Photos: How I managed to stand against 'Jungle justice' - LIB reader writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 18 July 2014

Photos: How I managed to stand against 'Jungle justice' - LIB reader writes

A LIB reader shares his story...
This happened around Idimu-Egbeda, Lagos. I was on my way back home this morning when I saw a pack of okada men dragging some people out of a car in front of me, two men and a woman. I was in my car watching, thinking they must have actually bashed an okada man, as it was the norm in Lagos state, where an offense against a bike man is an offense against all the bike men in like 5 communities, they would pack you down and start harassing you.
So I thought at first, until they started beating them with woods and sticks, kicking them from all directions, while some where destroying their car. I had to come down at this point after carefully packing my car at a safe spot. I managed to part the crowd, asking what happened, The shout of 'they are kidnappers' rented the air, so I managed to go into the crowd which was swelling by the minute to take pix of them. Continue...

After this, I asked an okada man what happened and how he knew they were kidnappers, he managed to say that he just saw his fellow okada men running after them, shouting "gbomo-gbomo" (Kidnappers) and he joined the crowd.
Asking around, no one seemed to know the true story, by now the crowd had gotten to close to 800 people, men, women, boys, girls, even school children, all struggling to get a glimpse, everyone in small clusters, gossiping and discussing, while some were seriously doing the beating.
At this point, sensing their anger to burn them soon, I sped with my car to the Police station on a road, as rough as "climbing Olumo rock in Abeokuta, Ogun State". I got to the station and made a quick report. (Must acknowledge the quick response of the force at this point). They jump and filled two hilux pick-ups, and followed me back to the scene.
On sighting the crowd, their gun shot rented the air. I had parked at a safe distance, because I didn't want to experience stray bullet. They were able to disperse the crowd in time to rescue the victims, Two men and a woman. At my safe distance, I could still hear people talking about how the police would end up freeing them, and that, they should have been burnt to serve as lessons for others with bad intentions.
By now, different stories of what they did had emerged and none was similar to the other. Some were like....they snatched a woman whom was coming out of the bank with N200,000, drove her a mile, then threw her out of the moving vehicle, Others were like....they kidnapped 3 children, then the mother raised an alarm, and a hot pursuit ensued. The third didn't even add up at all.....can't even bother myself tying that.
The good thing is I let the Nigerian Police force do their work

166 comments:

Na wa ooo

Wow! That's very brave of you. God bless. May God help us in this country.

Endtime. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

My dear you did well by informing d police,what ever crime dey committed police should handle it not d other way round.am totally against jungle justice.#DIDI#

Great job. Bravo!

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Thank God...

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

I trust Nigerian Police to free them after some thousands of #, but if they are truly gbomo gbomo they will soon be exposed. All i know is that there must be an iota of truth in this ordeal.

Ehya... Thank God we ar not saying anoda thing by now

Wetin dem come do naa...LIB READER, Y U NO FIND OUT NA?

C.E.O

Pathetic, when will this end in Nigeria? God help us

Thank God for speedy intervention o. Thank God for you ooo. #saynotojunglejustice##

Nigerians and jungle justice, too bad.........may God bless the LIB reader that saved them...

XDON D DON

May God continue to bless the 'good Samaritan'. He did well to salvage the situation.Kudos to the Nigerian Police.

How do you explain this? Ehn? I am sorry to say that Nigerians (i'm talking about the average Nigerian on the street)behave like barbarians sometimes. As if they are waiting for opportunities to shed blood. How can you follow people to attack someone and you don't even know why you are attacking the person? Its like a demonic thing. Imagine how many innocent souls that have been killed this way. Kudos to you LIB reader for doing the right thing. I pray that God will always stand in the gap for you.

May God bless you for what you did i hope all Nigerians should learn from you and stop acting like animals against each because that's how the rest of the world sees us. no matter how unhealthy our law is Nigeria is still a land of law and human right.

Chinma said...

Lagos and Jungle Justice.. Thank God for the good Samaritan.

Ani said...

