Would you date a man who earns less money than you?Chilli answers the question | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 September 2012

Would you date a man who earns less money than you?Chilli answers the question

TLC's Chilli was a guest on a TV show recently and they asked her if she could ever date a man who earns less than her. Her response below...
“I’m very picky, I guess you want to call it that. Here’s my issue with ‘dating down’ – it sounds bad, it makes us seem shallow - the problem with dating down I think that for a female, no matter how much money you make or not, every woman wants to feel like a princess, you know. I don’t look for a guy to pay my bills, I can pay my own bills. I can do a lot of things for myself. Thank God I’ve been blessed. But I would love to go on a date with a guy and he pays for it or we go on a trip together and - if I have to pay half then I need to go on that trip with my girlfriend, not a dude. I’m just saying.
What do you think of her response?

165 comments:

mama ifu said...

She's right...but then again if we all got 100% of what we wanted in a man/woman, wouldn't life be grand.
There's a reason Chili is alone...and that Usher went to marry the devil, I mean Tameka.
Chili is BORING. She has all these stupid rules. She doesn't even want her bobo to drink alcohol. Good luck Chili. If it didnt work with Usher, good luck to ya...

well said.

deekay said...

I was agreeing until the half thing. Nothing will stop me from paying half or full sef, if I can afford to.

GREATMYKE said...

diffrent strokes for diffrent peaople.But for me I think it all boils down to love.If He or She is inlove and by that I mean sincere and genuine love,den who pays the bills doesn't matter

Linda! Jst saw a story of a woman d@ gave birth 2 a horse in a church in edo! Wit pics! Pls find d story n put here!

NennyD said...

SWhe is 100% right.

janded said...

I agree completely

i agree

Y call Tameka a devil. Dt is a woman dt jst lost her son. Haba can u b dt cruel.

das d real thing Chili........ow can u go out wit ur man and u pay d bills it doesnt sound gud and down gradn to d man.

dating is understatment i will mary him.spacos

Just Me said...

ans on point!!!!!!!!

na akata ways generally...

I don't see why a man should pay fully for the meal. Each person should pay half. It's not a matter of being cheap but if it's equality you want, then that's what you'll get.

Sociable said...

It is same to both make and female. Most women don't want a guys who is just too down and most guys don't want a lady to be so broke. Yea it's not a matter if "it's suppose to be the man thing to spend" which doesn't work that way always. Some guys would spend but would want a girl to show some sign of care. I laugh when some women would say the guy is meant to spend bcos they are sleeping with him. Wait pls! Making love or having sex involves two people and who says the man recieve more or the woman receives more? During sex we can give ad receive from each other . To me sex is mutual benefit. So men should nt buy a girl gift because you made love to her but bcos u want to show her u care since there is no amount of gift that will be worth the sex a woman would give to a man. And a woman should ask for something bcos she feels she allowed a guy to sleep with her as there is no amount of money that is suppose to be compared to your body as a lady. The value of relationship will be held in high esteem if we can see sex between a man and woman to be mutual benefit. Chili has to set her priorities and values well even though she was right and wrong in a way which kind of made her answer funny not knowing where to grip her. My take is give and it shall be given unto u during relationship and if it happens to be one sides then it's not mutual anymore .

everyone entitled to their opinion and really i cant judge her cos thts wht her take is on d issue.
styleexplicit.blogspot.com

That's the reason she is still single...
GOLDDIGGER...

wideeyd said...

Oh my goodness did the thread about the rich boy who just moved to naija and fucked the banker girl really get up to 600comments. Naijas are frigging jobless.

Phew! Epistle of sociable. Take a chill pill aint that serious. :-p

I agree with her jor! Naija men dey even look for rich babes too...they tell us we love money but we know that this days no man will likely marry a babe who is jobless! So its same both ways oo

Shez so right....

Sisi Eko said...

Well i believe different strokes for different folks. so if thats how she sees it,so be it. But we know we have to compromise sometimes.I'm not saying she should settle for less.

that means u wil remain single for d rest of ur life cos those rich ones dnt wnt a woman to compete wt rather they wnt a woman that wil respect them am talking of niger men especially anyway so beter look for love.

Mama fufu u chat shit. Usher cheated on chilli n karma served usher with the devil n he had 2kids with the devil. Moral of the story karma is the bitch u end up with after u mistreated a good girl!!!!!!

