Buhari says the US and others will assist Nigeria recover stolen funds | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 24 June 2015

Buhari says the US and others will assist Nigeria recover stolen funds

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday said his administration had received firm assurance from the United States and other countries recover and return funds stolen from Nigeria.

According to a statement by the President's Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina, the President said it was now up to Nigeria to provide the international community with the facts and figures needed to drive the recovery effort.

He said:
ADVERTISEMENT
“In the next three months, our administration will be busy getting those facts and the figures to help us recover our stolen funds in foreign countries,” Adesina quoted the President as saying.
The president made this statement to members of the Northern Traditional Rulers Council led by the Sultan of Sokoto, Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar III, at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Citing the report submitted by the Ahmed Joda-led transition committee, President Buhari said that several revenue-generating institutions in the country had been compromised.

In regards to insecurity, the President said traditional rulers would play a key role in stemming terrorism and insurgency in the country.

This, he said, they would do by assisting the government with cost-effective intelligence gathering.
Buhari also assured the traditional rulers that his administration was working hard to end insecurity and terrorism in the country in the shortest possible time with the cooperation of neighbouring countries and the international community.

Acknowledging that Nigerians expected a lot from his administration, the President appealed for patience and understanding while his government works diligently to speedily overcome the huge national challenges it inherited.

The Sultan had earlier presented the Northern Traditional Rulers’ recommendations to the President on issues related to national development.

Source: Punch

59 comments:

Mr will smith buhari....your will done too much biko! Oginidi bu nkea? Haba

That's a very good thing to do sir. Pls do your best to recover those money, Cuz it will go a long way in helping the nation.

It is a good development. There could be repeat of James Ibori scenario.

***ECHOMASS***

Atiku money join ooo

Dan Hajiya Blog said...

good job Baba nd also who ever stole government money or have hand in boko haram activities should be sentence to death by firing squad.

Abokin linda

Gud one my able president

Sounds good.

Ohk baba bt start wit ur houz members 1st f likes tinu nd co.

Good one my president, so many thieves will be exposed soon.... keep your head straight up and continue doing what is right.

It seems right that Pa Buhari will sell Nigeria out to the U.S... the U.S will help fight BH, now the US will help recover stolen funds... Wat else are we committing to the U.S., let us knw our fate early enuff

I don't like the fact that PMB has gotten us into a bed with the US, that cannot be good! Those guys are masters of Greek gifts.

Jesus Reigns said...

Thank you Lord for Buhari, we knew You choose him from the start. Nigeria needs this desperately

This why we elected you sir! Get those monies back for us.Our country & our generation needs it.pls.ensure you get back what mama peace took from us.

Mr president may seem to be an over dependent man. The US and others mustnt be relied upon for little tins we can do if the right tins are put in place. May I ask who helps US and UK recover theirs?

Point noted.

And what will the U.S. And others get in return pls? Cuz I know nations like US always make a deal. They don't do nothing 4 free . We ain't stupid. Pls he should also tell us what he offered them in return

Weldone guys

Okowright Balaxy said...

I hope you also recover all the money stolen by your APC chieftains instead of covering their own loot. Also remember to return the billions that was stolen under your watch as minister of petroleum

Is it fro Free? Abacha loot is now more than 10 yrs and its still not fully recovered. Remember that they will deduct their own legal fees before they think of sending the balance back. All this white pple na thief ohhhhh dont trust them for a second talkless about moni for they hand.

Bla bla bla.......jst get to work epa!!!!!!!

Finally. Some good news.

I LOVE THIS MAN! May God help him to be a great leader for Nigeria! May God protect and strengthen him too...

I hope their service is pro bono otherwise we will end up paying through our nose to pay their fees

EBIMABLOG said...

We don hear.

Same old news dat former administration tells Nigerians, and when d money comes Nigerians wil b kept aside abt wht d money is used for.

Please, please, please Mr. President kick start action. Begin now from Jonathan, Yaradua, Obasanjo, Abdusalam, Babangida, Shonkan, Murtala and Gowon. Do not stop at anything. It is now you started the CHANGE. This is revolution gaskiya.

Under OBJ's watch? IBB's watch? Abacha's watch? GMB's watch? Shagari's watch? Or are those ones not part of Nigeria's stolen funds? One month is abt to elapse and all we continue to hear is abt what d past administration did and didn't do. For crying out loud, u were voted in to correct those mistakes so stop reminding us abt dem and get down to work.

I agreed but first of all recover the ones you stole before

Oga help. Everytime sumone will hear unintelligent news abt ds man

None of this nation's especially d US wud help any nation without asking 4 something in return pls be carefull to protect our sovereignty shikenan

Ladun Liadi said...

Good GOOD,
now for an economic blueprint....

RM & KD said...

story in the dancing.

