'I can be 70 & still be single if I don't meet the right man'-Bimbo Akintola | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 September 2012

'I can be 70 & still be single if I don't meet the right man'-Bimbo Akintola

"I will be 70 and still be single if I do not believe honestly that I have found the right person. We are all on earth as individuals. Some of us will marry; some of us will not. Some of us will have children, some of us will not. So I never judge myself according to other people's standard. 
Marriage is such a huge deal and I'm not in a hurry to go there. That's the truth.

If you find maybe two of my ex's, you will find out that I've had proposals. But I turned them down because at the end of the day, you are saying 'I pick this person above everybody else in the
world, till death do us part.' I had better believe that! If I don't believe it, it's not going to happen.

If I'd wanted to be married 15 times over, I would have. But I won't marry for people, I will marry for me. When I find the person that makes me feel I can do this forever, then I am ready." Bimbo Akintola, 37.

234 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 234 of 234

Bimbo should go to fairtale land mr perfect plenty their beside Princess fiona no gree marry prince Charming so there him dey available *sumbody pikin*

oh dear close your mouth, abeg if bimbo had been proposed to and she turned them down, then she should go and rest, bcos perfect man is in the grave, nonsensense, all these girls of these days...nawa o

Hello Bimbo please do not become a fool at 40

justlikeme@live.com said...

I am not crucifying her oh but you guys should wait oh....if she didnt waste her youth on being promiscuous, dont you think she would be married by now?
I would have said she doesnt care and all that...but she is talking about it means she is getting touched by people talking about it....hence Self Defence!

She is beautiful and if marrying is a big problem...find alhaji, you are past time for young boys or young men kajiko!

Bimbo, stop deceiving yourself...cus i am not fooled! You need a man and you are just too proud to admit

Naija una too much, coffee wey i dey drink hia comot my nose as i read this

Estee said...

That's the best way to go about it. Live your life for yourself.

Dollarpo said...

I love Bimbo Akintola. she has said it all, you dont marry for people. unfortunately, in this part of the world many ladies marry out of pressure, and they end up making wrong decisions and they suffer for the rest of thier lives...MArraige is not worth enduring, God ordained marraige for enjoyment. it pays to be patient and hear from God. i totally agree with blacknight, dat was a brilliant write up. most nigerians are very shallow when it comes to the issue of marraige, some get thier esteem for thier marital status. some people's major goal in life is just to get married..as if marraige is a destination. Marraige is a beautiful thing bcos it was ordained by God and God desires we enjoy it to the fullest. lets grow up and change our orientation. Bimbo, enjoy your spinsterhood while it lasts! i love your spirit!

Sister you ain't getting any younger @ 37.i get all the whole shit bout you getting the right man buh have u tried praying for GODs will not yours?

I think the more people that realize marriage is not their portion, the better for the society. While this would unfortunately promote fornication, it would however reduce the divorce rate. A lot of d people looking for "the right person for me" they don't ask themselves "am I the right person for them". As far as they are concerned, all their exs are the problem, they don't address their own short comings. Married people did not find perfect beings. Do not seek perfection if u are less than perfect.

chipins said...

She has not found anyone to marryher, stop deceiving yourself, meanwhile I had she is a lesbo.

My dear Bimbo,nobody is perfect but marriage is a perfect institution. so the point is marriage makes u perfect. Its clear there is a history abt u or someone close or what u experience everyday.Just seek the Lord's face and take that step.Old age is lonely but to be old and single.....hmmmmm. your time has come just open your mind toward it.

Oh Lord please give me the right man at the right time. I don't wanna be old n then trying to convince myself that am waiting 4 d perfect guy. Lord unknow what's best 4ur daughter

People should just respect her opinion, most ple in ds marriage are already frustrated, looking for a way out. Marriage isnt a do or die affair, its a choice. I pray all singles out there find their choice. It is well with u Bimbo.

You should realise that there are no perfect human beings and no perfect marriage, it's just tolerance and understanding. So girl, take a bold step and God will see u through.

at times marriage is all deceit, couples pledge to be faithful to each other yet,they keep extra marital affairs.for the woman its bad, but for the man, ehn ehn.. its the culture,society, men are wired that way etc.but it happens in both sexes.

the African culture cheats women a lot in marriage and its one of the reasons for divorce nowadays,

on the issue of children, one dosent have to be married to have kids. some women decide to be single mothers,they dont even need any man to raise their kids.women are equal as men in the labour market and can even do better, so if Bimbo dosent want to get married, she can have kids, that dosent make her lonely at old age.

tunmi said...

