Pictures from the public presentation of the book, 'Giants of History' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 April 2014

Pictures from the public presentation of the book, 'Giants of History'

On Tuesday Aprill 22, at the Civic Centre, VI, Lagos,  Mr. Lateef Ibirogba (the Commissioner for Information & Strategy, Lagos State) presented to the public his book titled “Giants of History: The Making of Our World” as well as an accompanying card game “The Game of Giants”.

In attendance at the event were the governors of Lagos and Osun States, along with representatives from other states in the south west of Nigeria. There were a couple of senators from the northern part of the country as well, and a number of people from the publishing and literary professions. More on the book here. Continue...

The card game was invented to help students and all other interested history buffs to interact with the book and learn more about great people living and dead.

Mr Pascal Diozie, the chairman of the occasion, referred to Giants of History as a serious book which will add a lot of value to the young population. The Lagos State Governor, Mr Babatunde Fashola, who was the Special Guest of Honour at the launch, commended the author for a job well done. He also urged Nigerians to take up the reading culture again, adding that the dearth of books about public service in our libraries is a serious issue that needs to be addressed. He encouraged people to buy the work.

Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, the governor of Osun State, was the keynote speaker for the day. He gave glowing remarks on the book and congratulated the author for a job well done. The Honourable Commissioners for Information from Ogun, Oyo, Ekiti and Edo were also in attendance as representatives of their governors.

Speaking as the book reviewer, Barrister Tade Ipadeola (winner of the Nigerian Prize for Literature, 2013) praised the book as one that makes history relevant again. He declared his support for the school of thought that history books serve to motivate young ones to emulate great men and women of preceding generations rather than intimidating them. Also in attendance was the director of Corona School, Agbara, Mrs. Folasade Adefisayo, whose speech commended the author for writing the book, and for inviting her to the occasion without having met her before. It shows a recognition of the role of teachers in society, she said.

The book and the card games will be available in physical bookstores but can be purchased for now at www.digitalbooks.com.ng (The website for the game itself is www.thegameofgiants.com). All attendees at the launch went home with free copies of the innovative card game, and were able to buy copies of the book and also get them signed by the author.

Here are pictures showing guests that include the Chairman of MTN Nigeria, Mr. Pascal Dozie (Chairman of the Occasion), Mr. Babatunde Raji Fasola (Governor of Lagos State), Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola (Governor of Osun State), Mr. Lateef Ibirogba (author), Tade Ipadeola (reviewer) Mr. Louis Odion, Mr. Kola Tubosun, Prince Gbade Lana, among many others.

18 comments:

Ok seen. #BringBackOurGirls

CoolDiva speaks!

immaculate said...

Ok. I ve seen it

Niceone man, but nobody reads book again unless is been acted like a movie....

Ow... Poor ige.

Star Actress/Singer Demi Lovato Topless Photo Leaked.

T'Adonis said...

Such a nice/confident title for a book and not a bad idea either but I don't do such kinda books.
Next please!!!

T'Adonis observes via WEBCAM

Supernova said...

To the book worms of LiB.
Please do any of you know good books shops in Port harcourt or Abuja where I can purchase books like; The color purple, Da vinci code, The book thief and many more. I recently became aware of my avid reading and I wouldn't want this flame to burn out. Please, your suggestions will be greatly appreciated as you help edificate a young erudite!

Supernova said...

To the book worms of LiB.
Please do any of you know good books shops in Port harcourt or Abuja where I can purchase books like; The color purple, Da vinci code, The book thief and many more. I recently became aware of my avid reading and I wouldn't want this flame to burn out. Please, your suggestions will be greatly appreciated as you help edificate a young erudite!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Ok seen.. No news will Intrest me anymore until those girls are freed..

Is that the problem now. Yeye pple. Bring back our girls ooo.

Supernova said...

To the Book worms of LIB.
Please does anyone know a good bookshop in Port Harcourt or Abuja where I can purchase books like; Da vinci code, The color purple, The book thief and so much more. I recently discorvered my passion for books and I wouldn't want this flame to burn out. Your suggestions will be greatly appreciated as you help a young erudite!

#Okseen#

Stupid people shining teeth... go and find the missing girls pls!!

Politicians are all the same. Fashiola is busy laughing with this old men when some girl's are still missing. Which way Nigeria????

It is really surprising that our educational sector has really been forgotten in our country Nigeria.Our grand father's,our father's,our leaders,we have to wake-up sleep and do the right thing,for the future of our young youths is bed of our future tomorrow.well done Sir,

DOBY DOBY said...

Love d deco

niceone

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... Ok we don hear, old pple tins

Try Booksellers Bookshop . They are located on the ground floor of City Plaza, Area 11, Garki , Abuja (opposite Biobak)