Lagos State uses 40% of power generated nationally - VP Sambo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 May 2015

Lagos State uses 40% of power generated nationally - VP Sambo

Speaking during the unveiling of the Niger Delta Power Holding Company Limited Oke-Aro 330/132kV transmission substation in Lagos yesterday Friday May 15th, Vice President Namadi Sambo who was represented by the Minister of Power, Prof. Chinedu Nebo, said The Ikeja Electricity Distribution Company and Eko Electricity Distribution Company account for over 40% of power consumption in Nigeria.

He said this was understandable from the fact that Lagos, which used to be the country’s capital remained Nigeria’s commercial and industrial hub with a large concentration of industries in Lagos state and Ogun State. Oke-Aro is situated in a border line between Lagos and Ogun states.

“Prior to the advent of Oke-Aro substation, there were only three 330/132/33kV substations in Lagos. One of these three is Ikeja West 330/132/33kV substation which was the major marshalling point for all power plants that flow their generation into Lagos, and this development had thrown the state into a state of great congestion with limited space for safe expansion of capacity for increased flows into Lagos and environs.
“All the 330kV power lines from the Benin and Oshogbo 330kV hubs of the national grid, which were also serving as evacuation lines for NIPP new power plants at Omotosho as well as Olorunsogo, terminated there. Even 330kV evacuation lines for older major power plants such as Egbin in Lagos also terminated at Ikeja West.”
Punch

31 comments:

Will they give us light

Mmmmh. Dats d truth

Hmmmmm

I quite share his sentiment, Lagos is the commercial capital of Nigeria, no doubt it makes use of almost half of the power generated in the country.

Maybe it is about time some states start to generate their own electricity.

Wateverrr

In the past 4weeks.light hasnt been on for 3hrs without interruption

OK

Too good to b true, and dis 40per cent is frm it if not we wouldn't b experiencing all dis power. Failure every now, and then.

dacharles2 said...

Ikeja electricity Eko electricity things Naija will do... when are we going to forget about Power has one of the things done already.... Ghana now have interrupted power supply for crying out loud... gosh

Really font grab all the crap talk

Is he sure of that?
Because lagos is among the worst place that doesn't have electricity, at times some areas can go one week with power.

Hmmm so this man do speak out course I haven't seen him before in public saying anything or even a press briefing. Nice one vp

I doubt.

And the rest of Nigeria shares the darkness generated by PHCN. Clap for urself VP Sambo.

Wow

Dave Mide said...

President of ghost workers!

But he's cool and quit

I'm tired of dis same story ever since I was born in dis country d light situation is not stable, imagine a child born 2day first know how to shout up Nepa b4 learning to say daddy or mummy. may God punish d ppl dat has killed dis country like dis #Adora

Dis figures is far fetched frm reality. We suffer practically Never Expect Power Alwaz, and they say we consume 40per cent my foot light.

Most times I wonder hw Linda cope wit running dis blog wit dis power failure syndrome in Lagos.

I practically run gen almost all d time charging my blackberry phones just bcos there has never b constant light in Lagos.

Biko let them park well wit their 40per cent Lagos consumption of light. Dis is lie frm d pit of hell.

Chai, my VP I miss you o, two days

Okay but can't all states generate electricity individually. No doubt Lagos is still the biggest state in Nigeria. Every state can generate electricity abegi!

....... finally he speaks. Maybe Nepa will give us light now that we see a bit of the VP's relevance

They are always quick to tell us the problem which, more often than not, is equivalent to pointing the elephant in the room. How has your administration used this information to improve on power generation and distribution? How about decentralising power and allowing states like Lagos, Rivers, Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Delta, etc. to generate and distribute power to their states, and you focus on states that lack this capacity, as opposed to your clueless administration insisting that all states must feed into the national grid. We'll never achieve constant power if we keep tossing around stats and yet nothing is done!

olayiwola jones said...

How's it Possible? Them wan lie for lagos state head before dem vacate their seats lmao!

Mr VP abeg gv us anoda fabu o cos na lag dey suffer electricity pass

huh!! shocked to hear that, I know how all them industries are in Lagos and all but this is not really possible is it

Hmmm.

So this man speaks? here i was thinking he didn't even exist.