Is this allowed in fashion? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 14 September 2012

Is this allowed in fashion?

Can you wear print on print on print? If it was me wearing this combo naw, you people will not let me hear word...:-). That's Solange Knowles, by the way!

162 comments:

orisirisi said...

even if it is not allowed, pls they shld start allowing it cos im tired of always looking for plain to match print

Sakara said...

No it's not allowed, ts a faux paus

Am sure she just wanted to be n d news, cause she knows better, only do 1 @ a go!

Fashion is dynamic. There's no right or wrong it all boils down to one's creativity. Personally i think its allowed but that's just my opinion.

Infobizz9ja

nenye AD said...

Nooooooooo. That's α̩ big bad

janded said...

Linda!!! Yes you can! She looks fab!

awele said...

Looks really awful (˘̯˘ )

elle daddy said...

Big fashion faux par... she is trying to start a new traend and those annoying naija babes will be sure to bastardize it

ms bhookey said...

Heard its a new trend buh it doest work 4 all kinda patterns tho!!!!!dis 1 worked

My dear de've startd doin it o, doh ds her own ugly sha.terrible combo

Segun said...

I feel u can wear whatever suits u as long as its fine and you're comfortable in it.I don't think there is a fashion constitution. BTW she looks good in what she's wearing.

Linda did you hear what is going with the okoro family in Ghana. Go on a Ghanaian website and let me know what you think.

Dis doesn't even look gud...so wrong
tosin

LadyNgo said...

its the same concept as color blocking. seen it many times and i'm not even in to fashion.

ATM said...

Its very much allowed Linda! You have to color block. Its the in thing. Your stuff doesnt have to match linda!! She looks really nice. We even do it here in Nigeria, with the OLEKU iro and buba.

apparently it is in! But some of these fads i wouldnt be caught dead wearing

Stargal said...

am confusingggggggggg ooooooo, dnt mind d gramma na d prints cause am

marie said...

Yup yup! Print on print is trending this season. As long as u can match d patterns n rock it properly. Solange knowles is a print-rocker. Go gurl! A+ for her!

Derez jst smthn off bout it ...nt filin d combo!

Horrible!!!*jaw drop* its a No...No...what da f**k was she finking for Gods sakes when she wore dat?

That's a disaster.am calling Joan Rivers right away!!

No way! Definitely a no no! And look at the leopard print shoes.yuck!

yes, its a new trend... besides who saya you must follow rules anyway

Linda, 2012 has become a yr for rule breakers in fashion.... Colour blocking became more popular.... So has print on print... U jus have to keep their dimensions different.
Go with the flow girl!

Crimes to fashion.

NEKS said...

Na only her fine face save her..cos lookin at ds pic..mehn!it looks as if d sun just got closer to planet earth..d colour 'scatter' is blinding..I dey use sunshade read ds post and to look d pic now,upon say light no dey my house.."Worfugly combo"

Oge Nsimah said...

Abeg linda don't wish urself to dress like this thing here ...she looks like a village house help

Dead!!!!!!

Onakachi said...

Linda, you are fast o! I actually like this outfit and how she mixed different prints. It's actually one of my favorite looks from this week. Wish she had styled her hair diferently.

Onakachi.blogspot.com <---Click me! Click me!! :)

Kanyinulia said...

Its not allowed in fashion!!! but because she's SOLANGE, she cant pull it off!

how is it different from ankara combo? abeg the girl looks good jare

Yes it is.. If well combined

It's a NO NO...

complete mess!

Warri Girl said...

Looks like a lady in 1970s and it's not fine.

Nenye said...

This is called FASHION BLUNDER. Na becos na celebrity wear am. If na people like me, they will say i don dey craze.

Leema said...

She's maturing and getting pretty. Nice, at least we know what beyonces hair really looks like.

AJ said...

Linda pls, people yab you when the whole thing does not come together. Trust me, sometimes your whole package looks differently than you thought in your head. Solange has always had a fashion forward style so this kinda works on her. but ladies, do not try this at home...yet!

Let's try something new. www.ahdaizy.wordpress.com http://wp.me/p2f9On-bW

Only Solange can pull off this look..... She is jst eccentric like dat.. Love her

Mma Linda, absolutely nothing wrong with the combo. Her shoes are the only fashion no no. We are mixing different colors of Ankara to make one outfit so I don't see anything wrong with this. She's played with patterns in a different way

Well with the color blocking trend in vogue me tinks its allowed but it doesn't look good to me. Linda post ♍γ̲̣̣̥ comment O°˚˚˚ .