Abeg make she go sitddown, keep riding ur high horse....I'm a man and I can do anything for a woman that is not stingy,the world is changing, women are getting well paid jobs,if u can't love ur man enuf to bring out ur doe when it matters,then that's ur cup of tea.This is not an excuse for the male folks to be lazy....@papaudo(twitter)

Kemi said...

Couldnt have said it better! Gbam raised to power 1 million lool... I'm independent and don't need a man to pay my bills but my man gotta be the man still #simples :)

I don't want equality so the men should pay fully. Earns less? No.

A hoe is a hoe. A hoe's mentality is what this foolish woman just displayed here. She's just a rich hoe, but a hoe nonetheless. Since we men have to do all the spending, don't you also agree that that gives us more rights and privileges in the relationship? How dare you question me for sleeping with any other woman I like? Afterall, I have paid for your 'services', and so you got nothing on me. Nonsense.

annonymous 6.49 u sound lk a broke ass guy who dnt lk spending on a woman exepecting a woman to do ur job for u and that means u can only date d ugly ones cos u can neve get any fine or better girl and expect her to do d spending maybe u are nt in my country nigeria thou,men rule here and we allow them to rule in everything including taking care of us hundred percent,all my life even frm school any of my boyfiiend has always be d one taking care of my expenses i live big lk my father is goodluck jonathian that is niger for u men rule here including taking care of women if u dnt lk it go trangender urself to a woman.

truthhurts said...

really cnt say but u all knw the saying- when the desired is unavailable the available become the desired!! ;)

sakara said...

anonymous 6;33 that's creepy, d world s coming to an end truly!

i completely agree, chilly go girl.

With ur comment, one would think she was next to the horse in he picture.. BULLcrap

BIBI said...

personally i tink it all comes down 2 love n undastanding

TRACY said...

anonymous 7.40PM.... TRACY SAYS YOU ARE VERY PATHETIC! Don't go and get something done for yourself. Silly lazy ass hoe hoping from one man to another

If you truly love eachother then I dnt think that should count,he earns half of what you earn doesn't mean its gonna be like that forever.A friend was afraid her sister was earning than the boyfriend but now he's doing really gud.that's chillis opinion and I repect it too.Jazmin.

Anon 7:40 sorry oh bt eh speak for urself God forbid hw cn I jus b one lazy stupid hoe lookin for a man to spoon feed me pls men dnt rule in Nigeria bcos der r beautiful intelligent independent women in Nigeria we may not me much bt we exist very well

I agree with @sociable. We have to let things flow,do ur part and don't wait on the other to do always

Emma said...

Well spoken Gbam!!!

U are sick! U call her a hoe..Can u talk where she talks? Berrer tepa mose! Lazy buffon!

Joy said...

Na wa o@ sociable

bumble bee said...

Hmm,believe me its a hard task dating a man who earns less than you,and chilli is right,not bout paying the bills,cos u shuld be able to do that yourself,buh you would love a man who can afford to pay for a day off in the spa,or send you surprise gifts or pay for a trip for the both of you,it'll enhance the romance..my dear a relationship is more interesting and fun when there's money,without money it'll be boring!!!

Eheheh

Broke ass niggar! All this tory all cause u no get money? Shiooor!

If it were a Nigerian girl that said this. Lol

Osho free

Are u kidding me? U ask to take me out and I agree,u are now saying I should pay my money? If u know say u no man enough y u take me out? U know what,I will pay my bills and also pay yours,then chase u away like a scrub that u are!

why would a woman want to date a poor man though?

especially if she is rich?

Im sorry but you have to find people who are equally on the same playing field....

cut your coat according to YOUR SIZE

Is Temeka that doesn't ve all the stupid rules still with Usher? Hell no! The last time I checked,dey were battling d custody of their children out in court..abeg abeg abeg shift one side jare

Totally agree!

Anita said...

Have been watching your comments closely. Hmmmmm

primrose said...

correct u just said it all Chilli

@ sociable u make sense sha

Chilli is too old to be talking all these BS! Now wonder she's dating thugs, broke-ass baby daddy's, half-wits, dim-wits, and the scrubs in-between!!!
She would have to pay for me to even step out on a date with her...and I'm still gonna turn her broke ass down!!!

i can say ive bn richer than my 2 ex's and my currrnt guy.
dats cos i earn pretty much and higher than most of my age mates.
but, my guyz stil pay my bills, take me out, and i dont spend a dime when i go to visit my current (we stay in different states)
so even though they earn less, they still take responosbilty of my bills :-)

Dats y we av lots of lazy gurls errywhere dat will prefer to do nothing and expect men to foot all their bills!nansenseee!if u like dnt contribute in a rlshp and watch me kick ya ass out like theres no 2mao!