Can jungle justice ever end? Some of these ppl might be innocent actually. Pray not to pray the wrong place at the wrong time

A society made of idiots I don't expect anything less even after the much emphasis against jungle justice pple still exibit this unbearable behaviour am really ashamed of the society I live in. But thank God dis case was different.

Thank you very much,God bless you.
We live in an organic society where actions are spontaneous,people act before they think,than think before acting.
People are always quick to take the law into their hands,instead of allowing the law take its full course.

Nigerian nd killin,usin dia furstratn on pple,

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Gbenga said...

We ordinary Nigerians are more wicked than our leaders! I thought Lagosians had outgrown this sort of behaviour, and to think that they are more civilised in this part of the country! Lagosians are worst than the almajiris up north!

Seamless said...

Nigerians are angry...kind of like a slow burn. I think its a shame that instead of directing their anger towards the appropraite quarters, we choose to unleash our anger and fustration on ordinary people trying to hustle as well. The crowd mentality is a terrible thing. May God help us.

God bless u.... Thanks for acknowledging the effort of the police. Been long i heard any positive statement from our security that risk their life to keep us safe.

Oga u try but more story! May they neva go unpunish.

Kudos to you bro. You have done something that can secure you and generation over decades. I have always been a critic of jungle justice. Most mob ain't aware of the real situation..they just look around for sticks,petrol, tyres to unleash evil on their fellow humans, while others are there to tell false tales.Some others are there too just to snap-and do what with those pixz? when such pixz should only be taken to the police as evidence of a case you're about to report. Our govt should act on jungle justice at once.The case of Aluu 4 is still in the court..smh

Poster u are a great man, may god continue to bless u and your family. Would not mind to be your friend drop ur email with linda. Lady from SA!

Federal govt need to do something about jungle justice with immediate effect.we all know that our country is corrupt bt we should stop taking laws into our hands.who knows,maybe they may not even be thieves or kidnappers as people acclaimed.Nobody holy pass o

#################GOD bless###############Naija

This is pure wickedness.they might be innocent like that oo...na bad people didn't allow we people to know who is innocent again.May God help us.

You Won’t Believe what this Snake Girl is Doing with Her Body. So Flexible!
Here

See how this two girls entertained the crowd
Here

What this Ghanaians are doing during a pool party will surely amaze you
Here

Thank God you did not join in the beating. God will reward you! Too many blood shed in Nigeria now. Oh! God, pls hv mercy on us.

#tongue out...bt there is God oooo.
Who knows the real story,,?

Swerve said...

Thank you blog visitor, that's how they wud have killed them without getting their facts right.

so whats the real story now because i dont just even understand the whole story

last baby said...

Devil is really using some people in this world. How can someone who calls himself human do this to his fellow man. Even if they are thieves. This people are devil themselves

greene iwobi said...

Linda this happened close to my home at no 27th ewenla street pipeline, idimu Lagos.I must say who ever called the police tried but most of his write ups are false.

comfort said...

Nigerian pls let becareful b4 we take any step so as not 2 blame oneself @ d end of it all...hun

May God bless you. But next time. Be very careful, so they don't say you one of them.

greene iwobi said...

Linda this happened close to my home at no 27th ewenla street pipeline, idimu Lagos.I must say who ever called the police tried but most of his write ups are false.

Nah wah ooo, wat is dis world turning into sef? God will help us all

Ameriestyle said...

wow..God bless you
www.ameiestyle.blogspot.com

Wisdom said...

make fast money online, follow the link: http://TheWeeklyJob.com/?id=8721

God bless you

dhobiz said...

And that is hw they would have killed innocent people just based on assumptions so a pitiable situation for the victims,God bless u libr for your help.

My goodness, they could be innocent for all we care. They should have handed them over to the police if they were suspects of any supposed crime.

Sincerely, jungle justice just has to stop.

Big kudos to the LIB reader for what you did, may God bless you & enrich your life in Jesus Name. Amen

hmmmmm when will people stop taking laws into their hand.Thank God you stepped in when u did.

This is horrible,thank goodness they survived.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

Bosha said...

Thank God for this good Samaritan who saved them...Nigerians should please stop this barbaric act..whoever is a suspect or an offender should be handed to the police and not to butcher them like goats(even goats still get right to live now). They are humans like you.

