Buhari should not be sworn in with the Quran - Etcetera writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 May 2015

Buhari should not be sworn in with the Quran - Etcetera writes

Singer turned writer Etcetera doesn't think Buhari should swear with the Quran. Hmm. Read below
A lot of Nigerians do not know that Nigeria is a secular state and they are also not aware that the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria does not require that Buhari take his oath of office by swearing with the Quran. The drafters of the constitution made it crystal clear that any Nigerian of any faith or no faith can hold any office. It would have been very easy for the constitution drafters to include it in our constitution that the president should be sworn in with the Quran. But they didn’t. In other words, placing a hand on a Quran while reciting the presidential oath is simply a tradition that is not backed by the constitution. Meaning, it is absolutely unnecessary.
On Friday May 29, the Constitution requires that Buhari gives this oath of office: “I, Muhammadu Buhari, do solemnly swear that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and will to the best of my ability preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution.” So, why should Buhari swear with a Quran? Why shouldn’t he place his hand on the Nigerian Constitution- the very document he’s promising to “preserve, protect and defend?”

There’s is a gargantuan barrier between religion and state and Buhari should demonstrate that he recognises this fact by taking his oath of office with his hand on the constitution instead of the Quran. His loyalty should be to the nation’s laws above all else.

ADVERTISEMENT
A lot of people will argue that Buhari swearing with the Quran ensures that he adheres to his oath. But let’s be truthful to ourselves: We have seen elected officials swear to uphold the laws of our country with their hands on the Quran and go on to steal billions of naira and break laws like crazy. It all comes down to the individual’s moral code, not a few seconds oath.

My objection is not only against the Quran. I would hold the same view if it were the Bible, the Book of Mormon or any other religious scripture. The drafters of the constitution made it clear that the Nigerian Constitution, “shall be the supreme law of the land.” It is the living legacy they bestowed upon us. It is the framework for our government. And as such, that’s the document our president should place his hand on. It should be clear to us on May 29 that the president views the Constitution as our nation’s alpha and omega. As a matter of fact, your religion doesn’t matter when you are taking a position in office because religion has nothing to do with running a country.

I personally think that being sworn in with any kind of religious testament is a waste of time and useless. A lot of people in the out-going government were sworn in with the Bible but did they deliver any of the things they promised the country?

To some people, it doesn’t matter whether the president-elect is sworn in with the Quran. They’re probably used to seeing it happen. We just take it for granted that it is the way things have always been done, but it doesn’t necessarily make it right. In my opinion, any elected leader in any secular country like ours is voted in to represent everyone in that country. So why not swear with a document that means something to everyone, such as the constitution? Wouldn’t that make more sense, instead of swearing with a religious document that only represents a chunk of the population? Imagine if a Juju priest was elected President, would it be okay for him to be sworn in with ‘sango, orunmila or amadioha’ or some other work written about atheism? Would it be okay for an ogboni president to be sworn in with the ogboni book of sacred covenant? I am a Catholic and I believe completely in not swearing with the Bible because there are multiple religions in the country and swearing with a Bible will not cause the sacred binding to the truth if the person swearing does not share a religion with the Bible. The Bible does not have the same meaning to every person. So it shouldn’t be counted as a true binding document.

Finally, we shouldn’t also forget that oath taking of any kind is absolutely forbidden by the Bible:
“But I tell you, do not swear an oath at all: either by heaven, for it is God’s throne; or by the earth, for it is his footstool; or by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the Great King. And do not swear by your head, for you cannot make even one hair white or black. All you need to say is simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.” – Matthew 5:34-37

140 comments:

bluemagic said...

Ds guy give it a rest alrdy!!

SANDRA said...

this ETC do u get paid for all these articles? U dey try oo

is buhari today now, not celebrities.

SANDRA said...

