Shocking. Mum who permitted her BF to kill her child freed after telling her story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 11 October 2014

Shocking. Mum who permitted her BF to kill her child freed after telling her story

In October 2012, 23yr old Victoria Phanhtarath and her then boyfriend Freddy Mendez were arrested over the beating death of Victoria's 3 year old daughter, Alexis Hawkins. Freddy was sentenced to life in prison for the murder, Victoria was sentenced to 35 years for failing to protect her child from an abusive man. Describing how Freddy beat Alexis to death, Victoria said;
"Freddy is still spanking Alexis and I go get my son. And I come back and he's sitting there. And he pushed her and he kicked her and threw her across the room, all the way to the window. He picked her up by the throat and slammed her on the floor. He's kicking her and hitting her on the chest. And he said get this little b**ch. Go take care of her."
When asked what she did to stop the vicious attack, Victoria said "I told him to calm down and go outside". Police was called to the home where little Alexis was found unresponsive. She was rushed to the hospital where she later died. Two years after Victoria was convicted for the murder, a judge set her free after she told her own story...

During the case, the Oklahoma City mum entered a plea deal where she pleaded guilty to 'murder by permitting child abuse and also testified against Freddy' But two years later, prosecutors agreed for the case to go to court again. And when Victoria told a judge how she herself had suffered abuse from Freddy and refused to tell anyone because she was embarrassed

Victoria describes her own abuse in the hands of Freddie prior to Alexis death...
"He started grabbing me and starts punching me in my face. He shoves me to the pool. I try to get out, he shoves me back into the pool. He starts hitting me and dragging me around. I'm screaming and crying, he tells me to shut up."
She said it wasn't the first time but she was too embarrassed to tell anyone that she was in an abusive relationship.  

After Victoria told her story...everything changed. The judge cried. The jury cried. And then the judge did something no one expected. He modified her sentence, struck off the 35 years and set her free. Victoria had only been in prison for two years.

You think she deserved to be freed after two years? I think she should have serves like five years in prison.You don't bring an abusive man around your children and only tell them to calm down when they grab your child by the throat and slam them on the ground.

If someone hits you and hits your child once, you remove that person from your life. And when they brutally attack like this, you don't just stand there and tell them to calm down. You grab whatever you can to protect your child or remove that child from there ASAP and then call the police. I'm so mad at this mum.

Anyway, get the full story Here

105 comments:

Helena said...

Really

I just Wonder why some men are simply heartless

D ROCK said...

Police was called to the home where little Alexis was found unresponsive.
Oh!See ever pretty actress nadia buari caught in a hotel with a prophet

Omaa said...

It's not that easy. Abuse starts psychologically long before it gets physical. The society's reaction to victims a of abuse does not make it any easier. We all pray it never comes to us because if it does, you realise it's not that easy. These people live in fear!

All these men. You hit my child, I will die fighting you.

Am so speechless

ejike capable said...

Oyibo ppl and their wahala try this with a naija woman's child and c if ur head wldn't be broken with a pestle nonsense!

This is very touching ooo, buh why going into such relationship and the worst is bringing him into her children, DAMN!

Like madam Linda said, she should have been in there for like five years.

Nonsense!
I think she charmed both the Judge and the Juries... A man abuses you and your child, and you stood put?. She probably takes part in the abuse when they are down with influence of alcohol or drugs.
If anyone ever touches any of my children, I'm ever willing to go physical..; they should kill me instead!.

*My R1.50c comment*

The title of this post is extremely reckless. We're talking about an abused broken woman here. The normal and sensible thing to do would have been to leave him but he had done what abusers do. He broke her down to feel helpless and like she was nothing. So in this case she is not considered normal. Losing her child to a psycho to me is punishment and lesson enough. The two years she served was adequate.

I agree with u Linda.That woman needs To be killed.

sexynerd said...

Hmmm. If a man hits me I am so going 4 d jugular with my teeth. Not 2 talk of my kids. Men I wud die 4 my kids. Hit my kid and I am telling you 2 calm down? Yeah u will b calm cos I wud hav broken a bottle on ur dumbass head. She got off 2 easy jo. Abuse s no excuse 2 b a pu**y

lovlyivon said...

I rly dnt no what to say

And Who Approves Linda

I think it's an extremely sad story. Domestic abuse is far more complex than 'bringing an abusive man around your children'.

Dnt know wat 2 say!