As a man...If I can't pay the bills, "malaria don start be that". Nothing to do with ego, it's just who I am ---> A MAN. The moment you stop paying the bills, thats the day you start answering the name'USELESS MAN'.

Warri Girl said...

Hmmmmmmmm

God for bid I pay any man's bill, a man losses respect wen a woman pays his bill

I draw d line at some point.if he can afford to take care of me to my satisfaction, I don't mind. Right now, my salary is higher dan my husband's by 100k. But wat he earns is pretty good. It takes care of d family. We can go on vac if we want to. If & wen we want d extra,I don't mind pitching in. I use my money on real estate. & plan for our kids future.

My opinion is same as hers- if a guy earns 2 naira n he can live d best lyf 2 naira can afford, dats savings, investment, dates wit his gurl n takin care of his gurl no matter how small. But within d 2 naira$ he shows more responsibility dan d million earner who givs hundreds of thousands once in a blue moon. Evry girl irrespective of wat she earns still wants a man who will make her feel lyk, baby I got dis. We we're wired 2 lyk dis tins, naturally she'll want 2 help d guy grow.

K pumpey said...

Thats why she is old nd lonely. ur not as hot, its been bout 20yrs. What stupid women dnt understand is, d older u get, d less attractive, and less suitors. Na bad chick they turn busted chic o. U think am lying ask usher

I didn't only date a guy I earn more thAn I married him, there's no biggie love and understanDing is key.

mama ifu said...

anonymous @6:37...this is the same **ahem** lady..., that started fighting usher again (the same usher that sent private plane for her to come and see her son before he was taken off life support) as soon as her son died, saying he never really cared. She also tweeted that Usher's new girlfriend is barren and can't have kids. There's not much worse you can tell a woman, esp one over 40, than that she's barren, abusing her coz she can't/didnt have kids. So Tameka IS A DEVIL!!! She's reaping what she sowed!!

True dat!.....never take the lead when in a relationship especially when it get to finances.Men love to take advantage,they start feeling comfy,like since u are up to it,then u can always do it.

Eeeyyaaaa...i smell naivety

debimade said...

Stupid RUNS woman, aristo crazy fool. Don't go and do a honest day work to pay your bills dey der they yarn opata say for NigerIa na man dey carry 100% Bukata for woman. Ole Oniranu!!

HRHTega1 said...

Pls,Chilli can have several seats and sit down. That's how she said she can't date a man that has a kid meanwhile she has a kid. With all your picky picky attitude,the best you could be is Floyd Mayweather's side ass,he doesn't even acknowledge you. Sit down girl. You can pay your bills yet you want a man to cater 100% to your ass.

Fuck Chili!U will never get a good man!

U sure sound like a broke girl.wen u collect money from ur bf like hez ur father dnt be angry he treats u like a begger...its supposed to be a mutual tingy u shldnt expect everytin from one person

Nigerian girls are so ignorant, thats why you guys will continue to suffer in the hands of men. Don't go and look for something to do and support you man instead be there and be waiting for someone to pay all the bills for you. those of you that haven't traveled out of nigeria, please do and see the other part of life and see the difference.

Naija mentality and African mentality is affecting us..Here in Yankee , my girls do call me to take me out or trips and they pay, if i wanna pay they said they are working so i could keep my $ in my pocket.

leave am, when clock tick to menopause, she go readjust her parameters..

Uche said...

I think women especially black women should stop chatting all that bullshit about gender equality and 21st century feminism until they stop being so selfish and drop all that gold diggin mentaity like Chilli here...No wonder Usher bailed on her......A woman who claims to love a man and demands equality should be ready to spend just as much on her man as he does on her as long as she has it..If not then better swallow anything u have to say about equality in your relationship...If you and your man are ok financially and u want him to still do all d spending cos u get pussy, then u are a Gold Digger shikena no matter how self righteous you may feel...

Okey said...

