Chaos in Ogun as mob sets three kidnappers ablaze | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 1 May 2014

Chaos in Ogun as mob sets three kidnappers ablaze

Pandemonium broke out yesterday April 30th in Ijoko Ota in Ado-Odo-Ota LGA of Ogun State around 9am when a mob set 3 suspected kidnappers ablaze after their victim, one Elizerbeth Oduwole screamed for help.

Reports say the lady's scream attracted passersby who got hold of the kidnappers, beat them to a pulp before setting them ablaze. The vehicle they rode in was also set ablaze by the angry mob.

Confirming the incident, the Police PRO in the state, Muyiwa Adejobi said the victim, 26year old Elizabeth who resides in Atan-Ota had boarded a vehicle to Ewekoro but found herself in Gas Line in Ijoko were she immediately screamed for help. Continue...

“She screamed from the vehicle in which she was being taken to their den when she observed that she was in another place and the people in the area blocked the vehicle, beat the occupants, killed them and burnt them to ashes. The victim is being interrogated; the suspects were burnt to ashes. We are going to use multifaceted approach; we want to know if there had been an interaction between the suspects and the victim. The jungle justice affected our case. The people alerted us at the Headquarters instead of calling the DPO in Ota, and immediately we asked the DPO to move to the scene, but, before they got there, the suspects had been killed and burnt to ashes. It was a heavy inferno; they put tyres on the suspects and set them ablaze. We have evacuated their ashes. We have taken over the matter; we are still investigating the matter.  We condemn jungle justice, people should desist from this act”, the PPRO, said.

Meanwhile  on Tuesday April 29th in Abeokuta, men of the state's Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps rescued a middle aged woman named Favor Okoye from being lynched by an angry mob for allegedly kidnapping a baby at about 2.55pm along Toroto street  in Abeokuta.

In a statement released by the Public Relations Officer of the NSCDC in the state, Olanrewaju Kareem, they were able to rescue the woman after a taxi driver alerted his men of a woman who had been beaten to a pulp and was in the pool of her blood 

According to him, “a taxi driver alerted civil defence men keeping vigil on critical infrastructures around Akin-olugbade/Pepsi/Totoro areas that a woman has been attacked around Totoro and was about to be killed. The men quickly raced to the scene to rescue the woman but, all efforts and appeal by civil defence to allow the suspected kidnapper face the consequence through the legal process proved abortive as the mob insisted on killing the woman.
“Because of this development, the civil defence officer called office for reinforcement as a result of which armed men were deployed to the scene.

“In spite of the fact that those civil defence men on ground were able to take possession of the suspect and took her towards Akin-olugbade area in order to get a vehicle to convey her to a safe place, they were still followed and were all along resisting that the woman should not be taken away.
“The situation became more violent when the armed men of civil defence arrived. They threw available objects including bottles, planks, stones among others, the mob though succeeded in breaking the windscreen of civil defence vehicle but they were able to rescue the woman from being killed.

“The woman who was in a state of coma as she could not talk was immediately rushed to the Federal Medical Centre where she is receiving treatment. She gained consciousness after one hour after the first set of treatment had been administered on her.

“We therefore appeal to members of the public to always ensure justice through legal means as jungle justice will make innocent people to suffer”, he said.

92 comments:

Why should they set them ablaze your not suppose to take justice into your hands this is bad #bright bravo#

Ogun state de hot this 2014 o.... Angela okorie, pls just relocate to iraq till ppl forget wat u did, they'd tell ur son, see pile of shame

josykay said...

This is serious..naija I hail o

Jungle justice! Mhen Nigerians as are angry, with d situation of dis country, we still find ppl kidnapping our fellow brothers and sisters bcos of political ambition and money ritual!

purity said...

SEE The Troubles This Nudé Photo Is Causing Actress Biola Ige.....just hit my name to see

OMG! Two wrongs can ever make a right.
This same act that led to the death of those boys at ALUU community. Wonder how the sanctity of human life went this low in our country.people are no longer scared to take the life of another. Its quite unfortunate.

Jesus! What is this world turning into!

What a barbaric nation full of monkeys.

