Chilling new details of Tunisia beach massacre: Killer joked as he selected his victims | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 June 2015

Chilling new details of Tunisia beach massacre: Killer joked as he selected his victims

Two gunmen opened fire at a beachfront hotel packed with holiday makers yesterday killing 38 - with 36 seriously injured. Majority of the people killed are British followed by Germans, then Belgians. ISIS has since taken credit for the brutal massacre.

One of the killers, who has been identified as Abu Yahya Qayrawani, 23 (pictured above) was reportedly seen laughing and joking with holidaymakers, looking like any other tourist but used the time to carefully select the victims he would murder with a Kalashnikov hidden in his parasol. The were said to be his primary target. See more photos after the cut...

Culled from UK Daily Mail

'He was laughing and joking around, like a normal guy,' said one witness. 'He was choosing who to shoot. Some people, he was saying to them 'you go away'. He was choosing tourists, British, French.'  

Tom Richards, a university graduate who was on holiday with his mother and younger brother, found himself face-to-face with a man with 'long black hair and a beard', between 20 to 25.

He and his mother Sam had fled from the pool when they heard the shots ring out, but were confronted with the Kalashnikov-wielding terrorist inside the hotel, where they were sheltering with other guests.

The gunman shot two people in the head, before turning his attention to Mr Richards. The 22-year-old told The Guardian: 'He looked right at me, I thought I was dead.'

But instead of shooting Mr Richards, he shot the floor - allowing Mr Richards and his mother, who were injured by shards of marble, to escape to a nearby toilet. 

'I don’t know why he stopped. He could have killed everybody,' he said. 
Many tourists barricaded themselves in their rooms after the 23-year-old student opened fire. 
In another chilling account, Ibrahim el-Ghoul revealed how the killer had been smiling.
The trainee mechanic, who works part-time at hotel nearby, said the gunman told him 'I don't want to kill you; I want to hit tourists,' according to The Independent.

The terrorist after he was killed by police

Olivia Leathley, 24, a chef from Chorlton, Manchester, said she and her boyfriend escaped the massacre at the Imperial Marhaba hotel only because she was charging her phone.
'We then heard a shot from inside the hotel. Somebody just shouted 'run' so we sprinted off in all directions,' she said. 'The machine gun fire was so close, it sounded like it was right behind us.
'I was then on the phone to my dad, screaming at the top of my lungs and telling him 'I love you, I love you'.
'My dad Glenn was saying 'I love you' and shouting prayers down the phone, begging 'Lord, protect them'. We eventually found an office building and hid in a room. As soon as I got somewhere safe, I threw up.
'I later came across a woman who said her husband had been shot in the stomach on the beach. He was bleeding heavily, but she had to leave him there.' 

A hotel worker said a shoeless Yacoubi, who arrived on the beach by inflatable boat, had tried to blend in with the crowd. He added: 'He opened fire with a Kalashnikov. He was a young guy dressed in shorts – like he was a tourist himself.'

Rafik Chelli, Tunisia's secretary of state for national security, said the gunman – named locally as Yacoubi – entered the Marhaba complex through the pool area.
'He entered by the beach, dressed like someone who was going to swim, and he had a beach umbrella with his gun in it. Then when he came to the beach he used his weapon,' Mr Chelli said. Yacoubi was shot dead by the security forces.

Because of the Ramadan religious period, there were few Tunisians on the beach and few children because most schools have yet to break up.
Houcine Jenayah, a businessman, said the gunman arrived at speed on an inflatable Zodiac boat.
'He opened fire and had grenades with him,' said Mr Jenayah. 'He hid his Kalashnikov behind a parasol that he had in his hand.'

Within minutes of the massacre, photographs had been posted on an Instagram account showing a middle-aged man wearing blue shorts lying face down in the sand with a pool of blood around his head.
Other bodies were covered with towels and marked with numbers.

A woman launches a furious attack on a man apparently arrested over the shootings
Father-of-three John Yeoman, 46, of Kettering, Northamptonshire, used a bed to barricade himself and his family in the room of his hotel. 'We were in the pool when we heard automatic gunfire. People ran past saying there was an armed man on the beach,' he said.

Tweeting a picture of his barricaded room, he added: 'Hope it's enough. It's been going on for 20 minutes. We blocked in our room. There are sounds of a gun battle.'

The final moments of the terrorist were captured on camera as, weapon in hand, he prowled the streets of Sousse. With the gunman dead, police pursued suspects through the streets of Sousse, which is about 90 miles south of the capital Tunis.
More than three hours after the massacre an apparent accomplice was arrested near the motorway.