Anon 7.40 pm, i already feel a lot dumber for reading your post.With this fucking stupid mentality...y'áll still scream out in your shrill voices for women rights,gender equality and all that other crap??..seriously speaking, to call this hypocrisy would be doing the word a great disservice....You want to be treated like a princess yet also rule like a Queen???
FYI ladies, if you have a problem with "dating down",what makes you think Men don't as well?? Me,i'd rather date a woman i know can take care of herself without being all needy and clingy and greedy.
This is not some broke guy looking to avoid taking care of a woman or paying her bills...it's just all about putting things in the right perspective. As Neyo aptly put it..."there's something sexy about a woman that WANTS you but doesn't NEED you"

Anyhow sha..just contributing my own 50 kobo to some silly females who are wasting their computer ink trying to do oversabi.

Anyway she just aired her view,and my own is dat after drinking maltina and eating peppersoup. remember my reward is not in heaven but starts here on earth,even if u're ON,imma switch u OFF.~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310.

Linda please if i have a news to send to you how will i send it? i cant find your email or where to send it to...

I completely agree with her! If you are with a man and your life is not easier than it was without him....enyi nwanyi'm ur better off without him.

Nigrian girls come online to beg money! Shame on u all!

U sound really stupid

Ghanaija said...

If you can't date someone you earn more than, you are probably not earning that much to begin with. #simple

may God save men from your nagging claws

Osy said...

Leave this docorated ashawo make she dey wait for man to pay..see her wide mouth like secondary school na man dey pay,that's why till now u can't find husband. You are bragging about how men in naija spend and ale charge and when they slap the food an money commot for your mouth and face you go say man abuse u..fool alosho

Osy said...

Any woman than always want her man to pay the bis should be ready to be kicked out anytime or treated like a dust bin

i now see why people on here are always complaining about linda not posting c o m m e n t s

Anyway sha...

she has worked hard for her money why would she want to waste all of it on a poor man?

cocolette said...

*cough*... I smell 'broke'

Please how did anon 7:40 get to post that comment, from whose PC or BB did you make your ignorance known to us? Where do I even start from? Friend u can't spell, simple grammar you can't construst. I'm still experiencing slight migraine just going through your comment yet you want a man to take of you. God forbid I date a woman as dumb as you are, let alone pay your bills. Nbachukwu ekwekwana.

Una try wey u read am. Broke ass oshi

Veeon said...

mama ifu... how do you know? In my opinion she is RIGHT...You shouldnt go into a relationship expecting the guy to pay you bills.. get a job first. He is oly meant to do the extra which is pay for dinner or a movie... simple.

Bitter broke guys are all over this page. And you wil be the same do-free mofo's shouting that you can't date anything less than a 9 and Beyonce is your destiny. You ignore the sweet but plain girl in your church because she cannot afford the Brazilian weaves and baffs that will entice you but are telling girls to choose ur brokeness over your betters. That is for girls who failed mathematics. Oloju kokoro. As for girls, if it is your prayer and destiny to feed your husband, God bless you. You can leave the ballers for those who want them.

LoooooL bonario oo I want to meet u! Ur too funny

Bintin Laye said...

gbam!

Mumu who told u women don't take men out,stay there until I old die

*WORD*

Elena said...

You broke ass lazy lizards should understand what @sociable was trying to say. He meant men should nt think money can buy a lady's body. So relax before the insult.

Well, different strokes for different folks.

There are several things ladies look for in a man; some look for man with plenty money(not caring if he's married, cheating, etc)
Some want a loyal man that can give them much loving n devotion.
Some want fine boy etc.
Anyone that works for u is aigh.....each to her own.

My blog... http://ashirigbakaute.blogspot.com/

Make u pple no dey follow akata woman advice o! Thats what make black american women what they are today/ single mothers on welfare.
Remember that wealth is generally still concetrated among men anywhere in the world.Women are still relatively poorer than men. Dont let the few rich women dicate the rules, let each person follow their mind

Mumu! Aren't u still single?

All these broke guys replying this lady should shift! no be she talk say make una broke.. Abeg carry ur vex go meet una girlfriends.. Collect their salary and share.. Awon okurin tiwon morawon ni okurin

Shut up! Who are u dating.. Broke thing! Go get better job so u no go come here to dey debate ur responsibilities..Ole!

God go continue to dey give u power to dey pay the bills o.. Ur pocket shaLl not run dry..(Amen)

Mumu! Is this Temeka abi chilli...gerrout jor

Broke guy!

Mumu,is chilli a Nigerian woman? Isn't she based abroad? Because una husband dey collect una money e come mean say make our own dey collect our own money abi? Keep giving ur husband ur money,dat na ur calling!

Broke!!

