Chibok family release statement on aborted meeting with Jonathan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 16 July 2014

Chibok family release statement on aborted meeting with Jonathan

Press statement from representatives of parents of Chibok girls/survivors regarding the cancelled meeting between them and president Jonathan yesterday July 15th. Find it below...
We the members of the Kibaku (Chibok) Community and representatives of the 12 fathers and 5 escaped girls who were hosted by Malala during her visit to Nigeria hereby speak on their behalf to offer to Nigerians the facts as they are and to put the records straight and correct the erroneous impression making rounds in the media on the botched meeting with the President: Continue...
#Bringbackourgirls group also released a statement regarding this. Continue...
1. The logistics and meeting between the twelve (12) fathers and five (5) girls and Malala was facilitated by the Abuja Chibok Community and the Citizens platform of BringBackOurGirls with our consent and on TRUST considering their sustained and focused advocacy to Bring Back our daughters.

2. These parents and escaped girls did not come to Abuja at the instance of government or its representatives for a meeting with Mr. President but on the full understanding that they were coming to meet with Malala; an advocate of girl child education and most importantly one who has suffered a similar fate as their daughters’. 

3. That in the course of the interactions with Malala, NEITHER the parents nor the escaped girls asked for a meeting with the President or any government functionary, rather the narrative back home was to persistently ask why the President has not visited them in Chibok since the abduction.

4. It is obvious that their numbers of 12 fathers and 5 girls is about 2% of the parents of the 219 abducted girls still with their abductors and the 57 girls that escaped. Therefore, these parents DECIDED on their own accord to review the announced visit, which they FIRST heard of like every other person during Malala speech in Hilton.

5. That consequent to their decision to revert to other family members in order to incorporate every stakeholder on the matter as well as avoid discord and suspicion on a change of plans from the original mission to Abuja, they reached out to the Malala team and through them to the Presidency; to request for a new date for an expanded and more representative meeting that has a legitimate mandate to meet with the President.

6. That their request is also in recognition of the huge opportunity of a meeting with the President for the first time and after over 90 days of the tragic abduction of their daughters, and therefore required better consultations, structure and formality as against an instant advocacy request.

7. That it is totally misleading, unjust and without foundation to hold the Citizens’ platform BringBackOurGirls responsible for the decision made by the 12 parents and our community. We therefore take full responsibility for our decision and welcome the formal invitation by the Presidency as a follow up to Malala’s visit which we received this morning.

Thank You.

For Further Inquiries, contact the PRO on 08055606677.

Press statement from #bringbackourgirls conveners...
Response to Malicious Falsehood on Chibok Parents Visit to President Goodluck Jonathan
In the last 24hours, the #BringBackOurGirls Abuja family has observed with consternation the escalation of the pattern of the campaign of calumny by Government officials on our Citizens movement advocating for the rescue of the 219 school girls of abducted from Chibok Girls Secondary School, 93 days ago. The latest in this trend is emanating from the visit facilitated for the 11 parents and five escaped girls who were visiting Abuja to interact with girl-child education advocate Malala Yousafzai.
During the public speech by Ms. Malala she declared that she had received a promise by President Jonathan to meet with the 11 parents and five girls. The movement was not aware and neither was it part of the discussion of the said visit to our President.
However, at the BBOG daily sit out, our movement was informed by the Chairman, Abuja Chibok community of the outcome of a meeting held with officials of the Presidency in Malala’s suite (immediately after her speech). He conveyed that they were informed at that meeting of a the scheduling of the visit to the President for the eleven parents and five girls at 4.00pm on Tuesday 15th July 2014.
Although some members of the movement were surprised at the sudden invitation to meet with the President, our leadership concluded that session by emphasizing that it was the absolute right of the Chibok community to decide on the matter. It is instructive to note that majority of those at the Unity Fountain on that day were visiting from the Chibok community and were mostly the ones who vehemently expressed dismay at the information from the Chairman. He then clarified on the manner the invitation was conveyed to him and the parents at that meeting and reassured his community that he would schedule an emergency meeting to discuss the matter further.
On Tuesday 15th July 2014, the leadership of our movement were invited to a meeting by the Chibok Chairman and the leadership of their development association with the eleven parents in attendance. At the meeting they conveyed to us their unanimous decision to request for a rescheduling of the Malala facilitated meeting with the President. They further informed us of their intention to reach out to the Malala team and officials of the Presidency to request for an expanded meeting within a sufficient time frame for necessary planning with the rest of their community in Chibok.
We want to repeat for the avoidance of doubt that we are not responsbile for the cancellation of the meeting with the President by the 11 Parents and 5 escaped girls from Chibok as been insinuated by some Government officials
As a movement, we wish to seize this opportunity to express our gratitude to Malala who helped amplify the advocacy for concerted efforts towards the rescue of our girls.
Meanwhile, it is pertinent to firmly state that since the inception of our movement in April 2014, we have remained steadfast and adopted all means and channels of civil engagement in the advocacy of our singular issue, which is #BringBackOurGirls NOW and ALIVE
Signed
Hadiza Bala Usman & Obiageli Ezekwesili