That's why I love my country Nigeria. Even after her touching cooked up story, she and even her neighbours would get additional jail terms. Yeye oyibos. No wonder guys still scam them

mary said...

i am equally mad at her, i feel so sad for the death of the innocent little child, this guy abuses you, and you are still in relationship with him, if he didn't kill your child, he would have killed you sooner or later, you went through 9 months + labour to bring this child into the world only to watch one retarded fellow snuff life outta her, you were there watching him shove a 3 yr old chap around, kicking her, and you tell him to calm down instead of grabbing something from the house and hit him, and grab the phone to call the police, as far as am concerned, you were an accomplice and should have served for 10 years, may that freddy rot in hell. nobody deserves to be in an abusive relationship, if he hits you once, quickly look for your running shoes and disappear, bcos there's every tendency he is gonna hit you again and keep apologising until he kills you. why are you embarrased to tell people that you were being abused.

Funso Samuel said...

Though i dont support her actions but i hope she had learnt her lessons.She partially deserved her freedom

Aragon 3 said...

I honestly think she should serve a 'warning sentence' sort of for being stupid enough not to speak out..........and where's evidence that she was abused by her bf???

Every verdict in court should have a concrete base of evidence.

hmm,they dont want to say the gospel truth,the child is not hers and the husband might be aware of that,wot they are jst saying is a long story a proper investigation should be made to know d owner of d child,nobody can hit his child like that no matter d office..Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

This so sad.why did she decide to remain in an abusive relationship.
Faceoflib

Some people are really wicked i swear....

am so mad @ her too! she could hv reported to d police about the abuse all d while.

ukbliss said...

I'm not gonna judge her, let it be between her and God

obietrezy said...

Na wao for this thing they call Law.... I still don't understand why a big fool like freedy will hit a little girl that's harmless ni.. Him no see him mate go knack?

I 'll never let any man touch my kids he won't even touch me women it is not by force to be wit a man

Oh not good of her at alll...wonda y pple love abusive relatnship..u knw dis and u stil kip d bastard as a husband..na wa oo

These foreigners and their deeds make me sick
Hang the bitch
She doesn't deserve to live
That's conspiracy to murder
Fry her dumb ass

....SƖεεkz

DADDYSWIFE said...

Hia! D tori get asi m be,white folks n their lives na only them sabi

tina said...

Too bad.

@linda u have never been in that situation. That story is on the peripheral..imagine the scenario it's really frightening.. so she has done 2 yrs 5 yrs won't bring Alexis back besides she has got a son she has to take care of..

A woman that can not protect her child from an evil man as this,is not worth to be called a mother.The woman talked like a child.The evil man should be should be jailed or hanged.

killing an innocent child? pure wickedness

UNIQUE said...

linda if U ask me na who I go ask d mata we we see so i heavy for mouth no be me go talk am///Mouth Sealed

PHINITE said...

What's done is done. Five or two years behind bar wt diff does it make? She lost her child, so she's learnt her lesson in a hard way already. Case close.

isa uk said...

honestly i do not understand why a woman should keep an abusive relationship, linda i agree with you this woman didn't protect her own child and i think she should serve more years.

Linda u r so right, she did not fight well at all, am a mum and will kill whosever that try to hurt my child even b4 he trys it.

I feel like crying.I blame the mother for not expose that man

It isn't as easy as that. There are many women and children who have been killed after leaving. Some statistics even show that sometimes it's safer to stay. You don't even know her family situation. What if her mother was abused like that and she thinks it's the norm. For women, please make sure to take your time before entering into a relationship. Don't rush, get to know him before you decide. If he rushes, it's a red flag! I hope she gets some counseling as well.

O ga o

Victoria,u be mumu. u dey dere ur so called bf dey bit ur own baby mercilessly.u for go life in prison. Ewu

what a croc of shit! she didnt care enough to stop it becos she didnt love the child enough!!BI--H!!

ibviously a well doctored lie. why didnt she say this in the first case. the winner of a court case isnt one who says the truth but one that can provide evidence to back up what they are saying.

Yeehpah!!!

the woman, knw wot she is doing... She shud nt blame it on any body...

Frm the man frm the east *odikwaegwu.com*

cupid cupid said...

Oh lord

Linda you are very stupid...if they didn't jail her for 5 years go and serve it for her naa or become a judge....i. know you won't post this.

jerry said...

Freed ke?

