Paralympics 2012: Nigeria finishes 3rd best in Africa with 13 Medals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 September 2012

Paralympics 2012: Nigeria finishes 3rd best in Africa with 13 Medals

Africa did very well in the just concluded Paralympic Games. 10 African countries won 112 medals - 38 gold, 36 silver and 38 bronze medals.

Nigeria placed third in Africa after Tunisia and South Africa and 22nd on the overall medals table. Nigeria had 6 gold, 5 silver and 2 bronze. We were also the Games' overall number one winners of the Power lifting event, from where we won 12 of our13 medals.

Team Nigeria athletes also set four world records through Esther Oyema, Yakubu Adesokan, Joy Onaolapo and Folashade Oluwafemiayo.

71 comments:

Kudos to them. They deserve to be honoured.

Congrats. Super humans! Now, they should pump a lot of money into disability sports and continue to strive for greatness.

They are done us proud. And the ones with their whole body intact couldn't even come back with a broom. So proud of them

happyhausabunny said...

Wow! Congrats to dose who won medals n dose who took part! They did us proud! I'm truly inspired 2dai!

'jide said...

Go team Nigeria!!! This is to show we perform better when we are handicapped.

ESTHER said...

CONGRATULATIONS TO THEM!!!!!!!

welldone team naija......

African Sweetheart said...

That's Brilliant. God bless them!

Please check out my blog gorgeous readers! xx

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

Warri Girl said...

Yeah, am impressed

AJ said...

Congrats! God bless you guys immensely... I rebuke anybody that comes to mess up this one for us too...IJN...AMEN!

So proud of them. Hope they come back 2 fanfare

Definitely kingsley blog said...

It's good! Just goes to show that people with disabilities can still be achievers=> Definitelykingsley.blogspot.com

Let's wait and see what President Badluck will do for these olympiads.

big up to you guys. I believe i speak for everyone when i say NIGERIA is proud of ya. mwahhh

am so glad that they are given the chance to be celebrated for actual talent. congrats to all who took part in the paralympics. u all are true inspiration to all the the disabled people out there in the world. lets celebrate them!!!!!!!11

Congratulations!!!

Nonye said...

God bless them, Linda I think its up to bloggers like you with a broad outreach to help get out these people's stories. Their stories are certain to be very inspirational and they as deserving of attention and endorsements from the private sector as Genevieve, Basketmouth, P-Squared and the rest.

agathA said...

Hahaahaaaaaaaa u are so hilarious

Wot able bodied cld not achieve, disables achieved, there is indeed ability in disability. They deserve a rousing welcome and national honour. Kudos to them!

Joey said...

Nice!!!. Big congrats to them. They did us proud.

How are you so sure they are truly disabled. Is it not Nigerians we are talking about? Anyhow sha, congrats to them.

To think these people prepared on their own wit little or no govt support, God bless them for doing us proud. They really inspire me and they deserve the biggest of commendation and appreciation.

motolani said...

Wowww if able men can make us as proud as dey did,dnt u think we can give dem a chance 2 contest 4 presidency...

And this our silly FG wont see these guys to award national honours...Instead they're giving them to people who have done nothing to inspire others and are robbing this nation blind...nonsense!

I call those peeps super-human b'cos they did what able bodied athletics could not do.I hope GEJ would give them presidential welcome and reward them accordingly

@Anon 2:40 how re you so sure that you aint stupid?
A big congratulations to them! They sure have done us proud!!
~Emerald~

Dullard

Anon 2.40...what kind of being are u? Didn't u see the power lifters? You are a moron

Wow! What the physically fit could not do. It think Naija should concentrate on Paralympics instead of waisting time and money on the oda 1.

janded said...

That is fabulous. Kudos!
Hoe the able bodied people will learn a thing or two in preparation for the next Olympic

Is Linda ikeji really sting? 2 years and not even a recharge card promo for her fans.SMH

I think we should invest where we have comparative advantage. That is common sense. Invest in paralympics and forget this able bodied men and women that cannot achieve anything.

So proud of them. Am so sure they had less funds at their disposal than the able-bodied athletes had, and yet they did us proud, even when the others couldn't. God bless their efforts. I hope the Nigerian Government rewards them, not just a "presidential handshake".

Its a good lesson for men who desires wisdom, because we now understand that disability only exists in physical and not in the mind. Congratulations and thank you all for this wonderful exposure.

ayaba said...

U are a big fool!! That's a very silly statement to make haba be appreciative and supportive or better still shut up!!

ayaba said...

Madalohun, he\she is an oponu!

zoomzoomzoom said...

There is truly ability in disability.Congrats to you all, thanks for making Nigeria proud again.

This shows Naija is Handicapped. Kudos!!!

slickyken said...

Do u drink ur urine?Why do u reason with ur anus?..The officials in paralympics are much more equipped and sensitive.You think say na home video??.Mugu!

cheks said...