You guys need to read the entire article, she explains further on the "ideal man"

[quote][b]What is the quality of your ideal man?[/b]
There is no such thing as ideal man. What you get is a man that you can laugh with and then you build from there. Any woman that's looking for Mr. Right will die single, old and wrinkle. There is no perfect man. There is no perfect woman. What you have is a work in progress. Each of us is a work in progress.
You played the role of a sugar mummy in Hoodrush. From the experience of previous write-ups about you, do you prefer younger men, or is it a misconception?
I like men generally (laugh). I know what you're talking about. Let me tell you what happened with Dimeji. He came to interview me from Genevieve Magazine. And at the end of the shoot, he says, can I have a picture with you and I said yes and I held him like this and we took a picture and that was it. He became my lover. I haven't spoken to that boy since that shoot. I'm serious. Is it that every man or woman you hug is a lover? Do you understand? But it's ridiculous, because we can't keep doing this. [/quote]

http://www.thenationonlineng.net/2011/saturday-magazine/weekend-treat/entertainment/59934-i-may-never-get-married,-if...-%E2%80%94bimbo-akintola.html

well said

Its kinda funny when people try to hide their frustrations on pages of a newspaper. She says she could wait till she is 70 for Mr Right.The question now is, is she waiting with her thighs closed together? Why cant we just be truthful, let people judge you if they like, at the end of the day its your life. If u want to wait......wait!

Nike married dat man for his moni. I hav hrd her talk abt her kind of man and fromwat she went on and on abt, dat husband of hers, isnt her type. So make u no compare d two females.

Ai

iSaAc said...

Follow ur heart.

ada said...

I'M A HAPPILY MARRIED LADY AND I WANT TO ASK SINGLE LADIES OUT THERE STILL SEARCHING FOR 'MR RIGHT'....

ARE YOU YOURSELF 'MRS RIGHT'???
PLEASE WORK ON YOURSELVES FIRST!

debimade said...

Don't even get me started on marriage and the Nigerian mentality of forcing and bullying women into wedlock be they love or not love the man. I was married to a man I thought was a Christian-pastor, after he redefined wickedness to me I became convinced all the effizy about marriage is crap. I thank God for my lovely kids and the life I have. Right now men are a thing of the past for me, I am very financially stable and happy with my lot in life. I don't care about being 70yrs and lonely or whatever, I live each day as it comes and worry not about tomorrow. Bimbo you live for you, so do you and let everybody else do them. Simples!

Big lie! A man has to decide on his own that he wasn't to change.

B

I LOVE IT! NIGERIAN SOCIETY CHOKES WOMEN WITH THIS "MARRAIGE" THING! SOME EVENTUALLY MARRY ABUSERS AND DISEASE CARRIERS. THANK YOU BIMBO FOR YOUR HUMILITY. IT'S RARE! I PRAY I CAN MEET YOU ONE DAY. WITH THAT TYPE OF MENTALITY, I WANT TO WORK WITH YOU!:)

Baby gel i luv u so much pls find me on fb let‘s chat vrywell pls i luv if possible to marry u am frm kd a good xtian

Rick Ross said...

Great things are not accomplished by those who yield to trends and fads and popular opinion -Jack Kerouac

sleekreek said...

I love Bimbo Akintola so much,,d way she talks and interprets her roles in movies.....Bimbo,,true talk but u cant find a perfect man cos u aren't perfect too and there's no perfect marriage....but u can make ur marriage be what u want it to be.Let me also remind u that u can only attract the type of person u are,,,so u work on urself first to be a better person and am sure ur dream man will come ur way.......am sure u wont like to celebrate ur 50th birthday wen ur first child is just about 5yrs......think about dat too.....

wagzi said...

Bimbo try read 1 corinthian chpt 7 vs 24 - 40 and u r done

dis is not cool o....she needs 2 get married and have children if not shuld wuld die in misery o....abeg all dis gals shouting "go gal"!!!! dont do wat shes doin o...u will regret it...no one is perfect o, even d bimbo dat is tlkin sef...she shuld be ashamed...mscheeww

Correct babe,this girl is smart.She has't asked for any one's advice,she is simply making her self clear.

What nonsense, their is no perfect man. U only nEed a man who can mEet u half way. No disrespect here but was her father the perfect man for her mother. D point is, she knows she far gone and likely never going to get married and now she built on some excuses never to get married.

G-midas said...

I'm 38 and not freaking out,i'm also male.I'm loving bachelorhood so much i may never quit it...it'll take a special kinda female to make me want to give up the others.

Bimbo has the right idea. Marriage is a very special thing and one needs to have the conviction that this is the one forever, Sadly in Nigeria, we get married for a lot of wrong reasons and that's why there is so much misery and infidelity in good number of our marriages. That s why you find wives buying condoms for their husband because they know he is not content with them. That is why you find women deluding themselves with the mentality of 'you are the one outside & i am the wife'. Like many other things in our society, we have the concept of marriage all wrong.
Way to go Bimbo. I pray God will give you the right man for you soon.

@ G-Midas.... when the right one comes, you'll find out how eager you'll be to forsake all others.

Note:Spinsterhood is one of life's stages dat evry lady must pass through, it isn't a stage 2b ashamed of. Personally, COMPACTIBILITY IS KEY. Dere are so many irreconcilable differences in marriages & dere's no point rushing in and out of one. Dere is no perfect man or woman, but we can make d RIGHT CHOICES & DECISIONS. Marriage shld be enjoyed and endured and if u feel u hvnt found dat Man who will make u happy 4life,then hang in dere & Trust God We all know wat we want..OUR DECISIONS MAKE OR MAR US...I WISH U WELL

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 234 of 234   Newer› Newest»