should stop cleaning so much, maybe you should have a pap/smear test done and stop shaving all the hair down dere. Douching is wrong,u should neva douche. But I think you should buy ORIGINAL canesten insertable tablets.

I agree, linda pls stop using soap o b4 irritatn/infection go start ...

Anon 6.27 is definitely linda ikeji lol. I can feel her style of writing

Ewww. X_X can't watch.

Haba read well na,she said u cn wash ur vulva whic is d outer part,abi u dnt knw d diffrnce btwn vulva n vagina ni *eyesrolling*

Vagina is the internal, vulva is external.
You can use soap to wash the vulva area and the area between the labia. Don't use antibacterial soaps or anything strong.
The Vagina is the one that you should leave. Some ladies insert their fingers inside their VJJ and clean with soap. That is very wrong.

Some ladies will totally stop washing down there with soap. No! Wash the external with soap, and rinse well, but don't be inserting fingers trying to clean out (what are you looking for). Neither should you use douche.

Dlapikin said...

Linda, she is actualy right. All those fragance filled vaginal wash and douches will actually increase your risks of infection. And while you think your pussy will be smelling like roses it will actually stink later on. Just drink plenty of water everyday and wash your bottom with regular clean water and clean hands. Also after using the ladies room, wipe your ass front to back and never back to front you may actually bring some bacteria from your anus to your vagina.

You always walk in the spirit Lin don't you? Thanks for bringing this up. Battled with an infection for weeks...until my GP attributed it to the antibiotics I used a while ago(treating flu)and feminine wash I've been using on daily basis...why I was using the feminine wash I still don't know cos my vjayjay doesn't..I repeat, doesn't smell..lol..I smell anything from 500meters away so you can imagine..gp said the same thing...water and clean hands..fortunately I can guarantee both! However, what bothers me is...what happens when you're on your period? and after? Any man 'bold' enough to go down on your after your wash-with-water-only therapy...will he live long to tell the story or jus quietly quit the 'eat-all-u-can' club?? *juscurios. Men come out jor...y have you all gone MIA??? Tell us abt your bad experiences..keep up the good work linlin. Misolr

Mims said...

I thought this was common knowledge but apparently not based on some silly comments I am reading. Ladies do your research now! You don't need to wash and scrub your vagina. It is naturally self-cleaning. Warm water and your hands are quite enough. I'm a living witness to that. I was used to using just water until I tried FemFresh and got a bad infection. No be pesin tell me before I started doing what's right for my feminine health. Ladies, knowledge is power!!

Isa Otu no be jokeooo!! U learn it frm childhood.A womans pride is her pussy so it must always remain fresh, especially for her man to eat it regularly. Otu Isi kills desire ppl! Pls ladies saaa Otu Unu Mmiri with clean hands!!Ladies wash ur pussy with clean hands!!

i provide professional vagina washing services for gals btw 18-40. we guys detest smelly vagees,not fun..more like nightmare...so call us on 0805641.......you'l be glad you did

Ladies saaa Otu Unu Mmiri with clean Hands so I can eat that pussy!Just ate a clean, juicy, pussy b4 I bumped into this story! Yummmy!

Now that you've seen ur comment I bet u knw better...*tongue out* lol

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Jmaxx says ; This sounds true to some extent, it baffles me how some big girls will be forming yet when u fuck them the whole room will be smelling like rotten ice fish. In PH we call them ffb (fru fru belle) and when the wash they use disinfected water and medicated soaps like tetmosol and tcp
Jmaxx

Bullshit! U need soap to wash away the urine left behind. Plus that part of your body has creases and you need to wash those creases with soap.

If she said you don't need to douche, I would support her, but not to wash with soap, she must be crazyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.

Ladies when ever a man eats ur pussy, demand maintenance cash! Chikena!!

Jmaxx says ; This sounds true to some extent, it baffles me how some big girls will be forming yet when u fuck them the whole room will be smelling like rotten ice fish. In PH we call them ffb (fru fru belle) and when the wash they use disinfected water and medicated soaps like tetmosol and tcp
Jmaxx

she is right. I am a nurse practitioner in the US and that is very true...the vagina cleans itself in that it is acidic and you only need soap and water finish!!!.. also cranberry juice is good for women too. it is good in preventing UTI's

Bola RN BSN MSN FNP-BC

I reside in the UK and was also told by a doctor not to use soap but just water to wash down there. I once had an infection and has since been using only water. I haven't had any infection since then.

very true, thanks Linda for this topic. My question is ''can i rinse too much?'' if am at home, whenever i pee or use the toilet, i rinse with water. Even if i pee five times, i'll still rinse for that five times cos i hate tissue unless am not @ home, but i don't douche. is it bad for me?

Hmmm ayama *throwingup* but waitoo she didn't specify if its rain,tap,spring,bottled,sachet,stream or well water. Plz ladies try add a little dettol coz some water are very poisonous.~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310.

I bet ur vagina smells

Dove is a non scented soap and can be used.

Are u dull?what is boring about just using water?

the post is sooo true!!!

If u r not married to the man,do wear a RUBBER!!!aka CONDOM.

I bet ur vagina smells

Ling! Ling! (in chinese voice) i was jst passn b4, when i heard or sawri, saw! D word Vijay jay nd am lyk neva turn ya back on a Vijay jay. Buh seriously, my opinion iz y nt make use of Hypo Bleach? I heard dat, dat bleach kan pa4m miracles. It nt a soap, douche or perfume or Vijay spray. Ling Ling! Na Nafdac dey certified Dicks nt Dicksnocologist or pricknocologist or Pen........U no d rest. April via my blackberry 3sims

ONOME says.......
She is 100% correct,but I guess the squeaky clean ladies no go gree.Read it up women.Knowledge is power.