That's d problem with black Americans,the women will be working 3 jobs and d man will be @ home not going to work,shouting job hunting

U no get money to pay now..lol.

Modupsy said...

Oh my goodness!!! Did u just come to another thread just so u can comment abt the thread of the rich boy who fucked the banker girl which got up 600 comments? WIDEEYD is obviously frigging jobless.

i concur....if i pay half then i might as well go with a girlfriend!!! its probably going to be more fun sef!

simto said...

If dia is sincere love between u,who spends most in a relatnsp does nt matter,bcos in due course dat guy who could not pik up ur bills today wil tmao giv u a surprise bufde gift in choice car nd latest brand or a house in a choice place soonest....what u all need is to be faithful in ur dealings....

Ziba! said...

WO, it's different strokes for different folks jare. I'd like my man to pay for everything but we all know there are days that he may be down. So bnecause e no get make we all dey sidon look like bingo???? It's not a black n white thn, it's got some ares the shade of grey :-) #myopinion

Nonsense through and through. If she truly loves him then she will care less about such frivolities.

Girls who follow this principle should take note. THE NUMBERS JUST DON'T WORK!!!

Most guys are happy to "date down", so if most women are not willing to "date down", there will always be a group of medium to high income women who will struggle to find a date because the men in their dating pool are already taken.

It's already in our midst.

Well in some cases I've seen this break some marriages and I've seen some living happily as long as the love is true.... earning more than your hubby isnt a determining factor in a relationship. Even when the other has ego the affection if true I believe would subside it completely..... at the end true affection matters

cocolette said...

I agree wt d part where she says "if I HAVE to pay half then I need to be goin on dat trip wt a girlfriend". This doznt mean I wdnt willingly pay half or all d expenses for wateva it is but I need to do it cos I want to, not bcos dude thinks I must or is too broke to afford it. And the thing with a lot of nigerian men...u pay once, n they begin to expect u to pay everytime. Yes we scream gender equality n all dat, but I as ur wife will not expect u to go in2 the kitchen thrice everyday 2 prepare food 4 d family so dude, a man's gotta do wat a man's gotta do!

Hahahahahaha @anon9:55

Nigerian Girls please learn from this especially girls from Oron, always believing a man should do everything while you seat at home with your fat broke ass giving orders and trying to make a point of view, like you got any !!! LOls

I think everyone here is missing the point. Chilli is saying she's able to afford whatever she wants and I very well believe she can. And let's face it as much as we want to be treated equal to guys, we aren't. They still step out on you, while you end up with the bills, working and taking care of the children.
I think a relationship should be mutually beneficial- and yes any guy that really cares for you should want to provide for you. I'm not saying, don't pay for anything, just that he should be allowed to show he is the provider. And once in a while, you do it big for him in return.

Nilla said...

She is right o. I dont know about others oo, but i want to be pampered and treated like a princess too. So i agree with her!

She is sooooooo right gbam!!!!

Ronnie said...

This is not about ALWAYS paying bills, it's not even about bills. An independent woman who pays her bills may not want to date a man whom she too will end up paying his bills! What I understand from Chilli's opinion is while she can pay her bills it wouldn't hurt to have a guy who can assist or is there as a support system and I agree with her.

Am dat kinda gal dat loves 2 spoil ma boo!But nt 2 pay his Bills*Fullstop!!

Ronnie said...

Have u heard the saying "if you play love in a tight room, it will jump through the window"? Whether you agree or not money plays a major(not the only)role in the success or failure of a relationship. I read the statistics on the #1 cause of divorce. Guess what it was?...yeah! You guessed right, money. I thought it would be sex or lack thereof.

Mehn. The bottom line is-to each his own. Whatever works for you is fine.

annonymous 7.40 has voiced her mind so u broke ass guys insulting her and d rich old desperate ladies looking for anything on trouser to hook up wt should go and rest,infact u guys are d most stupid ones i wonder somtimes how people insult somone under annonymous and call her names lk u knw her some caled her aristo nt even knowing if shes upto 30,she is so right and if u dnt lk it guys go work hard besides wat is d essence of getting a job when u are living big,when ur boyfriend is taking good care f u?i thought people get a job to pay there bills and when ur bills is been paid what then are u working hard for or did ur parents curse u to suffer for d rest of ur life when they gave birth to u?maybe yes i dnt knw but as for me i sopport her men pays d bills especially here in nigerian men pay my bills even same ting when i went for holidays in london so i believe is worldwild unless u are nt worth a man taking care of u maybe cos of ur bad looks or he's just managing ur old age,loosers throw insults.

