Cardinal
John Onaiyekan, Archbishop of Abuja, said the Nigerian government has to
carry out negotiations sooner or later to secure the release of the Chibok girls. His remarks came in the wake of the
release of a video by Boko Haram purportedly showing 15 of the kidnapped
schoolgirls.
The
Archbishop who spoke to Susy Hodges on the second anniversary of the
kidnapping of the
Chibok girls on Thursday April14, said he believes the government needs
"to go beyond a military response" to Boko Haram if they want to rescue
these girls and the thousands of other innocent civilians who are being
held by the Islamic group.
He revealed that there is widespread embarrassment among Nigerians on
this anniversary over the continuing failure to locate and rescue the
kidnapped Chibok schoolgirls despite a global media campaign.
"We are all very embarrassed and very ashamed that over 200 girls could disappear like this."
On the positive side, the Nigerian cardinal said he has learnt that
many of the people displaced from their homes by the Boko Haram
militants when they overran large swathes of territory in north eastern
Nigeria a couple of years ago are now returning to their villages
because of recent advances by the military against the Boko Haram. He
said the Islamic militants are now largely “confined to the inner areas
of the forest."
Asked about whether the government is likely to open negotiations to
secure the release of the Chibok schoolgirls and the hundreds of other
civilians seized by the Boko Hara militants, Cardinal Onaiyekan said he
firmly believes that a military campaign is not the sole means of
solving this problem.
“There have to be negotiations sooner or later. The
government needs to go beyond a military response." Cardinal Onaiyekan
said given the signs that many of the Boko Haram militants are now
"tired" and losing their impetus and much of the territory they once
controlled, they should be encouraged to hand in their arms and seek
reconciliation.
21 comments:
OK o...
OK o...
Hmmmmmm
Mr cardinal so you follow for people wey apc brain washed with this scam na wah oh.
My dear if they are the same girls why are they well fetched?who is feeding them that makes them look healthy like?who is fooling who.
No girls or women is missing they are in shettima's underground in government house very soon the will release them and fools will result awwwwwww.
Tueh with cough on apc fools face for this scam.
Bikonu ka nnu nti
Honestly,i dnt knw wat to say again abotu this issue
Let God take control
May you die a sudden death. If it was your sister that was taken will you be spilling this bile? Fools everywhere on this blog. From the owner of the blog to people like you and stern. Devil punish your generation
No need crying when the head is off. Linda take note!
Poor girls
Sigh
Download my mixtape at www.facebook.com/raybest2011
#reeshahr
Its well
Dix freborn guess ur mum smelly pussy affected ur brain in the process of giving birth to you
We are tired ooo! Buhari help usBreaking News!!! Nigeria Chibok girls shown alive in Boko Haram video
Ok ooooo
Alright. Linda observe!
Nawa o. Linda observe!
If cardinal Onayeikan could be civil enough and stop addressing boko haram an islamic group it will be better, they are not muslim but terrorists
Okay..
Resultant of clueless GEJ
God will bring these girls home as those that's are supposed to protect and fight for them have failed them
Take heart,