122 comments:

May God help Nigeria.

It pains me to know dat our sis are nt bck. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

I'm obviously not expected to read all dat...!!!

Mikkybrizz said...

This is an induced statement.

hmmm...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Kay said...

Speechless Talk2kayyy@yahoo.com

Why do we like to politicize everything in Nigeria?
What will the visit of GEJ to Chibok do?
Will it bring back the girls?

Na dem sabi....abeg linda wen would u start posting my comment,,jameschima581@yahoo.com

Dramatic country.Even grief and misfortune must be turned into drama.GEJ,#Bringbackourgirls campaigners and the chibok girls parent are all qualified to join nollywood.

Next Biko..

i think these people are not ready to see there kids,they want to go fix date to meet with the president while there kids are still in captivity,is like they are now the president with busy schedules....foooools Arc ugoes

The bring back our girls campaign keeps getting more confusing by the day.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

The bring back our girls campaign keeps getting more confusing by the day.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

Zoe Ami said...

I think these people are right

Mr president, please leave your comfort zone and visit these people in borno, don't use their visit to Abj as an opportunity to do something you're supposed to do. I think this is what they are trying to say

DOBY DOBY said...

Dis tin is a serious matter bt it has been turned to a political nuisance. . I jus tire.. jus wan d gals to return

story story all I want to hear is the girls re back iaminat60@yahoo.com

CHERRY said...

God help us!

Next pls....this issue don tire me.

i think these people are not ready to see there kids,they want to go fix date to meet with the president while there kids are still in captivity,is like they are now the president with busy schedules....foooools Arc ugoes

Hmmmmm

Person gats to pay me b4 i read that thing i swear.....

Linda who will read all that long speech..........and moreover no girls are missing.

XDON D DON

Oh! I said it yesterday, lets wait and hear the other side.
If the Govt wants to meet the parents,which they hitherto never taught of meeting, they should schedule the meeting at their own expense.

Faith Ogaga said...

Ok oooo

Austin said...

There is no doubt that the whole #bringback bla bla group is being and fully politically powered by an opposition group(party)..the main question i keep asking "will GEJ's visit be of any help to them as in bring back the girl at instance of his visit?"..as if they are the only victims of these terror acts..that means every victim of the boko haram menance in nigeria would be visited by GEJ,not excluding the families of the fallen innocent soldiers who didnt deserve to die in the manner they did, and all these are impossible..lets always consider several sides of issues b4 at all saying a word.

ok..patoswife@gmail.com

While the president's visit may offer no resolution it at least shows compassion.. to answer the person wondering what his visit will do.

This is better than partying after the incident.

Odi egwu ooo

9jahub.com said...

really oh

Roma said...

So na una dey Give Presidency Condition ???
Now i see dat #Bringbackourgirls is politics ??.
Did Obj meet with d people he Killed in Udi town or don't they deserve Justice also ??

Fine gal said...

