29-year-old man kills his own daughter over plate of rice | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 3 May 2014

29-year-old man kills his own daughter over plate of rice

According to a report by Tribune, a 29-year-old man named Kingsley Ekerete (pictured above), has been arrested for killing his own 7 year old daughter over a plate of boiled rice in Obimama, Oyigbo LGA of Rivers state.

Kingsley, a commercial driver who hails from Nto Osung community in Ikot Ekpene Local Area of Akwa Ibom State, holds just a First Leaving Certificate and has to drive his bus daily through the bustling traffic of Port Harcourt to make ends meet and put food on the table for his young family.
Judging from his looks, no one would have taken him for a murderer or imagined that he is capable of killing his own child.
On this fateful day of April 12, 2014, Kingsley returned home like every other day at 1900hrs, already famished. He hurried down to the pot of rice he had prepared before leaving for work only to find that his also hungry daughter, Favour, had helped herself to the meal he had reserved for himself. Kingsley’s animal instincts became awakened and what followed were fits of mad rage as the red-eyed father unleashed his beastly tendencies on his seven-year-old daughter.
Little Favour Ekerete, who had been ill before this time, cried herself to sleep and her illness worsened as a result of the beating she received from her father. According to Kingsley’s own confession, she died some hours later.

He then proceeded to place the corpse at a corner of his one-room apartment, an apartment that also housed his two other children aged two and three, not even giving a thought to the implications of keeping the dead child with her frightened siblings.

The kids bore the ordeal as the remains of Favour spent a whole night with them before their father, having made sure his neighbours were all fast asleep, wrapped the corpse in his own clothing, took a shovel and buried it in a shallow grave behind his room.

But Favour’s spirit must have cried out from that shallow grave for justice, for as much as Kingsley tried to cover his crime, he was soon found out. One Ugwu, the caretaker of the building where Kingsley resides, noticed the strange and sudden disappearance of Favour, who had been the darling of neighbours.

She (Ugwu) quizzed her father about her whereabouts and the latter spun a story of how the child had taken ill and how he had taken her to a hospital in neighbouring Umuebulu community where she had died.

But Ms Ugwu insisted on seeing the corpse, which Kingley blatantly refused to oblige her. She then threatened to report to the police. But before then, she informed a neighbour, one Pastor Emeka Onuoha, of the situation.

While this was going on, men of the Afam Police Division who were on patrol were flagged down by the pastor. Kingsley was arrested and, after interrogations, was transferred to the State Criminal Investigation Department, Rivers State.

In an attempt to cover his crime, Kingsley gave different accounts to the police, claiming that the mother of his children abandoned him to take care of their ailing child alone and the child had died for lack of attention while he toiled for find money. Yet in another account, he claimed that being so poor, he had deposited his mobile phone with a Hausa rice seller in order to get the rice that he had prepared to feed the children, not knowing that the rice had been poisoned.

When asked to lead the police to the location of Favour’s corpse, he also gave conflicting accounts. He first said she had died on the way to the hospital and so he buried her somewhere along the way and couldn’t remember where it was. Then he later said that the body was in a mortuary at a neighbouring village.

But the truth was unfolded when his parents, Mr and Mrs Ekerete, visited the State Criminal Investigation Department (SCID). They told the police of Kingsley’s strange behaviour even toward the mother of his children, who ran away from home to avoid his excesses. Kingsley’s father also narrated how his son had called him immediately after the child’s death.

He has since taken the police to the site where he buried his daughter in a grave so shallow that the corpse is visible even without exhumation.

Speaking on the development, the Commissioner of Police, Tunde Ogunsakin, explained that his men, after receiving the case file from Afam Police Station, noticed that Kingsley’s  explanation on his missing daughter was suspicious and that efforts to reach the mother of the deceased was rebuffed when police started investigation.

He said that this is a case of homicide and that considering the nature of the crime, Kingsley would need to go through a psychiatric test before he is taken to court for prosecution.

