Why Reps exchanged blows during today’s plenary – Hon. Daura | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 June 2015

Why Reps exchanged blows during today’s plenary – Hon. Daura

An APC member in the House of Representatives, Nasiru Sani Zangon Daura, representing Zango/Baure Federal Constituency of Katsina State, has issued a press statement explaining why the house members engaged in a physical combat today June 25th. The statement reads, 
 “We are here on behalf of our colleagues of the APC House Caucus to explain to you the unfortunate occurrence during today’s plenary session. The action that occurred inside the chamber of the House of Representatives was in reaction to the illegal and unconstitutional action taken by Speaker Yakubu Dogara of the House of Representatives, an action in his usual tradition of total disregard to the wishes of the majority members of the APC Caucus, the Party itself and the spirit of the Party.
We are aware of a letter sent by our Party, APC, dated 23rd June 2015, conveying the approval of the party’s principal officers vis a vis the APC House Leader, the APC Chief Whip, the APC Deputy House Leader and the APC Deputy Chief Whip for the House of Representatives. This action of the party and the APC House Caucus is in compliance with the Nigerian Constitution, the House rules and parliamentary tradition, practices and precedents in Nigeria and all over the World. But to our surprise and in breach of our privilege and rights as contained in the Constitution and extant House Rules, Mr. Speaker refused to read the letter from our party.  The Speaker and Deputy Speaker are not Party Principal Officers but are House of Representatives Presiding Officers and by precedent and practice are expected to provide a level playing ground for all members, while the Party Principal Officers are supposed to be the main advocates for their individual party positions. The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives are elected by all members of the House of Representatives irrespective of party affiliation and it is also possible under our extant rules for a Speaker and his Deputy to be elected from a minority/opposition party in the National Assembly. 

Therefore, Speaker Yakubu Dogara of the House of Representatives cannot under extant laws and House rules appoint, choose, select, dictate or even provide guidance on how Party Principal Officers emerge or are elected or selected. That responsibility and authority lies with each Party and Party’s Caucus members in the House. If I may ask, is Speaker Yakubu Dogara empowered to do that for the PDP House Caucus?  This action by Speaker Yakubu Dogara cannot and will not be allowed to stand as it will set a dangerous precedent in our parliamentary practice as it will give the Speaker the right and authority to appoint, choose, select, dictate or even provide guidance on how Principal Officers emerge or are elected or selected by the Majority and Minority Parties in the House of Representatives.

This action is capable of truncating our democracy. As for the claim being made that a particular zone should not be allowed to produce more than one Principal Officer, we say this with all sense of decorum, that this claim is absolute rubbish. Precedences were set in the 6th & 7th Assemblies where a single zone, the North-West, produced two and three Principal Officers, respectively. We, the loyal and disciplined majority APC Caucus in the House of Representatives are fully committed in ensuring that our party’s and President Muhammadu Buhari’s manifesto, agenda and positions prevail despite the efforts and shenanigans of the opposition party(s) and the few disloyal and undisciplined APC party members in the House of Representatives. We are determined in our efforts to utilise all legislative strategies available to us, so as to ensure the compliance with due process and democratic norms and values.  We shall persevere, come rain come shine! We the loyal and disciplined majority APC Caucus in the House of Representatives and the All Progressives Congress have dished out enough of the carrots, it’s time to crack the whip so as to ensure party discipline and maintain order. Dare I say, we rode to power on the platform of the party, the party is supreme and thus no one is above the party.
“God Bless the All Progressives Congress.
“God Bless The House of Representatives.
“God Bless Nigeria.

67 comments:

See people papa

Shameless old men...what's my biz?

U have no excuse...just shut up

Hahaha y won't their ve respect on thy old age

AWON AGBAYAS..........

MEENAH_WAKIL ON INSTAGRAM

Fuck your opinion said...

Medicine after death.

Shameless old men

This action is not trauncating any stupid democracy existing only in the heads of APC members. Leave the speaker to choose

The truth lies in the last sentence. No one is bigger than the party and that's final, without the party, there wont be any Dogara, he's emerge as the speaker, good and fine but he should obey the party's choice of leadership.

