Waje, Seun Kuti take #BringBackOurGirls campaign to the streets | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 1 May 2014

Waje, Seun Kuti take #BringBackOurGirls campaign to the streets

Waje and Seun Kuti have taken their #BringBackOurGirls campaign from the streets of Twitter to the streets of Lagos. The stars both took placards in hand to go against the kidnap of 234 young Nigerian girls two weeks ago. Earlier the group were reportedly tear-gassed by the police, they continue to March though.

Other celebs noted in the march include Kathleen Ndongmo, Cameronian activist, Debola Williams of The Future Project & designer Ugonna Omeruo amongst others. See more pics after the cut

81 comments:

Pls let them bring the girls back #bright bravo#

Please FGN, do all you can to #BringBackOurGirls

CoolDiva speaks!

#bringbackourgirls #bringbackourdaugthers

Now that's what am talking about.More celebs lending their voices to this kidnapping ish.Me luv that....
Me too dey do my own 4 LIB lol

Nice job Waje n co....#BringOurGirlsBack

They should come down to borno and lets do it wella.... I dont like this type abeg...
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

It's clear dat oga Jonah no sabi wetin he dey do. Mk he kukuma comot 4 there. A whole commander in chief no get clue? He knows jare but lacks d liver to act decisively. And dat Ruben Abati go come yarn nonsense. I just wonder wetin he 4 don write 4 Guardian b4 mama peace gv am breast to drink milk. Ewu

I just hope some negative activities will not be going on as this protest is happening, so i suggest that securities should be dispatched in all areas of protest....
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

#Bringbackourgirls.. wat re the state government doing? Is it only FG that will bring back the girls?? Where is the Governor? Pls Nigerians let's ask the right questions! Where are the pictures of the missing students we are trying to bring back? Can u identify them?? #letsasktherightquestions!! Our Soldiers too need our support!! Pray 4 them and encourage them.. if u think it's easy to be a soldier, go join d armed forces.. Nigerians we need to wake up and fight this ruthless people called Boko haram.. enough is enough pack ur bags and leave or face Death.. its not a fight for the Govt alone but a fight for every citizen of this country..we all must play our part to ensure there is security, d work of security is a responsibility for everyone starting from your house to your neighbours Dear Nigerians, pls let's all ask ourselves wat are we doing to ensure there is security in this country? Do we help the armed forces to expose that neighbour of ours or we conceal such and wait for Govt? U and I are the Govt and this fight is a fight 4 our Nation!! Remember Govt is but a body we are the govt...

Good!!I wish I can join,infact let me shout my own here"BRING BACK OUR GIRLS OOOOOOOOOOOOOO"

Yesterday in the heavy rain I thought of my soaked shoe and new lumia phone,looking beside me I saw Oby Ezekwesili marching barefooted.
OH! to hell with my shoe and phone,I said.
We need to speak out,since boko haram is a mere distraction to our govt

#Bringbackourgirls.. wat re the state government doing? Is it only FG that will bring back the girls?? Where is the Governor? Pls Nigerians let's ask the right questions! Where are the pictures of the missing students we are trying to bring back? Can u identify them?? #letsasktherightquestions!! Our Soldiers too need our support!! Pray 4 them and encourage them.. if u think it's easy to be a soldier, go join d armed forces.. Nigerians we need to wake up and fight this ruthless people called Boko haram.. enough is enough pack ur bags and leave or face Death.. its not a fight for the Govt alone but a fight for every citizen of this country..we all must play our part to ensure there is security, d work of security is a responsibility for everyone starting from your house to your neighbours Dear Nigerians, pls let's all ask ourselves wat are we doing to ensure there is security in this country? Do we help the armed forces to expose that neighbour of ours or we conceal such and wait for Govt? U and I are the Govt and this fight is a fight 4 our Nation!! Remember Govt is but a body we are the govt...

Looks like a fashion parade to me, occupy this occupy that by d end of d day there's no real occupant...

This comment reflect and represent the view of Linda Ikeji

tomisyn said...

Awww how nice of them...its a good way to start..hope the government gives them the support dey need

Atleas de shud have written somtin dat might touch dere heart or make dem have human sympathy and nt "I am chibok" I give a damn! Mtchew! Gudluck oh

DOBY DOBY said...

Dis boko haram sponsors pls nah. . Im sure they wuld b happy cos they finally succeeded in making d govt ungovernable. . God pls help dis nation. .

i can't help imagine wat dos girls ar sufferin from rit nw,d pain,d fear,d anxiety n d abuse.jonathan is a president dat is nt worth re-electin.

Wat are d "main Nigerian celebs" doing.. Are dey scared dat ghana mustgo bags wunt reach dem aagain? Are dey scared dey will b on our President's nd political leaders bad side? I'm jst hoping dose girls haven't been abused sexualy ...

May God help us. Amen!

LAM said...

Nyc work. May God hear our prayers;nigeria the wailing child. Btw,three pple to one placard?