Hi Amanda,
1. What do I do for the dark inner thighs. When I gained weight they aPpeared but some big sized girls I know don't have them.
2. What of spots on the face n bum? I bath twice a day and use soap n sponge but they r still there.

wow!!! some people are so quick to chat shit sha! how can u say a gynaecologist does not know what she's chatting especially when u urself dunno anything or havent done any research...

anyways i have never commented on any of these blogs before but thought to say something today cos i find this topic very interesting and feel my advice will be very useful to some ladies.

a few years back i noticed i started smelling down there so i bought femfresh wash and spray and no difference so i decided to go to the sexual clinic to get myself checked. They did all sorts of tests including HIV and i tested negative to all (thank God). i was sha diagnosed with BV-(bacterial vaginosis) which is not a sexually transmitted disease...infact 1 in 3 women have it and it is not caused by poor hygiene...It simply means means the PH balance in my vagina had been affceted by too much cleaning. Yes u heard me...too much cleaning...there are good and bad bacteria and ur vagina needs the good bacteria. too much cleaning strips it all out...to cut the long story short, i was told never to wash my vagina out as it washes itself and never to use soap. i never knew i caused it all myself cos i was trying to do 'clean babe'...hated d way my bf's friends used to talk abt girls with smelly veejay so i started putting my hand in and washing myself out just to make sure i dont smell...lol...

anyways when i was told not to wash myself out and to use just water and no soap i thot hmmm dis oyinbo's have come again o...how can u not wash all d dirt and discharge dats stuck inside out cos i thot it would only make me smell more....anyways i was prescribed antibiotics, metronidazole to be precise which can only be bought with a prescription. this was to cure the infection and put me back to normal and was also told not to wash with soap and use just water and that i would be fine within seven days. i noticed a difference with 2 days and i think the antibiotics helped to recover quickly.

for those dat live in naija, they dont have it there but u can buy flagyl i think d 400gms one instead. i know dis because i went to naija one time and had to buy it after the smell came back cos i started washing myself out again cos of d heat.

this was way back in 2006...believe me it hasnt come back cos after the second experience, nobody thought me before i went back to my routine of not washing myself out...sometimes we are d ones killing ourselves without realising it...

Use just water and wear clean panties....make sure it is cotton, avoid thongs,do not wash your panties with strong detergent, avoid perfumed soap around that area, do not wear panties to bed cos ur vagina needs to breathe and last but not the least, DO NOT PUT UR HAND INSIDE TO WASH YOURSELF OUT....YOUR VAGINA CLEANS ITSELF!!!!

Damcyl said...

I agree. Tnx fr all the health tips and advice. I basicaly use soap to wash my Vj, but after taking my time to read all the comments, i will completly stop but go with just water. For som ladies that their VJ smells like rotten fish and all that, its Infection!!!. Even if uve never had sex for years, how well do u take care of ur Vj matters. For me, i dont remove and wash my panties immediately, i first soak in hot water fr some hours then wash with Dettol. I also ensure while pressing my clothes in d morning, i place the Hot iron on the pant am wearing for that day, that alone has being my daily routien. If ur VJ or Pusy smells, dnt be shy go see a doctor cos thats an INFECTION same with irregular menstration. Tnxx Linda for posting my comments. Hv a luvly night rest.

Soap is a no no, if U v an infection get it treated, sm wipes are very harmful they leave U wit a burning cos d vagina is xtra sensitive, if U jam wipes wey dey burn eh, I pirry U.......

metronidazole is same thing as flagyl, just generic n brand name diff.....

All d guys wey dey speak big grammar for here, who go say him never fuck Toto wey dey smell?
Infact d smell of toto be my aphrodisiacm
0nly when infection sets in that that region becomes dicey otherwise isi ikpu is da bomb!

Madness! No wonder Naija men always say Naija women are unclean and smell!Water cannot remove the smell of sweat...and when that builds up overtime then its NA WA Ooooooooo if u only wash with water!

eeermm please doctors in the house,is it ok to take the 90days cranberry pill and azo yeast?i stumbled on these meds in the US and i read on their packs that they prevent UTI's...pls do i continue using or stop?GOD BLESS AS U REPLY.

respect women said...

Abeg ma sister no vex. This one pass our power.I swear its tough being a lady.
Respect to ma mama ma sistas and my wife to be.

douching is actually bad for a vagina

BLOGLORD said...

she is right. using soap and all is part of douching which is wrong

veeon said...

she is rightt to an extent.. Try soaps that have minute amount of chemicals e.g dudu osun.

Hmmmm.make cool cashonline just click on d link below http://incomepart.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=4967

nma said...

Babes i 've been rinsing my vj wit just water weneva i pee @ home or bath. Wen i just met my bf he kept complimenting my non smelly vj, cos according 2 him oda gals he dated had bad vj odour. When i read dis post it hit me dat dis must be wat i 've been doing ryt. I don't use soap dere cos i always dance around in pains weneva i do, guess am so sensitive down dere. DOCTOR Ʊ ARE SO ON POINT

Osy said...

Ur bf may complain but won't tell u so u won't feel bad lol

Osy said...

Women una no get shame?telling ur fellow woman her V smells lol

Osy said...

You can see you are not even number 70 lol

Osy said...

HahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhhHhHhhh

Osy said...

Ode after you don enjoy the fcuk finish na then u come remember Sticky sticky abi? U too like penis jor

Osy said...

Ur husband might not want to talk not to offend u lol

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 328   Newer› Newest»