Actress Kiki Omeili forces TIME magazine to print retraction on article calling her a 'college dropout' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 January 2015

Actress Kiki Omeili forces TIME magazine to print retraction on article calling her a 'college dropout'

Press statement from her publicist. Read below..
It is always a thing of pride when as a professional in any field of endeavor, one is given the necessary recognition, and when that recognition comes from a major international media house such as Time Magazine, it would indeed be an occasion to relish. However, for Award-winning actress and star of the hit TV Series Lekki Wives, Kiki Omeili, her experience with the famed magazine was nothing short of disheartening. Kiki was approached for an exclusive interview with Time magazine sometime in 2014.
The soft-spoken actress unassumingly granted the interview; however, to her surprise, during the interview she noticed that the Time Magazine journalist was not making use of a tape recorder for the interview, which is the norm in most climes, but resorted to taking short notes at intervals. The actress however gave them the benefit of the doubt.

Flash forward to a few months later and the actress, who is also a graduate of Medicine from the University of Lagos was shocked to receive a phone call from a colleague who had just bought a copy of the Time Magazine edition (Sept 1, 2014) in which references to her interview was published and the actress was described as a "Medical School Drop-out". Kiki immediately reached out to the journalist who conducted the interview via repeated emails, but she was rebuffed and told that what was printed was what she told the Time magazine agent and as such nothing could be done about it, because the article was about Nollywood in general and the error had no bearing on the story.

Not about to be taken for a ride, the Eloy Award nominated actress, who was recently named as one of the Top 25 Faces of New Nollywood by the NETng, contacted her lawyers to write to the international magazine regarding the issue of slandering of her name as well as the aspersions, which the article has cast on her credibility as a medical personnel, as she still maintains her Medical License to practice as a medical doctor and writes several medical journals.

In response to the letter from her lawyers, Time Magazine  promptly printed a retraction in their October 6th 2014 edition of the magazine.

100 comments:

Omg

good!

Quite derogatory.

***ECHOMASS***

you know what you want.but give dem def ears

GhenGhen

Very well done..
*nods*

Its only normal because they made the mistake

We don hear! Linda listen

Betta... after studying for ogun odun... dnt blame o jare but mehn, shez a beauty wits brains...
LINDA BIKO THAT NO OF URS CAN BE BUSY FOR AFRICA

I pray my instinct judges me right when it comes to Linda's matter.

What a mess but thank God that has been corrected

MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.

Confused people trying to ruin her personality. It's a Good thing they corrected their mistake.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

Sorry dear.

God bless you more as you help the young youths Linda.

Please I want to contribute if you can allow me to this your project, I am very much interested. Though, I don't have much for now, but hopeful my little can work more for them.

Hmmm...you know what Linda, I think we are like twins, really share same dreams with you lovely sis, Weldon.

Who be dis abeg???

Beautiful woman

Well done girl. Love you for this. You should know your rights. Useless western media.

Good one

Na to sue dem beta. Linda take note!

Correct Babe! Keep it up Kiki. God bless you!

Dats if she az her facts & proof to back up her claim. Linda take note!

prettiyz said...

what kind of silly mistake is that

Dats if she az her facts & proof to back up her claim. Linda take note!

Love or Trust, Trust is much more important than Love. If someone loves me, it is more of that person’s business than mine.  But if the same person trusts me, it places a duty on me to live up to that trust. In other words, Trust challenges one to reciprocate; Love might not always do that.....what's that ISSUE that gives you sleepless night in your relationship? Its time you talk to someone.
For your relationship issues and psychological counseling halla at
Petersonconsultant@yahoo.com
Or add up on 27FCBFBE for one on one conversation.

CHERRY said...

Okay!

hahahhah thats good...thats how things should be done.

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

Good, u stand up in d face of injustice. Schn in Nigeria is difficult enough, not to be credited 4

I don't see anything wrong with it because most graduates aint better than her....they even wish they are her.....so no biggie fo my opinion
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Good one.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Nothing dem sabi rather than to fabricate lies.

Lol. Sue them for watin again? Ehn madam take note.

Sowie pretty lady 'lol' #onelovefromsnow#

LINDA BIKO NWANNEMU TRY AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE TO POST MY COMMENT AM BEGGING YOU OOOOOOH BIKO LOL JC

Good that the error has been corrected, this wiLl as well teach them (celebs) lesson not to allow interviews without a tape recorder.
.......Sapient......

Imagine, what an error.