Na Oby and co sabi. She's just a fool looking for attention . Nobody is missing please

IT IS OBVIOUS WE ARE MORE INTERESTED IN POLITICAL CORRECTNESS IN NIGERIA, WHY USE THIS OPPORTUNITY TO SOLVE A PERSONAL VENDETTA, EVEN IF YOU BROUGHT THEM TO ABUJA , THEY ARE ALREADY THERE LET THEM MEET WITH THE PRESIDENT , ITS NOT LIKE YOU CAN BRING THE GIRLS BACK ON YOUR OWN....NIGERIANS WHY?

na wa. so its the parents of the chibok girls that wrote this long big big grammar in the first document!??? i hear una!

Jonathan is even more confused than all nigerians ! So if that young girl had not shown up,Joan.would still be mute?
Seeing the parents has litre or no effect on the issue.Jona ,is more interested in chasing all n
APC govs .
GOD WILL surely surprise us all.

Pls oh,,,hmmmm comfort zone ke,? GEJ ain't in any comfort zone. His on d hit seat. No girls r missing. Chibok girls is a big scam. Rubbish!!!

They should be there speaking grammar,if at all their girls re missing! They will use this opportunity. Whats wrong in doing it now that there re in Abuja? If ur child is missing u need no publicity nonsense to speak for you,u will speak for yourself! They should go and sit down. Nonsense people.

Dlapikin said...

The parents were wise. Imagine that the 11 parents went and sat with the president and whatever he told them made them feel different than the ones back home. The ones back home would immediately come out to say they were bribed, they took money,etc... I think the parent were wise to return home and consult with the community before meeting.
I'm shocked to read people saying "they are not serious about getting their kids back" if those girls were orphans? Does it mean the government would not have been looking for them if they did not have parents protesting? First people were asking if the missing girls did not have parents, then if they did not have pictures.. and you are still finding excuses to cover the government inaction. The president should not wait for malala to tell him before he organized a meeting with those parents... it is ridiculous. The meeting should be planned and sponsored by the government.

They brought 11 boko haram fathers abi men! Why dont they add a single woman mother? Because they knw she might develop chicken heart on the process.. they should go and take several sits at sambisa...Politics!

This is serious..
For breaking news, comments on topical issues, opinions and commentaries: Visit segunakinleye.blogspot.com.

There is no point to him meeting them 3 months after, he should just ensure that the girls are released.

Writing by el rufai,reviewed by Ezekwesili

What is really the motives of these BBOG campaigners? I am disappointed with Mrs. Ezekwesili.

@Bonario Mbok Nnag nnnnngagagagagaga,

What is "never taught of meeting"? It should have been "never thought of meeting"...YOU like to dey speak big big grammar but common English dey fail you. Abi your hands full with vaseline wen you dey type cuz you like to dey Konji urself wellemly

Full Bloodied igbo woman said...

Exactly, u are not but a dunce like you will not know how to skim/scan through. After all the paprazzi u dey form... you just can't read. Pfffttt.

May b dats why ur father alway beat u up,coz u hate reading...mumu

Y'all stop this BS and work hand in hand for the safe return of these girls! All this politics won't help nobody.

Its a plan to kill d president: if he should visit chibok, they will kill him; Ebele? na warning oooo

GEJ should not make mistake to visit that chibok, those malams there are upto something, i hate those housa people

Y'all stop this BS and work hand in hand for the safe return of these girls! All this politics won't help nobody.

Help me akk them.They want Jona to go chibok so they can kill him.It will not work.

Lol I said it chibok is scam.."The parents representatives,why not the parents" muslims we are not fools

Abeg all dis people should stop all dis mediocal story they should leave does family alone Ï„̅☺ decide. Tneyoth@yahoo.com

Right mind right here. Everything seems complicated but d truth is gej n his gang are publicity stunts. They always want over 170 million citizens to be as confused as they are.

I hope the meeting will eventually hold o, because if they don't get back to the presidency, na im be say their pikin nor loss. On the other hand, GEJ put effort to make sure say dem come. Talk to their leader, arrange transportation, accommodation, feeding, all the logistics. Which kain yamayama level be dis? Is this a joke?

Lucasbalo said...

Only a demented mind thinks like you do. What a weirdo.

NaNcY DreW said...

