In defence of the Ministry of Aviation - Benedict Onuoha | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 September 2012

In defence of the Ministry of Aviation - Benedict Onuoha

Abuja lounge now
This piece was written by Benedict Onuoha...read and let us know what you think...
Let talk about the changes in our airports, for those who travel often; you will agree that there has been a face lift of some major airports in Nigeria
As time has shown, a lot of things do go bonkers in Nigeria. It is commonplace to, in this country of ours, blame any and everything that goes wrong, on officials in government, and this sometimes overshadows the good and the change that is being effected by some of them in office.

Kano Exterior Now
Unbiased watchers in the aviation industry can attest to the fact that a number of new developments have been going on, under the drive of the oft-criticized Princess Stella Oduah.
For as long as I can remember, no other minister has been more vocal in matters of a domestic sector than Oduah, who has put in a lot of efforts at reshaping the industry, more than Harold Demuren’s Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA).

A lot of routine developments have been gradually occurring, one of which is the planned construction of the Aerotropolis.

For the unaware, an Aerotropolis is a city whose layout and economy are centered around an airport. The airport is more or less the centre of attraction and connectivity and there are a number of businesses that spring up from the everyday activity of air passengers including fashion hubs, Information and Communication Technology (ICT) and most importantly, hospitality. These businesses contribute massively to the GDP of the country. The first African Aerotropolis is currently being constructed in Ekurhuleni, South Africa.

As it stands, there is none of such projects in Nigeria and only recently, the minister on her roadshow to attract investors, caught a very big fish, the Chinese government. The latter is to partner with the Ministry of Aviation in building such infrastructural facilities in Nigeria.

Also, each time I go through any of our airports, it is hard not to behold the developmental changes specific to each in the ongoing facelift, and not smile proudly. These changes, everyone can readily attest to.

Completed Doppler Weather Radar @ Abuja
The Akanu Ibiam Airport, Enugu was only recently shutdown for some scheduled repair and maintenance work and new facilities have equally been installed at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International airport, Abuja; the Port Harcourt International airport, Omagwa and the General Aviation Terminal (GAT) in Lagos.

As sources say, five new international airport projects are to be embarked upon in the nearest future and as we all agree, this will be a big boost for the Nigerian aviation community and will ease the congestion and over-reliance on both the Abuja and Lagos airports.

I look forward to the time where our airports can be as sophisticated as international airports like the Gatwick Airport, London and the Changi Airport in Singapore. While the road (or flight?) to Zion may not be smooth, it seems sure at the end of the remodelling. Carry go, Minister!

31 comments:

Chief this is not acceptable. Have seen the present state of the port harcourt or the MMA? Please please and please do not patronize us we are no fools!!!!! When you have fixed the most busiest airport in west africa(MMA)then you can defend the Ministry of Aviation.....Rubbish!!!!!

obviously this is a paid surrogate, if not there'd be no need to include Demuren's name in a negative light in his piece. So what shld we do now, praise a minister bcos he or she is doing there work, is that not the same lady that is spear heading getting Dana back in business without them facing any legal case for allowing a faulty plane fly. Please Mr Onuoha, whatever u were paid to put this up, better return it before the blood of those who have indirectly been killed due to the inefficiencies of government comes to hunt you.

I don't personally know Benedict Onuoha but form this piece i can tell he's either an idiot or a sycophany, maybe even both. This is typically bad Nigerian mentality where we don't learn to prioritize limited resources to achieve desired results. In the wake of the air disasters in the country (and i'm not talking about Dana alone), the priority should be to establish confidence in the aviation sector by publishing the findings of air crash investigations, taking appropriate steps to ensure that they are mitigated in the future and ensuring the regulatory bodies are doing what is expected of them. If these steps are already being done or have been done then Nigerians should be made aware not by publishing wide sweeping ambiguous statements that have no basis. I lost friends in the Dana crash and I personally witnessed what some families are going through. They spent weeks waiting on DNA results so they could bury their loved ones, they have not received any compensation or personal contact from DANA airlines management and then face the impunity of the FG lifting the suspension on the airline and our honorable minister claiming the ban was wrong in the first place. Does anybody in Leadership in Nigeria know what they are doing? Is the issue renovated airport lounges, new weather balloons or Aerotropolis? What a load of rubbish

is this person okay? i doubt it. we are talking of the safety of the people and this lady here is talking of infrastructures. yes it is agreed we need our airports to be in good standard but will dat not be worthless if the planes that arrives at the airport are in terrible conditions? its like having a beautiful saloon and no experienced stylist to satisfy the custtomer.

they will only change lounges first because that is where they obese money stealing asses sit when they are travelling. all airports in nigeria are disgusting. for one of the busiest airports in the world. nigerian airports are fucking disgusting. fuck i wish i could just bomb all the politicians in their villas, form a new govt, and people can vote for who they want as leaders. fuuuuuuck!

