Ponmo consumption is dangerous to health- Leather Scientist says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 October 2014

Ponmo consumption is dangerous to health- Leather Scientist says

The Director General of the Nigerian Institute of Leather Science & Technology (NILEST), Zaria, Dr Isuwa Adamu, has said that consumption of animal hides and skin, popularly known as Ponmo is dangerous to human health. Speaking to the News Agency of Nigeria, NAN, today in Abuja, Adamu said scientific research has shown that ponmo doesn't have any nutritional value to human health and that some of the animals where ponmo is gotten from are usually sick & harbor dangerous chemicals.
"In fact, it is not advisable for you to consume ponmo in the sense that some of the animals killed and used for ponmo actually have skin diseases. Some of these skin diseases are such that boiling them ordinarily, may not kill the bacteria. Some of the animals because of the ailments that they have gone through, are sometimes treated by way of injection with chemicals. 
People don’t allow these chemicals to complete its cycle and be removed from the body; they sometimes go ahead to kill these animals. So, if you consume the ponmo, the tendency is that you are consuming the chemicals directly because the skin part of the animal retains most of the harmful substances. Remember your skin is the major protective organ of your body and your skin harbours so many of the harmful things that are supposed to penetrate into your body,” he explained.
He advised the Federal government to put in place policies that would reduce the consumption of Ponmo in Nigeria.

211 comments:

1 – 200 of 211   Newer›   Newest»
Plateaupedia said...

Story story! Ponmo till i die!!! By the way am first to comment for the first time yaaaaaay

ok we here u
.from nwa nkwerre

Asin this ponmo that I'm seeing here is dangerous to health? I would rather die eating ponmo.

ok we here u
.from nwa nkwerre

ok we here u
.from nwa nkwerre

fungi said...

wow and they know this after how many years? yimu

Olajumoke said...

Even the picture of Ponmo u posted is mouth watering.....Linda u no good oooo

Iro nla! I don't buy that. Dangerous ko. I'm salivating seeing this photo that you used Linda. Oh my Gosh!!!! Please leave ponmo for us ooooo.

Linda why be say na Ponmo wey dem don Garnish with pepper (ponmo alata swe swe ) you come see put for here ...right now i m Salivating

ok we here u
.from nwa nkwerre

Am sO scared......rubbish....

Me?make I no chop ponmo?how?how is dat even possible?

superhattitude said...

Ponmo that our forefathers ate and nothing happen to them mtcheew abeg make una talk better.All this ur mumu research self.

U people should openly say we should not eat ponmo again, that it should be used for leather production. Is itnjustbthe skin that has disease? What about the flesh? Mtcheeeeeeew. XxxxxxxxxxNdubuaku

Am so scared......rubbish.....

Tah! See his mouth like ponmo is dangerous. Just say u want to start exportation business!

Story for the gods... Bros, i no dey chop raw ponmo but cooked one gannish with ingredient.... Believe me if yu chop my mumsy ponmo u go stop this rubbish write-up i swear.....

son of God said...

after d whole burning of d ponmo by the butcher nd den d boiling in hot water by d market women nd den d proper cleaning wit iron sponge nd boiling in hot water by my mother??,...God punish dat bacteria nd chemical make den no die....ponmo nd ewedu wif amala till death do us part

abi craze dey worry them?
what then do we eat?
ponmo has nothing to do with being rich here biko.
i prefer to eat my ponmo in any form than eat chicken o

ok o
It Takes Special Grace For A Lady To
Trust Her Man [ A must read ]

impossicant

okwa dat igbo gal said...

Yoruba ppl..have u heard!

MollyBliss said...

It's a fat lie coz they want to stop the mases from eating ponmo.

Dis idea won't work... Kpomo is here to stay!!

Good

ASHANKA said...

POMO WEY ME LIKE NA HIM DEM WAN BAN... ABEG MAKE DEM STOP AM OO

Na lie!

Which health,e gbadun,I am 20ty sumtin years old,and I hav ate gbomo at least once a week and I never die,come on make una no popo us joo,gnomo for life,linda post ma comment oooo

But if u eat d food were ponmo dey, weda u eat d ponmo or nt d diseases don enter ur body nah

Ɨƚɑ., Ɨƚɑ., Ɨƚɑ., story 4 the gods.