Atleast it's a step in the right direction

Way to go MR. PRESIDENT

Ok nice one, including the houses they bought with stolen money in abroad, planes, companies etc. Thank u Mr PMB and Prof Osinbajo, for fighting this corruption in Nigeria may God continue to strengthen both of u to lead Nigeria Amen..

Steady said...

Story story! An wa o

We'll have to wait and see!

okay

This president has no action. I don't think this buhari can accomplish anything. Looking for help everywhere and wine mouth like parrot and bursting. This is not why some fool elected u

Ok nice one Sai Baba, am happy I voted u last election nd I don't regret I voted u as my president. The days of impunity fiscal recklessness is over says Sai Baba, Sai Baba including the houses they buy with stolen money in abroad, planes, companies etc. Thank u Mr PMB and Prof Osinbajo, for fighting this corruption in Nigeria may God continue to strengthen both of u to lead Nigeria Amen.

O yes o! It's about time we get all those stolen funds back, as we can't continue to borrow while it is being stolen. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!

GNI said...

but Mr president how come you and your colleagues criticize GEJ so mightily on the same thing you're doing now. which you said and i quote that nigerians does not need neighboring countries nor united state when it comes to solving our problems and tag GEJ clueless. Mr president are you not aware that boko haram has regain strength which innocent nigerians are dying day by day under your watch and you've not address the current situation as if it's not your business.

i hope is not the G7 you're waiting to help you rule nigeria? please buhari don't take this nation backward if you're still confuse on what to do and how to start. our nation is stagnant and there're cases of killing and robberies everywhere. we are hoping to see the change instead things are getting worst and people are dying since you assume office. kai Mr president.

And when will Mr. President stop this campaign against the past administration. Its been weeks he assumed office, let us get going, yes it is important to recover looted funds, however, he continues to take swipe at the past administration, there is a lot yet not done. His cabinet has not been formed, we do not know what his economic plans are, how does he intend to tackle corruption? I cannot see a clear goal here. If he is out to fight corruption alone?

This position did not come to him by chance he has planned this for years, he should have a clear plan now.

GNI said...

but Mr president how come you and your colleagues criticize GEJ so mightily on the same thing you're doing now. which you said and i quote that nigerians does not need neighboring countries nor united state when it comes to solving our problems and tag GEJ clueless. Mr president are you not aware that boko haram has regain strength which innocent nigerians are dying day by day under your watch and you've not address the current situation as if it's not your business.

i hope is not the G7 you're waiting to help you rule nigeria? please buhari don't take this nation backward if you're still confuse on what to do and how to start. our nation is stagnant and there're cases of killing and robberies everywhere. we are hoping to see the change instead things are getting worst and people are dying since after your inauguration. kai Mr president.

HE LOOKS SO HANDSOME IN THIS PHOTOGRAPH. ABEG CATCH ALL THE PDP THIEVES FAST BECAUSE I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY THE TREASURY SHOULD BE EMPTY

GNI said...

BUHARI IS TAKING US BACK TO COLONIALISM

I hear, let's stop talking n start doing already

Ok nice one, Sai Baba say days of impunity, lack of accountability and fiscal recklessness in the management of national resources are over in Nigeria. Sai Baba, am happy I voted u last election nd I don't regret I voted u as my president. Sai Baba, Sai Baba including the houses they buy with stolen money in abroad, planes, companies etc. Thank u Mr PMB and Prof Osinbajo, for fighting this corruption in Nigeria may God continue to strengthen both of u to lead Nigeria Amen.

We must be patient. It took years to get Nigeria in this rut and it would not disappear over night. The key thing is that they are working to fix things.

Whatever happened to the Abacha loot and a plethora of looters way before now for starters? Were those monies ever recovered? How was it spent? Was it on sustainable development projects? Or was the recovered loot shared among another set of thieves? Now, going forward, will the merger to repatriate naija loot focus on dead past leaders or will the sweep include present and living public purse looters? How can citizens become part of this process to make sure this time around, they stay abreast of this important matter for themselves?

sweetie said...

Nice move my president. It over for thieves. Change is here

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Pls they should, so they can pay outstanding salaries and pensions.

Guys pls check my new blog post and share the link then follow us on twitter: @naijamomdiary

Is USA the best mediator? Just watch your back.

IF BUHARI WANTS TO TAKE US BACK TO COLONIALISM, LET HIM TAKE US BACK PLS IF THAT IS WHAT WILL HELP US RECOVER ALL OUR STOLEN MONEY

SEE THAT FOOL TALKING ABOUT COLONIALISM. AT LEAST THE WHITE PEOPLE ARE MORE STRAIGHT FORWARD WITH INTEGRITY. SO IF WE WANT TO GO BACK TO COLONIALISM, I DONT MIND IF THAT IS WHAT WILL MAKE NIGERIA BETTER