According to Ogunsakin, the Child’s Rights Act Sections 4 and 14 state that this is a violation of the child’s right to survival and development as well as parental care and protection.

Culled from Nigerian Tribune

91 comments:

Mankind and evil! Your own kid???

Na wa o

Good Grief!!!!!.I'm sure she even died at the spot after the several beatings. He's a monster in human flesh.
Off with his head.

I suffered physical abuses as a kid frm my dad... Thank God i survived ... Sooo painful cos i went thru dis same thing(not bcos of a plate of rice sha,pathetic)

God plx take away poverty from the midst of ur pple.

Stupid man,when,he was supposed to provide food for the poor girl.smh
He must face the full wrath of the law

Mz Mimi Lee @ DAVIDO my concern! said...

Oh no! Why my state na!!! Tragedy!

call me kyke said...

Speechless

This country is cursed #bright bravo#

call me kyke said...

Speechless naa wa oooo

call me kyke said...

Speechless

An hungry man is an angry man....... So u ve 2 tak t out on ur kid,nice move. All men r beast nd diz 1 shuld b killed same way

Because of rice!! Wait, Because of plate rice!!!..... God, may poverty never get hold me o.... Chai, i hope he will start eating them plate upon plates of rice in jail and not only that, he also buried her to close his shitty act.... Life imprisonement no doubt and may the soul of the gal R.I.P...
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

Seriously, some people are not suppose to have kids, as in God no suppose to hear their prayers when asking for children abeg.... Anuofia....
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

What a demonic act, humans unending wickedness is just a reflection of who the ruler of this world is

chei ...am here seeking for children.
God give me this favour

Ife neme.na wa oooo,is he suppose to eat when the daughter is hungry?hmmmm

evry day wit it own story, dis are sign of endtime. Father huv mercy.

poverty claims 2

FUNMINISTA said...

Port Harcourt people and murder are inseparable

So sad. May her soul rip. Where are all those stupid commentators that her very quick to judge Yoruba people especially the Muslim ones.

End time tins

Hmmm..all dis 4 a plate of rice! Hunger na bad tin oo..may her soul R.I.P

Na poverty de cause all ths rubbish

Na yoruba man?? Just asking oh..... No vex.

May God have mercy on him

Na poverty de cause all ths rubbish

Mostly parents dont even value their children he has taken the life of the poor little girl becos of rice. And warning to women they should never in any condition abandon their children for anyone no matter what

Just imagine ooo,dis man is very Wicked...ur own daughter? He must face d wrath of d law

What a pity... I gues his enemies used his hands against d girl. Anyways, a murderer is a murderer, let him face d music

Even if de didn't squeeze d truth out frm him, d corpes would have pursued the whole compound due to the smell. De wud hav found out in less dan a week! Chai! See wetin poverty de cus buh what type of father is dis? Ngwanu, u tink ur in a motor park where u blow pple anyhow! Lock him up joor!

horrible things happen over little issues. devil is at work and he will be put to shame once we recognize and share in his presence and power.

ola lib

Chai Poverty. God biko look at your children.

Frastration can lead to any thing. R.I.P gurl.

So sad, may her soul R.I.P, am not trying to justify but a hungry man is an angry man, but for Christ sake why didnt he just go to any nearby mama put after the girl helped herself with his food. Wicked man

for GOD sake,this is totally against humanity.there is need to educate people on the responsibilities involved in taking care of a child.

You are cursed. Anu ofia!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Am sure he needs his examined. !!

Don't let me insult your generation o. Yoruba fool. Stretch mark madam. Bleaching fool. You can't stand phc people or their babes. You no reach. No go marry, dey here dey comment rubbish. Ewu.

naijaboy said...

The Nigerian government that pauperized the nation to the extent of a man killing his daughter accountable should be blamed as well.While our officials steal billions, this Nigerian committed murder over a bowl of one dollar rice!

Hahahahahaha, good question.

ARU! Despicable act! May the innocent girl RIP! Smh!

He shuld b taken to brazil prison where he can b taught a lesson..

