Bianca's lawyer warns Ojukwus over properties | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 9 September 2012

Bianca's lawyer warns Ojukwus over properties

The battler over the management of some properties belonging to Ojukwu Transport Limited, OTL, has taken another dimension as the wife of  the late Ikemba Nnewi, Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu, Ambassador Bianca Ojukwu, through her lawyer, has insisted that the estate management agent, allegedly appointed by her late husband, Mr. Emmanuel Omuojine of Omuojine & Associates, would remain in charge of the five properties in Lagos. 

Directors of OTL, Professor Joseph Ojukwu (Chairman), Engr. Emmanuel Ojukwu, Mr. Lotanna P. Ojukwu, Dr. P. Ike Ojukwu, Arc Edward Ojukwu and Mr. Lotanna  A. Ojukwu, had, in a recent public notice, disowned the  agent, saying that at no time was he appointed by the company’s board of directors to manage any of their properties.

The properties in question are, 13 Hawksworth Road, Ikoyi (now 13 Ojora Road, Ikoyi) Lagos; 32A Commercial Avenue, Yaba, Lagos; 29 Queens Drive, Ikoyi, Lagos; 30 Gerrard Road, Ikoyi, Lagos and 4 Macpherson Avenue, Ikoyi, Lagos.

Counsel for Mrs. Ojukwu, Emeka Onyemelukwe of  Emeka Onyemelukwe & Associates, in a letter, dated May 28,  in response to a letter by the OTL counsel, Ifeanyi Okumah of Sterling Attorneys, Enugu asking Omuojine to hands off the properties, informed the directors that the management firm was appointed by the late Ojukwu to manage the said properties under his care and was not relieved of that responsibility until the late Ikemba Nnewi’s demise.

Okumah, writing on behalf of the OTL Directors, in a letter dated May 17, 2012, informed Omuojine and Associates that Massey Udegbe and Co had been duly appointed management agent of OTL properties in Lagos and that he (Omuojine) should not in any manner interfere with the firm (Massey Udegbe) in carrying out its duties.

“You are reminded of the serious consequences of not adhering to the above and that to continue to parade yourself and/or your company as an agent of OTL constitutes economic breaches which are criminal in nature and highly unprofessional,” Okumah stated.

He further asked Omuojine to provide OTL with itemized list of all monies he collected while managing the said properties for several years and remit same to the company, adding that he should among other thing “cease and desist  from holding yourself out to be their managing agent”.

Besides, the OTL counsel requested Omuojine to furnish the company with concrete documentary evidence of his appointment as the company’s managing agent including the management agreement and power of attorney purportedly issued to him as well as the statement of account of the funds so far collected.
But replying the OTL Directors on behalf of Mrs. Ojukwu, Emeka Onyemelukwe, her counsel, said  “Messrs Omuojine & Associates were appointed by late Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu, to manage those properties under his care”, adding that “they have not been relieved of that responsibility by late Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu until his demise.”

“As our client, the next of kin, to the deceased Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu, has not also relieved them of that responsibility.  We therefore see your demands from them as spurious and fishy,” Onyemelukwe stated, explaining that the properties of OTL had for many years been managed by three separate branches of the family.”

He disclosed that Omuojine manages some of the properties under the care of the late Ikemba Nnewi, insisting that “Massey Udegbe & Co has no business disturbing the properties under the care and management of Omuojine & Associates.”

“May we then use this opportunity to warn that you (Okumah) call your client, Messrs Massey Udegbe & Co, and the unknown director who briefed you to order.  They should not in any way disturb the tenants, who reside, and or carry on their legitimate businesses on those properties under the care and management of Messrs Omuojine & Associates, in any form or manner inimical to those tenants’ interests. If they do so, we may have to resort to appropriate measure/s to stop them,” Mrs. Ojukwu’s lawyers further wrote.

Source: Vanguard

67 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

na wa o!

Igbo kwenu!!!! Dem don start again. Unnecessary family beef wan start now. Cos some no wan live and let live. Bianca should sha be very careful in her dealings with his family o. No be everything person dey drag.

Duke Emeka said...

MmmmMmmmmmmm. Wahala.

