Sad day for Nollywood. Prolific director Amaka Igwe passes on @51 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 29 April 2014

Sad day for Nollywood. Prolific director Amaka Igwe passes on @51

Foremost producer, writer, director and a leading player in the Nigerian motion picture industry, Amaka Igwe has passed on. She died last night April 28th in Enugu after an asthma attack. Mrs Igwe had gone to Enugu in company of her husband for pre-production preparations for a new Igbo soap when the sad incident occurred.

She suffered an asthma attack and was immediately rushed to the hospital after initial intervention had failed but sadly died before getting there. 

Mrs Igwe is survived by her husband of 21 years Charles Igwe, three children, an aged mother. So sad! May her soul rest in peace...amen. Continue...

Born Amaka Isaac-Ene, the deceased was an accomplished writer, producer, director, entrepreneur and teacher.

She is the founder of BoBTV Expo, founder and CEO of Top Radio 90.9FM, Amaka Igwe Studios, and the newly-launched Q Entertainment Networks.

A visionary and pioneer of modern Nigerian TV drama and film, she hit national limelight as the writer and producer of award-winning TV soap 'Checkmate' and its off shoot 'Fuji House of Commotion'.

Her Nollywood projects include RattleSnake and Violated - two critically-acclaimed movies that set apart Amaka Igwe Studios in the much-criticised Nollywood industry. 

Amaka Igwe studied Education/Religion at the University of Ife (Now Obafemi Awolowo University). She had a Master's Degree from the University of Ibadan. She had her early education at All Saints School (Now Trans Ekulu Primary School), Girls High School Awkunanaw, Enugu and Idia College, Benin.

She worked as a lecturer at the Anambra State University of Technology and briefly in oil and Gas, before settling for the motion picture industry.

238 comments:

1 – 200 of 238   Newer›   Newest»

Oh!
May her soul RIP.

OMG! What a great loss.
An Iroko has fallen. She will be missed.
May her soul rest in peace.

Lord grant her eternal rest.

Peace to the dead... Comfort to the bereaved

4la said...

Rip mam

sii Al said...

WoW!!!!!!This is sad news......ohhhhh my heart bleats

Funmy Kemmy said...

May she rest in peace and May God be with her family amen

DownUnder said...

Really sad. May her soul RIP

Very sad. We have to be more health conscious in Nigeria. Living on fast foods and processed foods is slowly killing us.

So so sad! Dis world is vain. We need 2 get closer 2 GOD errday cos d end is nigh. May her soul rest in peace!

engr osy said...

Rip our legend. U live ON

May her soul rest in peace #bright bravo#

Jeeeeeeeeesus christ!!!...this life!!! this lifeee this life is nothing!!!...was at a requiem mass 3 nights ago at independent layout enugu and Rev. Fr. Ejike Mbaka kept repeating that this life is nothing...He said that whatever we have but don't use it to help people shall speak against us on the last day...may her soul RIP!!!

♠ V•!•©•T•O•R•!•O•U•$ ♣ said...

This is sad! Oh dear! RIP maam'

so sad. RIP

LINDODO.........an d first to comment.yaaay

JESUS CHRIST!!! Why?!!

WHAT A LOSS TO MY INDUSTRY.. RIP

k said...

Eyaah!dis wonderful woman.may her soul rest in peace!

omg. how cud this happen. wasn't she with her inhaler/ too sad. God bless my mum nd heal her ijn

k said...

Eyaah!dis wonderful woman.may her soul rest in peace!

So sad. wat a great loss. May he r soul rest in peace. Amen.

RIP to a great ICON and producer of "violated"..an all time classic. Adieu ma

what a loss to my industry.. RIP

So sad. So many soap on TV can be accredited to her. The movie world will miss her so much.

WHAT A LOSS TO MY INDUSTRY.. RIP

Kai LiNdA dis a very sad news o

Cynthia Amadi said...