Αℓℓ we are saying, #BringBackOurGirls# that's αℓℓ.

Why is the Nigerian police so quick to open fire or tear gas on peaceful demonstrators.
They should use their firearms on the terrorists.
Nigerian police men should not be carrying guns.
Most of them are insane.
There was serious riots here in London a few years ago. No one opened fire or tear gased anyone.

#bringbackourgirls

#speakoutforNigeria

Thanks 4 waking up

bella j said...

all other celebs please come out, all Nigerians please come out

Welldone for playing your part but the fact is Nigerian government is more thick skinned than we imagine.People carrying placards is nothing to them because they know thats all we can do and it ends there. we need to do something more draaastic like, praying thunder to come down on them or better still, shoot them down outrightly. Take a cue from JJ of Ghana, thats the only way.

Lindaikeji's bestfrend. said...

Is dat dude dere suppose to be smiling on such a seriouz mission???

Don't these missings girls have names and pictures? Atleast when they killed some students in one of the schools in d north the school listed their names on d media. Buh in this case even the principal of d skul doesn't knw the actual number os students missing, we have so many conflicting numbers of students, why is it so? There shud be pictures to help I dentify these girls, so parents of these girls shud come out with pix of these girls to make ir SURE REAL!

Alll of them should just go and die,what do they know about #bringbackthegirls#.as if waje won't go to aso rock if they call her to come and sing for them now despite whatever rally.they are crazy.mscheew,was she dead before she didn't hear about it since,abeg jona just bring back awon omolomo,all these artist are just hyprocrites,abi banky w didn't go to dubai to enjoy befor he remember#bringbackthegirls#.all of them,no exclusion are pathetic bastards

Honsylglobal.com UK Global Financial Advisers said...

My dear, somebody contested for the position of President. Let him do his job by leading and not by draining the nation's resources.Let him do a job before seeking for 2015.

My very personal opinion, BH is made up of few muslim fanatics and the muslims in the army. Reason: why is it only christians that are affected? the BH gan are they spirits? they are in some stupid forest that no one can enter? lets stop fooling ourselves, biko. the government knows exactly whats up but they also know we can do nothing if they do the things they are doing. It is so bad, there is no single truth anywhere. The law that is even supposed to protect us is indeed an ass, otherwise, how can a police man employed by the NIGERIAN government become a supplier of human parts to political ritualists????? killing the children in his compound and area? please ensure you know your neighbour, some of these crimes happen right under our noses. All these killings boils down to 2015 election. there is no single politician that his hands are clean from this otherwise let them prove. Anyway, the only explanation to this is the world has come to the end oo. If anyone believes in heaven we all want to go to, begin to amend your ways. don't be carried away by anything. how do you know you are kingdom ready? ask yourself,if God come today, will i make heaven? once you can answer with confidence and sincerely and of course you are born again, by his grace you may be saved. Linda if you like turn this comment to workers day chicken o, na you sabi.

1000 likes

faxyman said...

Respect yourselves and bring back the girls and i give you 48 hours to do that or.............. Don't let God hit you below the belt so respect yourselves and bring back our Queens and bring back peace, joy and rest to families involved and to Nigerians and Africa too.

This 1 na protest ni abi fashion parade...

U see why Nigeria cnt get better? Cos of people like u...why did u not go? Just shut d hell up...scumbag

BUT YOU ARE IN JUPITER...

Well spoken

Bbg Eze said...

Very nice of dem. Lord crown all their efforts wt glory

Miss B said...

So true

Miss B said...

So true

I hope they all will stop performing for the FG to stand up against the injustices of this country...im talking abt the musicians like waje and co..some money r meant to be rejected especially blood money

Plz tell them dey should brng back our Gals

Linda come to think of this am not ruling out the fact that these girls might actually have been kidnapped but wait hold up! Why hasn't the principal of the school released the names of this girls? And also their pictures? The women that protested yesterday not a single one was carrying the photograph of any of the missing girls,as parents have they gone to a national daily for an interview? And to plead with the government? How come the girl that we heard escaped from the evil men haven't been interviewd and asked how their ordeal was? And how they managed to escape?hmmmmm with the way things are in nigeria anything is possible o,am not ruling out the fact that there wasn't any form of kidnapping but please fellow Nigerians let reason about this...and before Libers starts hauling curses and abuses at me I have joined in this protest too via social media and otherwise!Please we need answers from our government and we need it fast!

This thing is no longa funy. D govt. Shuld pls try its best to get dis girls back to thr parents' arms. I mean, those poor parents wuld av gone thru hell imagining wat those brutal killers wud b doin to thr daughters at dat moment. They'd b forced to do crazy things against thr will. Even alot of dem might av bin curupted to d extent dat dey might not b able to do some ideal things wen dey get back home. The longer they stay thr, the more they flow wit d tides of dis beasts. Govt na so so beg we dey beg o

Still waiting for Linda's voice in this #bringbackourgirls. I have been reading every update on this blog and non has shown a personal thought from this blog...well!!!..afta all BH is not in lagos (yet?)..and some of us have neva had any direct impact or lost a loved one to dis madness in our country...