Exactly

Story! If una lyk meet o, if u no lyk no meet dat 1 no concern BH so d so called meetin won't chng anythn

exciting lifestyle consult blog said...

Clearly this cattles hav plans of assasinatin d president dtz y they a tryin to mak issue out of d fact dat He hz not gone to Chibok. Plz let me ask wil GEJ goin to Chibok bring bck d girls? Abeg dey shd free dis man, so he focus and work for us

So it took this 17yrs old girl to come and beg our president to see the parents of the missing girls, oh what a leader. And why is it a problem visiting Chibok ? Or is Jonathan not president over that place ? Oh God of all creations, please take this man away from us! U av done it before, please do it again!
God deliver Nigeria front Jonathan and his heartless associates.

Let shettima continue with the gimmick. They did not want to meet the president because they all know this is a charade being propagated by the governor in concert with the bokos.
The so called parents have met with so many people in the past, and there was never an occasion where they exceeded 6 people. How come u are now giving lack of quorum as an excuse for not meeting with the president? We all are not dunces, you know!

Even if it was an impromptu call, they should answer it; if truly the abduction took place. Do they need to ready themselves to narrate what their *supposed daughters went thru in the hands of BH?, abi they are suddenly super star. Abegi!

make all of una sidon they talk rubbish, because no be una sisters dem kidnap. shior

May God be with us..amen

Mmmmm, it is Well.

The opposition hatch on any opportunity. Na wah. Pls bring back our gals.

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Seconded

I was at the venue of the session with Malala on Monday. According to her, the President made two promises; 1. To rescue the girl alive by all means. 2. To meet with the parents of the abducted girls. The night before the day which is the Birthday of Malala, there was a dinner and their she asked the guests to say what they want her to tell the President. Doyin Okupe should not blame anybody. If anybody listen to the interview of Channels TV with the Chibok representative this morning, people will get true picture of what is happening. The mismanagement of the insurgency has made it complex as we see today

Does GEJ have to wait for Malala's request before deciding to meet the parents of the Chibok girls? Or he want to see the parents to further convince himself and wife that the girl's are truly missing. This Govt is clueless. Next topic Linda

Jenny Cherish said...

Those campaigners and d so-called Chibok parents r all clowns,so they r now giving conditions irrespective of their children's life,I'm begining 2 doubt if truly their children r missing cos if dey r,dey ll put politics aside n meet wit d president whether he invited dem or not,jst saying my mind shaa.

No be only Xdon. Mumu!

Better change back to 3310 cos it's either u r not used to the touch screen or ur grammar has gone from bad to worse. Taught ko taughted ne

odessey said...

Better change back to 3310 cos it's either u r not used to the touch screen or ur grammar has gone from bad to worse. Taught ko taughted ne

No, he doesn't want that. He only wants re-election in 2015. Yeye president!

Did they pay you to read for your degree? That's if you have one. Smh

Heared

see people wey wan their daughters back.u dudes know where u hid them.how can ppl that truely in such a terrible situation ve time for argument and foot dragging.ur girls are not missing,go home.

Kogi Media said...

Onyx, u go schl @ all? Wic one is "I'm obviously...."?

Hmmm Nigeria

sexyAngel said...

Na wa o

If it is true that the girls are missing, the parents doesn't need anybody to tell them not meet with the president because a real parent will do anything within his power to get the children back.

chiddy said...

Nigerians are very insensitive people; the president going to chibok would not bring the girls back but it would show them that he empathises with them, having a parent who is depressed and traumatised from not knowing the whereabouts of their daughter for 90 days travel to Abuja at their own expense (if they even have the funds) is insensitive. And it took the voice of a little girl-Malala to make the president think about doing the humane thing he should have done ages ago. God help us Nigerians

So these village people wrote this? Obi what is your gain in all of these? Linda you self post am oh in the guise that the Chibok parents wrote this.

U r such a moron xdon d Don with an even more stupid name!!!u must b so senseless 2 say no girls r missing!!!do u know wot pains d families of d abducted girls r going thru? D agony of dia mothers in particular??? May God 4gv u 4 ur foolishness & stupidity..

Now y am i not surprised???