This ETC do you get paid for all this articles? U dey try oo

Oh! Please we have enough issues on our hands already to make the issue of what document the president is sworn in our topic of discussion.
If its not broken, why fix it? There's no need heating the already heated polity.
Etcetera I don't get the rationale behind this piece, even if the president gets sworn in with the constitution as you proposed, he can still decide to be unfaithful to the constitution without any consequence.
The president taking his oath of office with the bible or Koran, is like entering a covenant with God who has chosen him via the vote of the people, since the voice of the people is the voice of God.
I'm sure you're disappointed because you expect God to strike to strike them down once they go contrary to their oath of office, but that doesn't take away the fact that the God that was invited to witness this oath doesn't take and trust him to reward each one according to his deeds.
The first paragraph of the oath of office, which goes thus:

"I do solemnly swear/affirm that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to the Federal Republic of Nigeria; that as President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,"
Rightly put to rest the argument that the instrument of the oath taking kind of limits the president to a particular religion.

Kk

Someone should please help me with one packet of Pampers maxi so I can shurve it deep inside Ecetera mouth! Failure you are $ will always be ode!

7F098C19 said...

This guy should go and sleep. Allah or God, they are both same. Engr Emy

Someone should please help me with one packet of Pampers maxi so I can shurve it deep inside Ecetera mouth! Failure you are $ will always be ode!

His obseevations noticed, and appreciated. Thumbs up to him, and more power to his elbows for dis write up.

He should swear with physic textbook then.

Miss Ferragamo said...

I absolutely agree with him,but sweetie, your opinion doesn't count on this.

Sir the truth is : wish they could all just be truthful to themselves.. it isn't only at the presidential level now! All arms swear with the Holy book(the bible) and it isn't supposed to be that way. Like you likely said.."let your yea be yea. But I would love you to read this scripture too Mr Electra. Matt 7:5, Luke 6:42

Hmmmmmmm

Nice article. Point made

E ya...and i feel so sorry for this etcetera dude. This nicca is stepping outta his lane o. Writing about stuffs that has to do with religion, especially islam is like writing your own death sentence. You know how sentimental muslims can be with religion, anu re semi. You're losing it gradually... #Suki

Nekky Cynthia said...

I agree with him on swearing with the Constitution and not any religious book. If not will he also be made to swear with other religious books asides the Koran knowing we have more than one religion in Nigeria.

Nice piece....

Etcetera... Talkative!! Ok bye!!

Emmiejay said...

Abeg tell this guy to gerarahere.. It's too early for this

Reina said...

I concur

Dis guy can't just keep quiet. Did other presidents not swore with dia holy book. #mofo# attention seeker

snowhytt said...

You've found ur true calling etc

Fool.. Nigeria belives in God, he is swearing an oath in the presence of God through his religion

Alot or sense there though

This guy needs help, pls LIB'er assist him.

#Note
Even law court swarn by ur faith.

Na wa oo

Karlsson said...

Well said buh he's still gonna swear with the quran anyway
Ubanagum

OBJ and other Christian leaders were sworn in with bible. We are now overdoing this secular state nonsense. We can all live amicably and respect others as atheists, pagans, Christian and Muslims. If I don't want to swear with a book fine and if I do fine.

His opinion

Amy Amy said...

Hmmmmm ohhh chim,i tink I like d last chapter wit quotation.

This guy u don start again oh

He does have a point. I fink it really makes no difference

dats beautiful from you

Hmmmmm u make sense bt me would v prefer dem 2 b using Sango or Ogun as dis two bros r nt gentle @ll n wl strike anytime 1 contradict d law. Wt dat, our politicians wl learn ao 2 b truthful n dey wl always fulfil der promises 4 d masses

U make sence

This etcetera can blab sha. If buhari likes, let him swear with the Ayilala. All we need is good governance.

Hiaaan.!!! Okay oooooo.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

Hiaaan.!!! Okay oooooo.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

Hiaaan.!!! Okay oooooo.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

Soo swearing with whatever won't make them steal? Too much sef

Hiaaan.!!! Okay oooooo.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

U right, they should even. Make him swear with sango once he mess up like this sango will just struck. Him with thunder

He's got a point.

