Senate to LiveStream Ministerial Screening | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 October 2015

Senate to LiveStream Ministerial Screening

This is a press statement. Read below...
The 8th Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria has announced that the screening and confirmation process of the first batch of ministerial nominees by President Muhammadu Buhari to serve in his cabinet shall be streamed live on the National Assembly website. Www.nass.gov.ng and Www.Senate.gov.ng
Additionally, on Friday, the Senate through its official Twitter account @NGRSenate, has also announced that the general public would be able to send in questions they would like to ask nominees by forwarding same to their Senators using the hashtag: #MinisterialScreening. All questions must be received before 5pm on Monday.

The @NGRSenate Twitter handle will also be providing live tweets throughout the screening process.

Nigerians would recall that the Senate President, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, took office amidst a pledge to reform the Senate and make its processes more transparent, inclusive and visible by employing e-Parliamentary technology in the Upper Chambers. Since then, the Senate President has tasked the Committee on Rules and Business to develop an e-Parliamentary system that can be employed at Senate Plenary sessions.

This screening will create an avenue for Nigerians from all works of life to partake in governance, as the bridge between representatives and constituents will be bridged; with Senators asking questions sourced from Nigerians on Social Media. Additionally, the submitted resumes of candidates will be made available in the public space for Nigerians to examine.

Bloggers and news organizations that are interested in Live Blogging or Live Tweeting, or those interested in plugging into the livestreaming of the Ministerial screening are asked to contact the New Media Office of the Senate President for entry passes to the National Assembly, and the Senate gallery. All requests must be submitted by 5pm on Monday.

Signed,
Bamikole Omishore
Special Assistant on New Media
Office of the Senate President

52 comments:

O cool, that's a good way to go.

Thieves

A good way to end transparent

We hear

Hembafan said...

Okay. But the Senate president should not be toi hard on them. He should professionally do his job without sentiments.

Okay seen.

Okay seen.

Why

We wey no get mb go come do wetin nw.. This is unfair shah.... #NowPlaying>> gbon gbon: kay....

We all knows who his inconpetent,corrupted minister's will be so they should stop all this noise.
Ministerial screening indeed.

We all knows who his inconpetent,corrupted minister's will be so they should stop all this noise.
Ministerial screening indeed.

Oyah our lady you there for us!...

Whatever!

Vincenzo said...

hmmmm...dats nice

They will all scale tru,no two ways..

Nice one.
Noted.

Ok, that's great news. Although I won't watch sha

ugo said...

What are they being screen for, what are their portfolios?

That's fair enough...

Trendyify said...

is it by live streaming? mtcheww

it is well

Ado-Ekiti 1st son said...

Good one for the Senate!

Folorunso said...

I am loving this senate! Good one! And please stick with the 'No asset declaration form, no screening' stand. I won hear watin Fashola will declare. Or maybe i should remind him to include his shares in the Intercontinental hotel in VI and LagBus...

Wow! Disis really pleasant to read and Nigeria wil definitely get there just matter of time. Its well wit our souls.

better screen it very well o

Aunty linda......

They will do live streaming of it but when it comes to real issue about senate like salary they shot people out. Nonsense

sky said...

This is the first real change in this administration. I am very pleased. Go Naija!

Well noted

Make we for dey see am Koro Koro

Very good, we are marching forward. Dis is a new era. Linda take note!

anonymous said...

This is a very good development. The people have to be involved in governance. Dr. Saraki did a very excellent thing In making sure people see this process as transparent as possible

That's good but why is senator president stopping media from covering his trial live.self righteousness

rednaxela said...

A welcome development!

It will be good if the masses voice are being heard in this new century.

Nice one . well done

Great news

Great news....brings hope back

mstechww unnecessary formalities

Ok noted.

Boss!

faluyi philip said...

Will this exercise still be cordinated by the senate presidant a man who has a lorry load of allegations to address before the anti-graft agent. It will be more polically expedient for him to delegate this authority as it will be highly unfair to any progressive minded citizens of this Nation if he eventually lead the exercise. " Agbe Maluu(cow) nse idajo agbewure(goat)

Now that's change.

Which one is "too hard" on them? Really? Are you kidding me?

Dominion said...

So is there free WiFi to watch it...why them no kuku broadcast am for NTA

Good development