Linda the truth is dat dere are no clear cut rules to fashion.its all about expressing urself.anything can be worn in the name of fashion provided the ryt attitude to carry the look is there.I actually like her look.damdiva

ALLYBERRY said...

Saw this pix yesterday,don't think there's anything wrong with the combo tho.plus her face looks kinda different here

Sometimes its okay and there's a way u rock it . I think ppl with natural full hair can rock it well tho. Not really for u Linda cause na so so weave and that sometimes gets in d way with unique fashion style .

That's cos you are Linda, and she's Solange. How many people you don hear wey dey bear Solange? And besides, Nigerians are soooo concerned bout Lind nd wat she wears.

Cos u are nigerian #(˘̯˘ )( ˘˘̯)# disappears

Jungle Justice said...

Unfortunately yes! This is one of the fashion trends especially in Hollywood. Prints on a different pattern. Polka dots on stripes and some other prints and patterns combo. Trending or not, It aint working for me.

Linda! OMG!!!

This is really in right now. A few years ago, hell no! But that's fashion for you. Ever changing, ever revolving!

Kapiche!

I no gree for this one even though na Solange. Im miss boat Yellow bag put on top. Not working for the eyes. I am dizzy!

Even the shoe na different print. Big error. the missor was defective

Wht kind of colour is dis?..Biko kporo nwanyia ga mee ya deliverance..

dipo said...

It is okay......but it will better on you linda!! *winks*

CHEIII! NO COMMENT OH!I CANT SEE AGAIN OH......lol

dmj said...

#eye sore

A ill too much, I must say.

Gosh my eyes..

Dis is so not right..

royal softness said...

Wrong!!!fashion blunder.

I don't like it..
You can't wear print on print

Anythng is fine my dear sista. The fact that it comes out nice n good then its allowed cos there's what they call vintage.... Bless!

Adele said...

Linda you are so far behind with what's in fashion! Of course it's allowed. Mixing prints is so in. BUT, there are rules and you've got to have a certain edge to pull it off. Solange has that edge and she's following the rules. Looking fab Solange! Love it!

Oya go wear nw. Fear self no go let u cme out of ur house

Nice combo nd skin

Linda ur skin is not fresh like hers

Adele said...

Have to say though, didn't notice the animal print shoes initially. Don't think it quite goes with the mixed prints. But hey, it's Solange, she's a bit of a fashion rebel!

For me oo I think its cool.*_*

Linda, you don improve in recent times
wetin we go call that dressing?
naijaopenmouth.com

Linda oo asif u flex different with colours.. Can u not see the different colours in her outfit??

It is a huge fashion don't ........no matter who wears it.

dee said...

Linda dnt try dis biko

IAmhairs said...

hehehe....like seriously linda dis 1 z cool like that......we follow back @iAmhairs.....

Fashion police, pls take her away for makeover ;

Yes linda! U can wear print on print! Its a fashion "YES". U only hav to be careful not to look too overwhelmed by d outfit. But I love dis combo! Nice 1 solange. ... Li2**n

Epic faail.yeah som prrints cn b worn bt biko nt dis typ

dee said...

Whr r d comments

dee said...

Linda dnt try dis biko

love her she doesnt give a flying f*ck what anyone thinks. on her it works on anyone else don't bother. she's the female kanye

Linda yeye dresser said...

First of all, Linda, it is allowed. And even if it wasnt, what do u want to do about it now that she's wearing it? Obviously this is the first time you've seen this, with ur drab colored dress sense.

Print on print is allowed.. Just wear a good combination and you're good to go.

No wonder....

Oma said...

Love love love this trend of mixing prints. Looks weird but in a good way....absolutely love. check out www.pingstop.blogspot.com

oh my days what nansense and total rubish.linda make you no try am oh other wise ehh the batching go dey to much

Yes u can,olodo linda

Of course it is. I could wear this but with red shoes and probably a brown bag instead

evvy said...

D tooo many prints Dey scratch my eye, biko.

meethey said...

Don't mind them jare linda....if na we wee dem go say we no know fashion..*smh*

yes as a matter of fact thats the new trend doesnt look good on everybody n not everone can get away with it...........

See this girl called linda wo. Who are u that we wont allow u hear word? Lyk we care! Rolling my eyes.

Yinka said...

Anything is allowed in Fashion. this is her own style and it came out nice by the way.

Anytn can pass 4 fashion so long as solange is involved...u shld ve known dt by now....