Am just laughing at APC lol.....how in d world did dis people get the reigns of power??? Nigerians u have voted Change, dis is Change!!!

Saraki and Dogara are pushing their luck too far.
The party helped you win the election, and now you feel you can disregard the party just to ensure your selfish interest is achieved, they should be very careful.

'Political Animal'

AMIJEZ said...

Apc is dead on arrival. Selfish people. This is national assembly and not party assembly.

Am sure none of this stuff make sense though...... Disgrace

Funny people

It normal it will strengthen the d instutitution of legislative. Pdp na money dey make dem figth but APC na quest for power which is good for democracy.

Hehehehehehehehe two parties in one party

So ds gives all of you right to embarrass our country like ds! Smh

Whatever

Dey have no moral justification, whatsoever. Linda take note!

DE SPIRIT ATTACHED TO DS UR PARTY MR SANNI IS VIOLENCE ALL I C IS DSAGREEMENT, FIGHT AND BEIN OPPOSITION TO APC ITSLF...WEN WILL U PPLE STRT BHAVIN AS MEN..??TOMJERRYSWIT

BRIGHTINO said...

This APC leaders are dictators not democrats. Why should they dictate positions instead of house members voting for themselves. This is totally unacceptable in a democracy. Bola tinubu thinks NASS is lagos state.

APC please go to hell!
Nigeria is bigger than any party!!
Long live Nigeria!!!

hmmmmm!

asaraki, is a cancer.

saraki, is a cancer

GNI said...

i have no doubt this change they promise us is nothing but scam. where is lie muhammed and the lies that full his head. fashola should come out and tell us how active is buhari since they succeeded in getting the power and whether GEJ should also be blame with all the killings in north and everyday robbery we are experiencing in lagos these days.

confuse buhari soled nigeria to the westerners and taking us back to colonialism to achieve his nonsense change.

BLUNT said...

Every moron that loses out in the ongoing power tussle automatically transforms into a poet and philosopher. My dear people, ignore this rat. They should all destroy themselves.

Is this the CHANGE???
There has been a massive increase in insecurity over the past few days!
Several consecutive Boko Haram bombings, A couple of bank robbery in broad day light, several kidnappings of Lebanese, Argentinian, Italian, etc...
PLEASE!!!!!
APC get ur acts together, if U guys r not ready for this governance then give way and stop making empty promises!!!
Enough is Enough!!!

And who's interested?

DISGRACE PEOPLE CALLED LAW MAKERS. THIEVES

Ikuku AmStrong said...

Don't even have the patience to read this trash coz I know it's all balderdash!

Game of throne

Olajuwon Mubarak said...

agbayas

Wow! Well detailed explanation dat says it all. I enjoyed reading it frm line to line. I ate, and digested d press statement. Lolzzzzz.

Biko for peace to reign in d green chamber, they should all embrace peace, and do d needful.

How I got delivered from masturbation addiction - Tosin Silverdam...
(Am surprised dat Linda didn't post my comment. So I had to re-send my comment. Hopefully she wil post it.)

Wow! I must confess dat dis is d best post on LIB dat I hav read on dis blog bcos it comes frm sincerity of d heart wit out trying to hide anytin away frm d reader's.

Indeed abstinence is the best. Masturbation everytime is evil and sin. There is a spirit behind every habits b it good or bad. Dat is y when u start a particular habit it very difficult to let go.

There r some habits dat it takes d grace of God to let go of if not d person might even die wit dat habit. Smoker's r typical examples of die-hard habits dat r difficult to let go.

Pls, and pls desist frm masturbation for there is a evil spirit behind every tin dat is contrary to d will of d living God. It traps d soul of mankind to hell bound dat b4 u realise it might b too late.

Wow! As for d writer of dis testimony, its well wit ur life, and I decree by d name of d living God dat every trace's of dis addiction b broken in ur life. Its well wit ur soul, and God abundantly bless u for coming out wit dis testimony to help others dat r in dis circumstance.

Those who hav ears let them hear. A word is enough 4d wise!

Dis is what u get when u have too many spices for food... dee

Mr 47 said...

