Low Savings: Okonjo-Iweala says she didn't indict the Jonathan administration | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 April 2016

Low Savings: Okonjo-Iweala says she didn't indict the Jonathan administration

Former Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala has debunked reports attributed to her in regards to how lack of political will of Goodluck Jonathan's administration negatively affected the country's savings. Below is a statement issued on Friday by her Media Adviser, Paul Nwabuikwu:
"Some recent media reports have distorted comments made by former Finance Minister Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala regarding how lack of political will negatively impacted national savings over the past few years.
Contrary to the slant given by these loud headlines, Dr Okonjo-Iweala did not indict the Jonathan administration in which she served. 
Rather, she was referring to what many Nigerians already know: the strong opposition by some governors to the Jonathan government’s efforts to save in the Excess Crude Account and the Sovereign Wealth Fund sabotaged this important national priority.
The governors’ criticism of Dr Okonjo-Iweala’s many calls for the country to save for the rainy day are still fresh in the minds of Nigerians.
It will be recalled that this opposition culminated in the Governors taking the Jonathan government to the Supreme Court in furtherance of their position that the Federal Government had no right to “compel” them to save.
Several knowledgeable persons including former Anambra State Governor, Mr Peter Obi have confirmed these facts.
So the issue of Okonjo-Iweala indicting the Jonathan administration over this very public issue simply does not arise.
We urge the media to always consult for clarification whenever the need arises."

50 comments:

Story

I for sey ooooo

Na she sabi

Na she sabi

baba said...

OK now

Most of the governors were PDP governors so no difference. I listened (live) to Dr Iwealas speech. It wasn't distorted.

Anyhow she Polish the talk. The deed has already been done. Linda take note!

Apc@work shame to them.
I know say na apc watch dogs or rats wrote the rubbish but the have failed like terrorist buhari dick head government.
Apc please look for another way this one na bad market.

Thank God she's cleared herself cos when I say what she wrote this morning,i was really angry

So who shld be held responsible?

Mr Smiles said...

You listened live but couldn't tell what was distorted or not. PDP governors who are now APC e.g Ameachi

Whatever decision d president take is his responsibility.this is no excuse at all.

When Jonathan was Governor, Local Government Chairmen did not allow him to save; When he was a assistant lecturer, students didn't allow him to save; Even his salary, it is common knowledge that his wife did not allow him to save. Kindergarten president!!Omooba

D governors led by rotimi amaechi never allowed for savings are facts well known.Apc media should stop d blackmail

Miss linda they're talking to you too😂😂😂😂😂😂

Download my mixtape at www.facebook.com/raybest2011

#reeshahr

lami said...

She is still saying the same thing.

Most of the governors are now in APC claiming saints...Na only God go fit punish all of them.

Most you said, but not all. Most like the ones who also are in this change ship with no compass.do you expect jonathan to compel them to save?. Even after taking him to supreme Court?, he'll No. He is a man that follows the Law.

What is story? The explanation is clear and that was the reality. Occupied Space

VIBEbrown consulting said...

Story for the gods.

Why is Paul Nwabiku always trying to cover up his Madam's 'slip of tongue' with lies. Anyway that's what he is paid for. Why didn't she resign? She is not all that principled. That's her weakness.

How can you save when Amechi the chairman of governor's forum and Fashola and Adams took FG ( Ngozi / Jonathan) to court for not sharing the excess crude account, but now they are the waillers.

Blame game is always the case! What national infrastructures did she advise the govt at that time to put in place with the federal share of the shared funds under her watch? Rather she was more interested in the insane pay and benefits acrueable for fooling the govt that swallowed her crafty World bank cv that betters the lots of our colonialists! Senseless unpatriotic bofoon

Mumu don dey fear.say wah u mean and stand by it #rubbish #clownNation

The same governors who went to court against the FG on Excess crude account are the people that moved from PDP to APC in d last elections and they ensured that all the savings was share to all tiers of the govt and looted all. Now they have the audercity to blame the presenteconomy woes on GEJ administration. God is watching y'all in 10D glasses. Nigerians are there looking lik 200m mumus that we are and screaming "change". No be only change, una go see magic!

Really? You used OBJ in your analysis directly automatically that applies to Jonathan. Spare us the hogwash damage control abeg.

Chinyere said...

