Mother killed, baby injured, when tree limb falls on playground | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 24 June 2015

Mother killed, baby injured, when tree limb falls on playground

A 16-year-old Polk County mother was killed Friday when a tree limb fell on her and her young son.
LaRena Drayton was killed in Peek Park when the limb fell while she and 1-year-old Jeremiah Drayton were sitting on a park bench.

According to LaRena’s sister, the young mom had just moved her son from the baby swings to a park bench when they heard “something crack.”

She says, LaRena tried to run with Jeremiah in her arms but they weren’t fast enough.
LaRena was knocked unconscious and later died while Jeremiah was flown to Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta in Sandy Springs with a skull fracture.
Cedartown Parks and Recreation said in a statement,
“Our hearts have been heavy since learning of the tragic accident at Peek Park. The passing of Miss Drayton has left our city saddened and we grieve alongside the family for a life that was undoubtedly cut short. We continue to pray for the recovery of Miss Drayton’s young son who was seriously injured in the accident. We ask that everyone keep the entire family in your thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.”
A spokesperson for the department says it is investigating why the tree limb fell but that right now it looks like a healthy tree and a freak accident.

61 comments:

DADDYSWIFE said...

Eyah may her soul rest in perfect peace im Jesus name.amen! N may God heal n protect d baby in Jesus name.amen!
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade

damn!!

Chai!!

It's well with you baby gal.

Omg, dis is rlly sad..I hope d bby wasn't badly injured..

rip to her my heart goes to d son too ...

sue sue sue d bell I hear from a distance

but I knw naija bebes not DAT kind of tree go kill dem never dey go tru worst sef

So sad...😭😭😭

How sad!

75billion said...

Wao. Very serious, Lord, have mercy

Dave Mide said...

Very sad!

Kai such a happy baby ...rest in peace their souls

Imagine what killed her, very sad#RIP!!!

This is so sad. May she rip.

How so unfortunate

Sad to hear. (people see www.noozyes.blogspot.com)for tech and health news

Rest in peace. So sad

Sad story. RIP woman and get well soon to the little one

Adetunji Saka said...

OMG! This is tragic. May their soul rest in perfect peace.

"Condolences"

Adetunji Saka said...

OMG! This is tragic. May their soul rest in perfect peace.

"Condolences"

A mother at 15yrs? Ok...not my biz sha. RIP kiddo, I hope Jeremiah survives.

COLLIN said...

Sad

Arinze Chiji said...

this is tragic

Some sad ish.

Oh no

Tins happens dat beats our imagination in life. RIP to her, and speedy recovery to d child injured.

So sad. RIP

Property Arena Ng said...

RIP and quick recovery for the young lad

So bad..Rip

Chaii RIP

www.glowyshoe.com said...

So sad...mat her soul rest in peace

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Oh no so sad. RIP

aaarrrrr.....this is sad.....

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Angelhil said...

LORD HAVE MERCY

EHYA,...RIP TOMJERRYSWIT

eyaaa, so sad, God pls heal her son

God have mercy, may her soul rest in peace...seyilicious

Lilian Fc Barcelona said...

Oh God,this is terrible.May God heal the little boy.

Aya so sad.. may her soul rest in peace and may God comfort our loved ones

*her

Oh my! So sad! May she RIP. I wish d little angel swift recovery.

Very sad! RIP

Polk County is where? Anambra? Please post like we are unlearned and want to be learned.

So sad, may her soul rest in peace and a speedy recovery to the little boy. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!

So young a mother...my sympathy goes to d child who will hv to live in dis world witout a mother....GOd pls take care of dat child....

lami said...

RIP to the mother, speedy recoovery to the baby.

Aces said...

Sounds like something from the movie final destination, guess her time was just up, RIP to the mom and quick recovery to the child

Ozioko G said...

Oh! ndoo sorry rest in peace woman

So sad!

That baby is so cute. RIP to his mom.

Aww so sad..may her soul rest in peace n I wish her bby quick recovery.

chris said...

may god heal her son and let her soul rest in peace

chris okeke said...

may her soul rest in peace and may our good lord heal her son AMEN

Funky baby said...

She was beautiful, so sad, Rip to her and quick recovery for her son i pray

God save him

This is really heartbreaking! Wishing the son speedy recovery and may God rest the soul of the mother....

OMG! I wish d baby quick recovery & may his mum soul rest in peace. Amen