Robbers storm Imo Airport, cart away cash | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 October 2015

Robbers storm Imo Airport, cart away cash

Suspected armed robbers this morning stormed the Sam Mbakwe Cargo Airport in Imo state, stealing a huge amount of money at a Micro Finance Bank located as well as in the offices of Arik and Air Peace Airlines. Eyewitnesses say the armed robbers who were well armed, came in two unmarked vehicles and overpowered the few security men attached to the bank.

A staff of Arik, who didn’t want to be named, said personal valuables were stolen by the robbers.
"We are still in shock, how the robbers could have been able to operate freely without challenge with the number of security men at the Airport. It calls for serious concern because if the Airport cannot be safe, where else can be” the airline staff said.
Imo State Police Public Relations Officer, Andrew Enwerem, who confirmed the incident, said contrary to public opinion, the incident was a mere case of burglary and not an armed robbery incident as is being speculated
"We got the report that some hoodlums broke into a Micro Finance Bank at the airport but we did not get any report that they removed cash and no one was killed or wounded. Already investigation is ongoing and the two security men attached to the bank are currently being interrogated”.

41 comments:

Chris J said...

Na wa o! Jamb 2016 UTME form

Insecurity in our country

Damn shit! Wat da hell.... Their rainy day right. ...

Hmm see something!!! Aren't airports supposed to be heavily fortified?!

This is a Serious Issue. Airport security overpowered by Armed robbers?

Dont Leave Your Friends Behind!...Click To Spread The Truth About This Pandemic!

Too much hunger in the land,but that can never be an excuse to rob.

Igbo brothers have started

Only God can save us. Did the robbers diappear from no where to have gained access into an airport with the number of securities they have in every airports?

Only God can guarantee safety, having 1million security doesn't guarantee our safety

They'll soon be caught...

I pray those responsible for dis act should b caught and brought to book accordingly so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others.

GOD HELP NIGERIA

Hmmm..athe chief security needs to be sacked..I think I havent heard of such before

Nonsense, can u imagine what this Andrew Enwerem, saying???? Armed robbers cam to robb airport u re saying trash here. Where were u nd ur security men before those armed robbers take away all what they robb the innocent people????? Wick police man.

Barry said...

Can u imagine how this man tried to commonise this incident??? 9ja!!!

SMURF said...

How can they enter airport to rob? Where are the camera's/ security

ogeee said...

No place s safe in Nigeria anymore

woooow seriously

Aunty linda.....

7F098C19 said...

Stupid weak imo, LAGOS and the central apc lead govt. They can't even secure their people. Engr Emy

Mr Andrew Enwerem u are a BIG FOOL!!! So robbery is normal at airports abi. Mscheeeew! He sounds like d police was even involved.

R u kidding? Dey need to do something abt d security men

Nigeria police are only good at confirming incidents and downplaying serious matters. Is possible their men (police men) committed the crime. I hope that Nigeria police will stop telling us that they are investigating an incident because the public is never informed of the outcomes of their so called investigations.

Some Corrupt Policemen or Bank Security might be involved. Nothing is impossible. Imagine the contradictory statements. No Security Camera(s)? Nonsense...

Whether burglary or robbery, dey shall weren't supposed to break into d airport

Hian! Na wa o! Wahala everywhere. Linda take note!

Mumu like you

Result of inadequate security in Nigeria.

Grammar! Choiyayaya!!!

Na wa oooo a whole Airport, those robbers get liver abeg

Na wa!
A whole airport!

On a high...

OKORO UPGRADED

Rochas' villagers.

This is one big lapse in terms of insecurity. Our Nigerian police are always in contrary of real proven facts and those who witnessed the incident.

oyce said...

@if d airport cannot be safe,where else can be? ?? Loool.
Is d airport supposed to be a safe haven?

oyce said...

@if d airport cannot be safe,where else can be? ?? Loool.
Is d airport supposed to be a safe haven?

Jst pray I dont catch u....Fool