'Kill public officials who steal above N1million' – TUC president | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 April 2014

'Kill public officials who steal above N1million' – TUC president

President of the TUC, Bobboi Kaigama during a lecture at the Faculty of Environmental Design and Management, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife yesterday, recommended the death penalty for any public official who is indicted in any financial crime above N1million.
During his lecture which was titled "‘Corruption and challenges in nation-building’, Kaigama said tougher sanctions such as his suggestion would make the government's crusade against corruption more sincere
"If the governments and legislators are truly sincere about the fight against corruption in the country, they must go tougher. Any public official, whether at the state or federal level, should be executed. Killing them after confirmation of any embezzlement allegation of more than N1m will lead us to the right path.
“I sincerely recommend an active process of legislation that would support that. It would also serve the nation well to have a law which not only provides for every public office holder to declare his assets on assuming office, but also stipulate that he must repeat the exercise each subsequent year that he is in office and not later than one month after vacating the office. Such declaration should be in at least three newspapers and not just to the Code of Conduct Bureau.” he said
He advocated for public officer's to be compelled to declare their assets when they assume office as well as get banned from occupying any political office if found guilty of any corruptible act. Who agrees with him?

75 comments:

to have made such i statement i wonder if you are civilized and educated ,killing in people in this 21st century for stealing there are better sanctions that can be taken to curb the situation,if we start killing every corrupt leader that have ever stolen in office i am sure you would be dead by now

toluwalope said...

It's not a good idea in a perverted judiciary system like Naija's own.....

Killing them after they have been found guilty of embezzlement is an "No" for me, but declaration of assets by public office holder is a "Yes" for me

Killing them after they have been found guilty of embezzlement is a "No" for me, but declaration of assets by public office holder is a "Yes" for me

Even if na 1 kobo kill them!

Linda plz correct..Who "Steal"..Thanks...

Oga shut up..u all are the same..make I hear word..No saint in nigeria..Na today!!!

Princess said...

Supported to a T. Read my mind

dat isto say almost all public office holder will be guilty as charged

I support...

CoolDiva speaks!

I support

I second!!!

Kimoralala1 said...

Yes, I agree.

I support.

CoolDiva speaks!

Caira said...

Anyone who need my nude picture hit mai name

I do agree with him,if he himself can be that loyal as such.

Taiwo said...

Gbam ....thatz all !!!!

LOBATAN!!! KILL DEM ALL

Who is this please? ..He should come outrightly and proclaim his interest in politics..

*My R1.50c comment *

Who is this please? ..He should come outrightly and declare his interest in politics..

*My R1.50c comment *

Moron! So what are the courts for? Anyone who steals a kobo should face judicial justice not jungle justice. Animal!

I agree with you Mr. Kaigama, but we know that its not going to happen in this country.

I AGREE.

Bomboi I agree with you jare. But make sure your closet is clean though...

That bomgirl.

Agree with him or not, he is just talking bcos none of what he said will be implemented..... Niceone though but stop disturbing us abeg....

Alozie Paschal Okwara said...

Maybe not kill them but stiff prison term will be fine.

that beautiful girl xx said...

Hausa people and kill kill kill..tifuakwa!!! Wot happens to 14 years imprisonment eh

True talk boss...rit step beginin wif d TUC

Better but naija will not implement it
~Onahboy

YES! that is the only solution that can eliminate corruption in Nigeria, any other solution is a child's play, we all know that, but to implement such in this country is the challenge, "na we we , carry ca chop government" paddy to paddy sharing of our endowment and fortunes, may God deliver us soonest

Im not in support of killing, banning them? Oh yes, and even trial and sentence by law court will definitely be fair. Also, no public office. That is how advanced countries got to where they are.

'Kill public officials who steals above N1million' the headline though....

Ok #bright bravo#

See his shapeless mouth,why must they steal public funds at the first place.So because u steal below 1m anytime u want to steal doesn't make u holy.All of you are theives and God will deal with u all just as he did to abacha.

FunmiD said...

I agree with him totally but we all know that all the law makers are culpable so they will never enact such a law.
They only make laws to protect themselves and their cronies from prosecution.

Should they even steal at all?

Lwkmd Ooº°˚ ˚°ºooO .... All these people sef! Be fooling themselves!!!!! If u implement this kinda law,who will remain???

it is well!

So it's ok to steal below one million, ok na let the looting begin. Luciano

i totally agree with him. Nigeria needs a revolution.All past and present leaders who have stolen from the government should be killed and the money stolen should be used for development. Its a pity corruption as been accepted as part of our culture.The system needs an overhaul cleaning and the only way forward is to kill all our corrupt leaders,past and present. chikena!

My dear Linda, this man is firm and brutal. I do not agree with killing the thieves, but I agree with severe punishment. I will suggest that the legal system should first and foremost be overhauled so that judgement is fair and no one is above the law. Whoever is found guilty should serve jail terms with "community hard labour". There should be no preferential treatment in jail. When the person is sick, doctors should go and treat them in jail, where they are meant to be. No food from outside, they should eat whatever is served in jail. I agree with the declaration of assets at the beginning and at the end of the tenure. The problem with this is that they will design another way of stealing and opening accounts in friends and relatives names. How I wish these thieves know that when they die, they will take nothing with them, but their birthday suits. If they buy 10 cars, they can only sit on one seat in one car. If they build 20 bedroom house, they can only sleep on one small part of the bed in one room. If they try to sleep in more than one room or drive two cars at the same time, I dare them because the person don "kolo" be that. So why all these stealing?