Bbg Eze said...

Weldone liber! Good job

My goodness, they could be innocent for all we care. They should have handed them over to the police if they were suspects of any supposed crime.

Big kudos to the LIB reader for what you did, may God bless you & enrich your life in Jesus Name. Amen

Well done LIB reader, only God knows what happened.

White Gardenia said...

Good Job, Thanks bro. No matter what , we should learn how not to take laws into our own hands and also to be our brothers keeper.
Cant imagine what could have happened to them if not for ur quick intervention.God Bless u.

WOW i must commend your courageous and concerned act. If we all look out for each other it would help stop these types of insensitive killings

Hmm... That's commendable; Well done HERO!
They would have killed probably innocent people.. Gosh!

* My R1.50c comment *

Miz Tee said...

Jungle justice is not the answer

Am not sure that lady is still alive

Bravo Sir, well done. Kidnappers or ritualists..jungle justice shud be discouraged in dis country. We already have enuf problems to deal with, boko haram and all.we dont have to turn to boko haram members ourselves

Am not sure that lady is still alive

Miz Tee said...

Oya goto Brazil and get ur trophy...

Miz Tee said...

princess said...

Good job there! Whatever it is "jungle justice is barbaric and shud be abolished totally..

getnnenna said...

It was a brilliant thing you did sir. We should learn from this. 'To change a nation/state/community/environment starts with us'.#End the complaints & start the campaign. #when we start it ends.
Well done.

Bosha said...

Thank God for this good Samaritan who saved them...Nigerians should please stop this barbaric act..whoever is a suspect or an offender should be handed to the police and not to butcher them like goats(even goats still get right to live now). They are humans like you.

YOU ARE AWESOME!!!!! Wish i can hug u right now! This made my day! You saved three (potentially) innocent lives!

Bbg Eze said...

Weldone Liber. Good job

Very good. We have to take a stand against this barbaric act.

God bless u....patoswife@gmail.com

Mennnnnnn, that was a brave one dude. I wish we all can all do same. They could be guilty or even innocent but thank God for giving you wisdom otherwise, they would have added you to the fray and before you know it, you will be one of the victims... Its a crazy world outhere.. no one has that patience anymore to listen (at least)before acting.. we thank God for you ooooo!!!

Smile (Lagos)

GOD!!!...i hate ignorant nigerian people..wicked set of retarded bastards looking for hu to kill...so much wickedness dat human animals derive joy in killing der fellow man...y will GOD not be angry wit naija..i hate dz naija pple.kill dem LORD..vince

Cutest Babe said...

wen will dis jungle justice stop in Naija. .......nawa some many angry peeps in Eko looking for outlet for their anger against d Govt & d world.

Your courage is really commendable, wondering what i would have done if i witnessed such a scene....the fear within me would have made me crawl away but i may remain unhappy all through the day. Jungle justice isn't the best way to resolve any suspected crime. Let the police do their job. walesoyebu@yahoo.com

Juliebabe said...

Na wa o, only God knows

GREAT S#X TIPS said...

Different stories means this guys might be innocent people. No children.. No kidnapped woman. No stolen money.

Thanks for writing this, it’s a shame half of the mob won’t read this, jungle justice might never be eradicated completely, but we the citizen own it to our conscience and the society to report such cases, you might be saving someone’s father , mum, etc.

Ichie Arigwogwo said...

Thank God for the bravery of that liber and the prompt response of the police. I have been saying this, we should as a people, stop carrying out jungle justice. Innocent people are almost always killed. Remember the ALUU 4???

We all should begin to educate our neighbours, families,friends, etc on the need to report crimes to the appropriate authorities irrespective of how hurt we feel at the moment.

By doing this, many innocent people will be saved.

G's said...

Thank you for allowing God to use you save their lives> You will always be saved from any bad situation in your life in Jesus name.

Good lord, they're badly beaten..... Who knws what happened. Thank God d lib reader came on time o

Slimy said...