How i wish dey will behave dis way towards Bokoharam members

All you goats that where crying during the ALUU 4 killing are the same people that are capable and willing to set someone ablaze. Country full of dunces and animals.

Nigerians never learnt.

Why wont they arrest those involved in the jungle justice rather than just telling them to desist...actions speak louder than words

Why wont they just provide employment/education so fewer people will be involve in jungle justice.

what is the difference between jungle justice and the inhumane treatments prisoners in Nigeria are subjected to.

Too many unanswered questions...the government has soo much to do...but also we as citizens have to take steps to make sure our country grows past this. it starts from you and I.

Seriously this jungle justice of a thing is just rubbish and why is that the people that did the jungle rubbish are not been arrested.... I believe if they start up some arrest the whole jungle rubbish will definately seize no doubt....
>>>bringbackourgirls<<<

This is what nigerians love. And on sunday you people wear ur dress and go to church or mosque and in ur minds,u feel okay that u set someone on fire some days ago.

I just imagine say na the boko haram oga dey consume their i swear.....
>>>bringbackourgirls<<<

This is nigerian's trademark. Other countries are known for athletic, good healthcare, entertainment,etc. us we are known for setting humans on fire as a form of punishment.

DOBY DOBY said...

Seriously pple shld nt take laws into deir hands...

na wa oh! crime everywhere, God save us.

via official intercom

DOBY DOBY said...

Seriously pple shld nt take laws into deir hands...

Dave (dave_gino) said...

At first, it was Osun, Now Ogun. What do we call this. Wrong step in wrong direction? Wrong step in right direction? Right step in right direction? Or right step in wrong direction?

Which legal means? Rost them jare...their own don too much.I wish Boko harams can be rosted too.Rubbish.

Lindaikeji's bestfrend said...

Jungle justice as one of Jeremy Bentham's political philosophy, is highly recommendable in ds our country, since FG r slow to national security.

Well said. Hope they were truly guilty of the crime.

ManMark said...

They didn't even find out full details before burning them....people can be stupid shaa...that's why they say a mob is a group of people that consciously bereave themselves of common sense....And it seems Nigerians are good at it.....Every single time, mob this, mob that...they should be jailed.!

Jungle justice is NOT and will NEVER be the way forward.

CoolDiva speaks!

Mad peeps all around. Member of her group sef fit dey among dem so as to make sure the woman doesn't confess.

Jungle Justice... It'll take years b4 dis mentality chases...

Austin said...

I was just 12 when i witnessed my 1st jungle-justice scene in benin..it was a real horrible site..heard d old woman was suspected to be a witch...no matter wot offence the accused comitted,those involed in jungle justice act have lost every pint of humanity in them...

Austin said...

I was just 12 when i witnessed my 1st jungle-justice scene in benin..it was a real horrible site..heard d old woman was suspected to be a witch...no matter wot offence the accused comitted,those involed in jungle justice act have lost every pint of humanity in them...

This is so barbaric. The kidnappers needed to be punished but not like this. Nobody deserve to die like this. Only in nigeria shit like this happen. Fucking annoying country

2014 in Nigeria. Smh

Kai na waoh its so sad how timid and backward nigerians act all de time.dis ruthless people. Wat is their difference with de boko haram dat dey keep cursing everyday.some pple just need weapons and funding and they're be worse dan de bokoharam.RIP to de dead.

Nawaa 4 waec! Kidnappers! Dnt evn know wat to say! Weda its good de burnt dem or its bad. I hate stories like dis!

Ladies, Can You Believe What This Babe Took To Church? said...

This year is their year

Preety said...

Serves dem right

I hope they have. Not murdered innocent people.

Blood of God. After Aluu4 we wont learn? Wat kind of backward country? Sigh! Nigeria is my surname but am tired.

BONARIOS BABY said...

What is this stupid DPO saying,so when they come to your station and offer u money u'd sweep the case under the carpet,me am in full support of jungle justice o! No need to suffer a witch to live, Nigeria would hv been better if they practiced more of it,since our security officials are all corrupt.. Next time others will be careful..

Na wah o... We can say dey shudnt av taken laws into thr hands. But again how are dis ppl (kidnappers) goin to get d msg?

