Photos: Kenyan school children tear-gased for protesting against a developer who 'grabbed' their playground | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 January 2015

Photos: Kenyan school children tear-gased for protesting against a developer who 'grabbed' their playground

Pupils of Langata primary school in Kenya were this morning tear-gassed by Kenya Police following their protest against a certain land developer who they say 'stole' part of their school's land which is their playground. The land developer wants to turn it into private property.

According to reports from Kenya, the school authority had written to the government asking for help to stop their land from being taken over by the developer but their letters were not attended to. Seeing that their teachers were helpless, the school children decided to hold a protest in front of their school this morning.

They however got more than they bargained for as the police tear gassed them, which caused a stampede. Five of the children have been rushed to the hospital at the moment. More pics after the cut
k

104 comments:

Too bad for children

Lol the students are brutal

nah the student ain't brutal lol....the soldiers are....kilode teargas on lil kidd

Cruel act, wot does d little children know. Linda take note!

OMG!

Too bad dat dis is happening to our future leaders.

this is very bad...

Cruel act, wot does d little children know. Linda take note!

Tear Gas on Pupils?? For Real?? Kenya Police are even more deadly than ISIS..
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Tbh they are cruel why would they do that to the lil kids huh

This is uncivilised...

Oh no.

Awwwww! They are too young to protest, I hope nothing happens to those being rushed to the hospital. The school authority should have done something rather than the kids protesting #onelovefromsnow#

They have denied of their right to peaceful demonstration.

***ECHOMASS***

Daralohi said...

Y would primary skool pupils riot and why the tear gas,but i ynderstand their plight.

Miss indomie says so.

... we have enough problems here in Nigeria already, Kenya deal with yours <<<<

So touching. D police should take it easy on them o. They are harmless little children for Gods sake.

Sophia Stephen

D-one said...

This is so sad, how can any law enforcement agency do this to children. Don't they have kids at home? God will deliver us from evil in human form

MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.

Lol. Stubborn pupils. They really got more than what dey were expecting.

^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

this is a big shame...the police that are meant to protect citizen are the perpetrators of this act..#they should all be tried...its unacceptable

This is sad..that last picture is touching, the teachers shldn't havee allowed them, they too young for such and the police are just so unreasonable.I just none of them dies..

This is sad..that last picture is touching, the teachers shldn't have allowed them, they are too young for such and the police are just so unreasonable.I just none of them dies..

The police have no right to spray tear has on innocent children, they should have found a better solution to the problem....its really not nice at all.

Yomi Cheddar said...

Imagine , day by day , ppl are becoming more heartless , why on earth will they make use of tear-gased with little children like dis , just becos they want what belongs to them back...at least they should have provide another space if important they want to use the space they grabbed

Gozie said...

Na wa o, these kids are also on the receiving end of injustice... Mmmmmmm.... *sealedlips*

Tear gas on kids? Police and their clueless ways of dispersing people.

Thats the kind of news we hear in African countries no value for child rights may God help us""

Haba see d last pics d small girl is pitiful

This is insane. How can they treat their children like bunch of criminals. Some people just lack conscience.

Omg..so unfair

wow. even underage/teens advocate for their right.

Dave Mide said...

Police brutality....even against children

Sad what greed for money can do.

What kind of cruelty is this? Why will these dirty cops tear gas these innocent kids. Africa, Africa, Africa.

Violence!

CHERRY said...

The police men must be very stupid for doing dat to the little children. Nonsense!

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

How would d govt write back when obviously d man is one of theirs or has probably paid them handsomely

Chigo said...

Their government is not fair on children. God have mercy on them.

Ike Ani said...

This is not Right. Is tear Gas an option to control little Kids?

Poor innocent children fighting for their right.Bad government! how on earth would someone use tear-gas on children? #ChildAbuse

Why tear gassed in a school...this police men are stupid for such act
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

oh
-------------LIB prince-----------

Those kids are not up to 18 for crying out loud. Why use tear gas on them

Why use tear gas on little children. This is inhumane !

How do you gas kids and even use dogs against them?! Africa truly has little regards for the future, you wouldn't dare this in the Western world!

Who come dey snap them?

This is wickedness at its fullest....

What a country

dami said...

