Mom's photo of 'perfect' post-baby body goes viral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 26 June 2015

Mom's photo of 'perfect' post-baby body goes viral

What's sexier than a six-pack? Rocking a "flabby belly" and stretch marks, says mother of four and musician Kimberly Henderson. After fans told her she had a "perfect" body, Henderson bravely uploaded an "unedited" selfie of her bare belly to Facebook page for all to see.

Everyone always compliments me on how I have such a "perfect" body after 4 kids. I decided to upload this pic and leave my belly "unedited" "unphotoshopped" because I used to struggle with accepting my body after kids. I used to have a six pack before my babies.. And now even though I work out I know its not going to make my loose skin tight.. Or my stretch marks disappear ever lol and I'm ok with... that because everyday I get to wake up to 4 beautiful smiling faces and I'm reminded that they are worth this flabby belly and they are worth these stretch marks. I still wear a bikini because being a mother makes me feel beautiful.. Not having a flat tummy. It took a long time to get there.. Because I struggled so much with my body. I struggled so much because I was young and all these girls my age had perfect bodies and I was in my one piece bathing suit trying to hide all my flaws. And I'm not trying to say I have it worse than anyone else or bad or anything like that just reminding you guys.. 
That your body is beautiful... BECAUSE we ARE moms and we ARE superheroes and we freakin ROCK and in my opinion that is sexier than any 6 pack!
"I wanted to show other women that I am just like them stretch marks, loose skin" but "I still wear a bikini because being a mother makes me feel beautiful."

This post got 235,044 likes and 23,282 shares.

Other women have followed Henderson's bold photo with some of their own, while comments generally sound something like this: "You inspire me. After having my first daughter I have been so hard on myself and accepting my body...I feel so ugly but posts like these make me stronger."

Henderson writes that one woman even told her, "Your story saved my unborn child."

And when a man wrote that he knew women with three kids and abs who "looked better," Henderson took the high road.

"That's awesome...but some women who have loose skin and stretch marks can't," she writes. "This post is about embracing your imperfections."

Ashley McTyre said:
I wanna like this a million times. I have 3 biological kiddos and they of course took a toll on my body. I have struggled for years to finally come to terms with my stretch marks and loose skin. It's taken me forever to love my body again (and even now I have my days lol). 
Kimberly Henderson said: I still have my days too!! But at the end of the day.. I think to myself.. This is MY body... I have 2 choices embrace it or spend my time being upset about it!
I chose to embrace it! We're not perfect.. Especially after having babies! That's normal:) remember... confidence is sexy, motherhood is sexy, not just flat tummies and being skinny! Love you guys!you're beautiful!

75 comments:

Not perfect at all

Let's stop this post baby body obsession. It doesn't add any span or worth to our lives.

Ooo

Hiss! Wht is so perfect abt dis looking young face but old body of her's wit over flat sucked in tommy.

She tried, and I wish her well. God bless her.

Sonipinky said...

Henderson,u rock!!!...Motherhood is really sexy!

Women watch and learn.....

Aww this is so inspiring!

becky said...

Aww omg I want to like this post over n over, we should embrace our body after childbirth, it might not be easy at all but when you see ur kids is really worth it :) not for some people trying to copy some that finished doin sugery n tummy tuck in after childbirth (is not bad fyi) just don't kill urself tryin to look that way that's al.. God bless us women!

Now datz inspiring....beautiful

All ya mum's rock

Perfekt words just for me

She's cute I admire her courage

Kudos to her, I love her 4 this

DeeD25 said...

Ewwwww!!! not nice.

okay.....seen.

Women and body issues! A good surgeon can fix loose skin. It's all about money.

This is beautiful .it inspires me

So long as it mks her feel special, na she sabi

wow.....so nice of her

Fact!

Wow!
Good inspiration.

Word dear, being a mother makes everything worth it. Dave

Lol.. Whatever u feel comfortable in and sexy, own it and rock it!!!

lovely heart said...

This is encouraging, though I ll continue to work toward having flat abdominal

Motherhhood is sexy #word#

True talk.

Miz_wendy said...

For a mother of four? Yea

Miz_wendy said...

For a mother of four? Yea

Gimplex logistics said...

Nyc. I totally agree cos she's inspired me too.

Woooooooow! I'm so so inspired. Linda take note!

Wats sexy abt d stomach

Real mother talking...seyilicious

Jojo said...

Way to go. Proud mom.

She still look Hawt though.

Proud mama.

"It's ybrecoz"

Am proud to be a mother of two cute boys. One love to all mother out there." Agan ti ko yi bi won a fi owo ala bo osun won a fi pa omo lara". Ameennnnn.

I LUV DS..SHE LUKS REAL n NOT DOSE ONES DAT GOES. UNDER D KNIFE

Wow! I love this!