AMAZON,

WHAT BLOODY RUBBISH!!

PORT HARCOURT AIRPORT HAS BEEN IN AN ABYSMAL STATE OF SLOOOOOOW CONSTRUCTION OVER THE LAST 2YEARS!!!

THIS BY THE WAY IS JUST TO CONTRUCT HALF A TERMINAL LOUNGE!!

YES DAMMMIT I AM SHOUTING!!!

And corruption keeps eating deeper!!!

I honestly do not know Mr. Onuoha but all I can say is that the Aviation Minister led by Princess Stella Oduah has been a success. She has tried all her best to ensure that aged long airports in Nigeria are revamped. Most of you commenting have never traveled through air so I understand your anger. Have you seen the Abuja airport lately? The Minister did not just shut down the Abuja local, she had to also start the renovation of the international and on air safety and Dana Brouhahah, here are the conditions put before their take off Conduct a full Airworthiness and Safety assessment on the entire DANA fleet. Financial health audit. Installation of real time tracking/monitoring device for airframe and engines, plus emergency Flight Data Recorder (FDR) streaming capabilities.
The complete Payment of all insurance claims and compensation to victim families. Re-certification of DANA’s entire fleet and crew

Swift said...

leave it to an igbo man to defend anything evil after his already greedy and dirty soul has been bought over. lovers of money. same way they are virtually the only ones you see in the media defending the introduction of the 5000 naira note. smh.

Warri Girl said...

This just a sycophant talking. Oh please *not interested emoticon*

I will say it as it is sha even though comments in this blog sting. If u are a frequent traveller, u cannot ignore the changes going on in the aviation sector especially when it comes to face-lift for the bus parks we've been calling airports. Sometimes it's best to be logical rather than emotional. Whoever the minister is, kudus to her, our airports are changing.

If i have never passed any of Nigeria's airports, this IDIOT still wouldn't have convince me of any improvement....

Having improvement in infrastructure and increased number of international airports is desirable and long overdue, especially in the south east. If the ministry is pursuing this, then they are doing what should have been done and should probably be commended. Having said that, I do not know this Benedict character and why he decided to totally ignore the issue of safety. The fact that China is involved is not an achievement. It is part of deployment of soft power and influence peddling by the Chinese and trust me every project done in Nigeria is paid for by the Nigerian people indirectly or directly. They are investing and building infrastructure all over the world especially in Africa and are furthering their interests. The Nigerian govt shld not take any credit since they are taking Chinese loans and using Chinese companies and employing Chinese people and stimulating the Chinese economy. Do not get me wrong, I am not anti-China and do not buy the anti-China propaganda all over the media. In fact they have a strong similarity culturally with the Igbo people, and I am in fact Igbo. We have a lot to learn from them and should not stupidly praise Nigerian officials for what China has done for us. Unless Benedict is a govt official, his defence of Aviation ministry does not make sense.

everyone can like to cool down, please commend those that are making efforts, if its lounge this minister chose to do and do well let her do it. if another minister comes he can do something else. one step at a time. nigerians often want transformation to happen in one day, forgetting the rot wasnt also made in a day. and no i'm not paid to write this, just an objective nigerian.

Cosmetic surgery, that's what this is. It's great if she's giving all the airports a face lift. However, it also shows our obsession with LOOKING good instead of being good. If I had to choose, I'd take a crappy airport over a dangerous domestic airline any day. Oya now let her finish all her aviation face lifts quick quick and move on to the real issue. 'Swift September 11, 2012 4:12 PM' of the Anti-Igbo Society, NDEWOOOOO. lol, ignorant mongoose

Mr Right thinker said...

peeps, please its better to shun ethnic jingoism while commenting on issues concerning the 'NIGERIA PROJECT'. Tackle the issue but dont target the person!

I almost fainted when I saw Abuja airport, that airport is like block and flat, that tall ball doesn't mean jack. I employ the aviation ministry to try a bit at least, our airports are terrible, see IMO state airport kai! P.H too is just terrible, its really bad that this minister will come and be yarning balls about unbiased judgement, the airports are Shit. U need to rebuild and upgrade them.

i think mrs oduah is doing well..lets be patient and see the end of the matter

U are even talking abt PH and MMA, u wil weep wen u see the Samuel Mbakwe airport in Owerri.