God makes us in different ways, they are not disabled but "differently-abled"!

Since these disabled athletes only have a small portion of their bodies to work with, its not a surprise that they would do well. Leave our able bodied Olympians alone. Does the government invest in them?? No. do they have proper training? No. so STFU and take your misplaced anger to your federal government and stop blaming the athletes. Fools

Mumu!! U don't knw daht der check all dos stuffs first abi? Ull come n b displaying ur stupidity publicly, meanwhile u haven't done a single thing.

They did really well. kudos to them. These are the real athletes unlike the ones that participated in the Olympics. It was not possible for them to do man-know-man for paralympics unlike in olympics cos its either you are disabled or not. You cant believe that the athletes that represented 9ja for the tracks wore just plain green vests and stuck the numbers to their chest. This shows no support from the government. A simple green vest with Nigeria written on it or with the flag would have been good

Hmnnn....wonderful!!....what the able cannot do, the disable can do better!!!!. am segun

CONGRATULATIONS!!!i'm so proud of them.

Musediq said...

Thats God's word...if the ables think they are too big, then the "super" ables will do it...They shouldn't be called "disables" again, cos they are doing wonders...KUDOS TO ALL THE PARALYMPIANS that participated all over the world, we love you!

happyhausabunny said...

U'r so ryt! Dey had beta gve dese men n women d awards n d recognition dey deserve! They r d 1s who deserve d national honours d most nt dose oda ppl.

happyhausabunny said...

Crawl bak 2 ur hole u weasel! Kmt fool!

Congrats to all of them. I particularly watched the lady that was rolling to thank God after her victory. All these people are too much. Now please let us pray that our dear govt will do something (as it is done to national heroes) for these athletes.

Seriously ehn u hv to be extremely foolish for saying this.like if they weren't would they be registered as paralympians!!I wonder how linda copes with certified idiots like you jamming up her blog

Anon 2:40 has to be the person websters tot of when they were defining the words foolish and stupid. You indeed r the living epitome

go to hell with paralympics whatever u call it, where were you in Olympics 2012? you got none medal now bragging...shame!

@Anon 7:51pm, dt's a very rash and silly statement to make. It's obvious u r a retard for saying such rubbish.Why didn't u participate in d Olympics & win medals instead of sitting on ur lean arse & insulting those who did?

faspel said...

Buhahahahahahahahahahahaha. My God i've jst lost my voice.

Gbagaun F9 go to skl hehehe soz just had to do that

U'll jst start writting rubbish...or u dnt knw certain criterias have to βε̲̣ met before qualifying or u think say na jst nybody wey dey wheelchair..

A car, designed for disabled like they have here in the UK for them, they struggle to get to training.

A house at least a 2 bed

And the state and co-operate bodies should chip in some cash.
This awesome folks can NOT get big endorsements like their foreign counterparts. PLS DO SOMETIHNG

Anon 9:39,I'm from Kenya, may be I should remind you how many medals we wonin Olympics 2012,what about you bwahahahah!....NIL

Anon 9:39pm,How come a highly populated nation won none medal? shame shame! I know the only race u can win medals is giving birth like rabbits,use birth control fools!

oyinda said...

Ur stupidity and foolishness has no bounds..weeere yaba left

Louisa A. said...

Isnt it ironic? These are the so called "disabled" people. What did the so called "able bodied" ones achieve? Well done jare! God bless you for lifting Nigeria high.

Joey said...

@ Anon 7:51pm You are a big fooooollllllll. Quote me anywhere idiot.

@ Alicia, You're the bigger fool. Reading your first statement did it ever occur to you that that is why they are not doing all the sports that olympians did because they can't use all part of their body. If they were competing with abled body men i will understand that is the reason why dey are winning cos they are not using all their body. But they are competing with their type.
Did the FG train olympians NO, did the FG train paralympians NO.
It only goes to show that the paralympians pushed very very hard. Odeee.

LALICIOUS said...

Congratulations,,,,am sure dey ar proud of demselves,,kisses u all av made us proud

Congrats! U've shown them that there is ability in yr disability. You have done us proud, thanks to U all. Uncle Ebele here they come what did you have for them?

imagine na people wey we dey call disable, they made us proud
www.freemanezeiruaku.blogspot.com

I'm talking about funding for the normal athletes during the regular olympics. Does the government invest enough?? Secondly, the disabled tend to develop certain parts of their body more than normal since they have less to work with. E no be rocket science, Abeg.
Is not everywhere you pick a fight with me

Nigeria as a country is disabled! Thanks guys for doing us proud.

What able team can't do. Dis able does it best.

Congrats! Sports oficials, wia're dey? Wen can we learn 2 do gud, 2 apreciate, 2 motivate, is 13 medals not much 2 welcom dem?. Pls lets improv 2 gud not evil

Wow...m mega proud of dem. U c? Pple wehn get leg no fit bring medal come bac!!! Chai...