French woman goes on trial for deaths of 8 of her babies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 June 2015

French woman goes on trial for deaths of 8 of her babies

One day in the summer of 2010, a man was digging in his garden in northern France when he discovered a trash bag containing the remains of an infant. When he summoned the police, they found the body of another newborn. A few days later, they found more bags in the garage - with six additional small corpses.

Police contacted the house's previous owners, and quickly discovered the horrifying explanation: Frenchwoman Dominique Cottrez confessed to secretly bearing and then killing eight of her newborns, saying she feared they were children of a long, incestuous relationship with her father.
However, forensic exams on the remains of the eight infants, and tests on her two living grown daughters showed that all were fathered by Cottrez's husband, according to court documents.
Cottrez, 51, went on trial Thursday in the city of Douai, accused of multiple counts of first-degree murder of minors.

Cottrez wept as she took her seat. She faces life in prison if found guilty.
Her lawyers were expected to argue that she was a victim of rape and incest, and ask for a lesser sentence.

The worst infanticide case in modern French history stunned the country when the bodies were discovered in and around the Cottrez' former home in 2010.
Cottrez's obesity appeared to hide the pregnancies, which went unnoticed by her husband, children, neighbors, colleagues and even doctors at a nearby hospital.
She has told investigators she was mocked as "fatty" in school and closed herself up at the farm with her father, who accepted her as she was.
In court on Thursday, the prosecutor asked if she enjoyed being pregnant with her two daughters, Emiline, 28, and Virginie, 27, both present at the hearing. Cottrez replied, "Yes, for Emiline I liked it, but only for Emiline."

Dozens of forensic and psychiatric experts, police investigators and witnesses, including her husband, daughters and siblings, will take the stand to help understand the incomprehensible, and perhaps to help the defendant, who sobbed repeatedly during the first day's hearing, to open up.
A withdrawn, secretive nurse's aide, Cottrez told investigators she was raped by her father, first when she was 8 and repeatedly through her childhood and teenage years, according to judicial documents. She later entered a long, incestuous relationship with him as an adult, including after she married, and said that it became consenting  and even said she was in love with her father more than she was with her husband.

One of the first witnesses called to the stand Thursday is Leonard Meriaux, who bought the Cottrez family house and discovered the first corpse in 2010. He called police, who found another in the garden.
From one interrogation to another, the police went from surprise to stupor. Cottrez first admitted killing the two infants found in the garden. Then she herself informed the investigators that several other bodies were in the garage of the house, but she didn't know how many exactly, according to court documents.
She told the investigating judge that she had never used contraception or had an abortion because of a phobia of doctors. She also said she didn't keep the babies because she was afraid that they were the results of her incestuous relations with her father. She said the killing had become a "means of contraception," according to the judicial documents.

She said she told her father of the eight pregnancies and the eight murders, and investigators believe he could have helped her hide some of the bodies.
The death she described the most clearly is the first one, in 1989. She said she smothered the baby boy with sheets, placed him in a trash bag that she had prepared in advance, and put the bag in her wardrobe, according to the documents.
The second killing happened when she was hospitalized for an epilepsy seizure. She said she gave birth in the hospital toilet, strangled the child, wrapped it in plastic sheeting and towels, placed it in the closet of her hospital room and then brought it back home, hidden in her garment bag.
Her memories became blurred for the following births and deaths. The last infanticide was in 2000.
Her husband and daughters say they noticed foul odors in various parts of the house, but thought they came from sewage, or their dog, or even their father's feet.

Cottrez was released from jail in 2012 after spending two years in temporary detention.

In a January interview with a local newspaper, she said: "I never gave first names to the babies. The first one, I saw he was a baby boy. The others, I didn't look, I didn't want to. But when they were in the garage, when it was cold, I went there and covered them with a blanket. "

The verdict is expected next Thursday.

Reuters

83 comments:

LeoQueen said...

Dominique attention is needed @ yaba lefty

shakur said...

Haa! Nkan nbe....

Damilola said...

Poor babies. One day we will all be made accountable

Lord have mercy! Fell in love with her own dad, Abomination and cold blooded murders of her own innocent children!

Where do all this mad pple breed from!! Who kills 8 babies ! 8!!!she's a monster

Yetunde Awoyinfa said...

Holy mary moda of linda ikeji,wat?

This is strange. She should be made to face the full wrath of her actions.

Snowlove said...

Am really tired of this world...if a mother can wait after nine months to deliver a baby,and then kill it...what is left in the world...lord have mercy..see how fat d animal is#snowlove

linda onyx said...

Jeeez!!!!. Na wa ooh. Uwa emebiala

Speechless!!!! The last line tho'..u covered dead babies with blankets? Hmmmmm. And to think I use to say I'l love to marry a white man wen I was younger..now I've come to realize that the whites are the most wicked human specie God created.