Good work dude,God bless u. Even if they ar guilty, jungle justice isn't d best. Well wit d tittle, u gat me tinking u were really d victim.

you just inspired me my brother. What a GLORIOUS COUNTRY we live in. God bless your soul and may God continue to keep you, urs and all of us.

Nna u did well . God bless u

mariamah said...

God bless you. One needs to be careful these days cause pple are hungry for blood. God would not let us be at the wrong place at the wrong time.

May God bless you my brother.. This is the right thing to do, even if they are thief or what so ever, single justice is wrong, the right thing to do is to call the police rather than killing human beings like animals...

Adorable Aisosa said...

Oga or madam,God bless U for @ least saving dem,God bless U

TWITS said...

Nigeria is a sick country. Indeed, I am getting increasingly scared of returning, let alone, staying there.

TWITS said...

Nigeria is a sick country. Indeed, I am getting increasingly scared of returning, let alone, staying there. Thank you LIB Reader..for saving lives that were almost gone, The Lord will reward you. You are a Hero!

Thank you! We need more people like you.

Thanks Lib reader. God bless you.
Jungle justice might look good but it's actually bad.

Ada said...

Thanks dear LIB reader. You helped save lives today.
Jungle justice may look good but it's actually bad.
Anyone that joins a mob in killing someone is a murderer.

When will people learn that jungle justice is a crime against humanity. Some pathetic and psychologically sick people.

Zoë said...

Nigerians and their mindset to kill, untill we all change there won't be change in this country. I weep for my country.

And we think our country will get better any time soon, when we behave like animals and expect our leaders to behave differently! I must commend this guy for his quick thinking and bravery!

Thats nice of the LIB reader.....In other news about Jude's wedding,i hate all u hypocrites and im sure most of u will do same as peter..No one really knows what transpired,what if Lola wasn't invited for the wedding or bla bla ?? Jude is tribalistic and prolly a racist,i hate him for that..He should have supported his brother.He should be the one to have behaved matured being the eldest but he lost it,so pls no one shud blame Peter cos i will do the same in his shoes...Fuck your opinions..#ImdatYorubaBoy...

Neyo said...

Thank God for your wise intervention Bro, you are their lives saver. They will forever be grateful to you and the almighty God. Linda well-done.......

Linda ur blog has been very slow since u started ur Mondays giveaway or is dis your own way of stealing back from us?

Thank God they were rescued on time. Even if they were kidnappers, they'l have to face the consequences through due process... These people that think jungle justice is the best and shed d blood of both the innocent and the guilty, I hope they knw how much curse they are bringing upon themselves and their generation...Even the bible says 'Judge not for ye shall be judged'..

May Almighty God bless u and reward u for ur bravery...nig will surely b a beta place wit many more of ur kind, kudos. Teeboy

Chris Okafor said...

What a sorry society this is. Dear precious blog visitor, you are one-in-a-million and with your kind our society will sure move to the promise land.

God bless you writer...a God bless you indeed.

What is wrong with Nigerians? an average Nigerian is fast turning to terrorist. may God not let us fall victim of such circumstance, mostly, not all "victims" are actually guilty. AKoba adaba Olorun maje ka ri

Bamz said...

Whoever sent this report in GOD bless you. God will come through for you in difficult times. Would not be able to bear another ALUU4 Story

nice one bro lesson learnt don't get involve in jungle justice and come to think of it that some of those hitting them might be fasting may God help this country

Jociee said...

God bless you

God bless you so very well dear lib reader for saving these lives. No body has a right to take or destroy another person's life no matter what he or she may have done.No body deserves jungle justice,we can't even create a strand of hair,talk more of a whole being.That's how they murdered handsome promising guys @ Aluu,heartless human- beings.#StopJungleJustice.

You've don well let the law continue from where you stop.

Jungle justice is sooooooo 1950!!!! Am speechless, effing tired of hearing kidnap stories.......Can we just thrash and proffer a solution to this menace.??.We need to get pass this cannibalistc mentality and taking laws into ur hands...Wow Nigerian have 99problems, being too enligHtened isn't one. #cheEzyjayne

I DNT UNDERSTAND HOW THEY DERIVE PLEASURE IN TAKING SOMEONE'S LIFE.
NO ONE KNOWS EXACTLY WHAT THEIR OFFENSES ARE...
LAGOS NA WA!