Hiaaan.!!! Okay oooooo.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

NIGERIAN said...

Whoever suggested this guy etc is not one of the smartest, deepest of his era. Major point that attention must be paid to. We are NIGERIANS!!!

Oyin said...

I think i jst hv to comment on this guy today...i guess he writes for the fun if it without any indepth meaning nd findings.The secularity of a state is measured by its ability to condone all sorts of religion without any placing higher than the other or making any a preference.Hence,it is allowed for anyone to be sworn in by whatever he or she believes in,even if it's a STICK or SCARF !!! So miss me with some of these BS ur fond of writing abeg.

Wat gas he got to say dis time?

There goes Mr. Seek Cheap publicity. We don hear Buh thankfully that's just your opinion right? 170million more beg to differ.

official_akins said...

Pastor or should i say Alfa Etecera,are you running out of topics? Cos ds article is totally un-necessary,but you'v stated the obvious tho!

Irrelevant mofo..

Boredom is killing this guy,he just write stuffs out of having nothing else to do. Smh

**Loophole alert** Since he has rightly said a lot of public officials have been sworn in with the bible but they still go ahead to steal billions and that whether a person will loot or not depends on his moral code...then why is he making a fuss over taking the oath with the constitution...will taking the oath with constitution make him not steal..No..but rather it all depends on his moral code...so the document he swears on should not be the issue here...and also..he quoted the part of the bible about swearing and ended there...meanwhile he's the one who also said religion is unnecessary in public administration..so we should take religion as unnecessary in public administration but obey the bible that said we shouldn't swear....(My own two cents)

This educated-illitrate should look for a better job...always nagging on insignificant issues like a new teenager. You need a life bruv.

Good piece.
If only Buharia will see this.

**Loophole alert** Since he has rightly said a lot of public officials have been sworn in with the bible but they still go ahead to steal billions and that whether a person will loot or not depends on his moral code...then why is he making a fuss over taking the oath with the constitution...will taking the oath with constitution make him not steal..No..but rather it all depends on his moral code...so the document he swears on should not be the issue here...and also..he quoted the part of the bible about swearing and ended there...meanwhile he's the one who also said religion is unnecessary in public administration..so we should take religion as unnecessary in public administration but obey the bible that said we shouldn't swear....(My own two cents)

Abeg u too talk... dee

EtecteFool!

Okay..next

MYS fabric bags lagos 08134794565, D60E8C4D said...

Dis guy is sick in d head honestly

Igbo people and wahala. Dem go begin kill una again bcos this is not the first time a muslim is presido I wonder what this fuss is all about.

Gbam! For once I totally agree with this controversial guy and I hope the Presidency takes it on board.
Having said that, will this also apply to the courts and oaths given by witnesses?

Brilliant Man! Anyone that disagrees with your write up is a daft!

Off 'u' fuck.
It doesn't matter if the Cat is Black or White.

Bimablinks said...

Lol dude fuck u, u think u can jst adress errbody, buhari na ur mate? U r f**** retarded.

Despite its good intentions, some people will see this article as an affront. Lemme go get some popcorn to prepare for the drama that will come with the comments.

The guy make sense small sha.. Sorry!! Not relevant, dem no hear u speak lauder

Am nt surprise, he is a failed artist.. writin nonsense is nw his hobby. N ds linda is helping him gt attention

Swearing in with constitutional will make them fulfill their promise right?
I knew majority of people against GMB because is a Muslim,
The thing is that in Islam not everybody bearing Muslim name or claim to be Muslims are all true Muslims, there are non practicing Muslims even they don't knw what is in the Quran talk less of fear it..

GMB is a practicing Muslim (mumeen) and believer of the Holy Quran so don't compare him with others... I think u guys understand.

