Man confesses to killing girlfriend and impersonating her for 2 weeks | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 June 2015

Man confesses to killing girlfriend and impersonating her for 2 weeks

A Korean man brutally murdered his girlfriend and buried her body in a suitcase after police ignored reports of domestic violence. There was a long history of domestic violence and stalking in their relationship.

The suspect, identified only as Mr Lee violently murdered his girlfriend Kim, in a ‘fit of anger’, a year after she reported him to local police for domestic abuse.

Kim’s sister said that when things didn’t go the way Lee wanted, he beat her badly.
“I heard from close friends of hers there that one time my sister kneeled and begged for him to stop beating her,” she said. “I think she thought he had changed, and they dated again it probably happened over and over again.”

The victim, Sunny Kim, 26, went missing on May 2, according to reports. Two weeks later Mr Lee, 24, turned himself into a police station in Busan, southeast Korea, and confessed to killing Kim after she tried to end their relationship.

“I killed my girlfriend and buried the body. I also tried to kill myself,” he told police, according to local media reports.

Lee claimed to have carried his girlfriend’s body to the mountains in the suitcase. He then buried her in a meter-deep hole and covered it with cement.
After the murder, Mr Lee, responded to text messages received on Kim’s phone by impersonating her to relatives and a prospective employer in an attempt to cover his tracks, say reports.

Korean media have reported that Lee followed Kim back to her apartment on the evening of her murder.
Mr Lee was taken to the Seoul Metropolitan Police Agency’s Gwanak station, after coming forward with his wrists slit after allegedly attempting to commit suicide.
“The way that he texted me was how would my sister would text,” Kim’s sister, who has asked not to be named, said. “We think he may have gone through her phone to see how she usually contacts us. It was really shocking to see how someone can really hide what they did in that way.”

On the day of the murder Kim messaged her family saying she had accepted a new job and was looking forward to celebrating the good news with them. Mr Lee later emailed the new employer as Kim rejecting the position.
Kim, a successful and popular professor in Busan, South Korea’s second largest city, met her killer after returning to Korea from the States after graduating from the State University of New York, where she studied economics.

Chilling photos of the suitcase in which the victim’s body was found covered over in concrete on May 18, buried in the mountains in Jecheon, a city in North Chungcheong province, were released by the Korean police.
The cause of death has not been released. Police said that the victim’s body was “badly damaged.”

Kim’s sister told BuzzFeed News that their parents worked endless hours and numerous jobs to support their family, and that they spent the majority of their income on their children’s education. To help, Kim helped paid for her sister’s tuition.
“My parents are, and always have been, really supportive of us,” the sister said. “Since we were children, they asked us what we wanted to do and learn about, and where we wanted to go.
“I never really knew how hard they worked to send us to the U.S. or invest in our education, but it turns out they borrowed from relatives and people around the town, and took out loans they are still paying now.”

Distressing video footage of the victim’s mother confronting her daughter's killer at a police station has been aired on Korea media.
The video shows Mrs Kim screaming and shouting at Mr Lee, and later breaking down while weeping and rocking in the company of an officer.
Korean television aired photos of Kim taken in 2014 visibly batter and bruised with a black eye broken fingers that were given to police at the time. However, no charges were made against Mr Lee then.
Mr Lee’s court date is pending.
Source: BuzzFeed News

30 comments:

Their people always beat their women like no 2mr...devil incarnate!

Oh!

Evul people everywere

He should b punished accordingly to serve as deterrent to others.

demm!! so sad

Heartless man...RIP Kim!

May her soul RIP....

Typical of the Nigerian police. A complaint of domestic violence and stalking is tagged "family matter" or "husband and wife matter" and nothing is done about it e.g Langbasa station in Ajah

A Professor? Babe, how could you leave like that. Rest in peace shaa

In bid to Find Love... She Found death instead......RIP Sunny

Na wa o. Things we read everyday. RIP to the girl. Her bf will definately pay for what he did to u.

If a guy hits you and Begs for forgiveness, forgive him and then walk away, because once he has beaten you, it is just going to come easier the second time.

Send the animal to life imprisonment.
Linda look alike

How did man metamorphorsed into monsters? How easy and convenient as it become to kill people? May God help us. Just check out the fine girl he just wasted? Rest in peace Kim.

yvejohn said...

A man that can hit a woman is an animal, he will never change. Girls,if you are with that type,leave while you still can,don't wait or wish for him to change cos he won't, he's going to go worse. Love is sweet when u are with a man that respects you and won't ever lay a finger on you.a man that can hit a woman has killer instincts in him,if u notice he can't control his anger d first time, you run like hell b4 d relationship gets serious.

So wicked.. Sometimes love is wicked.. I rather stay single than have a sick somebody as boyfriend..

Nawah! May her soul RIP

He try

Goaldyn Boy said...

What a heart rending story! I don't know why police all around the world behave same way! The lady had been severally abused and assaulted by the psychopath, but the police didn't deem it necessary to place charge against him or put him behind the bars when she reported her plight to them. It is when he has murdered her that they will swing into action! When it dawned on the lady that she was dating an irremediable psychopath and she made up her mind to end the relationship, he decided to kill her! Now the parents are still paying for the debt they incurred in order to give her the best education overseas!!!

Another day, another story

L.A said...

"I killed my girlfriend and buried her body,I also "TRIED" to kill myself",so it was easy to take another life but his own life he only tried.....pls hand him over to ISIS for brutal punishment...

Akin' Odunsi @gr8akin said...

What could she have done to deserve death? Plus, violence against women is now uncontrollable, men now beat women anyhow and nothing is being done about it! It has to stop.

Anthony police station

Errm.. What?

It will interest u to know that this NaijaDeltaBabe is still Juliet Iwuno in her dishonest ways.
Why is this girl so fraudulent?
Been long i ve seen a pathetic case of crookery.
Shameless.

DG NECTAR said...

Took her to the mountains then hurried her. Some concrete burial. The heart of Man. Even God weeps for creating MAN

Nkan nbe seriously o! Linda take note!

Kim RIP,Girls know the kind of person you fall in love with,some guys are devil incarnate

Vry terrible, RIP 2 d poor girl

I feel you