E 2 early nah

Peter said...

they should stop embarrassing themselves and the entire Igbos. This is a family matter and should settled quietly. Ojukwu will not be happy to be seeing this.

Does it mean that the highly educated Ikemba did not leave a will before his death? The will I expect, should clearly state who inherits what so that these people do not drag such a well respected name in the mud. Bikonu!

Na real igbo kwenu..... This is why igbo women and infact all women from all tribes should. Work or do business. Don't be a house wife. Thank God bianca sef get mouth! Imagine if she be house wife. She for don enter am..... Rubbish

Bianca !!!!!jst be carefull cos all dis are vanity upon vanity.there are somethings that are not worth dragging.

grammar too much.

Warri Girl said...

hmmmmmmmmm, property oooooo

Baby Confessor said...

Property wey dem no work for. Dem wan begin drag. Kai humans!

and what is bianca going to do with 5 properties ehh do i see greed here or what!!! the man never even die for 1 year and she is already inheriting property na wah ohh

ak47 said...

Its an expected drama.
If she (Bianca) has her records straight, she can charge them to court. If not, just let go.

I hope she could stand the heat of the OJUKWU'S.

bt dat woman has enof let her atleast ovaluk sum of d proties 2 her late husbands brodas. Akuejuafo.

But why is Bianca making decisions on her own?? She is not Ojukwu's only wife...and she's the last at that!

pweetylisa said...

She shd b very careful

Ghen Ghen.........
D battleline has been drawn 4 material things that u'll neva take 2 ur grave with u! Ask Stella OBJ, Yar'adua etc.
VaNiTy is vaNiTy!
From dust we are n 2 dust we'll return without as much as bedroom slippers!
#enough said...he who has eyes let him reaaaadddd......

My opinion is that Ikemba used his influence and muscle as former governor of eastern region andBiafran leader to wrest d managment of his fathers properties from his elder brothers.
Now that he is dead,they should settle peacefully!
Bianca would soon realise that when d big tree falls,apart frm all d birds flying away,all d sharks then smell blood and will come out for d kill.
If they settle peacfully, it will save us d public embarrassment!

Family issues! Family issues! One has to be careful especially if there's no *will*.

Can these pple leave this woman alone? Chaiiiii

And the saga continues. Lol

Na wa o!

Bianca shud know that she is dealoing witj d owners of the said property n be loyal if she wants to live long oo,all dis selfish attorneys shud go n sit down let family matter be settled by family elders joo.

Its nothing new let Bianca be careful

At least it took dis long before d fight began... So nw let's get dirty yo!!!! GREED!!!!

nsimahogee said...

Daz theri buziness, d won't wait 4 a year b4 draging property

My mum is goin thru d samethn! In btw dealing wit a childish step son, n lazy n manipulative family membas is nt easy! It's nt jst in igbo land, it's evrywhr!

OJU-kwu(bigeye)called 4 all dis rubbish and BIGeyeKA onu shud remember she met pple in d house SHIKena

Na wa o wetin dey happen self

Why shld we 'Igbo' b always greedy over material stuff? These are things u don't carry or take along wen death decides to call!! Bianca, just be careful of ur late hubby's family!! I've said my own ooo!!!!

Why Bianca no go mind her business make she go face her own oh. Make she leave mata 4 Mathias, if she wan live long oh. At least she get enof money n property of her own.

Igbo esika!!!! Bianca should know that there are some things you don't meddle in...go and ask some young wives who have tried....she should be extremely careful.

she is up to the task, i dont know why families wont allow widows rest after the demise of their hubbies, i tire o! Those Ojukwu families should fuck off and allow her be biko, its not as if they are hungry b4!

True oooh no bi everything dem dey drag , she Bianca is a very selfish woman , she comes from a rich home and she knows that ikemba has many children and some of the properties might not be his , wetin come be dragging there am gutted useless selfish woman make you fear your maker ooooh it's only six feet .

Jay O said...

Ok many people on here will not be aware of the background, so let me make it easy...

1) Ikemba's dad (Sir Louis) had many children
2) Ikemba's mum was the only one he married, so Ikemba was the only legitimate child
3) Sir Louis as we all know was EXTREMELY wealthy, and He gave everything to Ikemba, including the big Lagos properties.
4) Ikemba's half brothers have been fighting him for decades to get what they believe is "their own share"
5) Ikemba has his wife and own children from diff women
6) Ikemba's will left a lot to Bianca
7) The older children have respect for Bianca, and are cordial towards her, so they arent in the family fight.

