He was found lying in the snow in the middle of the camp plateau with no visible signs of trauma.
A two-person climbing team found Callupan's body shortly before midnight. His gear was found nearby, but he had not set up his tent, said NPS spokeswoman Maureen Gualtieri.
His is the first fatality this year on the 20,320 foot mountain, the highest peak in North America, Gualtieri said. Although its official federal name is Mount McKinley, the mountain is more commonly known to Alaskans and climbers by its indigenous name, Denali.
Callupan began his ascent of the West Buttress route on May 1 and headed up to the 17,200 foot camp on May 6, according to other climbing parties at the mountain's 14,200 foot camp. According to NPS records, no one else was camped at the 17,200 foot plateau between May 6 and Sunday, when his body was found.
It took several days for park officials to verify Callupan's identity. NPS staff worked with the Argentine Consulate to notify Callupan's next of kin
45 comments:
Aww that's really sad, RIP.
Awwwww...RIP
Is it suicide or murderer?
That's some height 17000 ft. May His soul rest in peace. Psalm 118:17
Am sorry but what am I looking for at 17000 feet without an aircraft? Unfortunate
Una no go sidon for house...
Rip to him
Rip mr climber
Rip
Wetin dem dey find dey go....na wa...may his soul rest in peace
Sad
Auntylindagoddaughter
wetin u go find for there
All this mountain climbers and trekkers heh
May his soul RIP but what is he looking for?
Please visit my blog
www.trendwithgloria.blogspot.com
Eyaaah.. RIP
RIP..........this mountain climbing is risky oooo I don't see d fun in it! #MBOK#
Oyinbo nd wahala sha....#LibAddict
May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
Sad
Like I'll always say if I ain't getting paid I ain't doing it. Dude just lost his life for? .. .. ... Don't even know. RIP to him.
#FOCUS n #ACHIEVE
May his soul rest in peace.
OMG! RIP to him.
Rip
Nawa oo.
Nawa oo.
Death lurks everywhere, be careful.
E ya, RIP
E ya, RIP
Rest in peace dude
He died from the cold, which trauma again are you looking for?!
All diz climbers wey no dey hear word
MISSVEE
did you say Solo? why will he climb alone. RIP
Rest in peace solo
RIp to him.
Wicked girl.
Sad! RIP.
RIP man. Oyinbo will eat and belle full finish, and now be looking for 'bekun bekun'.
*** mynameisSkelewu
Men! Is quite unfortunate! RIP
Lol...@Skelewu, which one is "bekun bekun" again? RIP to the dead man.
RIP.
Lol help me o. Maybe after this they will stop climbing. Rip
Most of These climbers are researchers & they don't just climb 4 fun.. Rip to him