Okada ban: Delta state govt allegedly razes over 200 motorcycles | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 October 2014

Okada ban: Delta state govt allegedly razes over 200 motorcycles

The Delta state government on Sunday Oct. 5th allegedly burnt over 200 motorcycles it confiscated from those who flouted the state's newly introduced ban on motorcycle riding in some parts of the state. Two weeks ago, the State government banned Okada in some parts of the state, including Ika South, Ika North and Sapele.

The ban was however flouted by some motorcycle riders who got their machines seized by officials of the state. The seized motorcycles have now allegedly been burnt at the Mosogar end of the Gammon Bridge in Sapele.

According to Sahara Reporters who spoke with the state's Commissioner for Transport, Ben Igbakpa, he denied knowledge of the State burning the motorcycles.
"I am not aware of the burning of any Okada, the fact remains that any confiscated Okada is not going back to the owner. How such Okadas are being disposed is not the issue, what matters is that, all Okadas in these areas must be off the road” he said

52 comments:

Wahala

Wahala

Wahala

ONYITEX BLOG said...

Hmm.. Hope if they ban okada, jobs will be provided for the riders..
lLIB ALL THE WAY!

Try and give them jobs to do or you so called government will die and rot in hell. Twitter/@dj_smartt

Actually I personally don't buy this idea of baning okada for any reason atall. Pple live on this like other Jobs! It is well. Eph 6:18. BishopDammy#

Okada riding has become a means of livelihood to thousands of Nigerian in so many states, delta state included. So where do the government want these people to earn a living from? Even if they have to ban okada, the government should look or create an alternative for them, like empowering them.

Awww na wa!

Eugenia said...

This is not good on poor masses o. Vote Linda Ikeji as the Most Active Blogger of the year. www.socialmediameritawards.com

So bad....

JP said...

Okada riders for Delta state make una hear word na, no let the Govt burn your bike if dem fever burn your own already. There must always be an alternative way of survival, not fraudulently! trust me.

The only major road in agbor(ika south and north east) isn't motorable. Most roads in the ika south area are gullies,and can only be managed with bikes. Why ban okada when there are no alternatives? They claim it's to curb crime,that is not true. I just hope they find a way to end people's sufferings and not increase them. DTSG,there are no roads in agbor........

Did delta state government provide another job for them?
Do they have another means of living? If not, this will increase the crime rate in that state.

This sheer wickedness and wastefulness! Why raze them bikes, when they could have being auctioned off and its proceed used for better things or turning the bikes to Police mobile vehicles or simply just impounding them! For me razing them wasn't an option.

inhuman..why are they always unfair to the poor masses

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

What necessary measures were put in place to help them...okada riding is their means of livelihood..callous govt I must say

tina said...

Na wa oooo. tina.agori@yahoo.com

u ban okada did u provide jods for them? Now u want to promote another sets of insurgent in south south. Thieves God is watching allof you.

This just dont make any sense i swear... Nw those okada riders will be unployed....

Provide jobs 4 dem den

ASAMPOKOTO said...

WILLL YOU PROVIDE A MEANS? Because u can sit comfortably behind your laptop and open your mouth. How is their job fraudulent? I don't like ofada drivers, but most importantly I hate injustice. The latter seems more pressing right now.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

What the fuck happened to public opinion in this country? How do u just take away someone's means of livelihood because u are in a position of power and because you can? And then destroying it on top? Wow!

And now they are going to opt to crime.
Faceoflib

This is total wastage and complete madness coming from the delta state government. i believe if they want to do any banning in the state substitution should be in place for the owner of those properties. I don't think burning those thing are good ideal. they can as well give them out to those rural dwellers to be riding to their farms and so on and so fourth......

Dey shldnt hv burn deir motobikes na

Heartless goats

I personally don't like the action on burning these bikes and polluting the environment, rather they should have exported it out to neighboring countries and generated small revenue by which they could now create jobs or give as loans.

Uche Emma said...

This is very serious ooo

Typical reasoning of average Nigerian power driven politicians and government officers. Wickedness!

ukbliss said...

Y raze the okada dis is so inhumane

I personally don't like the action on burning these bikes and polluting the environment, rather they should have exported it out to neighboring countries and generated small revenue by which they could now create jobs or give as loans.

I don't even know if to support the ban or not, yes there are too much okada accidents but its a full time job for some people. People with family and responsibilities... really don't know

CJAY EKWEM said...

thats real stupidity in highest order
FROM NWA NKWERRE

CJAY EKWEM said...

FROM NWA NKWERRE

CJAY EKWEM said...

FROM NWA NKWERRE

CJAY EKWEM said...

FROM NWA NKWERRE

Neks said...

not just burning their okadas and not providing them with jobs or any other compensations, politicians de there they thief money. okada men de struggle una no let them rest.

Global pollution... there many ways to do it safer ..

Uche Emma said...

Chei ....
There is God ooo.

I guess these are poor people using this as a means to survive in this harsh economy

wot hapnd to my comments aunty linda?.Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

Erica said...

As a geologist who has frequently visited the above mentioned area, I concur that the roads are terrible. The government shouldn't take away people's means of survival without providing an alternative

God bless you for this comment Lagos/Asaba road in Agbor which is Ika south/North East is a mess potholes everywhere very unmotorable Even with Okada it's still a mess getting along that road and that's their major express road in Agbor.. DSG should think of making factories in Ika and employing those youths they've practically laid off almost every young boy in ikasouth/Northeast survives by Riding Okada and there hasn't been any known crime committed by Okada riders... okada even had curfew of 7pm... well that's if my opinion even counts #LongliveLIB

I hate okada.

Nene said...

Thank God 4 d ban. My mama go finally ride here motor. Delta women esp agbor like okada sha... proudly deltian

Nene said...

Thank God 4 d ban. My mama go finally ride here motor. Delta women esp agbor like okada sha... proudly deltian

Oga oooo, naxxo them won ban pomo

Shut up!! Will you provide jobs for them

The problem is that transportation has become difficult and expensive. If the commissioner want to replace bike with tricycle,then the tricycle should be made available and affordable. How will okada men afford N450K for tricycles? How much is tokunbo car? The tricycles available is not enough for the population. Businesses are suffering because of this development. You can't create change by making others suffer... plssss this guy should make the tricycle affordable for this people if he want stop okada and plssss return the bike

i don't see the economics in the ban & destruction of these machine...

JP anu ofia.. nonsense comment

so who will feed the families of these okada riders?