Good, she cleared this out. APC always looking for opportunities to say that GEJ is responsible for their none performance. Just allow GEJ enjoy peace. Concentrate your energy in just moving Nigeria forward. This Nation is really in need of the positive impact of the change we were promised. Enough of excuse. Just ask God for wisdom and grace needed for positive impact.

Well said madam, Amaechi was the arrow head then. He can't talk now that he is in the ruling party. God dey

Okkkk

chommy said...

Na dem sabi, Nigeria politics don tire me. Linda observe!

ColdFlame said...

Yea right, it wasn't Jonathan's administration. Most Nigerians'll readily remember I was President/Commander-in-Chief when these events occurred. So blame me and leave good old 'Azikiwe' out of it, unu hear?

FRESH said...

Akuko na egwu.

Chiefo said...

This was exactly what she talking abiut-political will,during OBJ regime no gov complained but during July Nathan regime which he created ECA(excess crude oil account),our new minister of Transportation sir Ameachi was the front runner who dragged Jonathan to supreme court not allow him to save the money and requested for ECA money to be shared among dem all.
I keep wondering when people say Jonathan regime is too corrupt,recall that same man introduced so called TSA up to 75% gradually yo curb corruption, he introduced NIPPIS to all govt agency to curb ghost workers issues,he also introduced BVN to deal with looters,he introduced card reader to reduce election rigging,and also National ID to have full datas of his adult citizens(NIMC),etc,so if Jonathan could do also these policies to curb corruption why do we now castigated him as d most corrupt president?has PMB introduces any related ideas or policies like this?NO.please spare Jonathan and PDP.

Today said...

No - she endorsed the Jonathan Administration. We got her drift.

umpire said...

Read in between the lines even if u listened live. The lack of political means translates to the fact that the institution to enable national savings was lacking even though GEJ tried saving funds. It was the Amaechi led Governors forum and Oshomole that spearheaded the case to court and won. And this is what is meant by the statement that says GEJ administration lack the political will to save. You are so dumb.

Gullible Nigerians!!! Forget so soon

Okay. .

Pls if you do not know anything about what happened pls keep quiet. A lot of Nigerians are so ill informed yet extremely opinioted and base their judgrments on falsehood. Who headed the governor's forum and made such a force of the whole soveriegn wealth issue?. Ameachi. Most of those PDP governors that you are talking about are now in APC.

They want act another movie again

She is complicit if not why didn't she resign in protest?

Isek said...

Jonathan had no power to force the states to save. How much did the Federal government itself save if it knew the advantages of saving? Her message was clear: GEJ was not interested in saving!

No amount of denial can make black white. GEJ government ruined Nigeria and that is the truth. Posterity will judge him and all those that looted our treasury with him.

Ekpenyong Bassey said...

She could not have said what was attributed to her. Liar mohammed and his pack only STEW in LIES AND LIES.
The best however, is that she keeps quiet for a year or 2 on anything pertaining to the GEJ administration that she was part of. Just like the others are doing, coming out only to defend themselves if they are directly and wrongly accused as the Buhari dictatorship is doing against its political opponents right now. Witch-hunting, as keen international observers have remarked and alerted the world. Better still, she can make statements via her media assistant. Anything, she says directly will be grabbed and misrepresented by the desperate gangs of murderers led by Buhari and Osibanjo oppressing Nigerians.

Of course we all knew it was the Governors especially that ameachi

Ibrahim Bello said...

Festus Keyamo - take note

exactly my point..... Story as usual.

paul imaji said...

Willpower or political will means that you have the means,power or savvy to cajole,coerce or convince political entities under you to do the right thing for the benefit of majority of the people. NOI said OBJ's government had this will and GEJ's did not. Do we need a court to define indict for us in this case?

nine said...

Why didn't see advise the Federal Government to save their part of the excess crude account, and divide the rest to the other unit of government. That is proper fiscal federalism.

There is no need blaming the news media who are quite right in their reportage and interpretation of what Okonjo-iweala said. She should have stated categorically that there was lack of political will from the Governors. Mrs. Okonjo-iweala actually indicted Goodluck Jonathan which is unfortunate. She should adhere to the admonitions of the Bible: "Whoever guards his mouth preserves his life; he who opens wide his lips comes to ruin (Proverbs 13:3) Also: "When words are many, there is transgression,but whosoever restrains his lips is prudent" (Proverbs 10:19)

Well, I din't seeing any wrong from these woman, every great