Ethel said...

I clap for you xcetra.....u made sense wella! U tried today....this re d type of tinz u shud be enlightening us abt instead of trying to bring down celebs!

ADAOBI said...

Pls take a chill pill....stop tryin too hard

Kindda talking sense

Bros well said buh the rationale behind the sacred book is u have read it and you understand it, if you follow it cos in the end we all reports back to the Supreme God who is greater than he who wrote the constitution and probably made mistakes or favored an aspect more, so it's beyond what binds us, it's your faith in God,His commandments and the day of judgment.

sweetie said...

Stupid boy wit useless talk. Any Time this guy take high stuff is brain they dead

Point noted...but young man,the constitution also doesnt say u shud place ur hand on the constitution of Nigeria!!!! What you have said is your opinion! Plus i am not sure that the islamic religion doesnt permit swearing by Allah's name!your argument isnt as objective as u claim.
you are using buhari as an example and u are quoting the scriptures???? What if his religion does not condemn it?? What if his religion allows him to swear using the quran???.....& fortunately our constitution has nothing against that...or in favour of it..
Is the placing of hands ur problem or the oath which they fail to abide by by not serving nigerians as promised!???!!
I think etcetera likes controversy...sometimes,he applies logic then kills it eventually with bias and lack of depth & eventual argumentative purpose!!!!----PROF

Wow!!

Wow!!

Wow!!

What sense exactly??, pls elaborate.

Hmm but swearing with the Quran or the holy Bible has been invoke before now so what he now saying!

True

Funniest comment.

Well said, Etc certainly has issues, major issues!

NaijaDiasporaNews said...

Very intelligent write up but Nigeria isn't ready for that trust me.
We could care less really, but now that you have brought it to our attention hmmn

Bonario ur mama born u well, preach it bro.

I totally agree wit him. Politicians conscience, and moralitiy goes a long way wit them keeping to oath of office not all d protocol of swearing in via bible or koran.

Etcetera, cant read all this now abeg

Very thoughtful. I think he has a point.

Nice work

How many periods, exclamation marks and question marks does a sentence need? A million according to you. Your excessive use of punctuation is giving me a headache.

There is no other way to put it...but THIS GUY IS RETARDED....Your opinion noted tho

ETC na just big weyrey! Go awake ur dead musical career, later u'll switch from writer to pastor! Nonentity

ohhhhh please
he putting his hand on the constitution no mean say if e wan wak money he no go wak!!

ohhhhh please
he putting his hand on the constitution no mean say if e wan wak money he no go wak!!

BLUNT said...

No,they aren't. Allah, was one of the 360 gods in Mecca. Mohammed destroyed the other 359 and elevated 'allah' to what it is today. That was the major reason why his people in Mecca tried to kill him. He ran to Medina, and managed to brainwash some youths. They thereafter fought the leadership there(Medina), defeated them, and took over, forcing Medina residents to practice Mohammed's founded faith. They then launched an attack on Mecca and succeeded. The rest is history. Nigerian youths, learn to read. Don't bury yourselves in blogs. Allah is different from the Christian "GOD". Don't let any Muslim mislead you.

Jesus loves you

Pls love him back

In as much as this guy can be annoying his write ups r always vivid, perfect and articulate. I couldn't agree more.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Nice one mr. Prof as i dont see the sense he made eventually...
Even if they use th constitution,does it change a criminally minded man's plans??
Etc. has a problem.
he acts like a rejected man who is struggling to prove he is not a failure- clutching @ straws!!!

He needs a lecture in philosophy & logic.😂😂

What are u saying???? Ms 'invoke'.😁

When u some1 raise a point ''' pls let's appreciate....his not losing it '' but trying to identify gaps we tend to overloook

-- we always have issue '' and when we learn to tackle them than let them be '' they won't pile 'that's his own view '' and I don't think his wrong '..