"Atleas" you should have at least gone to school before deciding to try to critique someone's placard

Nigerian celebs and their craze for vain things.... Imagine one going as far as taking photo of food finished eating. Makes you wonder if they well at all. God bless Waje, Seun, Ali BaBa, Eldee d don for giving their voice and energy to the cause. The rest I guess are hopelessly waiting for campaign money against 2015. God bless Nigeria

Wait Kathleen Ndongmo is a celeb now ? I really need to become active on Twitter

If you have been keenly following Nigeria's political developments, you would easily understand that this entire movie we are watching now is a political-game-plan-gone-bad by the North. Recall that a northerner once said that they would make the country ''ungovernable'' for GEJ. Smart Nigerians are putting the pieces together to see the bigger picture.

Can't you just shut up!!! Geez

Linda why do you approve his comments?? Like seriously this has some mental issues

#Bringbackourdaughters#pls pls pls.

United we stand...they must bring our girls back or else!!!!!!

Oh Lord.... Dys girls are in Your hands... Plz help dem.

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

Nice one! Bring our girls back o!!!!
What Is Your Relationship/Marriage Deal Breaker? click my name to share your thoughts

the governor govt was able to establish civilian jtf and convience his ppl to be cooperative with the security forces which at a point reduce the effect of bh guys in borno even more than the military alone can do. Also the governor agreed to give the row call of the names and info of the girls bt needs approval from dhq. Look for years naw security got more votes than any tin in our budget. Yet we never see the difference. Imagine soldiers using their eye to scan for bombs, our soldier collect money from truck owners to avoid being searched and our boarder are porous than a fishing net. So wat r we saying... This are all duty of fg nt state government

God shuld help each one of us, dz battle is bigger dan us oh! Buh God only can see us true. Nice job my celebs

~CYNTHIA~ commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

Mz Mimi Lee @DAVIDO my Concern!! said...

Yes! We want our gals back!! @Waje Ugly pretty Lady!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Uwa ekwe mmeta, they have tried to speak out and now you complain, if they did not u will still talk. Now tell me which is better? Them keeping silent or writing those in the placard?

@EneXoxo said...

Things will surely get better. Soon

julz said...

#BringBackOurGirls

I hope all these leads to the safe recovery of the girls

Opposition Party is behind all these just to distract GEJ. Soon they will be exposed. They know where the girls are.

edee said...

I agree

Waje is my favorite Nigerian singer. I love her. Not like Tiwa who is just a show off, Waje is a woman of substance.

Tot I was the only one thinking same way! Finally another Nigerian that's not gullible! Anor 12:09 my tot exactly!

LET THE PROTEST CONTINUE!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS WICKEDNESS!!!!!!!!!

Hmmmmnnn... What a good move! BH are so heartless! Jeezzz I'm feeling the girls mothers pain! #bringbackourgirls.

God take control.

That's what it ought to be. Good.

Thank you, you are the only sane commenter, the rest of them de think like RAM

hmmm, i hope these girls are found safe and sound, they must not finger them oh,Awon oloriburuku, like do they even have pussy sef

ELLA said...

All of u asking for pictures and names amuse me,soon youll get pictures and names and am sure you'll match to sambisa with their ID cards and just collext them.In a place that has been ravaged with bombs daily,you expect protocol.may God not let such evil befall even your enemy before you know how it feels.And for all who say do not blame the govt,same govt that says boko haram exist in its cabinet yet does nothing about it.Blame yourselves then,for being blinded witg sentiments.#bringbackourgirls#justicefornisvictims#providesecurityforthecommonman#bethecommanderinchief#

#bringbackourgirs#

Our voices mke b heard #bringbackourgirls.....

Our voices nd cries mst b heard #bringbackourgirls

And why do I feel this chibok thing is political? 200girls? Who saw it happen? Wher r d parents of dese girls? Wher r d girls tht escaped? Wher r d pics of d kidnapped girls? Well maay God help dis country. This whole chibok thing might be a huge set up! I never believed it happened right frm day one!!!!

D Major problem with ds country is lack of knowledge.d politicians are so dull. D people like to say rubbish to some serious issue like ds 1.its not something to play about.ds re innocent children.4 dose dat commnting nonsence,it cld have been ur sister,cousin,daughter,niece wateva.N am sure u won't be coming to LIB to joke abrt such tinx.I believe senatoor Yerima shld know one or two tinx abrt ds.they shld ask him .N Jonathan,what a weak president we have.#bring back our girls#God pls hlp our country

God bless all those speakin up, I pray God touches d hrts of those in power, may dia hrts nt be hardened like Pharohs

Others r dia showing nude pix n Dubai vacaation pix, bikini pix n stuid birthday gigs instead of lending dia voices to a just course nonsense

God bless all those speakin up, I pray God touches d hrts of those in power, may dia hrts nt be hardened like Pharohs

Adebola mi i see you