That is why marriage is meant 4 matured men, men that are emotionaly and mentally ready, I understand that the guy married at d age of 22, he didn't undstd d responsibility of a father.

My dear, I suffered more from both my mum and dad. That's why I find it so difficult to have any relationship with them. I remembered days I had to leave the hostel in inseam with my friends to go and stand by the road side around 11 pm doing runz because my parent refused to cater for me, despite the poverty my mum still went ahead to have another baby. Now I'm married with kids in London but still I can't forget those terrible days.

Shut up,why wunt ur dad beat u....wen u are meant 2 b readin u will b on linda's blog

Somehow you wanna feel sorry for the man who was rushing home after a long day at work to eat his rice, poor in a country of excess. But when you remember that the victim of that crime is a sick 7 year old, all pity goes outta the window! God help us.

Ehen u are still a kid.....just imagine wen i was a kid!!! U no get sense @all

U are curses 2 mumu @ anony 10:31

I meant u are d cursed 1 ...mumu @ anony 10 : 31.....

Ehen u are still a kid.....just imagine wen i was a kid!!! U no get sense @all

Heya, I thank God for Both of you. Very emotional story.

Sorry bruh.

The Perfect Bitch said...

Just d headline made me scream!!a plate of rice?over ur own flesh and blood?this is inhumanity to mankind!!

God help us and most fathers women can't do such a thing. Men carry baby Ƒσя belle No their dnt no any thing about pains IN̶̲̅» the labour ##### HAPPINESS ######### NAME

DeltaDiva said...

This is a very sad story. These poor children. What happened to this family?! Saddest thing is that it's going on right now to some other pikin.

Adebisi Oluwakamisi Adebola said...

I know that onyx or whatsoever will be abused by his dad. Why should my first comment on Linda's blog be this?

Eyaa anony your story is so touching ......tnk God 4 u buh u have to get close to dem ok? De r ur parents. Onynx I undastand u buh ur still a kid...u wud hav said when u were little cus as far as LIBERS are concern na u be d last born for here.

An hungry? Ok!

@ Anonymous (Madam London), Pls biko, it will be good if you reconcile with your parents. Nobody wey nor get tough love from their parents. Infact, most African parents are used to showing tough love to their kids. One question I would like you to ask yourself is if your parents had, would they have treated you like that? Imagine if your kids grow up tomorrow and distance themselves from you because they believe you treated then badly, how would you feel? Moreover, doing runs was your choice and don't blame it on your parents or poverty. No hard feelings here, i am just saying sha. As for the man wey kill him pikin, Na only God go judge am.

Eyaa anony your story is so touching ......tnk God 4 u buh u have to get close to dem ok? De r ur parents. Onynx I undastand u buh ur still a kid...u wud hav said when u were little cus as far as LIBERS are concern na u be d last born for here.

Stella Adedotun said...

AN HUNGRY MAN IS INDEED AN ANGRY MAN!....MAY GOD HAVE MERCY ON HIS SOUL AND MAY THE SOUL OF THE YOUNG DEPARTED FIND PEACE

Useless mother who left her 3 kids and ran away. Why not take ur kids when you know the man is a beast

So what was d gurl suppose to eat.. sheet? Stupid man... warning to all women,never abandon ur child for anythin or any one to look after since u are alive just take care of them at the end u will be happy

Oya now....make una call Jona again to call solve this matter...the people are as wicked as their leaders....are we the poorest pple in the world? Even in war zone where pple no dey see food chop..they dont kill their children...Nigerians repent from ur evil ways...am talking to YOU!!!..yes You!!

Godswill said...

Pathetic.

sha said...

I'm tried of writing ,as my comment cn nt be approve .

Godswill said...

Pathetic

His wat naa steve? E be like say u don high up as usual.

God help us

Did you say over a plate of rice???..hmm.

PD said...

Rice ke?