Angeleyez said...

@ Sociable
An epistle is just wot dis issue needs bco a lot of pple get it wrong! Indeed it involves both parties. I was(n still)blessed to be financially independent quite early in life n as a rule of thumb I neva dated men who weren't financially independent as well.I remembd d day I sent my hubby(then boyfriend)airtime to top up his call credits, he nearly passed out! Lol! He had to call to find out if it was mistakenly sent to him. D reason? No woman nor man 4 dt matter had ever done smthing like dt 4 him. By virtue of his position, all people do is take!take n take! When a woman is independent her man respects her regardless of how high up the social ladder he is bcos deep down he knws she is with him bcos she WANTS to and not bcos she NEEDS to. I take my hubby out for lunch n Dinner dates and I volunteer to foot d bills but that is bcos I knw he can foot it ten times over if he chooses to n I knw how proud he is of me n dat makes me even love him more.

Ronnie said...

Emmm...HELLOOO! It aint golddigging when the shovel used is designed with blings paid for by a woman's hardwork and money! Chilli is a successful artiste and doesn't need a man's money to make her shine! Com'on guys! If a woman works hard to earn a decent pay surely she has earned d right to select d cadre of men she wants to date, no?

Sociable said...

Thank you much! I wonder why most people will insult or use a curse word when ever they don't agree to comments and want to force theirs into your throat. Too many kids in here I think. Everyone with his or her opinion remember and what works for you may not work for the other . Relationship doesn't have one formula ,I mean it works in different ways. Don't say because your friend doesn't care for his/her man so you won't ,what If it's been working for your friend and yours break up? Well enough said.

deekay said...

Cos I will gladly pay full or half that makes me naive? Interesting! You on the other hand, keep expecting ur man to pay for everything. Each to his own. All boils down to what works for u and what will keep u guys happy together.

Agudosi said...

I tot anom 7:40pm was the dumbest comment until i read 10:15pm, i have a few word to describe you but i rather not waste my time. @ 10:17 your husband is a very lucky man. Shout out to all the hardworking Nigerian girls holding their own and supporting their men in anyway possible, may all your dreams come true

Oge Nsimah said...

That means i will be paying the bills,.... well sha, depending on the pay .. buh i dont buy the ideal abeg. thank God hubby earns more dan me

Oge Nsimah said...

@ sociable gbam ... i hall u . good comment

chilli well said,men wanna act like men,so d responsibilities should also b included.

Lol @ most of ya'll. Personally, I don't have that job that pays really, really big, and considering I'm fresh outta Uni, I know I'm gonna get there. I do have a job, though, and it pays well enough to provide me with the shit I need.

Now, honestly, I'm not attracted to girls who are broke/jobless. I don't know, maybe it's cos I've lived in England for so long. Ever since I came back to Nigeria I realise that's what most girls want - a guy to buy EVERYTHING. Pay for EVERYTHING. The occassional birthday presents, surprise gifts, vals day pressies are aight. But Nigerian girls take it to the next level. Next thing I know I'm starting to play the role of her father, providing for her and the rest of her broke ass fam.

If I love a girl, I don't mind taking care of her. But I too love to be taken care of. I love surprise gifts, and being treated to lunches, dinners and so on, at restaurants. All my exes (all white girls) have done that to me, and I've done the same.

So, until I find a Nigerian woman who can do shit like that, I'm not gonna waste my time chasing them relentlessly. Frankly, in this day and age, a chick who can't contribute financially to a couple's romantic lifestyle is boring.

Plus, the money mentality amongst women in Nigeria is beyond ridiculous. All a man has to do is produce money and she's all yours. When you get her, and you go for another one, she claims you're cheating. How is it cheating? The only reason you looked at me was because of my money. Why the fuck should I stop there?

Chucks

Thank u anon 10:17am,u volunteer to foot the bill..that's d part I like her

These men be talking like its conpulsory for a woman to foot the bill..hellooo,I foot the bill when and if I feel like,its not my job! U are d MAN!!!

U remember the bible,when God got angry @ Adam and Eve? He said the woman shall labour in pain to give birth and what did he Adam? He said Adam shall feed/provide for his family with his sweat!.. After I labour to bear children,I go come follow u share ur work? Mba!! no way! If u are not man enough or not ready to have a family pls work hard.. Don't be asking ur wife for money!