Austin Uche said...

if ur gonna insult sumone, insult the pesin and leave his or her tribe alone...... D commenter dah mentioned "igbo" in his statement is more confused dan the confused writer of this annoying piece.i am very sure dah if he had lost a loved one in one of these air mishaps, then he will wake up to reality..... Dah being said, i am nuh saying building lounges and wah eva is not a gud tin, buh for once can all these ministers and director generals of public corporartions pls do wat is necessary ist, before beautifying where we can chill and drink, and take pictures? Plssssss am begging ! ! ! May God help us o ! #ok, bye bye.......lolz

On point. Benedict is a piece of Shit

This is ridiculous...why seek praises on work in progress. An idea is only as good as the execution, why should we clap because she is exposed and has seen how standard airports should look like and she is putting efforts to achieve something. No one rewards efforts only results.

Please no body should mention port Harcourt airport cause there is no greedy place like d ph indigens they eat up all d money allocated to dem buy cars and sleep in hotels till d money is finished. go take a look at akwa ibom airport and tell me if its not the same nija delta with a more sane government.
As for the writter just relax and enjoy d money given u 4 dis advert obviously aunty linda don chop clean mouth

I never fly in Naija and do not intend to do so anytime soon. You may whitewash the problem as much as you want to.

I think the person who wrote this is mad without any apologies.

@Dipentahexa [Twitter] said...

Reply to "Swift" sept.11 / 4:12pm
Eejits like you make me weak with irritation, & the reason why Nigeria is intellectually/mentally handicapped!
FOCUS on the TOPIC! The TOPIC...eejit...the TOPIC!!!!

Swift Kindly readdress your comments .. not every Igbo chap loves money.. Most Igbo men but definitely not all Igbo Men..

And as for Mr Onuoha.. i pray your children, grand children and great grandchildren dont find out how stupid and clumsy thier so called father or grand father or even great grand father is.. You's DUMB.. point Blank

I just read a comment from Swift or watever d faceless fool called him or herself... first u dnt insult a tribe js bc u hv been so unfortunate in ur life to encounter some very few who maybe indulge in some bad act. U say Igbos are greedy and love money. Is dis because an igbo loves to do business? Is it because an igbo man can sweat blood to earn money? I think dat is still better than having money or being successful through diabolical means which I must say from experience the Yorubas are proudly leading in d act..... Dnt insult an igbo man js because u guys are too lazy to work or do any real job and earn good money.... I know good yorubas and also good igbos dat I truly admire and something wish I belong to their tribe.

Your stupid self would be d first to tackle a racist but I am sure your dented brain didnt tell you dat racism isnt just about colors, it can also be implemented within people of different tribes as well...

The aviation minister that i know, Stella Oduah has no good intention, she does nothing if she will get nothing out of it, this the same woman that pay her staff of spg 30000 naira per month and she sees nothing wrong with it, u resume @ 8am and close @ 5.30pm with no staff bus, hospital or nothing for that matter and God help you, and you come late 3 times in a minth, she will pay you half, now to the better side of it, your salary come in on the 18 of the other month and even the salary of july has just been paid and you say she means well? Hell no. No hospital, nothing of any sort, infact, you have to work there for 2years to be able to go on leave, this woman is a wicked and good for nothing woman. You dont even pay your staffs well but your children go to USA for every holiday, people working for you are so impoverished, except you belong to her cabal in the office then there is nothing for you . And on Dana, money has exchanged hands very well. I know you and know that some of the contractors you are even using, you have an interest in them. You know how you do your things and form different company to bid for contracts....

Even the writer is on your pay slip, i know you too well, you cant fool everybody all of the time madame, stop being wicked and pay some respect to the dead and even to your staffs as well.

Linda pls publish this comment cos this woman is very wicked, stop being taken in by that preety face because beneath it, lies the heart of a steel

The writer is obviously a lackey of the minister. I hope U got paid to post this. I won't make a judgement until I pass thru MMA in a few months. Last Dec it was the same ol'

DITLO said...

Aerotropolis?(it's saying error on my computer o) has she thought of noise pollution and dis stupid writer the pictures you showed are just outside the airport, how about new planes? abi is it the airport we want to fly in?(stupid question i know)