Photo: Solar powered car made by Nigerian inventor | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 17 July 2014

Photo: Solar powered car made by Nigerian inventor

Trying to get more details about the Segun dude. Apparently, he built this solar-powered car. Good stuff!

108 comments:

DOBY DOBY said...

Woooow.. he shld be compensated by d govt oo.. nice work.. Kudos to him

Wow! I commend his ingenuity.
I hope he would be encouraged.

Nix one dude

great stuff sef...in these day n time when d only tng sme pple can come up with is bombing fellow human beings,but wot happens wen it rains

Great move, good development, keep it log, buh just so sad that nigeria is a talent killer country....

Son of Solomon

Juliebabe said...

9ice one dude, keep it up

This country is full of untapped talents! i am not surprised - oma

Xo during raining season wating go happen, imagine going frm lagos to Imo state and ur car stops by Okija Village in Anambra...missed call for u

Dee Brown said...

just wot we need

At least, we should start from somewhere. Great discoveries are not by giant strides but tickles of efforts guided by positive visions.
Congratulations Segun.

kunle said...

Wow, this is good. I am a lover of clean energy.

He is oau student.

thåt OAU Bøy
Nice man...way to go
osho klinsmann's blog

WHAT IS DIS?

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Good stuff truly...buh whr will he get sponsors?

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

hrm paul ojeih said...

na dis kind person we dey find for Nigeria all the money bags for niaja suppose support this guy confirm correct guy

That's nice.....

This is his passport to the future, Lamborghini head office. Congrats. It's unfortunate that you will be a loss to the Nigerian government

Last year stuff bdis nw.....

Quite thaughtful. Good

Nice, with this invention, cars wont rely on fuel anymore, hence no subsidy scam lol.If only our corrupt government will support him

Yeah!definitelya good stuff

Fastastic. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

That is such a silly attempt. Will he drive that shit on the highway, I think he needs another hobby

lindaway hahahaah, this info is not new nah? i saw it long ago, pls help me look at my blog and drop ur candid criticism to enable me grow. thanks. http://zieraw.blogspot.com/ everything meaningful will be appreciated from all yours fans too.

# spoken my mind via HP630....

Nigeria has got some brilliant minds but unfortunately, many have being smothered or are being smothered by our oppressive society and its vices! I hope he gets the recognition he deserves!

That is a frigging volk wagen with a solar panel attached to its roof. SMH

Wow....me ♡ dis

Dauda Aliu said...

Innovation + Invention

Like I always say, "Ideas do not matters, it is what you do with them that counts."

There are brilliants Nigerians of this dude's like, with so many ideas, but these ideas have all gone in drain dues to NO SUPPORT or such.

impressive
am quite amazed.

Cool wow

And MTN,Glo and others won't spend money on projects to encourage young inventors like this but will rather lavish it on craps they call music talent!

Good one he should be encouraged. #Glophil

That is a frigging volk wagen with a solar panel attached to its roof. SMH

Bravo!

Gistyinka Blog said...

Congrats to him, for putting his brain together to bring innovation out of nothing.

dats inspirational, bt i doubt if he will go further. our gov.t suckz

WoW Wow Wow Wow...... What Can I say....I throw Salute For You Gbam!.. Olawuyijeremiah@gmail.com #kingkay

yes the dude try but the car looks funny.

LINDA DEY SHULD BE OPPORTUNITY FOR LIKING POST ON UR BLOG, WE MIGHT NT ALWAYS HVE TIME TO COMMENT ND THUMBS UP TO DIS BRO, YOUR TIME TO SHINE IS NOW!!!

Stale news.............LINDA

Wow! Gud job.

Aramide said...

Wow!! Good stuff. I hope the govt sponsor him.
Join my bbm channel for makeup tips and more C0041A12B

If a small panel like that can power that car then we should all be driving electric vehicles. Frankly speaking, solar cars have been invented. Asians copy the west and make functional things. Nigerians couple foreign parts and start looking for publicity.....