Blizzy aka founder of pigin English.

Hian wahala..
I eat cow leg; isn't that also Pommo?, and I believe if it's dangerous for human consumption, I won't find it in shopping malls..
This guy just want to put some ppl out of business.

*My R1.50c comment*

Na lie! Yeye leather scientist, fake!

No wonder there is this kinda taste this ponmo brings when u never turn am with stew

TUFINE said...

dis is bad news 2 me coz i luv ponmo wella

Una want make yoruba people start their version of boko haram abi,Abeg leave kpomo for them

D ROCK said...

because of the ailments that they have gone through, are sometimes treated
See Pastor Caught using Fake prophecy to Take Advantage of His Female Church member

This is the scientific true lies good enough to divert kpomo from mass food consumption to mass leather marketing. Good moves guys.

Abeg oga scientist go sleep! So its now you want to tell use ponmo has no nutritional value? Thanks we know that, the beef and fish will supplement it.
*nelly*

Story for the gods!!!.......

APPLELIPX said...

Maybe dats what is makin me sick now... too much pomo

Blessed Child said...

I don't believe this. I'm sure dis is to discourage pple frm it so that it can be diverted to leather. Wonder why they didn't see that since and besides it goes thru 2 process. Its being boiled b4 displayed in d market and nobody eats it without boiling. Anyway God will pretect all us from harm. No meat is 100 safe

Okokobioko! Never liked it that much anyway

ella john said...

Good to know
Face of lib

But why you no dey post comment Linda....your becoming a selfish b*tch and am getting worried,u post what u like now?

I read something about this somewhere else... hmmm, me i like pomo o, this people should chill man

Why would a Director general make such claims without presenting facts. How many people have died from Ponmo? what chemicals does he refer to? What bacteria?...nah wa o

Lindodo dis ponmo pix is delicious oooo....lol

Abeg, make u no let Yoruba people hear u talk this nonsense.

You are telling Nigerians not to eat ponmo????…You are a joker! It won't work. lol.

PHINITE said...

Ah nawo oo! Am salivating already jst looking @it n u say its harmful? Oga ooo, noting. Can com btw me n my pomo o.

First una wan ban the ting,now una wan use health catch us Mugu abi? Abeg gimme some ponmo there! God punish the devil,oil money no do again.

Story for the gods

Hehehehehe. Rubbish talk

Nice post, but nxt tym u are reposting a content, always give credit to the original post

Sir no spoil market fr pple jare,pple v bin eatn dat meat fr decades yet dey r stil alive......confuse pple always sayin rubbish.wat wil d poor feed on?

Abegi, make we hear word!

Thanks a lot Linda,ur d bestest.

Gosh.......I can't take my eyes off dat pommo, they r tempting.

KINGLOU’s BLOG said...

C the Conspiracy. They have said they want to ban it so they can export and make good money. Now see the lame excuse

olu sales consult said...

Ok!

See wetin den wan do ponmo! Chai, nd u linda come finish am wt dat "alata"...Pls join me to fight for ponmo as we fought "EBOLO"...#iloveponmo lol!

lol

Kai Na wa oooo,everyday new things spring forth......It's well

Boredom is making this man talk rubbish. If he's bored, do research on Ebola or hiv. Nonsense.

ukbliss said...

I pity Yoruba ppl shaa

Na now dem know say ponmo dey kill abi? Dem want take style ban its consumption so that companies go get leather make shoes.

THESE SO CALLED SCIENTISTS ARE NOT SERIOUS.I AND MY FAMILY CANT DO WITHOUT EATING PONMO.ATLEAST TWICE IN A WEEK.

Oh plssssssss tell that to my stinky socks. Continues eating ponmo. *sips tea*

*** forst to comment ***

Although I'm a lover of ponmo, I totally agree with him. Now I know why the FG wants to ban our lovely ponmo. I'll miss ponmo o.