Onwu ajoka! Good night Aunty Amaka! You will be missed! This is sunset at Noon!

So sad, she will be greatly missed. May her soul rest in peace.

Amaka eze said...

So sad, may her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen

Awwwww wht a huge loss! A talented icon is gone! May ur gentle soul rest in peace.

Wow WHAT! So sad May her soul rest in peace such a talented woman.

Oh my God my ur soul rest in peace

The General's Wife said...

Unbelivable! RIP Mrs Igwe!

Lisaberry said...

Wat a loss! May her soul rest in peace..* Bbm sad face*

So sad! God save us pls! May her soul rest in peace #Real icon#

RIP Amaka....you shall be greatly missed by all.

Omg! Cant believe this....jst like that? One moment you are here n the next you are gone . May her soul rest in peace.Amen

rest in peace

Dennis DaManOftheYear* said...

RIP ma...you've done your part

Nollywood will really miss her, may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace & may God console her family.

Sad news, I miss D days wen life Waz simple

Life is short..all is vanity...RIP ma

Riiiiilllllli saaaaad! May her gentle soul rest in peace.

Ohhhh noo, RIP....

Tongryang Pantu said...

Ohh dear! This is sooo sad. She was an amazing talent and inspired many. Kai! She has left a huge gap in the industry.RIP ma'am

Brown Sugar said...

May her gentle soul rest in Peace.... She has done the nigerian movie industry well.

May her soul rest in peace..... Amen!

mamalette said...

OMG! Asthma attack? Amaka igwe is an exceptional producer and director, great loss indeed. May her family find consolation in God's love. R.I.P.

Big loss. RIP.

Heyya, RIP madam

Wow! So sad. R.I.P
Hmmm asthma sha

vivian obey said...

May her soul rest in peace

Mischievous said...

This is really sad!

She was simply the BEST!

May her soul rest in peace. Amen.

Rx Mams said...

So sad RIP...

RIPP..

Rx Mams said...

This is so sad. A true motion picture professional...

Rest in peace Ma.

Criticz said...

This is so unfortunate for her family n the nollywood industry....May her soul rest in perfect peace n pray that God almighty grant her family the heart to bear this huge loss.....Amen

Uray said...

Wow what a loss! RIP.

So sad! She was indeed a pace setter in nollywood

Peejay said...

RIP trailblazer. Your memory lives on.

Uray said...

Wow what a loss. RIP

OWEN said...

SO SO SAD! MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE.A BIG LOST TO THE INDUSTRY.

My goodness!!! This is so sad! May God bless the soul of the departed.

So saddddd

WTF! What is "you've done your part " supposed to mean? She was 51! Why does Linda approve comments like this??

Rip

U Ar Not Alone said...

What a loss! I love Amaka. Her works are excellent. Rest in peace Amaka. You were full of talents. May God give your family the fortitude to bear the loss and help Nollywood. No more death please, dear Lord.

SHE IS GOING TO BE MISSED

SHE WILL BE MISSED.

nkem said...

One of the best!RIP great mind.sleep in the bosom of our lord and may God connsole ur family

So sad! May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace! And may God consoles her family!

Onyekaneze said...

RIP sister

Aw! May her soul rest in perfect peace with her maker. Father pls console her family.

Tee Jolly said...

Really shocking! Asthma kills more than people actually think. Our environment is damn polluted. Sad! Rest in Peace madam

So sad menh. Rip

PURPLE

Adetola said...

So sad.. RIP

Honestly, being overweight is not good at all..i guess her heart couldn't carry her weight...may her soul rest in peace...lesson to fat people, don't be a prisoner to food.

Oh Amaka Igwe Rest in peace,ur movies we're classic you wil be greatly missed.

So sad, dis is a great loss indeed. My condolence goes to her children especially $ her mum. May God grant dem the fortitude to bear d loss. RIP Ma.

Rip ma and I Pray GOD to give your family the fortitide to bear this loss...Amen

didabliz said...

sooooo sad!!!