Bonarrio n Pretex the two of you have low IQ's. So up till now you still allow these hausa rams to be using your brains right? Now, read my lips..NO GIRLS ARE MISSING..Chibok is a Scam that was scripted by APC to prevent GEJ from running for Presidency come 2015. Courtesy of JENE.

The parents said they were 12 and the BBOG said they are 11 what a scam. And some fools here are just hating on GEJ for nothing. God punish you all who's hating on Jonathan. Idiots

Make sure greet your father every morning with yeye father. Fool

Anony morons, it shows empathy on the President's part. U might want to find out what good President's in other countries do in the face of national disasters.

Stupid comments

Zoe Ami, God bless u for this comment

Gbam!

y shd anybody contemplate advicing gej to visit this time when all bushes are filled with snakes expecting him. Dont go my president our security forces are already at work.how else can u find their daughters for them and they are busy drafting so long a letter in abuja

In that case, it is in this country's interest that go visits :!

ifunanya said...

shame on you Oby Ezekwesiri and co for using the life of this kids to serve your political purpose.why would they not want to see the president when they are already in Abuja and if that will make any headway in bringing back the girls or are they not after the kids anymore?someone whose child is missing will honour every invitation to find his or her ward.l'm sure Oby would have honoured this kind of invitation if her ward is involved.Shame on you #bringbackourgirls co-ordinators as you continue with your lucrative business.

ifunanya said...

shame on you Oby eEzekwesiri and co for using the life of this kids to serve your political purpose.why would they not want to see the president when they are already in Abuja and if that will make any headway in bringing back the girls or are they not after the kids anymore?someone whose child is missing will honour every invitation to find his or her ward.l'm sure Oby would have honoured this kind of invitation if her ward is involved.Shame on you #bringbackourgirls co-ordinators as you continue with your lucrative business.

DID OUR FG TELL A LIE TO A 17 YEAR OLD GIRL (MALALA)?

HOW LOW CAN WE GO AS A PEOPLE?

TERRIBLE. WHY PROMISE WHEN YOU KNEW YOU HAD NO PLAN TO GO THERE?

AS FOR THAT LYING SPECIAL ASSISTANT - IF YOU DON'T WANT TO HAVE A NIGHTMARE, DON'T LISTEN TO HIM ANYTIME AFTER 4PM!

singleton said...

Firstly, Linda dat article Is quite long cos I can't read all dat. Also, I neva believed dat dis gurls wud stay long in d hands of der abductors,even afta GEJ and his muchroom cabinet promised dey wil be released. Anyways, soon jus lik wat som one said ealier, it wl b #Bringbakourgirls and there babies

@exciting lifestyle consult blog: Did you just call human beings cattle. You are obviously a mega foolish tribalist. Your parents should be ashamed.

Ok let's do this; for all who seem so convinced that no girls are missing, if indeed the girls are missing, should we pray that may your sisters and daughters (when you have them) be kidnapped by deranged beasts? If only one person says "amen", I'll join the #Nogirlsaremissing campaign.

abdul said...

the parent of the missing Chinook girls were right to have requested for consultation before proposing a new date to meet with Mr. president. they should also be given enough Time to form a committee to deliberate and suggest within six month and present a white paper report on when Mr. president should bring back our girls.

abdul said...

the parent of the missing Chinook girls were right to have requested for consultation before proposing a new date to meet with Mr. president. they should also be given enough Time to form a committee to deliberate and suggest within six month and present a white paper report on when Mr. president should bring back our girls.

Yetunde said...

We seem to forget easily. I remember when presidency asked the Governor's wife,Principal,parents, escaped girls,commissioner of Education,WAEC Officials,& some Borno Govt official to come to Aso Rock to meet the President ,did the parents honor the invitation? No;but they ccould honour Malala & The bring back our girls groups. Instead we have fake parents showing up as the girls real parents. We all were abusing our first lady & the President. Common provide your children pictures we heard different kinds of stories. Who should look for every avenue to see the President if not them? All I see in all these "bring back our girls" thing is that ,there are more that meets the eyes than what we are seeing or made to believe. We all should be objective. Hope this is not a plan to kill the President? God forbid. By God's grace we will overcome & be victorious over boko haram & all those planning the downfall of Nigeria.