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Wow! Love dis, xpecially d "ur post saved my unborn child"... Women embrace ur body..

Suzielicious said...

Thank u Kimberly Henderson! Tell them o... Motherhood is sexy!

Edited or not, it still looks okay
4 a mother of 4.

Gelobs said...

Gud for her

That's beautiful

Please let them know

She looks very pretty weda edited or not.

A mother of 4 she is beautiful!

Good to know

unknown said...

You're just a sad being! I'm surre your belly is way bigger even with no kids.. mumu

About time people recognise that pregnancy actually takes its impact on a woman's body!! Her belly is real and normal. I will embrace my stomach as it's a sign of motherhood!!

Hiss! Wht is so perfect abt dis looking young face but old body of her's wit over flat sucked in tommy.

She tried, and I wish her well. God bless her.

The things women go through to have kids. This is why being a baby mama is the worst thing ever. If you have to go through all these changes, at least get the right title. I love her for this

I love this write up

Mrs Power aka MP said...

R u alright? So u will prefer to leave ur body anyhow just bcos u have kids? Biko ladies let's continue to work on our bodies. We might not be skinny like we used to be, and dat stretch mark might never leave again but pls let keep trying to look our very best.

N yes I'm a mum of 3 pretty girls with a set of twins inclusive. So I knw abt fat thighs, flabby arm, pot belly and strech marks.

Chinnybaby said...

Inspiring.... Proud Mama

Oh! This post just made my day. Can't remember d last time i stared at my naked body on d mirror cuz I'm afraid of how i'll feel. But hey, i love my kids more than a six pack belly and firm boobs!

royal priesthood next time read and comprehend before you comment.....let me break it down for your retarded mind.....people said she had a perfect body. she showed a picture without the clothes to show the body is not perfect but she loves herself all the same.....this is commendable especially in Hollywood where there is pressure to look picture perfect after childbirth...the reality is that we are not perfect, moreso most of them start doing exercises/dieting or surgery soon after...
as for me I just had twins and lost alotof weight which made me look good but it wasn't what I did but I had a difficult pregnancy and eating was war..

lol

TV women have made it seem like having kids ruins your image, your figure, rushing to the GYM to get back the body, it is good finally to see a brave one.

Ladun Liadi said...

SEXY IS NOT BRAVE.
it is self-assured in its sexiness.
Is a 6-pack brave?

wow. not bad at all

Linda, these are the kind of posts you should put up; inspiring posts, not eggplants, transgenders and what-have-yous. Kudos

Nky said...

she is got confidence..

After four kids... Please keep your stupidity to yourself

May u never hear d cry of a baby in your family amen,just remain barren with your perfect body amen.

prettiyz said...

I love what she wrote and her body is not that bad

Royal watever u kal urself, do u read at al? Olodo oshi

Your most stupid comment yet! So ul expect d lady whol marry someone like u, to look exactly d way she was after having kids abi? Especially African men who don't want them too skinny before marriage, what do u expect after kids? Rubbish!

Shut up! Olodo, olori eja! Ure a man, u can't get pregnant yet ur tummy z five times bigger than her! This z d real mummy tummy pple. Don't be fooled by all those photoshopped perfection

So cos she has money, she should go under d blade everytime she has a child? When she dies while having tummy tuck d 3rd time, your silly sorry ass will marry your next victim. Selfish bunch!

Mothers rock!

Numerouno Princess said...

I'm happy 4 her courage

Linda, do u just hate my comments or u r selecting cos I don't know the reason why u don't post my comments, I don't right negative comments, but if u have ur favourites no problem, I won't bother wasting my time again. Thanks!

I have to commend this write up, it's so inspiring. I'm a new mom(my son is about 5mths) and prior to being pregnant, I was type that loves to look 'tight' ( all them flat tummy, sexy clothes, killerheels, long hair, artificial nails and lashes).infact, im always well packaged...lol but my flat tummy disappeared after giving birth cos I gave birth thru CS and was somehow restricted from any form of exercise. Sincerely speaking I've been feeling so sad about my'big' tummy,i feel so insecure. Cant dress the way I used to,i have to wear loose tops, free gowns. But with this type of write-up, im really inspired.. is not easy to be a MOM and proud to be one now. To hell with the flat mummy, YES! Motherhood is sexy and proud to be a mom. God bless All the mothers out there,bless those that are yet to be one and hoping to be one day. Bless Kimberly and also linda that shared this with us. Imust confess,i am inspired.. no more worries. Mothers ROCK big time

Corrine said...

Your result is not bad at all. Regarding tummy tuck, it is really popular in Manila nowadays. The main factor that attracts thousands of patients from abroad to get tummy tuck surgery in Manila is the most efficient and affordable manner in which it is done there.

Tummy tuck Philippines