EASIER SAID THAN DONE, DONT BE SURPRISE IF HE GETS THERE, HE WILL BE WORST THAN WHAT WE ARE EXPERIENCING NOW,, I AM NOT JUDGING HIM THOUGH, HE IS ENTITLED TO HIS OWN OPINION.
WE ALL HAVE OUR DIFFERENT OPINIONS.
AS FOR ME I SUPPORT ZERO TOLERANCE TO CORRUPTION. ANY PERSON FOUND GUILTY SHOULD FACE A LEGAL PENALTY, IF DEATH SENTENCE IS THE LEGAL PENALTY THEN SO BE IT...
REMEMBER MOTHER FUCKERS NEVER LOVED US!!!!

Gbam kudos to u bros. Didnt one governor from the east said that they steal money because we dont kill them for it? Maybe if this is allowed, then all our politicians will have a second thought

My dear Linda, why did this man say 1million? Is 999,999.99 their money? Public officials/politicians should not steal a dime. They are paid salaries for the job they do just like any other employee. I do not support killing people but I support severe punishment/long jail terms with hard labour for pen robbers.

Sharrap there Buffon, you did not see the words indicted & confirmed.

Honsylglobal.com UK Global Financial Advisers said...

The term "Stealing" will need to be properly defined. Is 10-50% of Contract sum, stealing?

Head said...

I totally and absolutely agreed with him, it I̶̲̥̅̊ℓℓ definitely control our leaders on how 2 managed our resources

He must be a muslim naaa,all they know is to kill.....wicked souls...

Aymii said...

Hehehehe....Na today???..This dude is a learner! ...even if they enact that kinda law..........Person like Allison Dieziani will sharply collect a court injunction barring her from being killed!

ON 2 The Next!

In my opinion based on the fact that Nigeria is already corrupt and there is no visible drive at reorienting Nigerians this will drive corruption even deeper. Anyone that steals 1m will be willing to give up to 800k to spare their lives

This is a critical decision that Nigeria has to make now to cleanse the system.firstly, if this had been the situation there wouldn't have been corruption in the corruption or wouldn't be of this magnitude and not that 99% of Nigerians will have dead.Secondly, punishment is meant to deter people from wrong doings and not otherwise so as to have a sane environment.Thirdly, to restore the lost respect and confidence we have in our judiciary and law enforcement agencies most especially.some countries of the world have implemented this and it is working for them, our case can not be an exception. IMPUNITY encourages corruption and maladministration.

To kill is not civilized here, but to be prosecuted. Come to even think of dat in this country a mere frustated citizen dat steals 100k sars dey kill them

Swagg isimemen said...

Yes I gree with him

Swagg isimemen said...

Yes I gree with hm, they should nt even steal @ all

Kind of buy your idea sir. But death harsh sha.

Dee Brown said...

bring dem out let's stone dem. lol

And u tink dats d best option Mr TUC president? I think u nid a re-think sir

David (dave_gino) said...

I just dey laugh *In OBJ's voice*

It has my full support!

Exactly..we should kill everyone

Let he who is without sin cast d first stone...

This comment reflect and represent d view of Linda Ikeji

Mumu oshi, I'm sure he said so cos he hasn't been able to steal above a million!

yes yes yes yes yes yes finally someone is making a step to change nigeria yes yes yes

Shut up man! U want to turn nigeria to a sharia state. U 4got that d biggest thieves are u hausas, u can keep killing and carrying out amputation on ur people only, we don't want nigeria to become as handicapped as the north and northerners

DOBY DOBY said...

Na so nah. . Who go remain for our country. .

you must be really stupid for that comment...so because all those Boko Haram beasts are disgracing themselves now, it means all muslims are killers? Don't start another war that you can save yourself from, ok? Dumb ass.

The only way for this country to work is to pass a law that if you are to take political office, your family members must SCHOOL in Nigeria, Get MEDICAL attention in Nigeria and all LIVE in Nigeria. By the time their children sit at home from strike or die in the hospital, something would be done. But you and I know that would never happen. Because you will see people denying their family members

I personally agree with him , if robbers get the death penalty why can't these idiots get the same . That's when they know we mean business , all of those idiots that are stealing that are walking around freely should be dead . Especially the presidents , governors and local government chairmen should get the worst death possible and all of those bank executives . The first one that should be killed is the minister for oil and gas , useless woman . Every ministry she has headed has always had corruption issues and somehow thus witch gets away with it every time .

Yes I support, , corruption is too much in the country

I'm with the Marines. If this is for real, I got my boys(Nigerian Americans too) ready to move down and help with the clearing. I've been waiting for someone like this. I'll happily use my skills for my fatherland. Over and out

what if they steal below 1m? whats the penalty, abegi.

Can not be enforced fairly in a jungle nation. Will be used for victimisation. Lets reform the judiciary first and start with 25 years for such offences and then see how it goes. 25 to 50 years imprisonment upwards is enough deterrent if applied fairly

tramadol online order tramadol cod nc - tramadol addiction 2010

buy tramadol online where to buy tramadol in usa - tramadol high triglycerides