Is a very sad day for d Black race all over d world especially Nigeria. One of our shining star just went deemed. Rest in the bossom of the Most High, Amaka!

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

Omg!! RIP Mrs Igwe. so sad

So sad, rest in peace Nneoma

Oh no!
Ordinary asthma?
Chei!
May her soul RIP!

* My R1.50c comment *

Annette Nena said...

May her gentle soul RIP. Amen

Oh my God! This life is just Vain....

This s reli a sad one 4 entertainment industry nd d nation as a whole..4he wd b greatly missed cos she left her mark dia nd a grt void wd b created...R.I.P Mrs Amaka

linda said...

So sad.....RIP ma

RIP ma... We'll greatly miss u..

Great lost. May her soul rest in peace. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

O.m.g...! Am a big fan of Amaka igwe, can't believe that she is gone.. Infact I can't choose the right word to describe my shoCk,may God console her family in this painful time.. #cheEzyjayne

Rest in perfect peace Amaka and may God take care of ur home! Linda pls its Ekulu primary school and not Trans-Ekulu. Though bak to All Saints cos' its an Ang.Mission sch.

Chaaa! So so sad. RIP

Oooooo, this is so so sad. She will be missed greatly. May God grant her entire family the fortitude to bear the loss.

We blossom n flourish like leaves on d tree and whiter n perish but christ changeth not. RIP Mrs Amaka......... Let us all live our lives as if 2mrw will nt cm.

CHAÀÀ! SO SO SAD

ChyChy said...

Am a huge fan °Æ’ hers, so sad, may her soul rest in peace.

So sad! May her gentle soul rest in Peace. May God grant her family d fortitude 2 bear dis huge loss.

Rest in peace ma.

RIP madam, u have made ur mark. rest well.

May ur Gentle soul RIP.Amen

wanday said...

It's beyond sad. So full of life. My heart goes put to her mum and the family she left behind. She was great at her work. I remember seeing her name on most nollywood movies back in the day. God will give them succour

chike said...

Sad

Great loss indeed...this should remind al of us dat death can come at any tym n dix lyf is just full of vanity wat matters most is where wil u spend ur eternity?..CUTIEESTAR

She'z a big name in nollywood, she'z be greatly missed. RIP Ma.

Eternal rest grant unto her O' LORD #pathetic#

This is so sad, I used to think people outgrow Asthma :(

tonia said...

Rip ma we wil al mis u

So sad. RIP ma. But with an average life expectancy of 53 in Nigeria, systems Nigerian govt has placed on us all keeps cutting our lives shorter.

An exit of a great woman......RIP

What a shock, what a great loss. Nigeria have lost of its finest and best producer. Loved her sooo much...may her gentle soul rest in peace.

What a lost RIP

Justyswt said...

Omg. May her soul rest in peace. So sad.

Adieu Amaka Igwe !!!.
Rest in eternal Peace, a great Nollywood icon.
The good Lord will uphold your household.
You lived an exemplary life.
I will miss U ma.

Julie mama, plz read well b4 concluding........

Adorable mummy said...

anon 10;32 u r a big fool n lunatic

She was one of the reason many of us stayed glued to the tv, because her stories were innovative and different. A true pioneer of the movie industry. She will be missed.

21 YRS OLD HUSBAND,#CHILD ABUSE#,MAKE GOD FORGIVE U UR SIN.

Beauty n brains said...

Very sad!! May her soul rest in peace n may d gud Lord grant her loved ones d fortitude 2 bear this great loss.

Anonymous 10:32am u re a nuisance, death is inevitable re u God were u told it was due to over weight her heart cudnt carry on, idiot by the time death comes knocking on ur door I hope u fight it so hard, if u don't ve anytin reasonable to say reserve ur comment

RIP to an icon; linda she was 60yrs and not 51pls

Zee said...