Moral of the story: Stay away from polygamy!!!!

*not interested smiley*

Meanwhile, isn't this the company started by his father?

I'm an Ibo woman with Ibo in-laws. If you get good ones you'll be smiling. If like me, you have a herd of wild beasts all up in your business then you'll understand what she's up against. I fully support her. We need to advocate strong willed womanhood. Widows are mistreated in this country. It is a very wrong and accepted norm in our society.
They're trying to muscle her out. The man loved Bianca and let them know it in no uncertain terms when he was alive. They are fighting a losing battle. Linda, your caption implies that Bianca is not an Ojukwu. She is very much so. Ikemba groomed his wife who was already a lawyer when he married her, to be fully prepared for the usual power struggle that transpires when a rich Ibo man passes on. These grown men should be ashamed of themselves. Nobody heard from them when Ikemba was alive. They dared not challenge Bianca. None of them are fighting to carry the mantle of intellectual leadership thst Ikemba handled with aplomb. COWARDS!!!

4 houses in Ikoyi can cost over a billion naira. Na wa

Bianca is a very strong woman. To deal with family members especially those from the east is a thug-of-war

I wonder how d late Ojukwu will be feeling now?watching dem fight over vanity..but wait o,dint he write his will?? Nollywood go see better movie produce frm this one *wink*

Why are they delaying the reading of his will? I believe that will sort out a lot of things. Ojukwu's father had the same issue, it continued with his son and now after his death it still raves. Anon, stop stereotyping please. That you have bad in-laws is not synonymous with just Igbos.

wait o, wat sort of lazy kids did ojukwu born. leave bianca alone na.

Anon September 9, 2012 6:50 PM; read Jay O's post. That's very accurate not the rubbish you posted.

palominose said...

Na wah, this people should go settle their issues jare and stop washing their dirty linen in public! It is a family issue and should be treated as such†̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ i don't even see †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ need for lawyers.

Come join in †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ walk against domestic violence on †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ 13th of October,beginning from Adetokunbo Ademola street Vicoria Island Lagos. interested participants should please register at the following link: http://lwtze.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

Property Wahala This early morning?

Smhw I knw smtin lik diz ll com up trust human beings wen it comz 2 moni

@anon 11.48pm nothing to do with his kids. Get your facts right.

Jay jus rote bout his background so he's rite I as a matured lady wit rites all over her she's got everytin she nids apart from dose ojukwu left behind nd leave his brodas to kip fooling dereself cos even wen she's out de will still kill dereself for d property u can imagine nt even his kids are fighting bt his brodas cos if she insists well she shuld b ready for dese igbo men nd ........... Dere u no b4 we hear anoda storry *beg oooo

So her Children are not entitled to their father's properties?

Not husbands brothers my dear, SONS!!! Greed!!!

happyhausabunny said...

N why r grown ass mehn chasing property too! I knw deir type! Living off deir wealthy brodas' wealth! Now dey 1t 2 "tk charge" of d estate! Rusbbish! I av neva n will neva av like any of my l8 father's family! All useless, lazy n greedy! Bianca, pls fight 4 wat is urs n ur kids! Kmt

happyhausabunny said...

U av said it all! It's shameful 2 see supposed grown mehn, u had d same opportunity bt did nt utilize it well! Instead dey decided 2 b useless 2 demselves n deir families! I knw wat Bianca is goin thru cuz my mum is in a similar situation! Useless relatives 1tn 2 com n reap whr dey neva sowed! God punish all of dem!

Where were all these ppl when ikemba was alife? Cowards!

@jay O,I accept dt moral which is to men..u are totally 9ht,
My cuz's husband dt a been married 4 6yrs with children has just impreganted a woman old enough 2 b my cuz's moda n now d woman is threatn my cuz's husband dt he must marry her by force...c as trouble siddon wen man go carry
Men b satisfied pls...don't start wat u can't finish.

Polygamy never brings peace.never

Elopee said...