She should have remained in prison

Linda has become a writer by force,fear of d unknown......she was powerless nd u kw sum women r weak

linda it is easy for u to say.until u meet one will never know the fear these women experience. running away is not an option most of them consider

God save dat modaf**ker. If I was d 1 n d child is mine or not, I'll cut his Dick. I'll die trying Dan seat n do nothing. RIP (Rest In Prison) wish ur ass wil be kicked or fucked.

Linda, don't be quick to judge, have all the fact like do u know how she grew up? So people have validation issues, people telling them they r good enough or not. Trust me it's not always white n black. If u haven't loved an abusive man u just might never know how hard it is to walk away without help 4rm anyone.

mtcheww...ryt nw ma lips r sealed....@candidcamzz

SHe iS So stupid,†̥o let dat appen,imagine D yeye Mum,as 4 Me I Wuld Hit dat DeVil stone or anytin on his Head 2 protect my CHILd,Sm1 beats My Child na wahala B dat,NonseNce....

Linda don't say dat,i understand dis woman perfectly cos we experienced same with my dad...my mom was helpless, i remember vividly wat my dad is capable of,he will do worse if she dare react.. I jst pity d kid..she suffered alot

She dey craze? Twitter/@dj_smartt

SHe iS So stupid,†̥o let dat appen,imagine D yeye Mum,as 4 Me I Wuld Hit dat DeVil stone or anytin on his Head 2 protect my CHILd,Sm1 beats My Child na wahala B dat,NonseNce....

Dts wickedness nah...

Click Here to See all Celebrities Nude Pics and Video Leaked Online

Ezinwa said...

You are judging like a person who have not been in an abusive relationship. Until you realise how powerless persons especially women in abusive relationship feels. The question is how we may empower people who are trapped in such relationship.

God save dat modaf**ker. If I was d 1 n d child is mine or not, I'll cut his Dick. I'll die trying Dan seat n do nothing. RIP (Rest In Prison) wish ur ass wil be kicked or fucked.

d mother of d kid na mumu

Codedexam said...

Where is this world goinn => Bad: Ghanaian TV Presenter, Delay in Sextape Scandal! See leaked pics/video(viewer Discretion)

Dont judge Linda, it is only when you live in an abusive relationship that you can understand what it involves. She still has one child to protect.

She was quite young and she probably felt helpless...dont knw wat to say...it's just so sad...abusive men are terrible...and u knw white pipo aint strong...#helpJobEmmanuelof star the winner is

Nigeria is even worst. This woman deserved to be punished severely. *******QUEENMAYA*****

I can only speak for myself. Any body touch my children i will fight you with everything i have. They should have kept her in jail longer .

Here's one of the main problems I have. She had admitted to shoving the girl in frustration AFTER the beating incident, and the girl hit her head on a wooden bed. After that, the little girl's eyes rolled back into her head & she was then unresponsive. So the last blow she received before she died was from her own mother. Furthermore, there were other abuse allegations against the mother prior to this. Maybe she wasn't responsible for the most severe parts of the girl's beating, but she wasn't just a victimized bystander either - she actually contributed. Who shoves their child into a bed after they've been so brutally beaten? Not someone deserving of being let free. Tragic.

Wen d gud guys r asking dem out dey turn dem down n say I like "bad guys"...she shud hv served more jail term

Arebeedayme said...

Still wonder y a sane man 'll resort 2 domestic violence.

See I kinda understand her stand in wanting her bf to calm down, she was scared! But a good mother would have grabbed a stool and smashed it over his head, a loving mother would have rushed over to the guy and begged him to hit her instead but she is none of that! She obviously had both kids by accident! I don't actually care for her but the kid killed off so badly!

If I were the mum u hit my child na otapia pia for the MF food straight

& sm women veeeery stupid!!!she endangered her children!!!quite stupid of her...

mba nu she is guilty biko

Umm, she was obviously young n Naive, she probably thought she was in lov, a single mother at her age finding a man, he was probably taking care of her n she was too scared to loose him, fear can make pple go blank n dey wunt be able to do wat dey wud ve done if in deir right senses, so d Judge did what every human with a trait of sympathy wud ve done, justice doesn't always ve to be punishment.

Helena said...

Story for the Gods

Nonsense she doesn't deserve to be free abeg

What is this world coming to, that is really sickening and disgusting!!! A man kills your daughter, and you couldn't even defend the poor child, a child that you carried in your womb for 9 months!!! A very evil and dark world smh!!! Whizman

chincobee said...