P.S: Linda don't mind those people that hate success. As far as I'm concerned it doesn't matter if all the blogs share the same news. What matters is how the blogger shares the news/story. And LIB with a committed blogger like you who takes her time to share news/blogposts with a personal touch of sense of humour...I can't help but laugh at the battle that "man" has chosen to fight. Is anyone stopping him from making his own millions from blogging ???
Linda Ikeji keep doing what you know how to do best. God is not asleep.

Oyo for you.

If not for the call of ponmo ban..this their research might not surface!

Jade said...

I feel like am being bullied to layoff ponmo by the government. Dude is most def Antiponmoist!

Ponmo way people don dey chop since beginning of the earth scientist una don come

Awon oloriburuku , finding means of sha banning ponmo . Una no go succeed cuz ponmo toh ka bi taya ti ata de ti sasi inu e lo le shey for we ooooooooo

They don cum again oh!

God punish that idiot

No more ponmo for una..you heard???olabode82@yahoo.co.uk

#king said...

Abeg shut up..Look for something better to do with ur life...........................#KingOfKings

Damn! Cold world...They ganging up on ma nigga ponmo...smh!

Kim said...

Wow this a first..lol.. but educative tho . thanks linda you r doing a great job though even tho u can be a real tatafo some times :)

Ezekiel I Mcbernards said...

Na lie ooo its a scam to turn Nigerians against the habit of eating kpomo, the other time,dey wanted to ban its consumption and now they resorted to another method to play on our innocence coz dey know that Nigerians are too ignorant and porous to issues that concerns health, Our leaders,I'm so disappointed. Good evening. My fellow country people

cupid cupid said...

I love dis pix oh.......

Mallam, Since When Abeg? Ponmo Was My Grandma's Fav. And She Lived Upto 120 yrs. I Disagree With Thee!

Iro nla! Big lies. Our 4modaz ve bin choping ponmo b4 den born ur ass. All bcos u wanna make uses of it. Eti yawere

Ehimakonor said...

How kpomo go kill me??

Dammy Ikeji said...

Na lie jor....at least its safer than red meat..

We the association of Ponmo Lovers say enough is enough .. can't we have freedom to eat our food??u can sell ur share of Ponmo to Gucci and ferragamo , but we want to eat ours... Shikenna

Are you for real!!! After how many years of Ponmo's consumption is this now an issue. Are you saying that all the cows use for Ponmo are sick? People are aware that it has no nutritional value but it has no fat and at times, this is the only thing that some people can afford.

Dem no want make we chop again o. Ponmo alata. There's God o

Big big lies jorrr ...our great great grand parents have been consuming it up to dis generation, just bcos they want to stop d masses from eating it, they r bringing stupid scientific explanations ( meemee ).

Abegi his high oo,pomo goes way bak

What he said is ok bt all dis tym u dnt care abt us consuming it, even thought its dangerious healthwise now dats u planning 2 ban it and make it into wateva u wanna make it into,u den bring dat up.dats bad.

Propaganda begins to start a new money making industry for corrupt politicians....SCARE the citizens silly! SCARE us all...

Thanks 4 dat

Story for the gods next pls........

Lol and "ponmo" fans will hurt.

dhobiz said...

Depends on how you cook the ponmo jare

Who cares. Obviously not us.

Oscu Uhunamure said...

Hehehehe...naija! S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ as leather D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲ scarce 4 market...D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲ told Mr.man 2 cm nd convince us 2 stop enjoying..lol...biko you pple shud leave us alone...as una D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲ chop †ђξ money...mk we D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲ chop †ђξ ponmo naw...atleast 4 nw...hehehehe..

#LIB brand ambassador

Story for d gods...off to get me some pomo...with plenty pepper...man no dey die twice

Duchess___ope said...

Fuck dt.... load of bullshit

Eziokwu! Go and do more research, instead of U telling Us that there is shortage of leather U r here saying rubbish.

#Leaveourponmoalone#

Eziokwu! Go and do more research, instead of U telling Us that there is shortage of leather U r here saying rubbish.

If I hear! Yorubas have eaten pomo since time immemorial and still they are as fit as a fiddle. If you wanna make people desist from eating pomo, you gotta try harder.