She don kolo,felony! From Tata NY

moberry said...

The fact she's wearing dis rubbish combination doesn't make it right,if twas beyonce yes it might start a trend....buh she's jus beyonce's babysis...beyonce star is too bright,she may never shine.

That's why u can't do it and she can,if u think u can try it and c

@FeistyIce_ (Freelance stylist) said...

Yes, and she is the only person allowed to be that outrageous.. Linda, when you have become a fashion legend, you can compare...

Of course its allowed miss ikeji,u just dey display ur ignorance.the babe is on point and her combo is hot like fire.lovely.u should improve ur fashion sense and not you matchy matchy all the time.if u like no post my comment .

Femiluv said...

She rocked it!! Linda, sorry but you would have made it look blah.

Linda simply cos its solange doesnt mean she cnt do fashion blunder! No1 is perfect! Dey all mk mistakes

D shoe is cheeta skin too,bt its right if its solange @mashlessness

happyhausabunny said...

Lmao! Linda u'r own is diff! U nid a stylist!

This combo no work at all
She being Solange knowles no mean say any dress wey she wear works.
The dress won resemble dress wey they make in the 70ths
Abi she they go old school party.

There's nothing wrong with this nah? I can wear this.

Sandra Ijeme Dickson said...

Absolutely no!!!! But wetin dey worry d girl sef..

kanayo said...

Linda its Nice outfit. Its called fashion.

Its very much allowed right now. But only few know how to combine the right kinds of prints. She looks great to me. I love :)

Offshoreoffshoree said...

This outfit is wrong. The outfit is not outstanding.

Yes linda its allowed,Fashion is an art u play with colours n fabrics 2 create ur style,u should try it. Hehehehehe

Lighten up Linda! The babe is just trying to start a trend in fashion and as a fashionista she has to always come up with new styles. Whether u naw follow that trend is ur choice, but as for me o dis combo is a bit confusing... Lol

Solange was/is one who never knows how to dress. So NO I aint surprised, when it comes to knowing how to dress she will definitely be worst dressed chic.

Most of the items in vogues today are from the 80's and beyond so what's your point.

If its Linda... It is capital NOOOO
But as its Solage.. I guess it's allowed
Says Solange devotee!

Different prints are definitely in as long as its not something way out there

Pot Of Honey said...

linda no mind them, wear wetin u know say u dey comfortable with

Its 2012....
Colour blocking became more popular... D myth of mixing gold n silver jewelleries dont stand anymore.....
The rule breakers ve totally taken over dear.....
Print on print is sooo in! Jus keep them in different dimensions.

Linda post my comment nau

poka dots on prints and then leopard prints equals www.confused.com....simple

I still say its cool,cos anytin goes dis days @mashlessness

She can get away with it cuz shes Beyonce sis? U, u cant cuz u ain't Beyonce sis...

At least she color blocked the prints but u, u will wear same prints as skirt, top n shoes annnnnd bag...smh! If u like don't post this

Bex said...

Yes Linda you are allowed to clash prints, textures and colours as long as it comes out aesthetically pleasing. Who would have thought wearing a blue top and green skirt would be fashionable one day? Personally, I think Solange is one of the most stylish starlet out there.

http://www.bexluvs2dress.blogspot.com

Ugly Betty did some fantastic print on print....so this aint so new.

Lala said...

Make Joan Rivers catch her!

solange is seriously maxed out with prints.jeez even the shoes.well i guess its acceptable since its the season of mix matching.many things r allowed nw.

Stacey said...

I absolutely love this. Solange has got style for days! It's only in Nigeria people feel like you must be matchy-matchy. Hissssss

Linda its the new trend - print on print. Ain't u a blogger?? Don't you see this all over the internet??? Btw its fashion week in nyc so yes everyone is styling here.

Its def allowed...the fashion nowadys is tending towards that.most designers have that in their recent collections...so

It is allowed it just takes skills to do it well

any one can wear anything but just because it looks good on one person doesn't mean it'll look good on u or another person. everyone doesn't have the same body shape...#justsaying
Z

Linda Yes it is allowed!!! As long as u can pull it off beautifully!! I love what solange putting on n I'm a sucker 4 prints @ d moment!!!

free said...

Tired of all the fashion dos and donts. If you love it and feel/look good in it, rock it. Who gave them the right to dictate what works and what doesn't anyway...

ivy said...