I do agree with Chilly. A man should be a man. Take it or leave it. Afterall, I am assuming that the guy/man did ask the girl OUT in the first place.

The question is why would a man want to date a woman who is richer than him? Eeew.

Her attitude is one that many black women here in the UK and US share and this is why there are so many single sistas today- we don't want to marry 'down', so to speak! I don't mind supporting my man in anyway I can, if it means helping here get somewhere!!

Ronnie said...

Oh Wideeyd wideeyd WIDEEYD! I'm so touched that you could take time out of your incredibly busy schedule to notice the 9ja guy n the banker babe got up to 600 comments made by "frigging jobless Naijas" wow! You must be so "preocuppied"! Even we d "frigging jobless Naijas" were too busy being jobless to notice we made up to 600 comments! SMH. Hypocrisy.com!

To be apt, forget d bills, a man that can shower her with gifts. Dts d easiest way 2show luv 2a woman

I concur with 9:55. D babe met she'll pay half if it were one of her gfs. Y sud ur bf take u out n ull be splitting d bill

Sud dey now lie ni? Were u blind 2her ways b4 n after d death of her son?

See this ode, me n my bf sud we splitting bills. He sud take me where he can afford now. Women support their men. She cud be dropping % of her salary 2support d fam buh its still d man dt wud sort d bills

Ronnie said...

Why do some pple just think d climax of a woman's life is marriage?Don't get me wrong,I'm all 4 marriage as God intended it to be.Does anybody care to check in on a woman once she "succeeds" in getting married 2 knw how she feels?Do u v any idea how many women r miserable n doing all sorts of shitty stuff 2 keep d facade of their marriage on?I'll rather be old n lonely in my OWN house than young n miserable in a hubby's house! At least there's hope yet 4 d old n lonely single woman,wot's d hope 4 d young n miserable married woman na? Na wah!

Spoken like a true broke ass prick! Why so agreived? My broda u dey show yasef oh! Anyways hun I feel your pain, I'll be pissed @ chilli too if am a broke ass little man with penis size issues who can't make a woman cum nor even wank to make myself cum bcos my broke ass dick is way too small to even v a decent wank, u fucked up bitter prick! Go research how u can get dat Godforsaken clitoris-looking dick of urs enlarged! But in d interim remb wot we d ladies learnt yestd...water n clean hands! Let's hope it removes d stench off ur deformed willy!

Dapsyn said...

Babes, things aint easy I must tell you. Besides no guy want his woman to be well to do than him, buh God has His ways of doing things. If you (ladies) are rich, while not make yourself humble and examine the kind of man that come your way. Most gurls out there that doesn't have a man in their life is because they are being pompous and full of ego with what they've achieve. Remember vanity upon vanity all is vanity.

I'm the poster child for independent women. I have been financially independent since I was 20 & left home for NYSC. And no, my parents are neither dead nor poor.

I do not need a man to pay my bills. I can very well take care of myself. But hey! Every woman wants to feel like a princess every now and then. I should be able to have a man who takes me out to a fancy restaurant, takes me shopping, spoils me on my birthday and other non-occassions.

I would be willing to do the same for that man and MUCH MORE.....only because I WANT to, not because I HAVE to! It should not be by force, mbanu.

I am about to get married to a man who is all about equality when he comes to finances, or atleast some sort of contribution. Whilst I do not exactly have a problem with supporting my husband, if he sees it as an obligation for me to, I will NOT bring even one kobo.

I agree with Chilli 1000%!

Jungle Justice said...

Do u realise u reveal a bit of ur personality and thought-pattern when u make a comment? Take Chucks 4 example, he is a freaking coconut! Black on the outside but white in d inside. Child! It's clear u v a thing for caucasian gals if not did u v to inform us that all ur exes r whites? Na u be d 1st dude to stay overseas? Even some caucasian guys date both races in spite of racism. But our coconuty Chucks dates only oyibo gals so why d eff did u return to 9ja to c weda u can get a 9ja gal with oyibo mentality??? COCONUT! Conflicted! U're black but u see whites as superior! Biko enter one chance on a very long tin n zoom zoom zooooom back to obodoyibo! Typical coconutty behaviour, u knw oyibo gals fit ur criteria so wot d FUCK r u still using touchlight 4 daytime dey find black gal with oyis xter? Perhaps u'll end up with anoda coconutty babe! Anuofia!

