FG, states, others owe construction firms over N600bn | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 24 June 2015

FG, states, others owe construction firms over N600bn

Construction companies in Nigeria, under the aegis of the Federation of Construction Industry (FOCI), have expressed concern over the high amount of debt the Federal, state and local governments owe the construction industry which they claim is over N600 billion.

According to the body, which is the umbrella group for building and civil engineering contractors, sub-contractors, and plant and equipment suppliers, the Federal Government alone owes its members over N600 billion.
President of FOCI, Mr. Solomon Ogunbusola, who made this known at the 59th Annual General Meeting  of the body, in Abuja said ex-President Goodluck Jonathan gave the construction industry so much work to do without money to execute them.

He said:
“We are not finding it funny; the bigger ones and smaller ones are finding it extremely difficult. In the construction industry, we are working below 30 percent capacity.
“If you are living in Abuja, for example, at the early hours of 4,5 and 6 a.m, you would see trucks of construction companies coming into Abuja because the workers will have to resume but now you don’t see the trucks including Julius Berger, Stabilini etc coming in.”
“Some of us have closed; we closed the company. We are only resuming in the office for the purpose of continuity and I want my message to be brought out clear as I am saying, we can’t hide it. It is unfortunate that the construction company can’t go and carry placards and start going around saying ‘we are in recession.’ If it is something we can do, we would have done it long ago.
“The Federal Government owes the construction industry over N600 biilion. I can mention three companies that the government alone owes over N200 billion: Julius Berger, N70bn; MCC, over N70bn; Setraco, over N80bn.  Those are the ones I am sure of the exact figures even S&M which is a growing company is being owed over N800m.
“We have never had it so bad like in the last two years because the payments were not coming forth and because we don’t know what to do, we have to just cry aloud.”
Ogunbusola, said FOCI’s 126 registered member companies are using less than 30 % of their staff strength due to mass retrenchment.

He further said that FOCI had contributed a great measure to the construction of modern Nigeria since its incorporation in 1954, hence doesn't think it's fair they aren't getting paid

He said:
“It is distressing to observe that many construction firms are just going to work for the sake of continuity as many of them are on the verge of collapse due to huge debts owned by the federal, states and local governments.
“We wish to bring to the notice of President Muhammadu Buhari; Senate President Senator Olusola Saraki and House of Representatives Speaker, Yusuf Dogara that the construction companies generally are working at 30 per cent capacity following the mass retrenchment of our workers due to the delay/non-payment of certified jobs by various arms of government.”
Source: Vanguard

39 comments:

FG seems to be owing everybody. O ga o

600billion? Wat were they thinking? Y did d allow it get to this?.

Ds is totally insane o haba dy shld pay off na na wa o.

Jona really messed up Nigeria big time, may God give PMB $ strength $ wisdom to correct all this shits Jona has left behind which I'm very positive about ! What a shame ruling country like a playing ground! Thank God Nigerians showed him the exist door!

Yomi Ibironke said...

Na wa o. So there was real fire on the mountain and GEJ administration was acting as if all was well?

Haaaa... let PDP cum n say something now.. Jonathan 's government I think has been d most corrupt government we have ever had so far in d history of democracy...Haba dz is too much kilode..small tym now d so called PDP will start to open their mouth n talk nonense...tell me how d new government will perform miracles in d next 2months wif all d debt incurred by d past govt. It is well wit us in Nigeria ooo.a country wia d rich kips getting rich while d poor kips getting poorer...it is well

Jesus Reigns said...

Jeez!!!!

Olushola is his late father's name ooo.Him own na Bukola.lol

Na small money now. One tenth of abacha /obasanjos loot will clear d bill

From the desk of the President , Anonymous association of LIB( ASOLIB)!!!!

We will sue APC, Ezekwesili and all those behind #bringbackourgirls. Because the girls have not been found so why have they stopped their campaign.

Bring back our #bringbackourgirls.

We will sue APC, Ezekwesili and all those behind #bringbackourgirls. Because the girls have not been found so why have they stopped their campaign.

Kponskii said...

Pitiful.

Dave Mide said...

Nice man - mr Goodluck Jonathan ...a true hero!

Its almost month end, when will nigerians jobless youth start submitting their acct. number for the monthly stipend president buhari and Apc family promised during your campaign.

Also students in the public schools have not started getting their lunch oo, as promised by mr president and his Apc family.

We will drag them to court if they didn't fulfill there campaign promises.

Its almost month end, when will nigerians jobless youth start submitting their acct. number for the monthly stipend president buhari and Apc family promised during your campaign.

Also students in the public schools have not started getting their lunch oo, as promised by mr president and his Apc family.

We will drag them to court if they didn't fulfill there campaign promises.

GEJ but why?

They wanna kill buhari befor the 4 yrs is over

Everybody is talking against the Jona Govt. Bad belle people. APC is just propaganda, always full of excuses. Nigeria watch out!!!

BLAQ said...

mtchewww make dem go sleep. is it PMB's administration that gave them the job y didn't they cry out doing GEJ time Abeg no b dem dey bid for the contracts sef so y are dey complaining. all the roads/ contracts they have been executing are nothing to write home about.

GEJ is enjoying himself in UK and states after causing problems. He must be probed ,disgraced and brought back to Nigeria to resolve some of these issues he caused.Tim28

Don't worry, PMB's govt will sort things out.

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

It is well

EBIMABLOG said...

We have our Magician there,he surely will clear all in few days

Hmm.

True talk "We are only resuming in the office for the purpose of continuity". I see better days ahead, and by d end of d dday everyone wil smile home as if nothing d happen.

DS DEBT MATA DON DE TIRE MY EAR...TOMJERRYSWIT

johnnie said...

Na wa

bella said...

Nd what happened to the billions of naira uncle jona borrowed? Smhs

Thats no small money shah...

sad situation. its terrible that Jonathan would go out like that and leave all these companies unpaid. yet we want good roads and great infrastructure....RIDICULOUS!

JONATHANS GOVERNMENT ---SHAMEFUL...
HOPEFULLY BUHARI WILL DO RIGHT BY THEM

See all the debts Jonathan and his cohorts has left behind. I won't curse dem but I leave dem to God. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!

All hail jonathan the "hero"

Don't mind them. They don join the government officials inflate the contracts finish. Meanwhile, the official don collect their shares upfront leaving them to their fate. If I were buhari, I go first go through the contracts to sort out the over inflated ones before I go pay them penny. They're part and parcel of their predicament.

So, Please where is all the Nigeria fund going now? I think some people should be jailed including mentu that is running mouth critisizing less a month Government.

them go die for jail after refunding our ;looted money. too much

this is not acceptable.
the past goverment should be probed and jail anybody found guilty.
it is too much.ki lo de!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Beforr you get hypertension go to oby twitter page and see how hard they are still campaigning to get the girls back. Infact they rallied in abuja few days ago. How will they give youths money if they don't have youths in system,hpw will thry confirm unemployment. That money is a pipes dream, it out as foolish , unproductive and it will not happen. Sue them. Linda is fucking tribalistic. I hate her.

I found this blog really helpful. To get more details about Civil Construction Contractors you can go to that website