These are kids trying to secure their future by getting educated....tear gasing them is way to much! I wish d injured kids speedy recovery.

these are pupils now, I believe the term is used for younger people, so i dont think they are harmful. Africans(govt and Money miss roads) need be careful and curbed. This is sheer miss use of power and influence.

Too Bad!
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Chasing. Kids with dogs and tear gas? That's heartless.

REXOVIC said...

HABA!!!Y WILL D POLICE TEARGAS CHILDREN NA?? GOSH!

Tear gas on lil children, those police are animals, retarded.

God have Mercy

God have mercy.

Government have to do something concerning this ..... kids have right to protest it is their playground to cry it out loud. Hope they make provision for another for the kids using tear gas on kids is absolutely wrong. The developer have to pause n ponder if these were his kids how will he feel???? by dobis112@gmail.com

R they mad or something...how can they do. this to little children...omo na wah ooo

D number we were asked to call is nt goin through

Children protesting?? That's bad!

The Kenyan government should those pple behind the act

This is political intended protest using the innocent childern

The Kenyan government should fishout those pple behind the act

And u asking me why Black African isn't a priority to world leaders...

Ike Ani said...

This is not fair for little Kids at all. www.ikeani.blogspot.com

WHAT?!! Tear gassing children?!!! That is too low, and too despicable, it's a shame they even thought about it much more that they executed it! So what were they afraid the children would do that they felt the need to tear gas them?

How can police tear gas children. ? Something is wrong with der brain.. jessse

Exactly

Too bad,lil children for that matter,there is God ooooo!

FIRST LADY B

Vry sad

BLAQ said...

Aba, that's not nice

Don't d land developers got children? Hw can u tear-gas children? Couldn't d police do beta Dan dat! Jesus! I CNT blive dis.
Luks lyk dey wer INSANE!

Tot its only in Naija we have dis barbaric act. God help Africa

Amisa said...

If little children are tear-gased like this what message is being sent to them?...that we live in a world of violence now so no peaceful protest? Haba! little school children fa

tear gassing kids this young is shameful

Why nah

That's cruel from the side of the armed men

this is the kind of things we would see if GMB becomes president ,Soldiers with no human feeling ,

Zoological Republic.

how would anyone in their right senses tear gas little children ?

Dis is pure evil... Pupils for that matter

this a very bad, i can see young children there.

fresh emmy said...

Y should they release tear gas on little kids? Crazy police officers all over d world

For the love of God they are kids

Not gd 4 children. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

WTF this is sooo NOT right... 1.these are little children 2.they have a right to peaceful protest! Kenya no try at all ooo
~Anidearana that Nigerian girl-

mimiliscious mimi said...

I think we should also blame GEJ for dis. Our govt has failed us.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Bad govt

Teargas children?? That's very wicked

These people don't have fear of God, for christ's sake they re children

Black Anchor 2 said...

All this for kids.. Haba..

Ore said...

tot this can only happen in our dear Nig...why I love UK

This is so cruel. What the hell is this world turning into. Even hurting kids? Not fair at all.

What is d world becoming? Children protesting,I can now c d result of aljazeera news

heartless men

missvee

Only in Nigeria/Africa such things can happen. Here in the US, people would have sued the developer and would have also protested against police violence. Mtcheww (smh).

SWAAG said...

NA WAO... THOUGH IT IS VERY WRONG TO PROTEST AGAINST THE WHOEVER, THE POLICE SHOULDNT HAVE DONE THIS...HABA...MAYBE ITS ACCIDENTAL DISCHARGE SHA.... ALL THESE PEOPLE SEF....
AM CONFUSED

CELEB said...

I guess they felt serious threats from the kids thus the teargas. Cowards!

It is not wrong to protest peacefully. It is shameful what these policells people did. Smh

these kenyans have no chill, how do you release teargas on kids. its a bit funny tho

SWILL MARTIN said...

These are kidz nau! Are they crazy to strt using tear gas on dem????cnt they reason with them and understand their plight#Diaariiis God o,shooooo???

What wickedness

Africans! So sad! Give them gun and they will shoot one another

it was wrong for the police to teargas children nevertheless it was wrong to involve them in the demonstration since our constitution prohibits that as we clamour for action to be taken against the police so should we agitate for the same towards the school authority!!!

joan said...

madness!