Mumu wetin concern heart n asthma? Asthma is d narrowing of airways

Fool read d comment; she's being married for 21years

Wow...you're stupidity knows no bounds! what does asthma have to do with being overweight. Why are u sooo idiotic?!

DOBY DOBY said...

RIP. . May d good lord strengthen her loved ones and family

RIP Icon

Screamed "JESUS!!! When I saw the headline..dis is a big blow to her family and Nollyhood as a whole...RIP ma!!!

Also sussan obi nollywood actress dead 4 days ago. She is from. Nsugbe in anambra state. May her soul rest in peace amen

Zee said...

Akpors wetin concern heart wit asthma? Just write RIP n pass. ASTHMA is d narrowing of airways and dere will b difficulty in breathing.Thank me now!!!!!!

chilly said...

I don't knw her doe.May r soul RIP!

So so sad!!! I remember in the early nineties, on Thursday evenings, wherever anyone was, they'd be rushing home to watch Checkmate. It was one soap that was ahead of its time. Any production that had her name on it promised to be a blockbuster. She has left a legacy that will live on. RIP Amaka Igwe.

FROM NICEMIKE

May she rest in peace. May we the living be careful about stress, eating and weight. I assume her weight was a health problem. May her mother, husband and children be comforted by the Lord. Adieu.

How I wish people will truly know fat death will actually come at an hour we do not expect, it comes like a thief vanity upon vanity,life is short, there is a judgement day, the day for u and I go give account of how we lived, how terrible day day will be
OH jUDGEMENT

R.I.P, Ma. What a great loss? What's happening?

Wen th e time for one to return comes, even if u are in America my dea

evie wats ur fucking problem. can u read. its clear. she left a legacy. get a fucking life

You're incurably stupid ! With your long life, what have you achieved? At 51 she achieved what your family collectively cannot achieve in 10 generations!

Angel Judith said...

So sad, may God grant her eternal rest and comfort the family. What a great loss!! *sobs*

Oh my God JULIE MAMA U r such a fool. Read well before u comment. She was married to her husband for 21 years. Smh for some People.

RIP MA

RIP to an icon
She will be missed.

Asthma awareness should be heightened lease....its killing more people lately than before....

and people should learn resuscitation skills....CPR

rest well soul

May her gentle soul RIP.

I think u should go back to school anony 11:00, cos Linda said husband of 21 years not 21 year old husband. Ode Olodo oshi

its well with her soul

oh no! this is so painful.she was an asset to Nollywood.RIP.sad

I feel so sad when someone dies on my birthday. May her sould rest in peace. She is one of those who made good movies. A great loss.

Sylcrypt said...

Chai!she will be grately missed.may her gentle soul rest in peace!amen!

What a loss!!!! May her soul RIP and may God Almighty comfort her family. I am a huge fan of hers..

Really sad, may her soul RIP ....Amen

Sylcrypt said...

Cha!she will be grately missed.may her soul rest in peace.Amen

hrm paul ojeih said...

Chai nna men we just lost our own Oprah Winfrey this woman was a genius a revolutionary media icon what will Nolly wood be with her a mother a teacher a friend a guardian rest in peace

@KweenAwo said...

So so very sad! She's gone with her grea talent to the grave. May her soul rest in peace.

So, so, so, sad. What a loss. A great loss. May her soul rest in peace.

For those shouting child abuse on her 21yrs of marriage, pls when you don't understand a statement, do well to keep quiet and learn from others. The poster did not say her husband is 21yrs. What that means is that she has been married to her husband for 21yrs. Pls get more language grooming and stop coming here to display your ignorance.

A great loss to the movie industry RIP.

Real sad news. May she find rest in the bossom of the ALMIGHTY.

She will be sorely missed. May her gentle soul RIP

Rattlesnake was a hit!checkmate was like stelemundo den,i can cry for fuji house of commotion when nepa did piam! I loved ur movies ma'm u wrote reasonable scripts not all dis rubbish dey produce these days,i love d old nollywood dis new lack direction

May her soul rest in peace...Amen.