Abobby no dey tell me big big talk,no dey yarn me,I no wan hear again..heard!!

still like my pommo

Wow wow lindswa buh I still do not believe d part where he said DAT boiling it might not kill d chemicals

super story......... Nigerians eating ponmo since 1814....

dudette said...

Linda that pics alone won't make me heed that advice atttttttallllllllllll.....

Guess dis minister don't knw hw ponmo is been processed,come to adeniji adele under bridge nd see d fire wey dem dey use burn ponmo all d disease wey dey d skin go use b-speed comot..lols
Ola Brampton say so

South Sudan said...

Abegi! It would have killed all the yoruba people naa. He should tell us something else.

Good information. Why is he just saying this now biko? Hmmmmmmm

Abegyyyy they should go and sit down,we have been eating ponmo since we no die

KASS said...

Na lie.... Shebi dem no want mek chop again b4. So they wnat to use dis plot abi, e no go work. Ponmo I stand by u thru ur difficult moment. U shall overcome Uncle Jonathan's Plans against u.

H S C said...

Abeg abeg abeg! Who has kpomo killed??

Dats not a good enof reason joor.if dey say dey want 2 boost our leather industry dat I'll understand.My grandmother n father lived to a very full old age b4 dey died n dey consumed loads of kpomo.n u say I shuldn't chop kpomo #Story 4 d gods#

Lame excuse #team kpomo#

Dats not a good enof reason joor.if dey say dey want 2 boost our leather industry dat I'll understand.My grandmother n father lived to a very full old age b4 dey died n dey consumed loads of kpomo.n u say I shuldn't chop kpomo #Story 4 d gods#

Nonsense because furniture maker's are lamenting that they dont have enough leather for their business. Is now they know is not good for health.

Ponmo Abi kpomo choppers tk note!

Lmao
Na wa oooo *bites ponmo*

Plss if u dont have any more research work to do, just shut up your mouth.

Can u imagine, Linda...after banning bushmeat due to ebola wahala, they are now planning to ban ponnmo...our delicious delight at iya ibeji joint.

They should focus their research on how to produce synthetic hide n skin for manufacturing leather related products, just the way its done in other advance nation.

Plzzzzzzzz. leave our ponmo alone.
.........Mystic Sun

Hieeeee! This truth is hurting.....#and you had to use a pic of ponmo in pepper stew! chai ndi ofe mmanu wont find this news funny ! I wish I didnt read this
I wont be comfortable consuming this thing smh tsew!

Ada Owerri said...

chai make dem no tryam, bt since it is for health matter no wahala...(Rochas We Know 2015)ugochiakuakonam@gmail.com

Linda...u con show pix of tempting ponmo 'alata'...and d write up is to stop consumption.....how on earth will I stop eating it as ur ponmo pix sef dey make man salivate

b4 dem born ur papa... We don dey enjoying ponmo .....because u wan concentrate on leather...now u wan discredit ponmo wey ur mama sef use raise u.....e no go work oooo director

Ponmo consumption is dangerous to health. Says who???

Haaaahaahaaaa.... I can't shout..... we shall continue to enjoy ponmo till baba Jee comes ....

Ponmo is 1910😆😆😅😅

Pon no since 1920😆😆

pls shut up and leave Nigerians alone.do u know wat poor families pass through without having even fish in their daily meal.if u are looking for wat to do,eradicate poverty pls.u think it easy for everyone, come 2015 they'll look for vote again yet people are getting poorer.meat is now for the rich alone and people have been consuming ponmo for decades and everything seems alright. I buy your idea of stopping it but first improve the standard of living.leather scientist for making aba shoes and bags

..nothing do kponmo abeg!👊

Abegi!Instead of saying you want to concentrate on the exportation of hides and leather..Abeg change your style...

Anon said...

Abeg make we hear word jare, see story o. Upon say dey wan dey export our ponmo, who never chop am before? Naija, i hail thee!

All lies
They are just looking for a way to stop pple from consuming ponmo.
Just lyk every other part of goat or cow they are proper meat gotten the way the other parts are gotten.

