Chinese Embassy in Nigeria denies students visa on grounds of Ebola | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 October 2014

Chinese Embassy in Nigeria denies students visa on grounds of Ebola

The Chinese Embassy in Nigeria has denied visas to some students of Ekiti State University on the grounds of Ebola despite the World Health Organization declaring Nigeria an Ebola free country.

The students were invited to participate in ENACTUS 2014 (Entrepreneurial Action Us), an international competition of young entrepreneurs involving 36 countries slated for 22 – 24th of October 2014 in China in which Nigeria, Senegal, Ghana and Egypt are to represent Africa. But the Chinese Embassy here refused to grant the student visas to go to China.

The Ekiti State University students, who were picked to represent Nigeria having won the ENACTUS Promoted Innovation Competition earlier in the year, have written an open letter about the situation. Find it after the cut...

REPRESENTATION OF NIGERIA AT THE ENACTUS WORLD COMPETITION IN CHINA: DISCRIMINATORY DENIAL OF VISA BECAUSE OF EBOLA VIRUS DISEASE
We write to introduce ENACTUS (Entrepreneurial Action Us), an international non-profit organization that works with leaders in business and educational Institutions to mobilize university and polytechnic students to make economic difference in their communities while developing the skills to become socially responsible business leaders.

We are pleased to inform you that Students of Ekiti State University are slated to represent Nigeria this October in China having won the ENACTUS Promoted Innovation Competition earlier in the year. It should be noted that our institution along with over 40 others in Nigeria have worked tirelessly to contribute positively to the development of our dear nation Nigeria through the ENACTUS (Entrepreneurial Action Us) Platform by embarking on micro economic impacting projects which has improved the quality of life and standard of living of people in our various communities by stimulating economic demand for locally produced products.

Annually, ENACTUS participating institutions come together to share their success stories and the institution with the best innovation that meets all judging criteria represents Nigeria at the International competition which is hosted at different countries. At these international competitions, Nigeria has been duly represented over the years as the leading African country and most consistent top five institution in the Final round of the competition. As a matter of fact, Nigeria, represented by Kaduna Polytechnic won the Third position amongst 32 countries at the international competition which was held in Mexico October, 2013.

ENACTUS Ekiti State University is to represent our dear nation Nigeria this ENACTUS year on October 22nd-24th, 2014 at Beijing, China. However, we have been denied VISA by the Chinese Embassy to participate at the competition due to the incidence of the Ebola Virus in Nigeria this year.
Your Excellency, it is our considered opinion that this an act of international discrimination which needs Your Excellency’surgent attention and intervention. The concerted effort of both the Nigerian Government and her citizens in overcoming the scourge of the dreaded Ebola virus should be praised by the international community rather than it being an excuse for any country that has a strong bilateral relationship and economic ties to the Federal Government of Nigeria to prevent or deny citizens of this great nation theopportunity to promote our innovation and competitiveness in the global stage. We believe that this denial is not only experienced by ENACTUS Ekiti State University but also so many Nigerian citizens travelling to China at this time, we make to the recent International youth Olympics where the Nigerian contingent were isolated thus causing the Hon. Minister for Sports into recalling the contingent back home. We therefore believe that if this trend is not nipped in the bud, Nigeria may soon become pariah state amongst the comity of nations starting the Chinese.

We hereby seek Your Excellency’s to lend a strong voice and action of Support to tell the world in very loud and clear voice that Nigeria is Ebola Free through the ENACTUS EKSU Move tagged “Nigeria is Ebola Free” to give every Nigerian access to his / her right and freedom of association without intimidation and stigmatization at the International level.

In view of the above, we have initiated a social media campaign #NGIsEbolaFree and we plan to spread this message through the social media space to gain international attention.

Please accept the appreciation of our highest regards as we look forward to a quick resolution of the issues not only because of our situation but to save Nigeria’s image.

Yours Sincerely.

53 comments:

Gentle Prince said...

Even China! Na wa o. Them no dey current?

Huhmmmm.

ONYITEX BLOG said...

Thats very unfair.. Anyways, i believe they are just taking precautions
LIB ALL THE WAY!

FIRST LOMO!

Rubylicious said...

Ministry of education should take this issue up. Those students should be granted visas expediently.

Uche Emma said...

This is exactly when and where we will need our Foreign Affairs Ministry to step in as they did with regard to the Egypt Air incident

D fear of Ebola....... Annprettylu@gmail.com

Chinko ppl sha
Wont u do thorough screening for them
Mtshewwww

Just trying to be careful I think! 1thes 5:17-22. BishopDammy#

Nawaaa....