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

He'd have to live with the guilt and regret for the rest of his life. I don't think any punishment is worse than that.
How do you tell a person close to you that they smell bad? -Click my name to read more and share your thoughts

Poverty is a very big disease in human's life, lil gal may your soul rest in peace #Amen# your next world pray never to enter poor family again. I knew devil is still @work using father to kill his own daughter. May God save us from d hands of evil

~CYNTHIA~ commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

US warns Nigeria Against Possible Hotel Attack by Terrorists Group....(boko haram) SEE DETAILS @ www.fredfidelis.blogspot.com

We have what you need.

ZeeZee said...

May the good Lord save the rest of the lil ones

Such a dastardly act!poor child left to her own devices.

As much as i condemn this man's act,suffice it to say that in my opinion, so many people failed this precious little girl.From her family,(Mother,grandparents etc)the society and yes,the Nigerian government/system.

Why the Nigerian system?i am quite sure that if we had a system that works,a mother who is at wits end on what to do with her kids when she realizes she cannot take care of them herself, and also perceives that their lives might be endangered if she left them with their dad,would naturally go and seek help from the necessary authorities and if need be hand them over/up for proper and official adoption. But alas!that would be like asking for a camel to go through the eye of a needle in this wonderful country called Nigeria.

May her soul rest in peace and may justice be served.

What a pity so dumb at this very hour, so retards are here also daaamn

Eyyaaa the guy can lie I noticed about three lies in this story but truly poverty is not a a good thing

The man must be mad....cus of plate of rice,wicked father go nd face d music.......Some woman are so senseless...y on earth would u leave ur 3 children!!! foolish woman.....I tot we woman shld be der for our children no matter wat.wen u knw u can't endure wat hpn n ur husband house....den y do u open ur legs!!!!!! Tnk God for d kind of mum have. May d soul of d little girl rest in peace.

Jesus, have mercy! If he could not afford to feed so many children, then why bother having them in the first place? Abi children na by force? Hasn't he ever heard of contraception? What about the girl's mother???

RIP to English lang.madam ur lines are killing! U no need gun o

The rice was likely the only thing available to eat in that place, so the poor child being hungry ate it.

Her soul is definitely at peace and out of this wretched world. I hope the children left behind will be cared for in a loving home.

Animals int he wild joyfully hunt and provide for their young, yet humans can't even do that. #sadworldforchildren

Hmmmmmn father against daughter end time tinz

iamjavademon said...

Please where are all those tribalistic bastards that are always quick to jump at yoruba criminals, this one is a Yoruba man too abi? Big fools. All tribes have bad people, period!!! This foolish man should have just donated his daugther to boko-haram, bastard man.

He was wrong in some of his actions preceeding and after the poor girl's death. From the story, he returned from work , meaning he had some money on him. If the food was eaten by his daughter, what he would have done was to send her to buy him food than beating her the way he did.
Me think that it might not be his absolute intention to kill her but his actions after her death criminalized him.
Even if he got the services of the best lawyer to set him free, his conscience and inward sense of guilt will kill him installmentally.
So sad.

@iamjavademon,u just come here come dey curse people. Why u dey show us yourself ni. Now, people go come know the kind of house wey u grow up say na so so fight fight house. Abeg try hide your character at times Mr. Demon.

Well, Little girl, Forgive your hungry dad, If he hate you, He wouldn't have gone for work, Who knows what happen to him while he was out for work, I know the condition of police in River State, They cheat the bos drivers so much, Who knows if the tax force in Rivers State held him while he was out for work, But please every one should stop beating their lovely kid's no matter what, Maybe the little girl was sick cause no one takes care of her while this man is out for work and now he beat her again with anger, And the little and lovely child passed away, May your peaceful and lovely soul rest in peace...
Touch the heart of the Court to forgive your Dada cause no one will take care of your younger once, Even me cant do that..
God save Nigerians from the hand of poverty,

That country is full of trouble

Wonders wil neva cease to happen

Bbg Eze said...

Omg! He's insane cos no sane man wud act like ds. Poor girl. Must hv died in pain. Smh.