Amen Brother!!! I hope some tribe on here get the message of the article before making some brainless and hate comment...

The explanation is not worth it....there's no excuse that'll justify their childish behaviour early....shameless leaders!!!

Arinze Chiji said...

Its a pity things turned out this way for APC. The change agents are showing their true colours and its very ugly.

Amen!!! U re right Mr Nasiru Daura, thank u for making us understand what went wrong @ national assembly today.

All these stupidity does not require any shameless excuse, especially to the discerning Mind(s) that is/ are already conscious of the Comical display that unfortunately turned tragic.
Pathetic.

All these stupidity does not require any shameless excuse, especially to the discerning Mind(s) that is/ are already conscious of the Comical display that unfortunately turned tragic.
Pathetic.

Change is here!

APC with PDP blood.........

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

PDP did this, APC shouldn't do it. This isn't the much talked about change we're yearning for. We're watching

Old shameless men!

Your ignorance is increasing by the day and I really feel for you so I'll just enlighten you a little. The party didn't help Saraki. Saraki helped the party. I know you know nothing about Nigeria or her history apart from what you see on blogs or Twitter so you won't know the weight Saraki carries in the North central and parts of South west. Go and read up on the Saraki dynasty. While you're at it, do some reading on legislative independence and autonomy. It would help you understand how ignorant you have been sounding as well as the level of illegality demonstrated by the APC. Notice I didn't say your party right? Because the APC do not even know or recognize you as one of them sostop

RM & KD said...

our former president will be dancing Shakiti bobo were he is right now..hahahaha

Party is jt a platform 2 win or lose elections n nt dictate d affairs of government# we re in a democratic era so d rule of law shld always prevail at all times # apparently dix party is seeking 2 establish a dictatorship # sometimes I ask myself is south south n south east nt part of d leadership in d National Assembly I guess if Saraki didn't emerge as d senate president in d manner he did south east wouldn't be dep senate president 2day or re dos 2 geopolitical zones nt part of nigeria any more # the last time I checked south west stil remains a single zone #God help nigeria

Shut up young man

Wow! Well detailed explanation dat says it all. I enjoyed reading it frm line to line. I ate, and digested d press statement. Lolzzzzz.

Biko for peace to reign in d green chamber, they should all embrace peace, and do d needful.

Touts.

Exactly, no xcuse whatsoever.

Na dem sabi, and these are the clowns meant to make decisions for this country, kai no wonder Nigeria is d way it is

lobatan...we are watching

I don't see a certain region of people in Nigeria commenting here. Y naa have they bowed their head in shame already? Ndi ara

Don't blame this un exposed benue sillier ,he talks according to his knowledge.

Emmm...When you have power others follow...it's a step by step procedure, you see the notherners have always been good at politics...watching it all pan out, let the seats be properly shared then we know what next....New generation PDP known as APC, I said it before that do you think all this people that ran from PDP truly wanted change? they were all rebels who abandoned their party for a chance to have their own cake immediately, than wait till it's their turn, as you can see all the shameless fighting, as I said rebels, so that is basically what is happening. They all want what was promised to them and they want it nowwww not later when everything has been shared..lol!

Enna said...

Back in those days in school when you fight you get punished bt our so called Lawmakers are fighting and get paid very well. how can dis ones advice the younger ones when they see dem fighting

Anonymous 7.45pm, saraki is paper weight in the north central or south west but no doubt he his heavy weight in kwara. So bonario is right they are pushing their luck too far.

Did you actually think before writing the last paragraph?

Shut up ur dirty mouth, ur comments always annoys me cos u can never accept simple truth dat pdp should go n rest after putting the nation into cross road for the past 16 years u still want them to cntue in power for more damages but God says no.U pple dat did not have foresight when gold entered ur hand to enjoy u keep on being blind folded with evil mind not to accept change. Abeg go hug wet naked electric wire

abujakenneth said...

Even if the speaker did wrong, must you take laws into your hands. There are procedure to do things in civilised world. Self help has been abolished in OJUKWU V MILAD LAGOS STATE. Please follow procedure and do not fight and bring shame to your families

Blah blah blah blah