Lmfao. Confused.

Journalist! I feel sorry for her.

Better for them, they want to tarnish my dear Kiki's image...

Heaven on Earth

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Stupid people dat journalist is supposed 2 b sacked. Mtsheeew. #lindagiveawayonmymind

If I tell u my problem ehn. U will be d one asking me for solutions.

Good one, cos that's her image that was tarnished by them

A whole time magazine, why would they make such a blunder!

Shame to time magazine... what were dey thinking, .. metcheeew!!!

Good one...
Thumbs up to her.

mikkyjanec said...

good. but really 30yrs.mtchew.

Good one Nkiru! stupid people

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

@nigerian youth abeg make we hear word...it amazes me how some of y'all come here to look 4cheap publicity,y come in here to comment when u would have just sent linda a private mail telling her ud love to contribute,dont get me wrong,u might be genuine,but na ur type dey talk and @d end dem no go stil do anything

Good thing she followed it up

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Kelvin maybe when u stop watching d likes of aki and paw,mr ibu kinda movies and start watching them educating and mature nollywood kinda movies only then would u get to know who she is

Welcome home

xquisite said...

Good job gurl. Fight for what you are!

Nicely done! No one should try to take away what you worked hard for! not even time magazine.

dami said...

Things u read in magazines at times makes u wonder if some of them re true. Nice one kiki

This is just uncalled for shah.....

Dey should free my favorite Lekki wife ojare!

I sooo luv ds woman's acting,shez my favourite Lekki wife

That's nice of you to want to contribute to helping others . Why not call linda on phone to tell her.

Yes ppl wnt hv to Tk u for a ride

I no fit read abeg

U go gurl

strong woman who knows how to stand up for herself

myx one

That's good

A case of no publicity is bad publicity. She's using this mistake to raise her profile in Nigeria. I'm impressed she's a doctor, who opts not to practice because she's pursuing her acting career. I want to know her story.

Journalists sha

Better for her. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

hmmm.

Eghons said...

Thank God d error has being corrected.

Eghons said...

Thank God d error has being corrected.

Ade said...

We make your services stand out from the pack by promoting it on www.sellmega.com. for more info, vist our website and like us on facebook. Thanks

Black Anchor 2 said...

All party is happy now.. Easy

rhodajc said...

That's what am talking about, go Kiki!!

Good thing they corrected bcos no one wants to be labeled 'school dropout' especially if u are not

Talk of destroying someone's image. Good she fought back.

Y do dey hv to keep 'setting records straight'?y do dey even hv a column 4 dt?a magazine of dt calibre?pitiable!

she acts so well, i never knew she was a doctor. Good for her.

& WOT IS DIZ NEWZ ABT.........

*oparoescalade*

& WOT IS DIZ NEWZ ABT.........

*oparoescalade*

@Elena Abeg leave Kelvin. I saw Lekki Wives and it was Dry with a capital D. Too much hype. I prefer Tinsel.

Yes o!!! E easy??? abeg they need to correct that kind of error. Undergoing a professional course in Nigeria and coming out a graduate is not beans!!!

CELEB said...

Good one

Idiot.. She is a medical doctor.. She also came out of secondary school with straight A's

Beauty, Brains and Confidence... Hard to find.

What did I learn? If they don't have a recorder, don't grant the interview. Also, go with you own recorder.

SWILL MARTIN said...

I can like when better actresses de show dem selves,babe yhu r dere jare!!!she's a force to be reckoned with oo,she no won hear dust.nd @ kelvin @elena correctly ansrd ur qs.

In 2014 she was already over 30 years old.

This guys should be warned. Professionalism should come to play here aaahhh. Doctor no mind them jare. keep it up. ugbeda samson

Na wha oooo. Dis people should get their fact ryt before saying crazy stuff about people

Also afford a lawyer.

tayo said...

wen ll linda remove dus moron call juliet from ds blog? eh!

tayo said...

way to go girl!

Chinenye said...

Nice one Kiki!
Imagine the fish-head calling u a drop-out!
U rock dear cousin!

Despite the retraction, they still made a mess of the correction. It's College of Medicine University of Lagos, idi Araba not Akoka.
Awon onirase. Welldone Kiki, God bless you and the path u 've chosen Amen.

kiKi.... Awwwn. My boo!

Good for you sis, a victory well deserved.

Don't mind them, they want to spoil your reputation.

That's what Google is for my friend :)

And this is a crime how?