This is serious
I never like that country from the beginning

Nothing these Chinese do surprises me....they complain we are racist to them meanwhile na then racist pass

The Chinese govt is being economical with the truth,this was the same excuse they used in denying my friend visa to proceed with her scholarship program at the last minute.
I hope this issue will be looked into this time around.

They should just stay back home and go to school then......

keisha said...

Witchcraft tinz

Wtf. Can't believe I am hearing this, the students should only be tested and if they are declared safe, then grant them visa.

isaacoal said...

let them go o. Let them go. Embasy my foot.

JP said...

Like seriously!

Na waa o.

Eugenia said...

Choi. This is not funny. Vote Linda Ikeji as the Most Active Blogger of the year. www.socialmediameritawards.com

Dats not fair

Isong... said...

Linda, I LOVE YOU.

I hope the chinese will do same to americans.With this their sleepy eyes.mtcheew

Teelz Nova said...

Dats Racist! Der tink we ar unclean, hypocrites!
#Dontbanpomo!

I like you blog alot, however i have some friendly advise as a blogger you should try to give more of your opinion especially in stories like this,its very easy to copy and past but this is your blog. good day

bimi said...

abah,dis is so wrong naaa.WHO has certified nigeria free,so why dis bullying

APPLELIPX said...

These bloody racist!!!
You have no idea of the chinese segregation

razar mouf said...

Shut that fucken place down right now. Who the fuck do those chink eyed racist Asian Bastards think they are. Yet they full ground for Lagos, ABJ and Ibadan selling their poorly made defective goods. Ko ni da fun won. Close all their shops iin Lagos Island right now. Bastards

I hate ASIANS with all of my being. Black folks are so fucken dumb. These worthless group of people hate you andd typically sell you mediocre low grade items. Yet we keep patronizing them. Can u imagine these bad breathe havingn rat eating son of bitches. I hate chinko people wallahi

Funso Samuel said...

Federal govt should sue them jawe

ACHOR PRINCE NNA said...

DISCRIMINATION OF NIGERIANS.......this is exactely what GEj was avoiding but some Nigerians thought it's politics he was playing. I WISH US WELL.

Neks said...

na this kind rubbish them de see china, person wey no need visa na em go carry ebola enter china,they de crase for head

pathetic....

eeya so naija is not trusted
Mavoo.blogspot.com

What's fuckin with dis China self, pls our Government need to do something fast about d matter,last three weeks one of my close friend went for interview now d same issue of Ebola

Posted by Emeka Igwe said...

mmmm is well
mekinson.blogspot.com

TUFINE said...

dats nt faif nah

Baby95 said...

so not fair,wetiin dey worry all this chico pipo..make dey pack well o abi dem nor like as 9ja nor get any case of ebola.world pipo.

I thought we had being certified ebola free?! Look what these Liberians are doing! They are probably panicking because of the ebola scare in the US

Dats very bad, there is no case of ebola in Nigeria... Twitter/@dj_smartt

are they high? worse case scenario cant they carry out a test?

This is the right time to deal with this stupid consulates, why would the likes of china,south korea and others continue to deny us our right, despite WHO and the whole world has officially accepted Nigeria is Ebola free. This is wickedness! Afteral they cant deny U.S citizens entry despite their fresh case of Ebola. Our President should see to this issue asap, cuz its really affecting the masses.
Once again Mr President, address this as soon as possible.

China no see WHO confirmation of naija being Ebola Free? Make I no vex oh

Sumtin dey wori those china embassy guys ooo!!

tina said...

Hummmmm see matter... tina.agori@yahoo.com

Bibby Palace said...

For the records, there are over 17thousand chinese citizens that are LEGALY resident in Nigeria, not talking about the myriad of illegal immigrants. If the Ebola scourge is something they are really scared of, there citizens should have been evacuated long before now. #NGIsEbolaFree

El-nerd said...

Injustice is everywhere, only GOD can judge us

Nigerians should find a way of also dewing with them.

NIGERIAN UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIPS said...

They, have to find a way of getting those students there, their African zone final showed they have all it takes to win the ENACTUS world cup final..

Haba no b carry ebola pass na

Am sick and tired of all these nonsense. even these ching chang people are also showing us beef. meanwhile they are doing all manners of things here, check the rail contract....

Awon olori kori. And na dem full naija.

Awon olori kori. And na dem full Naija.