Pictures showed him being punched in the face by a furious woman as he was marched through the town by armed police.

Police were pictured detaining several men in the aftermath of the carnage but it was not clear last night whether the suspects were connected to the attack.
While there were multiple accounts of what happened, most witnesses spoke of a lone gunman who was later shot dead by the Tunisian security forces.

58 comments:

Like seriously???!

Nky said...

May his soul never find peace...

BoeDazzle said...

Crazy ppl

Thanks for the info. Really chilling

This is something else....tufia. Rip to d dead

God save us oo. Lindaobsserve

May the souls of the dead RIP....

Islam i hail una oooooo, why must the terrorist always bear Moslem names.....even when the terrorist are from USA, UK etc .......they must be Moslem or islmab related

You decide to stay in your country,stress,robbers sickness may kill u.You go on vacation,you go forever.People using guns like toys.The eye of the storm is not so much the guns per se but the misuse,the outright wickedness and the inhumanity.This isnt right

Anointed said...

Wats really happening,dis people r crazy

Hmmm may the dead ones souls rest in peace.

Evil men everywhere

Bad world

Bad world

Bad world

OMG! RIP to those dat loss their lives, and speedy recovery to those injured.

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Crazy crazy beings.very ruthless beings

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

God help us

dansignature said...

God have mercy

dansignature said...

God have mercy

Heya. Some people wuld go to heaven or hell naked. Rip to all of dem.

lucybings amebo said...

Jezz!! When will dis end

Hmmmmmm

princess said...

Sad

And the Motive?...Just to shoot tourists! They always have a motive,Dumb useless ones. Sometimes using Islam as a cover.May God pay u in full for Islam never Teaches this..

Oooooooh my....!
May God punish him.

Still finding it very Hard to dispute with my conscience that the Retarded suspect being legally assaulted by the pained Woman is Guilty.
Just Hang him.

Me said...

I live in UK and I don't hv rest of mind. I fear and worry so much abt this terrorist pple (evil bunch of weak men). I stopped going to cinema, shopping mall or any busy place in uk since last year....dts how scared i am abt this whole terrorist madness. Why kill harmless people? Am dead worried abt it. RIP to them.

God should help us dis is end time signs

Dz guy z evil may hz soul rest in fire

Sad sad story....
May GOD forgive 'em...
RIP to the dead...

U r obviously not familiar with d word of God. May they RIP

Hail Mary!!!😳😳😳😳😳

Gracious God.

Islam divides the world in two parts: Darul Harb (land of war) and Darul Islam (land of Islam). Darul Harb is the land of the infidels, Muslims are required to infiltrate those lands, proselytize and procreate until their number increase and then start the war and fight and kill the people and impose the religion of Islam on them and convert that land into Darul Islam.

End times. God help us not loose focus of Your coming. Too much evil in d world. God cannot send anybody to perpetuate such inhumanity.

God will repay everybody for whatever they do on earth

End time. My father told me its about time.

May the souls of the departed rest in peace. Linda take note!

Hope you don't go to work too?

This is really heartbreaking!

Thank God you now know who the terrorists are,not muslims abi?

They are bush animals...not human being. Human being don't behave those those frustrated bastards. They will realized their wickedness when they get to Heaven ....by then it will be to late for repentance.

Jbankz said...

Dis sick menh!

Come home dear, we hv our issues, but we still go out with certainty that we'll go home to our kids. God help us.

I thank God 4 d 1s dat escaped n RIP 2 d dead

andre kelvin said...

Rampage in real life

useless and frustrated people, they think everybody must be a moslem by force,by unleaching terror on people,all this Al-shabab, ISIS,hamas,AL-Quaeda,etc they will soon face the rot of GOD almighty any moment from now,I want people to know that this stupid region called ISLAM IS FULL OF EVIL.

ISIS

Islam*spits*

moslems, even in their holy prayers... they are still killing... That is in the quaran!

A lot of insanity in this world

Na only God go save us

I wish d whole earth can go to another planet and leav earth for moslems.if they go to d other planet with us, we don't spare one of their soul.I just wish

So where is Tunisia, land of war?

Anon 11.50 I am sure you can see the terrorist selected his victims whom he knew wldn't be moslems...so pls stop playing dumb and feigning ignorance

I wish somehow, the Lord could just make every single gun disappear of the face of the earth. I know there are explosives, knives, etc. but let's start with guns. We'll see how bold people are without their guns.