CHERRY said...

Nice one guy.

Wow, dis is so nice, Nigerian govt won't do anything abt it, till d white pple site him. Smh. J.ofenor@gmail.com

olasupo said...

he finished from Obafemi Awolowo University, elect-elect. thats a good lead to get him. people need to invest in smart lads like this.

well done broda. i wish there were more inventors in naija instead of destroyers.

The government will not see this one now and make good use of him and his potentials is until he waste away. If he's lucky, foreigners take him away.

Something to cheer about. good stuff, expect more, a new wave of creativity and innovation, look out for it

BOSS!!! Respect

Dis pic has bin on my fone since last year. Who knows? Could av bin in existence evn b4 den.

Just saying, this is no longer news

okiezman said...

Record set
Okesimaa@gmail.com

I need his contact pls...Naija wld kill ur talent. can bring u to yankee n hook u up for real

Brainy Segun.Me likey!

Nigerians are intelligent,its jst our govt dats silly *Flora*

volkswagen with solar panel on top. new invention indeed

cReTin said...

u guys appear not to be engineering or technical students.........that panel on the roof of the car is at max 250w...though going by looks its a polycrstalline panel and probabblly 120w, lets assume its a 12v panel, n even a generous 250w , this implies that the max current generated = 20amps @ full sunlight.....that alone isnt pwerful enough to charge the battery bank required to move the car, or do anything meaningful.....Think about it...it it was so simple....car manufacturers would hv simply adapted the bonnet and roof areas of cars to solar panels, and thus produce hybrid vehicles....even the solar powered plane has a wingspan of over 150ft! with a huge batt bank to match

while i commend the effort of the guy...the project above isnt feasible/functional.......its the more u look the less u see

SVC said...

Wow! We have great and talented people in Nigeria, ıts just that our govt won't recognıse this great achıevement. It's a pıty!...... IT İŞ WELL

Linda you never post my comments. Where did I go wrong

I wish he wasn't a Nigerian !!

Breezy_p. MTN finest

good brain

nice stuff...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Hope say dem go help d dude...

C.E.O

he needs encouragement..... good work.
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com

Nice job bro.

Nice work
Check this post

PHOTO: Justin Bieber's Girlfriend Went bra-less in a Sheer Black Top...Click to Visit

this is the person, that we need to help bcos this true made Nigeria. we can not just close our mouth, linda you send call of many Blog paper so thatmany can see.

Hiss..this story is getting to 5months now

Segun leav Naija bfr dey kill ur drim nd career.... FG shuld b lookin fr ds kinda brain bt dey wil rather b lookin fr moni 2 steal. Shame!

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Nice Work Bro. (Linda's Man)

=@cReTin, Nwa teacher and ow many of ds hv u done? i too know syndrome!

Brilliant

He z done well bt am curious, is dat car meant 2 be driven or 4 exhibition? Is dat a beatle panel? Jst tinkin aloud

U r a fool for ur comment. Ow did d inventors of airplane and oda stuff start.

U too go an attach a solar panel to a volks wagen car lets see if it will work. Jackass

yinx said...

Well done amigo. Innovation by a Nigerian. Kudos

Honestly u just spoke my mind, sometimes i wonder what d future of the country wud b like, if young graduates cant secure jobs, businesses hardly even strive. Its so sad. Nothing is working.

Lol. It look's funny.

Congrat bros

There is nothing new in this technology. As a matter of fact, there are so many concept cars out there with this technology. This boy is wasting his time. I guess he is trying to say that his car is more than just a solar car bcos it also works with the wind. We shall c how far it will go. First int'l community will not be interested in this idea and Nigerians are not serious minded. So, there goes your efforts.

Mr Talker said...

Your name blad...you have to change the name of your blog...pick a name that is so simple and everyone can read easily or remember..or a catchy name...it might not even have your nickname in it...people rily don't know that..a lot of sucess lie in the name your bear...pick a name that one can easily make refarrels, u got that?...