Babycute said...

to the girls saying love matters all, i tink they are saying so bcoz they v neva been in the position, trust me m talking from experience, when u r in a relationship when the boy doesnt do anything, u begin to feel irritated and tired, lets be realistic pls, its even worse in marriage, u gonna get tired of paying bills! u just suddenly feel your r the man.

@Jungle Justice LMAO! Nigga, you're funny. Swear down. Just showed your reply to my colleagues. We're laughing out loud, literally.

Mate, I didn't state I dated white girls so as to pass on a message of superiority, or say that black girls are inferior in quality or mentality - nah, man. I just said it, period.

Listen, dude, there are great Nigerian girls out there. I'm talking about sisters who handle their business. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with a man providing for his family. I would love to do that some day - provide for my wife and my kids.

But man, this ain't 1882. This is 2012. Chicks work. They earn loads of cash. Come on, share some of the love! What's wrong with spending a little on your man? Just buy him stuff to show some appreciation? Most NORMAL men love spending on their women, anyway. But once a while you put something down, something nice. Something cool.

The thing is from my experience with girls in Nigeria, quite a number of them want everything on a platter of gold, and it's really weird. We're not even married and you want me to spend give you my credit card and pin. Chill! Make yourself indespensable in a relationship and your man will give you the world.

NIAJA MARRIEGE SELF...NA MONEY MOST NAIJA GIRLS DE MARRY FOR ..SIMPLE

Your comment is boring as shii..and you did not need to reply either..Its the way the cookie crumbles in Naija,if you don't like it,take a nap.
Move Nigga!

Jungle Justice said...

Hehehe! I think I like my Coconutty Chucks afterall! The broda isn't as uptight as I thought! I must admit u r a bigger man than I ever imagined! Cheers bro! One tasty coconut love! FYI am not a guy am a gurl! Hehehe. Take it easy bro, I hope our opinions clash on another topic on this blog, who knows? I may just withdraw ur coconut title...Nahhhhh I serzly doubt I will. LOL. Cheers!

If your man can supporty you why can't you support him. What of if he goes through hard times. My mum supported my dad and they are still happily married. Don't follow the trend cos if you do you would be married more than once.

Ur head too correct! Abeg chop kiss.. All these yeye women feeding their husbands be coming here and telling us to do the same.. Woman,if u are feeding ur husband,dats ur business,dnt force others to do the same

Infact! Ur brain too sharp..cme chop kiss

Ur head too correct! Infact,u need to chop big kiss..muaaaaah!

NAija marriage sef...Na beauty most naija men dey marry for...simple

Hmmmm now am afraid,anyway we'll meet under d camera used by Farouk and Otedola,to avoid anoda Cynthia ish(male version) looolz.~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310.

I am in London and I see it this way please no insult, because this blog kinda has many Under 25s. If you are dating a white chic,hold your side except you INSIST but if it is a black chic,HOLD FOR TWO or for her on dates. Nothing wrong with black or white chics but thats my own opinion.
Most of the white chics I go out on a date with, are always cash ready, buy her champagne, they might even double it, so far they are feeling you.I am not rich nor broke,but black chics are kinda greedy which scares me alot on going to dates with them,plus apart from that they like to size a man up, by what shoes or watch is he putting on and I don't like that because I dress to be myself.
My point is this if you ask her out, be ready to do the hosting.If she asks you out then expect her to have hers but still HOLD yours.My N5.

@ Anonymous (September 12, 2012 3:49 PM): It's a free world, dude. I can reply anyone if I want to. Besides, I wasn't talking to you. I was simply laying down my opinion, like the 100+ people on this blog. That's right - it's called democracy. If you don't like it, take a nap ... Negro.

Ok - a bit different in Uk compared to naija. if the girl has a good job too, then she needs to contribute to the bills as the bills here are very high, believe me. how do u expect him alone to pay childminder costs, rent/mortgage, several bills, food, haba, women (i'm one too). but i agree it shouldnt be compulsive but a workable agreement.

Okay here's the deal...........if a woman wants equality in the relationship then spiltting bills should not be a problem,but if she wants the man to pay 4 every single tin,then she should be prepared to be treated as a burden also and let the man have full control over the relationship which means when he is done wit her he can dump her afterall she is just a BURDEN not a patner

his should be because he has to and yours because u want to??? Interesting!!!

Dr Shilva said...

Hymenoplasty in Chandigarh - http://drshilvaashirwadgynaeclinic.weebly.com/hymenoplasty--vaginal-tightening.html