Three is still hope in Nigerians after all! Most people just follow mob mentality and don't think for themselves. I commend this person for doing what they did.
I'm sure these people feel they owe your their life.
Eyyyya, so touching.

THANK YOU SO MUCH LIB READER...
GOD BLESS YOU FOR SAVING LIVES

nigerian people are really evil people , fake christians .

Ore-Ofe Sammy said...

Good lesson Bro,..enough of snapping pictures and doing nothing while angry mobs have their day. If only,someone like u were 2 be around when the Aluu 4 were abt to the slaughtered maybe those guys wouldn't have died. Good Lesson learnt!
#makesuyanotbomb

Good thing you were there to rescue them.
But there is no smoke without fire.
They must have been caught doin or trying to do something

TeeWai

Real1 said...

May God Almighty bless you and protect all your households, because u had actually saved some souls from untimely death if all those allegations level against turns out to be false.......BRAVO !!!

3race said...

some jobless nd frustrated nigerians cant do without harming other..barbarians, nd well done for ur quick action action.

Jimoh said...

God Bless You. Please Lets Stop Jungle Justice

seyi said...

Eya! Aunty linda ur agent call me for new year 20k up till nw I no c am,I have been trying to inform u,bt I find it difficult to comment on ur post

multe said...

wow thats very brave of you to stand against such a thing

You did a great job,welldone.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Hehehe.. Ok nah !!

MAY GOD HELP US IN THIS COUNTRY. LAGOSIANS DONT WANT TO KNOW THE STORY THEY JUST WANT TO BEAT AND BURN.

Narrator... Good write up, felt i was there

brave one at that,God bless you. those that close their eyes at those evil acts are the wicked ones actually. Let us endeavor to say NO and see to the root of any matter before conclusion. SAY NO TO JUNGLE JUSTICE

miss Sparxz said...

God bless you!

I Don'† Even No What To Say (Pensive). (Linda's Man)

Iwobi, why u come dey spoil market for d guy. At least he tried .

God bless you. Let us emulate this and report to the nearest police station incase of similar incident.
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com

LINDA'S BLOG ADDICT said...

Thank God he used you to save these lives. May god have mercy on Nigeria.

Waow! U did a very good job....God bless u.

Even if they were kidnappers, at least, they 'supply' some people the body parts. They should be allowed to 'confess'. Naijans!

Cindy

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Nigerians and lynch mentality!!!
I have often wondered why mob action is incurably ingrained in people's sense of justice in this parts...
It dawned on me that mob action and the profound religiosity of the average Nigerian are coterminous, as they spring from the same fount: SUPERSTITION!!!
Thus phantoms exist and walk in broad daylight in the world and reality of the average Nigerian!!!!
The average Nigerian hardly stops to pry out the fact, engage his senses and intellect to simply ask, 'What is the truth?' 'How do we arrive at the truth?' 'What constitutes the nature or character of truth?'
That Nigerians are so religious is because they are hopelessly superstitious...
The average Nigerian is a believer....lost in a credulous vortex of phantoms!!!!
All it takes is for an authority figure (or just about anybody, for that matter) to tell a Nigerian that money grows on trees and he not only would believe unscrupulously, but would, any which way, "discover" some tree which produces money as fruit, albeit in his convoluted imagination, which he manages to assume for a fact....
Nor would he stop short at that...
No, the Nigerian would proceed to "innocently" sell the idiocy to friends and family until a chain reaction, nay, a vicious circle, snowballs, which ends up enchanting whole community!!!!
What next, a pilgrimage of sorts evolves in the direction of the "money-yielding tree..."
And wicked people are exploiting this Nigerian weakness to goad fellow Nigerians into dastardly acts...into carrying arms against fellow Nigerians in the name of religion...into invoking a mob to descend on the defenseless...into populating the prayer houses of an ambitious "men-of-god," etc...
May we be delivered from the demon spirit of SUPERSTITION!!!!!