'There's a gargantuan barrier btw Religion and State' I really love dat statement...
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

I bet you can't compose an article as good as his, so why hating? If u're successful enaf aboki, show us

Go nd sit down Mr! Wht makes talking abt Islam a death sentence?! Is it because Christians obeys d commandment dt says "thou shall not kill" huh? Dnt think we re fools o...... we can fight bk whn pushed to d wall.

U just proved to be d most daft one!

Hmmmmmmm,my guy true talk

Olasavie said...

Insightful article. welldone!

Gradually he is becoming a good writer I am impress.

Etcetera u r not new in Nigeria now, are u just observing this.Does it matter whichever o whatever way u r sworn in.i think what matters here is the person's track record, credibility, experience etc which i think, and i know u know as well that d president elect has.

dis etcetera shld go nd sit down....tho i dint boda to read coz i kne he'z full of crap

As you've said "...Meaning, it is absolutely unnecessary", why waste our time with this lengthy shi*. Let it go bro. In your own words, it is absolutely unnecessary!

Dumbest fool

Yeah.
Totally Retarded.

ETC the giver of advice. First of all advice yourself about your failed musical career. I can see that you are still pained that your hero Jona lost the election and you are yet to come to terms with the fact that Buhari is going to be our next President or how else do you explain this write up? And Jona's oath taking with the Bible was not and issue 4years ago? SMH!!Live with it cos it's going to be your reality for the next 4years!!!!

some things unnecessary is not necessarily a crime so shut IT!!!!!!!!!!!! is what religious booked used for swearing in the issue now

This aboki is a bastard

@Blunt: your papa born you well. Allah and GOD are not the same

Allah, was one of the 360 gods in Mecca. Mohammed destroyed the other 359 and elevated 'allah' to what it is today. That was the major reason why his people in Mecca tried to kill him. He ran to Medina, and managed to brainwash some youths. They thereafter fought the leadership there(Medina), defeated them, and took over, forcing Medina residents to practice Mohammed's founded faith. They then launched an attack on Mecca and succeeded. The rest is history. Nigerian youths, learn to read. Don't bury yourselves in blogs. Allah is different from the Christian "GOD". Don't let any Muslim mislead you.

Is this guy stupid or what does he even understand the so called constitution he is quoting at all. Linda pls u should stop giving us this trash this guy keeps write if it is not about musicians it's about politicians he should give it a rest and spend all this effort to try and resurrect his dead career.

Who is this etc guy again and wat does he do

Some "intellectuals" should realise that the world is not as small as the four corners of their brains.

Somethings are for your notepad, so that you can revisit them when you have seen other view points or gathered more information and laugh at why you were thinking that way

I've read lots of this fool write ups but never bordered to comment until now. ETC, i think you're delusional and also an enemy of progress. You're always eager to seek cheap and pathetic attention. Your stupidity is apparent to everyone. Keep at it "Oni ra nu jati jati. Ole, a lai ni kan se olowo ike" Linda if you like keep this comment to your safe.

You should watch you say, cos I'm certain it's either you're high on gamale 20 or you're mentally disoriented...how could LI even Publish this...#Smh 4 u guys

He is hustling

purple said...

@ Mr blunt,people like u amuse me, people who know nothing and think they know all. People who then close their empty minds and heads and then refuse to learn. People like u are the bane of the society, clueless, un intelligent and unwilling to learn and be informed. To Mr ETC, the same reason politicians swear with holy books is the same way witnesses swear with holy books in court. The rationale is to ensure that this people are honest by holding them to the most revered being in their lives. And we know God should be the most revered. This etc should get his head out of the cloud already.

purple said...

Smartest person on this blog. Please school them particularly etcetera

LINDA PLS STOP PUBLISHING THIS GUYS CRAP. IF NOT FOR YOU NO ONE WOULD KNOW HIM

He should be sworn in with what? Sword & cutlass?

this guy is not as intelligent as I thought he was....#God has the Quran as well!!