Can wonders ever end?

Phew! What could have prompted such evil act.
The evil people do these days surprises even the devil.

This woman is not mentally sound

White people though, incest, infanticide in one case! Who wants to bet she gets off with an insanity plea?

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Speechless

Nna the world is really crazy i swear....

Speechless

Wounder shall end.

Haba! Wat happens to dem na?

Speechless. #tearsdrop

Damola Gbadegesin said...

Strange things.

dorothy said...

Dis is one of the worst killings i have ever herd of in ma life . Such evil from some humans . May God forgve her

God forbid bad thing

Beloved #CHIVIDO 2020 said...

WTF .. . That woman has strong heart. Deliver a baby herself plus slicing the placenta, All the blood etc to later killing the baby(s) not to mention the incest. Woman are you a cultist ?

unimaginable

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

Wonders

Wat a world! 8 gini?? N sum pple b looking 4 jez one

*lib's namesake*

danny fisiye said...

good to know

#GODWIN™

Elixir said...

Abaaaasssiiii eeeeeeh!

Elixir said...

Scary movie!

Mr. Stretch said...

She is sick!

#SayNoToVoilenceAgainstWomen

kemybaks said...

Oloriburuku somebody

mira cookie said...

Evil woman! Damn you.

See the size of her? Did she eat them? That's what they should be asking.

Omo said...

Uhn???
Terrible

Ruthcindy said...

what a world!

Jeez! God! And am here day dreaming for my own kids! God av mercy on us oh! Remember us oh!

Sick!!!....this idiot is certainly sick

Sick woman

My God. She should be sentenced to life imprisonment

bonny girl said...

Goodness me!, I can now understand why God is "LOVE" beholding all this and still loving his creatures. His love indeed endureth forever! Chai!!.

The things we hear nowadays though.....

Okezie Fortune said...

This is horrible. I can't believe this.

Amy Amy said...

Aru na eme

Dis woman get mind sha....seyilicious

THE FIRM said...

Quite crazy #trueanonymousconfession

Anointed said...

She should be punished for what she did...

Anointed said...

She should be punished for what she did...

Jesus christ!!! How inhumane is this

What kinda talk is dat? That's not an excuse to waste them like dat......what a heartless woman!

This is very strange.

Aru!
This woman is possessed.

<< LIB Addict >>

When people are begging God for One and people are burying 8.....So sad!

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Oh God! Why such wickedness and inhumane act?

Pls check my blog and share your opinion.
Thanks.

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Oh God! Why such wickedness and inhumane act?

Pls check my blog and share your opinion.
Thanks.

Aces said...

This one is mad ooo, I do you kill a baby easily like that, like it's no big deal, I find it hard to break my pencil into two not to mention breaking a baby's neck

Orishirishi...watin person no go read for this blog

Different type of news

...JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

Hian! Nkan nbe for dis world o! Linda take note!

na wa, e get watin all this oyibo people nor fit do? just asking o

nunulicious said...

chai, nkan be!who is to blame? and there are people looking for just one child. chai. chai!

iso connect said...

Lol,

Strange indeed!
End tyms.

Theresa urateh#password ish#

Ade Joke said...

Sad.

My God I have waited for ten years for one and people are killing eight my God this is not fair

Eight babies! Some people re wicked sha....

God is just awesome. He didn't seal her womb, he continued giving her babies to kill while some people r crying endlessly for just one! Irony of life!

MAYBUMS123 said...

But where is God? Where was he when this demon was busy killing this innocent lives? There r ppl begging rolling on the floor for God to grant them one child! 😡😡😡😡😡 am so angry!!! It's like she was popping out eggs like it doesn't even matter! May thunder strike her dead!

Ur r a stinky bastard n twart fr dt comment

Baskin said...

She is a serial killer, capable of doing worse! Haa, killing your kids and she says it's a form of contraception

oluomachi said...

Her father really messed her up. I heard sometimes the victim "falls in love" with her rapper and its all a mind thing. Leaves her thinking his the only one for her. The father is the root of all of this mess, I truly feel for the lady

I'll take a break 4rm the internet. It is really fucked up

Oga ooooo this life......uhmmmm this us terrible

This is just too much.How can a woman be this heartless,God have mercy.

Really fucked up

Be careful with your comments.

THE COURT SHOULD KNOW THAT THIS WOMAN HAS MENTAL PROBLEMS NA. WHAT SHE DID IS NOT NORMAL NA. HABA.

THIS WOMAN LOVES SEX OH. CANT THEY USE CONDOM OR CONTRACEPTIVES?

THE WOMAN IS STRONG OH. SHE BORN EIGHT CHILDREN BY HERSELF AND ALSO KILL THEM BY HERSELF. NA WAH

SIGN OF END-TIMES. STRANGE THINGS HAPPENING EVERYWHERE

She is worst than the devil, she will riot in the prison