Print on print is very acceptable, so far d prints r not d same buh dey match. Solange is luking stunning as usual, esp wiv d yellow bag 2 jazz it up. U̶̲̥̅̊ shud try dis lin lin

lately mixing print has found its way into fashion just d same way "color riot" aka color blocking is in vogue now http://thefashionengineer.com/2012/08/10/the-fashion-engineers-guide-to-mixing-prints/... go here to see more on how to mix print.

Dobis said...

Print on print aint a bad idea if u can combine it well.This Solange's own, I no gree @ all. She dint pull it off for me.

Kanyinulia, I like ur name.#nohomo#

lily said...

Sum pple are just mentally derailed......dy cum here to insult linda, is it nw a crime 4 her 2post sumtin 4 u guys 2 comment on? U can mak ur point witout insultin her now Haba!! Nywaiz dy say common sense is uncommon...haters shud wise up

Deekay said...

Would've been better if she didn't wear those shoes. Looks a bit too much.

Rt Hon. Emeka Ihedioha said...

www.chinenyetellsit.blogspot.com

fashion is as dynamic as the celebrities make it..... watch out people prints on prints will soon be the ish!

Its cald pattern blocking...I tink its d hardest tin 2 do in fashion. Cos if u miss it,u make a complete mess...she looks lovli tho I tink she tried

LOL...dear linda i think you are the last person that should be talking when it comes to what and what not to wear in FASHION... #justsaying

Stick 2 ur faux pas n watch d whole world break all d fashion rules. Did u eva bliv dat wit all d 2 match dressing of d early 2000 color blocking wud see d lyt of day? Dats wat ppl call trendsetting. She's leading d way. Soon ppl will follow... I lyk d look cos d designs aren't so conflicting.I hate 2 tell u dis but u go soon find yaself dey do am

As far as I am concerned its pretty. For people who don't know fashion it's called color blocking. Btw d combo was nice not bcos its miss knowles but becos it was a classy one

Gbam on point boss

Stick 2 ur faux pas n watch d whole world break all d fashion rules. Did u eva bliv dat wit all d 2 match dressing of d early 2000 color blocking wud see d lyt of day? Dats wat ppl call trendsetting. She's leading d way. Soon ppl will follow... I lyk d look cos d designs aren't so conflicting.I hate 2 tell u dis but u go soon find yaself dey do am

Mama ifu said...

This looks AWFUL!!!!!its like she knows she can't match her sis Beyonce,so she didnt just gave up, she turned rogue...look at her hair!!!!! She looks like a rich meth addict..

Cos solange is wearing it doesnt make it rite abeg its bullshit.

Even if it were allowed in fashion,are you blind to see how ugly hers look?

I love †ђε combination..... It looks good & not conflicting. Linda i wanna ask u a question: Do you agree dat it is advisable to break †ђε rule to amend †ђε rule as in Cinematography?

Rita Diamonds said...

only the bag and shoe goes

Gkay said...

she looks like she is advertising OMO detergent.

Tonia said...

Jesus Christ I said it I knew all dis jobless commenters re all local FOOLS print on print is so so in Jesus Christ I'm even shocked at u Linda bt u can be 4given cos u hardly hv time 2 watch t.v pls always watch style.t.v channel 183 or fashion t.v solange is so so so on point u guys Berra learn .jesus Christ I'm awed mehn

Yes, you can wear patterns over patterns and stripes on stripes. If it was stripes on patterns, then it would have been a no no. I stand to be corrected though:)

haroyalsweetness said...

i hear its d new fashion trend o.wonder who started it sha and i wonder y it stayed.but like colour blocking its here 2 stay.i remember wen colour blocking was termed colour riot

Kemi Adetiba(Project fame Presenter)wore the same....was surprised tho

JournalOfUs said...

Lol linda we luf u dts why na... Dear Solange, but why?

exactly oh. help me tell em print matched with printes sensibly aint a faux pas. its trending

Me I love d combo and solange as just echo my kind of trendsetting. And who said matching print on print and on print is wrong. I'm all for it cos I'm dressing dat way and linda expect a pix of me

Bat-Girl said...

Nope!!! Not allowed! Waaaaaaaaayyyyy too busy!!! Combined with the hair and all. Pls Joan Rivers and her team??!! Abi them never see this one?!

yteeza said...

It won't be as bad but the shoes with all that drama is soo wrong. May be if she carried matching shoes with d bag

yack!!! luks so wrong on her,sm1 fashionable lyk kim k or victoria cn pull it off witot making it luk wrng

Old rags,
dressed like blind sunday school teacher

Blaxx12 said...

Actually Yes, according some US fashionisters. I saw that at Khols this month.