Well it should have been easier for the woman to report to the police all the while this was happening before it deteriorate to the death..Too bad the child had to suffer all of that.She learnt her lesson the hard way sha

What is this world coming to, that is really sickening and disgusting!!! A man kills your daughter, and you couldn't even defend the poor child, a child that you carried in your womb for 9 months!!! A very evil and dark world smh!!! Whizman

God have mercy

She wanted him to kill her child.

My ex-husband,Boyfriend.But ur Child or kids are urs forever.if Marrage or relationship nor work nor be by force,you cant injure my child let alone kill her or him ,nor go dey.

You are so right Omaa. Cos I have been there.

Lin da its not her fault

Wickedness

I totally agree with you. If woman will learn to notice the sign early n leave the relationship for good immediately, there will be less of horror news like this.

My ex tried it with me especialy wen i got pregnant. But i wouldnt bow to him like that. No man has such power over me to the point where he will lay hands on my baby n i will do nothing. He tossed my baby on the bed n proceeded to choke me. Needless to say that put an abrupt end to the already sick reationship. God forbid that i will seat back n watch some donkey's ass put their hands on my offspring like that. The fool has no access to my precious without my say so, and that he doesn't get.

The woman tolerate him, she's telling him to calm down for her daughter. What is her gain all this thing she is has now been expose ,dat's the height of stupidity .

Nah drug dey high am,illicit drug is nt good

are u tired of body,waist n joint pains,menstraul pains,poor ejaculation,slow erection,weakness,tirdeness diabetics,pile,hypertension,high blood pressure,athriatics,come n get ur cure,kal 07034406875,or 2 join d massive company GNDL KAL 09093380635.browse mao on GNDL nd b sure.miss loveth,4 lag based mostly

Adeola said...

Both of them are Crazy. I guess the guy don enter market already and as for the lady, she is a nonentity. They both deserve thorough punishment.

Info Tapsel said...

All these men. You hit my child, I will die fighting you.

beatz said...

Ah disagree..it'z a kind of emotional issue that goes deeper btw d abused nd d abuser...she tinks he loves her nd makes her feel all wrng doings ar her fault...

That is what happens when u prefer a jerk to cool guys. I'm pretty sure he wasn't the only one asking u out then u chose him so my dear deal with it. And as for u bast*rd, it is blokes like u that give us all bad names. May u r*t in hell. B4 taking any decision in life ALWAYS THINK TWICE. #2637C551

I dnt give men d pleasure of seeing her talk less of hitting her U̶̲̥̅̊ wan diie

Modupe

This is crazy act, he deserve life in prison. I don't think the lady deserve more years in prison. Suffered enough

Contact us if you need information about admission into Tertiary Institution in Turkey/Cyprus...SCHOLARSHIP TUITION! aviolaconsultltd@hotmail.com

U re MAD

you are right linda.you dont need abusive man for no reason.

Madu Ugo said...

@ Linda......... dont even think of grabbing something to hit someone stronger than u in this life cos if he succeeds in overpowering u and taking the weapon..... yours is case closed...... simply shout for the neighbours to assist then call the police.**** safest thing to do.,.... cheers

Caroline said...

this is very wrong,i'm so sad right now for this poor child,to think she went through so much at the age of 3.that guy is a freaking possessed bastard,hes demented.i think the judgement wasnt fair enough..just life in prison? this guy deserves to be shot in the head,brought bk to life ,mind you he's still in pains from the last bullet though,shot again till death,brought bk to life again then tortured finally till death again,bloody fool.and the mother,i have no words for her,why stay in an abusive relationship for so long when u have kids that young,and u just told him to calm down and go out? yeah,like that'd have worked.Naah i think she's sick too,who does that? Anyways,the guilt you'll live with for the rest of your life ehn,you'd have preferred a death sentence.I'd prefer to die than watch someone beat my child to death...this is a warning to all those in abusive relationships,if you like stay there and die oo ontop love,i dnt know why we still have stories like this in our present world with soo many women empowerment centres around...God help us all though! I pray i never have to experience this cos i know i'm not even freaked about relationships and attachy behaviour,Godforbid. and btw,whats so touching about the story she told d judge and jury that made them change the sentence? There's no excuse for this whole story no matter how educated and exposed you are.Linda i feel your pain biko.

Sometimes we make decisions that end up taking too much from us..we should learn from this. Criticism won't change anything.
Pls reason Dr90ng's blog for health tips.

This people are very sick. What a story.