ManufemeEdwardmary said...

Lord have Mercy on them, may their souls R I P.

People who engage in Jungle justice should get the death penalty. Nigerian are so lawless. I wish they would do jungle justice on curroupt government officials.

Hmmmm, dis is criox, thank God d lady and d child were rescued. Jungle justice isn't right, so many innocent ppl av lost their lives as a result of this. Let d woman dat was caught face d law and must be punished accordingly......*ZINNY*:-*

Am shocked beyond words!

"Suspected Kidnappers"....keyword "suspected". Does anyone still think Clippers owner "sterling" was wrong not to want us baboons at his game? I think to call us animals would be highly insulting to the animals.

Hmmm..speechless..

BELINDA said...

Hmmm... lord, help this country! They cld have handed them over to d police instead of burning them naa! #BringBackOurGirls #BringBackOurGirls

Truetalk said...

I trust my people from this side of the country. No dulling. If such measure was done at this chibok case, I'm sure plenty kids would have been rescued. However I don't rly support jungle justice but on the other hand too, don't disagree with the treatment of the accused if they are guilty. See how these ones met their death just for a head. 2015 is around the corner, pls let everyone be careful how they move around.

What is naija turning into. I love the land so much but it is rather discouraging that we have become a nation of heartless, thieving, conniving, wicked, murdering, looting people. This is truly getting out of control

If indeed they are guilty of kidnapping, then they deserve what they got!! These people are merciless. They kidnap victims, murder them for rituals most times and they expect their own lives to be spared? In my opinion sef, if they are caught in the act... rapists and kidnappers deserve to be treated this way. It will surely reduce these annoying acts of crime. As long as they are guilty, I feel no remorse or pity for them!! Attack me if you like, but that's that. **Kween**

Hmmmm.....

9ja sef

Some times you don't blame their[mob] actions,cos when these people [kidnappers,armed robbersetc] are taking to the police,they always bribe their way out .....

I Love African Music said...

no matter what they did, people should not take laws into their hands.that is why we have the police.

Which justice shud d public obtain pls, d one d Daziani maduake jst bought with petroleum money, I support jungle justice if a suspect coffess to d crime on d spot and d victim is convinced beyond reasonable dought dat he or she was under an attack. D nigerian justice has failed...I witness sm police men overtake and blocked a moving camry 2.4 2day and a pistol was found in d hand of one of d occupant in d vehicle, and do u knw how dat case is gonna end? Down by d river side...

This comment reflect and represent the view of Linda Ikeji

mide said...

Very good. Na jungle justice be the way for This useless country wey we they.

mide said...

Very good. Na jungle justice be the way for This useless country wey we they.

In as much as I dnt support jungle justice too, buh if dey weren't killed dere, sm1 else wil also fall victim! Even dese evil doers do not desist frm doin evil too, nd who knows? It myt be me or u̶̲̥̅̊ next!

bbm pin 7439955a said...

Jungle justice...... Trust me no friend in the Yoruba jungle. This serves them right. Engr E.

Crime crime crime everywhere I tire for naija if there's crime in Advanced country like UK n USA why won't it be in Naija when majority of the youths are jobless, no infrastructure, no development, no electricity n finally no money to chop food, so what do u expect in an environment like dis, FG, state Govt n Local Govt are not working period

Let it be a lesson τ̅o others

Wahala everywhere in Naija. no fear of the govt again. Abeg Jona take money and leave this country for stringer men.

We never learn! No matter how guilty a person is they deserve a fair trial. Well all this is down to frustration.

Fool. What if they were innocent and the woman was just setting them up? U cannot buy life back. We cannot continue to behave like animals and say we are civilized. Can you imagine this happening in the US, Britain. France, china, even south Africa here? Please two wrongs don't make it right.

Look @ wat a gal like u is saying! Did u say practice more of jungle justice? Den maybe de'll accuse u wrongly one day and kill u right there and then. Nonsense talk frm bonario's efulefu nwa!

Bella j said...

Serves her right. .

Dude,you don't have to comment twice before u win 100k from Linda's Christmas bonanza. Take a clue from Bonario Nnags.#fakeniggasformingloyal.
Linda if you like,chop my comment.