Reducing the consumption of pinto will not be possible with the yorubas

Hahahaha.......twitter/@dj_smartt

If I hear say Yoruba people hear this one.. Mama fu mi ricey 20naira, macaroni 10, Ewa 10, 5 kpomo, 2 shaki ati abodi meji... #JustJay

He's a fool, he has been paid to come out and say that sh*t...twitter/@dj_smartt

Oga,you and ponmo de fight ni?E injure you?Heyaa!Sorry.

story for the gods.

Abeg make he seize noise na today.small time dem go say fish no good again talking trash.

Na poverty n envy dey worry u.... see ur mouth "ponmo is dangerous to health" Adamu like u. so if dey say make scientists dem come out, Adamu go come out too..

It Can Only Be Paul Barca Benard

TF? This one go hard
Afolabi Tosyne's blog

Linda, this man can cause wahala for this kind of talk and I tell you Boko Haram will get more angrier if they read that government will barn ponmo. I never read or heard that anyone died from eating ponmo which means ponmo don dey safe life for Naija long ago even before that Dr. Adamu was born. Why he wants to reduce ponmo consumption just because he want to do leather business. I guess this Adamu has never ate rice, plantain, ponmo and orisirisi with orobo pepsi before..... Lol. But wait a minute ooo! Is he saying we can not eat goat meat with skin either??? Chei! this man don cause gobe for this country ooo!!! haaaaaa!! My Amala ati abula pelu ogunfe to lawo.... Yepah! Dr. Adamu, i hope say na only you waka come sha but remember THERE IS GOD OOO!! THERE IS GOD OOO! Adamu, THERE IS GOD OOOOOO!!!!

Linda, this man can cause wahala for this kind of talk and I tell you Boko Haram will get more angrier if they read that government will barn ponmo. I never read or heard that anyone died from eating ponmo which means ponmo don dey safe life for Naija long ago even before that Dr. Adamu was born. Why he wants to reduce ponmo consumption just because he want to do leather business. I guess this Adamu has never ate rice, plantain, ponmo and orisirisi with orobo pepsi before..... Lol. But wait a minute ooo! Is he saying we can not eat goat meat with skin either??? Chei! this man don cause gobe for this country ooo!!! haaaaaa!! My Amala ati abula pelu ogunfe to lawo.... Yepah! Dr. Adamu, i hope say na only you waka come sha but remember THERE IS GOD OOO!! THERE IS GOD OOO! Adamu, THERE IS GOD OOOOOO!!!!...... Da Sugar

This mad man is the worst scientist in the world, if cow skin is bad why do we spend good money to buy and eat them in Europe? all this fake educated brain dead idiots.

What research ? You quoted a research finding without a reference, smh. I beg leave my ponmo, ewu Gambia .

Cutemumm said...

Our forefathers didn't die of ponmo abeg....

Cutemumm said...

Our forefathers didn't die of ponmo abeg....

DEguebe said...

Can he swear with the lives of his children if he doesn't have PONMO in his freezer at the moment. And where was he, when my ancestors where enjoying PONMO? may amadioa cos fire and sango to blow him outa that office. Anuofia.

obietrezy said...

So those wey dey chop am since especially our parents wey start to chop am before us nko.. Abegi make them pack one side. Very soon them go talk say chicken and goat meat dey deadly to the health... Una left balls ni

famonzo said...

Naa lie. Round ponmo DAT is soaked in the soup is very good o. Ponmo wey round like tyre. Me likey

YHUR-ZEST-4-LIFE said...

They shouldn't forget that if the skin absorbs this chemicals so will the muscles and other organs that are major source of meat. That is why you have to roast the skin after killing the cow. And boil it to a very high temperature to kill any bacteria still alive(if possible) in it. "Health Ministers and scientist Package your information well.

jossylinda said...

haa so i go miss pomo like diss.

Funso Samuel said...

Lol...i remember my granddpa telling me late last year how he ate ponmo right from his childhood till old age. He died at 125. So si this 'Ponmo Scientist' trying to explain?

#TeamPonmo

No No No No No No..... We are not buying this cheap joke. After many years of eating pomo, u dare come here to tell me my pomo is dangerous to my health? No wahala.... Whether dangerous or not... My stomach must continue entertain pomo.