MAY HER GENTLE SOUL REST IN PEACE...

May Almight God grant her soul eternal peace in his glory and give her family the fortitude to bear this great loss.

Etsako Pearl said...

May her soul n d souls Of d departed rest in peace. Amen!

Deeginny said...

OMG! Just watched Emem Isong this morning on African magic referring to Amaka Igwe as one of her mentors in Nolly wood and I was like yes she is really good. This is sad news. May her soul rest in perfect peace amen. This is really a great loss to Nollywood.

meeeeeeeeeeee said...

Oh my! This is sad news. Rest in Peace Amaka.

Awwwww. Wasn't she the lady that played Ann in checkmate? Awwww. RIP!

Yucci said...

Amaka Igwe was very talented and ahead of her contemporaries. Growing up in the 1980'we never forgot to watch "Checkmate" to see RMD, Ego Nnamani, Bob Manuel Udogwu etc. Her classics like "Rattlesnake,"Violated","Fuji House of Commotion" etc are classics.She brought to our attention the immense talent of Keppy Ekpenyong,Francis Duru, Bimbo Manuel and so many other artistes through her productions. We will miss her creativity and pray that God will console her family as she finds eternal rest!

What has healthy eatigng got to do with Asthma?.. Save your advise for another day

Sad

#epiphany#

R. I .P madam may ur soul rest in peace

Nonnybaby said...

Hey Amaka Igwe! You brightly lit up the world in which you lived, even though rather briefly. Who can forget 'Rattlesnake', 'Violated', 'Checkmate' or even the hilarious 'Fuji House of Commotion'? You were a very very rare streak of genius! May your gentle soul rest in perfect peace, our darling screen angel! RIP Nne and may GOD strengthen your family in this very trying hour. What a loss!!! The world is worse off for it.

precious said...

oh dear Lord, have mercy on us ALL & comfort us especially the families she left behind! Rest in perfect peace Aunty Amaka!
God knows best! :(

Very sad and shocking. R.I.P

ANON 11AM, CANT U READ? OLODO BURUKU. ITS SIMPLY MEANS HER MARRIAGE WIF HUBBY IS 21YRS NOT DT HA HUBBY IS AGE 21. BLOCK HEAD

Ur heart bleats?? Is it a goat's heart u av in there?? This is either #badEnglish or #hearttransplantgonewrong

RIP!

RIP!

Rest in peace Legend. God accept your soul.

RIP Aunty Amaka, God be with you till we meet again.

Olodo....did u go to school at all...astma have nothing to do with the hrt..besides she is nt overweight.

U r such an idiot..just lookin for a way to insult the celebrity even when she is dead...go n read again n try n understand it.. it says 'her husband of 21 years'

Nkem said...

RIP Mrs am aka Igwe. Humble and prolific movie director. She never made a film which wasn't a blockbuster.

For those of us who might not know fat does aggravate asthma. Fats and fatty acids produce derivatives leukotrienes and corticosteroids among others which block the
airwaves inducing asthma attacks. That said she lived an accomplished and fulfilled life and while I join the world to mourn I will not fail to say " WELL DONE MA'AM. YOU CAME YOU SAW YOU CONQUERED. RIP!

May her beautiful n gentle soul rest peacefully in the blossom of the LORD GOD ALMIGHTY and may GOD grant the family the grace and strenght to bear the loss. AMEN

U r such an idiot..just lookin for a way to insult the celebrity even when she is dead...go n read again n try n understand it.. it says 'her husband of 21 years'

Yes he knows what he/she is saying.... Bunkum

no, she wasnt.

may her soul rest in peace

PD said...

Oh no!Beautiful woman..may God rest your soul and may he give strength to ur family at this trying period .

@Aderonke Aro... she was a producer n director,the role of Ann in Checkmate was played by Ego Boyo.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 238   Newer› Newest»