Hi, Miss Linda, pls i have a st share. How can i send it to you? Is there a mail i can send it to, plsHere is my email nonyeebubedike@yahoo.com tanx

Bravooooooooooooo, u ve done well

Dee Brown said...

why political thieves no dey experience dis kain tin na lol

WD said...

THANKS LIB READER. SOME PEOPLE SHOULD HAVE BEEN ARRESTED AND JAILED TO SERVE AS A LESSON TO OTHERS WHO DERIVED JOY IN SHEDDING HUMAN BLOOD IN A JUNGLE WAY. #SAYNOTOJUNGLEJUSTICE

WD

frank said...

Yea u r right the blog has been as slow as hell.

@ Greene iwobi since it happened inside ya bedroom tell us the truth !! Vagabond mr truth . Instead of u to hail a hero .....

You did well, God bless!

ellajohn said...

God will bless u for saving the lives of these people

danto.middy said...

GOOD JOB

ellajohn said...

My dear God will bless u foe saving the lives of these people

EVERYWHERE I GO IN THIS LAGOS, I COME ACROSS UNREFINED PEOPLE. EVEN THOSE WHO CLAIM TO BE EDUCATED.

Some people are just glorified beasts. That's the truth. Even by someone's mannerisms, you can tell if they are cultured or just animals with Brazilian weaves and sketchers

Ofilispeaks.com said...

That's what we are talking about. We should give that guy/gal an award. Although looks like he/she is trying to stay anoymous. Good work!

the Word said...

Increasingly, Nigerians hit me as being blood thirsty. Am shocked at how the "ordinary" man on the street is so eager to shed blood in the name of jungle justice.

Faith Ogaga said...

Ok...greene nwobi, den tell us the tru story na since the mans story is false!!! Did he state the actual story ? Or didn't U̶̲̥̅̊ see where he wrote "that different stories are flying around?? Olodo! @least he's saved their lives ! U̶̲̥̅̊ tel us d original story !olodo

This is taking laws into their own hands

God bless you sir/ ma.
May the Lord be with you in your desperate hour of need.

Governor Fashola, pls do something about this over populated Lagos. People do anything to kill their boredom and joblessness and it could include lynching, also to get an opportunity to pick pocket. Thewre are just so many wrong people in this Lagos

Na waooo God will help us shaa

May God bless You! Let's all say NO to jungle justice.

Shut ur stinky trap retarded baboon! We're talking about making a positive change in the psyche of Nigerians, you're busy yarning dust and interfering in a family feud that doesn't concern you, the Okoye family are busy making money and don't give 2 shits about your creepy lowlife arse. People like u without human compassion are the reason Nigerians are labelled as heartless and primitive.
Celebrity groupie!

Greene owobi- my cousin dat stays n isiba black gate said dey kidnapped 3girls wit deir mum, diff gist sha

That's brave work, thanks

What a country you guys live in, sorry for your mentality in that country...

May God bless you sir..this is horrible.

Baboon!

Baboon!

soo sad

Nigeria is a crazy place.

It was so horrible! I witnessed it, couldn't see much of what was going on but a bus conductor brived me on what really happened. To sad the NPF couldn't chase the crowd to carry out their duty.

This is terrible
9ja jungle justice is unfair most time

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

rosemary said...

God bless you sir 4 UR prompt intervention.

innocent people killed everyday due to jungle justice in Nigeria. ive been a victim before so I know what iam taking about. I only escaped because there was an ss officer who intervened before I was allowed to put a call to famiy and friends. it was not a funny experience at al. I amost died after that and had to be in d hospital for 3days

God bless you brother, i wonder what our community is turning into? Jungle justice in 21st century? Are We moving backward or going foward. God save my country.

Ekua said...

God bless you.

na wa ooo...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Fadipe Temitope Oyindamola said...

Jungle justice is bad and it is commonly done here in africa

Hmmmmn may the Lord bless and reward u for dis, jungle justice is not good we should do away with it

AGB said...

God Bless you brother (LIBer) for helping to do the right thing and saving human lives. Jungle justice should not be accepted in human societies.