Dis man wants to cause bad market 4 ponmo sellers... E no work Oga! We go dey chop d stubborn bacteria join. Nonsense! D tin sef don dey hungry me nw

IKEBABA said...

Why they haven't come up with this since??well from a scientific point of view that could actually be true but I think the chances of harm is likely rare*

I love ponmo, i no go liar, na inside am i go drink with tombo, federal government of Nigeria dont talk shit about ponmo,

I like your analysis of how the bacteria can not remain on it. I agree...I support kponmo consumption.

Mr man nobody eats raw ponmo..so fuck out wiv ur mumu search.

Yeah yeah

Ur very funny guy... Lol

Lol.

kk

Brain washing things...If u want to use ponmo for leather production say so and stop talking trash. Scientist ko traditionalist ni

Me i dn't believe dat at all.

Your mum's ponmo? Hmmmmmmm!

If I hear say I stop 2dey chop ponmo 'mtcheew' dey shud kip researching and I will b doin d eating and letz see wat happens 'tongue out' #onelovefromSnow#

OgheneLinda you funny sha, tomorrow una go say motor dey dangerous make we trek go Dubai. Kponmo wen dey garnish food and go make am standard and mioko nai story wan enter? Well if kponmo finish ogunfe still balance.

I think before a Director can come out to make such public statements, he should have supported his statements with results from scientific research and specific tests done. Without that, statements like this remain mere speculations which are yet to be proven and supported by scientific data.
Science is specific-not speculative.

kpomo loyalist said...

Dis is a lie frm d pit of hell. U guys shld say u wnt ti strt exportin leather nt dis crap... Meanwhile why is tinsel actress joju muse goin everywhr witout clothes? Na wa o. Her pics on instagram is a turn off

Kponmo is here to stay..leave story.

Gbam.....

He needs to make more money like dangote ooooooo

pommo for life

Walahi! D tin dey my soup,yesterday na him I cook am chai d ponmon go don wee wee sweet taste to d soup,make federal ministry of health sef com try m and his life will neva remain d same again*mtscheeeww rubbish!

Mo'flourish said...

na lie joor, its just a way of backing up d former story of the governement banning the consumtion of ponmo. Mtchew!!!! propaganda!!!

Read abt dis 2012...its for real

how can it be so delicious then?

MlleP said...

Nigerians don't like to hear the truth and we don't take our health seriously enough. Well, he who has ears, let him hear

This trick wey this Prof.Adamu wan use no go work for am. It means the most of the cows slaughtered at the abattoir with most of the Vet.doctors on duty are having problem? Please where is this man from? tell us also to stop eating goat skin.
hmmm,them tell us no eat bat, we gree,them tell us no eat monkey,we adjust,them tell us no eat bush meat,we comply, now this 'Donkey'say make we no eat Ponmo,Na him skin we go eat? Senior Ode.

If this is true, we can say the same for meat. What about fishes that are exposed to chemicals in the ocean?

We should bring foreign scientist to help us study ponmo well. I'm sure that it has nutritional benefits. Then why do I look this good when I consume ponmo everyday. Hia!

Make una leave dis kpomo issue oooo, nofin go do us!! Tnxxx

PROPAGANDA. THIS IS PROBABLY THE AFTER THOUGHT OF THE CRITICISM BY NIGERIANS WHEN THE MINISTER OF HEALTH MOOTED THE BAN ON PONMO SOMETIME LAST MONTH.

Story for d gods

Mr Lexington said...

hahahaha!, another lie eh!!!...instead of him to say that farmers will make much money from turning this skin to leather than selling it as ponmo. Adamu abeg find another lie jooor people no buy this one jaree!!!

ALL NA STORYYY HE SHULD COME UP WIT BETTER EXCUSE DAN DIS NONSE. OGA GO SLEEP ABEGGGI. KPOMO OF LIFE

Story 4 d gods.

quite funny, to convince real 9ja breed not to chop ponmo, u go try. well ponmo doesnt av nutritional value, true. but it surely serves as a fiber which aids digestion.

Neks said...

story, all the western/southsouth Naijas for don die na..

Choi got hungry after reading this ur comment*on my way to olaiya shitta*

Laughing

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 211   Newer› Newest»