Jungle justice

Idiot

Bella j said...

Serves them right I meant to say*

Brother Bona, I can see you have upgraded from Nokia 3310. Congrats! lol

I've been always been sceptical about these "alleged" broad daylight kidnappers.

So being of a different tribe is enough for bloodthirsty barbarians to brand you a kidnapper?

Nigerian madness is taking another dimension.

Why take laws into their hands

Nigerian said...

It is very sad to see human beings killing another human being.

It is even more sad that some people are comfortable standing by and watching.

I have witnessed a similar thing happen where a group of guys accused a woman of being a kidnapper and they organised the community to beat her up and kill her. Fortunately, she was a well dressed and some of the organised crowd members decided to call the police. It was later learnt that those guys work together in that area and the plan was to get money. The three guys had to be calling the elderly people in the community to beg so they do not get locked up.

If this is still happening 10 years later, I weep for Nigeria!

Who is to be blamed? The govt! The citizens of this nation have lost hope in justice. Among those ritual killers caught in the very act, what has happened to them? What has become of clifford orji and others? We hear stories from victims who were luky to escape ritual killers' death that influencial individuals are clients of these monsters. The register former police boss, balogun took away from okija, what happened to the people whose name are there? It is obvious that when ritual killers are arrestedwe just hear newsand it ends there. Thesame suspect is setfree and he or she change location. Govt should wake up to its responsibilities and carry out justice.I heard a news that people arrested for jungle justice were taking to court nad court ordered that they remain in prison, same shuld be done for ritual killers that were arrested.they shld face the wrath of the law.

I am so effing afraid of that country now! No helping anybody again before they misinterpret your good intentions and send you on a one way trip to go see St Michael.

God help us.

Ten commandment

All I know is that if it were true dt this people are kidnappers,then they deserve what they got.Course this Nigeria is really so corrupt that if they had taken them to the police station,their chairman that sent them to kidnapp wil just settle the D.P.O and the case will be over..Imagine the sokalist at ibadan if they shuld catch any of those ppl they deserve a slow and painful death.like cuttn their finger 1 each per day,nd removing their eyeZ frm their socket.You need to see d video of that soka,you'll be scared for Nigeria.Cos the rate at which people are looking for money is alarming..NB:Miss ikeji please post

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

Wow! Jungle justice at it's best.
11 Most Attractive Things Men Do Without Even Realizing.click my name to read more.

SEX AND INTIMACY said...

Supposing she had simply set them up nko?...that means innocent people don die be dat. Kai, make we no dey take law into our hands naa

How can 2 wrongs not make a right anymore? Were u not among those that hailed the gang rape of a suspect in prison?

They r nt Kidnappers, they r 419... Is a mistaken adentity. coz i kn those guys may there soul rest in peace.

They r innocent d woman was jst settin dem up.. They work in dat area.

They r innocent is a set up by dat woman.

Benjamin okon said...

2 babaric,,illitrate society.

Omotolani said...

I just wish military govt shud take over in ds country.#Omo T#

In Norway,a man just got up and shot over 70 people to death for no reason. He was not beaten up and burned to death for this,instead,he was tried in a court of law and sent to jail. In America,the only survivor 911 plotters was arrested and tried for killings of thousands of people. He was not beaten and burned to death. In a civilised country,the rule of law comes before anything. But in a barbaric society like Nigeria,people commit murder in the name of justice. Such a shame that in the 21st century,people still condone extrer-judicial murder. So all a person has to do in Nigeria these days is scream "I am being kidnapped!" and they will beat and burn someone to death like festive Goat? If people are willing to do this then what makes them better than the person they are killing? Shame on Nigeria!!!!!!!

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

Mz CIA said...

Y won't dey set dem ablaze? So dey should hand dem over to d police n later release dem? b4 dey wr set ablaze dey confess dat dey where 15 set wu went out to different areas aw at dem

call me kyke said...

Anon 12 .24 I luv u

Sirwels said...

Who eva did dis is same with boko haram!

It is Dieziani madueke n bro ur grammar sha e to bad

anonymous said...

Ode,that's y u find it hard to spell "roast"

Fool