If U love*ur*life and desire to see many good days/years ahead,steer clear from polygamy.Ife n'ato uto n'egbu egbu continues.Still saying same thing-Sweet things sure does kill.This Ojukwu family members sure wants to run this name in the mud.Polygamy=a future time bomb.Let him that have/has ears,let him hear.If u can't learn from d living at least try learn from d dead.

Tru talk, my husbsnd's willy is sanctified n prezavd by God 4 only me

Nawa o!!!!! Nt a small thing..... May God grant her peace and give her strenght.....

Ikemba did leave property for his other children and wives. But the sons want to decide what Bianca and her own kids with him should get. They are indirectly contesting the will. Widows especially young ones are not treated with respect amongst Ibos. The idea is that she can still re-marry so still has a chance to be looked after by another man. What nonsense. So she was his last wife; that makes her his final choice.

I think she's the only surviving wife that's why she's the one contending with the sons of the other wives.

MissBusyBody said...

It all boils down to the 'poverty mentality' that has infested Nigeria... Why can't these crazy in-laws leave the poor widow alone? it's pathetic

She is his only wife & a legal wife too. His ex-wives passed away years before he did. Bianca is within her rights to do as she pleases as his wife.

according to ibo tadition . The remaining two deceased wives each gave birth to son's 1 is Dr. Ojukwu the first child and the other is Mr.Lotanna Ojukwu the last child. There fore they are 3 legitimate children. As for the properties of late sir Louis Ojukwu they are all under OTL OJUKWU TRANSPORT LIMITED which is a registered company controlled by the directors as stated by the memorandum are designated shares but not properties so no 1 owns the properties it belongs to the company and if the company did not elect. Omoghene (Bianca's claimed representatives by her late husband) then they simply can't control those properties to designate an estate representyatives all directors must sign and attest to such matters not just 1 person I blive late Ikemba used his military strength to capture the properties which Bianca refuses to release let us all note that. Bianca is not stated as a an alternate director or a director from stated in a will. In the end the laws of the Company has the last say.

@ JaY O. You sound like you understand the situation but you just showed that you don't know anything in the family... Ikemba's dad had 3 legal wives. 2 dead 1 living(with no child) . Ikemba's mother (deceased) was not a legal wife but he was acclaimed as a son by the father according to ibo tadition . The remaining two deceased wives each gave birth to son's 1 is Dr. Ojukwu the first child and the other is Mr.Lotanna Ojukwu the last child. There fore they are 3 legitimate children. As for the properties of late sir Louis Ojukwu they are all under OTL OJUKWU TRANSPORT LIMITED which is a registered company controlled by the directors as stated by the memorandum are designated shares but not properties so no 1 owns the properties it belongs to the company and if the company did not elect. Omoghene (Bianca's claimed representatives by her late husband) then they simply can't control those properties to designate an estate representyatives all directors must sign and attest to such matters not just 1 person I blive late Ikemba used his military strength to capture the properties which Bianca refuses to release let us all note that. Bianca is not stated as a an alternate director or a director from stated in a will. In the end the laws of the Company has the last say.

Anon September 11, 2012 11:02 AM what rubbish have you just typed?

@ JaY O. You sound like you understand the situation but you just showed that you don't know anything about the family... Ikemba's dad had 3 legal wives. 2 dead and 1 living (with no child). Ikemba's mother (1 of the deceased) was not a legal wife but he was acclaimed as a son by the father according to Ibo tradition . The remaining two deceased wives each gave birth to son's the 1st being Dr. Ojukwu and the other is Mr. Lotanna Ojukwu the last child. Therefore they are 3 legitimate children. As for the properties of late Sir Louis Ojukwu they are all under OTL OJUKWU TRANSPORT LIMITED which is a registered company controlled by the directors as stated by the memorandum are designated shares but not properties so no 1 owns the properties it belongs to the company and if the company did not elect. Omoghene (Bianca's claimed representatives by her late husband) then they simply can't control those properties to designate an estate representatives all directors must sign and attest to such matters not just 1 person I believe late Ikemba used his military strength to capture the properties which Bianca refuses to release let us all note that. Bianca is not stated as an alternate director or a director from stated in a will. In the end the laws of the Company has the last say.