MR TALKER TALKER

Great,welldon man.

drS said...

Go and find out about solar energy before asking! The energy it has already tapped would be stored and used. That is why solar powered street lights work in the dark and rain...

Fact

Anon 4:16pm will u get out! Jealousy wil kill u one day, instead of u 2 congratulate ur fellow guy u there makin mouth, u r such a fool

Good stuff no doubt.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

Kudos to him, nevertheless the prototype appears to be unsafe and unfit for highways.

kudos..patoswife@gmail.com

nikkiebillz said...

Lol! Na missed call indeed! On your own in okija shrine.

That's what we are talking about Naija youth are talented. Uncle GEJ will not see this guy now ooo, he should be invited to Aso Rock and have meetings with him, how FG can help him and other youth to achievement and unleash their potentials. Thank God he doesn't have for amnesty like my other people...... Lollzzz.

Person who gave the tech specs of the solar panel is right. The output from the solar powered components alone would barely move this vehicle. Also bear in mind that it still retains most of a 1600 Volkswagen chassis ....maybe he's working towards a hybrid,...

Nice one bro
Keep it up

If na ibo men they no fit think abt this kind invention na ole barawo dem dey do for lagos

This our ogogoro presido no see this kind thing celebrate an so so politics of 2015.there is God ooo

Lolz...hw do u expect govt. 2. Encourage dis? Who will buy deir fuel afterward??

Nice invention, currently buy fuel using www.fuelvoucher.com.ng a seamless platform that enables me buy fuel without card, cash or paper. A solar car would be extremely nice but wont i drive at night?

@meetdrealevans nd @drs u guyz I mst say "are daft" ...always v a +ve totz nd nt -ve...e invented dt wid d little e az.no capital,no ryt material nd yet e did dat.y can't u,dat tnk ur beta,invent such? Y can't a rich man's child invent dat? Awon ode..ewure china

Government no wan hear this one o.Its like asking government to shun oil and embrace Solar. How much solar wan put for their pockets? If he needs assistance, he better start looking towards foreign backing cos Nigeria is a place where such dreams will be killed. Government would rather give cash to Musicians to do music in support of their ambitions o.

Is this dude trying to take us back to 1945? Guy wake up!

You people are so funny. Did he invent/build a solar powered car or he copied someones invention? Its sad that all you guys see this as a giant step for mankind. Let us put our minds to good use by doing something ground breaking. what he did is something anyone of you can do with appropriate materials and a "how to build a solar powered car for dummies" user's manual. I see some of you already looking for government intervention. Until someone invents a car that runs on a new power source, then, we can all rejoice. This is a very good example of why "oyinbos" think we are unintelligent.

This guy definately has a lot in him..
May God help him.

Point of correction he didn't make that car, that is a volkswagen beetle, he removed the fenders and bumbers to give it a new look, then remove the car battery fixed a solar pan on the car then connected the main power generator to the positive and negative battery connector. He didn't make the car, he just added a solar power to the car.....its a simple thing, u too can do it.....

XDON D DON

the sexy economist said...

Ode! Xdon ..why dont u make ur own, lets see. Appreciate good work and stop blabbing

Omo u finish work oh my guy

What a SCAM!!! There is NO WAY a solar panel that size could power a car that would carry a person. It looks to be a panel that would generate somewhere between 250 and 300 watts maximum. That would barely light up 2 or three light bulbs. Even if it were to be used to charge a bank of batteries which could run the car, it would take DAYS to charge the batteries enough so that the car could drive 50 miles. Anyone who believes this is real is either completely uneducated about how solar works or is purposely fooling themselves into believing something that is not true.

He's probably looking for investors. Why don't you give him your banking details and pin number? After all, we ALL know there's no such thing as a SCAM coming out of Nigeria, right?

Amazing what can be achieved by the clever use of solar power.