Female Zookeeper mauled to death by one of her Tigers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 April 2016

Female Zookeeper mauled to death by one of her Tigers

A 38 year old female employee, Stacey Konwiser who had worked at the  Palm Beach Zoo for over three years and took care of 4 Malayan Tigers was mauled to death by one of the Tigers she trained on Friday.
According to the Palm Beach Post, she was performing a routine procedure in the night house where the tigers sleep at about 1:45pm in preparation for her show which was scheduled at 2pm in the Zoo when she got attacked and mauled to death by the 13-year-old tiger.

As soon as that happened, Animal Control was contacted about the attack but Animal Control contacted the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission who responded to the call.
Zoo officials issued a code red alert after the attack and the male Malayan tiger received tranquilizers. Visitors were all moved to a safe place and all the 250 animals in the Zoo were accounted for.

Konwiser  was taken to St Mary's Medical Center where she later died after suffering a 'severe bite' wound, a top zoo official told the newspaper.
Her husband of 10 years Jeremy is also a keeper at Palm Beach Zoo.

The zoo was evacuated and shut down and all the guests were safe. Officials say the zoo will be closed for the next two days, according to spokeswoman Naki Carter.
She told the Sun Sentinel:

'The tiger never escaped,'.'We have safety protocols for when incidents like this occur. We initiated those safety protocols.'
West Palm Beach Police said the tiger was tranquilized. Authorities had to wait until the drugs took effect on the tiger before rescue crews could get in to help the victim.
Malayan tigers are considered an endangered species. There are 250 and 340 of them around the world according to WWF.

41 comments:

What a loss

RIP!

U train tiger? Is tiger human? Agu ndu for dat matter o. Rip

RIP to d dead

So sad. The zoo is one place I can never work, so risky with those dangerous animals

Demmy said...

Awww!sad! May her soul rest in peace.

A warning to the odas.
R.I.P

SOMETIMES I FEEL THESE ANIMAL TRAINERS LEAVE FOR WORK EVERY MORNING, JUST HOPING THAT NOTHING GOES WRONG AT THE END OF THE DAY...
HOW CAN YOU LIVE LIFE WITHOUT CERTAINTY?

Free all the bloody animals from the Zoo... Animals are not meant to be caged up and trained for the sake of human entertainment. Rest in peace young lady and warning to the rest still locking animals, tmwr it will be you!

Why do I have this feeling that these animals especially the socalled endangered species are more important to these oyibo people than humans? Slow working tranquillisers? Why not kill the animal? Anyway she knew the risks before taking the job. RIP

And after two days the zoo will reopen and life goes on. More visitors for the zoo after this publicity. Cruel world.

So sorry .rest in Peace.. Animal na animal no matter how much you show him love..R I P

Cutting what,hmmmmm oyibo.RIP

Oh oh!! RIP to her

Hmmmmmmmm Rip madam,u already knw dat one day dis kind tin will happen sha

Saw one video of a Kenyan girl walking with a wild untamed lion! The chills that sent me! RIP!

Sad one! Linda take note!

Rest in peace

oluchi said...

What a waist of live.

Hmmm Nawa!

olagokearemu said...

Every work has it's own hazard and working is necessary for survival may the good Lord continue to protect all workers in all their daily pursuit.Rip to the dead,very painful

Tiger is never a man's friend

OMG

My legs will never stand inside a zoo in this my life time! Never!

Waste , not waist

Poor lady!

Docnancy said...

RIP pretty, what a loss

Docnancy said...

RIP pretty, what a loss

Oil dey ur head my sister!

Mother Confessor

What i don't understand is why they have to wait for the tranquliser to work before the woman would be saved. Cant the tiger be killed. The woman and the tiger which is more important? Misplaced priority. SMG

Mother Confessor

Rip "What a tiger"

Eya!

Arr ah pee

Lol...b4 na dead tiger she go train?

Strong lesson,

So sad.

Animals remain animals, no matter what! This is one of the reasons why I detest this kind of profession. I can never be an animal nor zoo keeper... This kinda things are almost inevitable in such professions but oyibo no go hear..
R.I.P to the dead!

Long Live LIb!!!

Omo na zoo family...even the husband fit dey lion department 4 the zoo!! Choi RIP