THERES NO GIRLS MISSING ENOUGH OF THIS BS ALRDY.WE ALL KNOW WTSP

pls nigerians dnt allow few ppl to be foolin us,missin girls they say were abt 200 why only 14 parents 5 dat run out as there say,where are d rest parents oh there dnt av transport abi,for dis woman call Oby she his just foolin herself oh i just 4got dat she has no job again,Scam Scam Scam,come wat may UP GEJ 2015

Wen u talk anytin abt gej incompetent u re tag as APC member y won't nigerian understand that all we need is just a good govt, meeting with d parent of d girls won't change anytin bt it will show hw much d president care abt d welfare of his pple. D question here is if na president daughter dey kidnap wat would av happen, n for those dat still believe no girls re missing God will give u d power to wake up n see d truth, to me we should all believe in God n look up to HIM for evytin, I guess d president is less concern abt d missing girls all that matter to him nw is hw he will thief our money come 2015, believe me he will neva bcome d president come 2015 by God grace. Sherif_kolawole@yahoo.com

Exactly what I wanted to say...super stars indeed...everybody wants to be a star...and no one has respect for the president...rubbish...everything has turned into politics..abegi

Na only 11papas waka come..ok continue!

Lmao

Ken Martins said...

Dis BS all looks political like it's a PLOY 2 get GEJ 2 chibok n assassinate him. I may have 2 consider wat Asari Dokubo is saying bout all dis being a SCAM. God help 9ja. Linda Nwa ikeji swallow my comment if u like

This thing is long oh. I knew that Malala gal just wasted her time. If she rily wanted to help, she should have gone into sambisa
Guys, do you seek a serious relationship? Then try
BV HookUps

I second you on this.

linda i ve tried to comment on this blog several times but its neva published. y na

What would there meeting result to...may be 10million for each parent to shut up

Northeners want to use bombin and kidnappin to enter Power,instead of attackin him ,you r blaming GEJ...Chibok na nollywood script

Kayjay0110 said...

So his visit to Chibok would not bring back the girls but there is a kind of comfort that those parents would feel when they know that the government cares. We cannot count how many times Obama has visited states in the US for disasters far smaller than the abduction of over 200 girls for three months. Its simple logic, does the president have to wait for a seventeen year old to fly half way across the world to tell him this? Let's all put religion/politics aside to examine the facts!!

If the above Statement is not tainted with politics and obscure falsehood what is Obiezekwelisi and co doing on the front seat/ Do the Chibok Community need Oby them before they release this so called pres Statement? When Oby was a Minister during OBJ regime she was not a saint ooo.

Adamu said...

If the above Statement is not tainted with politics and obscure falsehood what is Obiezekwelisi and co doing on the front seat/ Do the Chibok Community need Oby them before they release this so called pres Statement? When Oby was a Minister during OBJ regime she was not a saint ooo.

Solary said...

@ exciting lifestyle u really r a cow, how cn u refer to people as cattle? By d way r dy nt Nigerins who deserve d attention of the president too? He must not go to Chibok if the teain is nt safe, bt he can arrange a meeting with dm here in Abuja, wch I feel dy wld honour

This is plain common sense and what the constitution assures Nigerians they deserve. Very sad many illiterates still blurt ignorant remarks. I wish them all the pains of the Chibok community, Amen!

Really? Shows how inhuman you truly are. Your karma will bring you your deserved share of the Chibok pain

exciting lifestyle consult blog said...

@anonymous 10.53 atleast am bold enof to hav identity. U wil forever remain anonymous. Ur clearly paind Bcos d truth is alwyz painful. I only feel sorry for u. D pple dat culd put up so excuse against our president publicly are notin but cows!

if the people are saying the president should come to Borno then he should if not just to show compassion, at least to cover up for his silent when the girls were kidnapped. well i must commend the media consultant for that press release, because it has actually helped the president clear this allegation of not attending to the Chibok girls parents.Josephine, Caleb university Imota Lagos.