Jimoh Ibrahim shuts down Air Nigeria, sacks staff for disloyalty | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 September 2012

Jimoh Ibrahim shuts down Air Nigeria, sacks staff for disloyalty

Billionaire businessman and chairman of Air Nigeria, Barrister Jimoh Ibrahim, yesterday announced the suspension of the airline's local, regional and international operations with effect from Monday, September 10, 2012.

Not only that, he also announced that all but 50 staff have been sacked with immediate effect. The airline was shut down and staff sacked due to what the businessman termed 'staff disloyalty and environmental tension'
“Corporations are like individuals, who naturally will get sick, and the usual thing to do is to admit them to hospitals, either for corporate surgery or for treatment, as the case may be.
“During such period, it is not likely that they will work in full capacity, depending on the nature of the illness.” Jimoh Ibrahim said
The airline suspension will last for at least a year the statement read. He asked passengers who have bought tickets to meet their agents for refund.

100 comments:

Billionaire ? his net worth (The amount by which assets exceed liabilities) is in negative.

Feel for the helpless staffs that but their hopes in an irresponsible management and owners.

How which of the businesses that JI bought has he really made a success.. anything thing he touches goes to ashes.

Sick man

So sorry for those who lost their jobs...

The man is insane! How can u do this? Is this even legal? This man is morally and ethically bankrupt!

freeman said...

private sector in this nigeria na wa ooo

Dis man is mean, still spoke 2 one of d workers and was feelin sorry 4 her, now he as decided 2 sack all d workers, dis is sad, u feel say na u God bless , d same God wey bless u can tke all 4rm u, where will all dis staffs start 4rm, people wey get family, dis is sad, at times nothin like u been self employed, God help us 4 nigeria , dis is gettin worse

Empty barrel. Why always him having issues? Air Nigeria he has messed up, energy filling stations all nothing but structures. Newswatch becoming history. National mirror only patronised by him. Nicon insurance becoming a ghost work place. Wetin?

shile said...

its called TOO MUCH MONEY.

i have never met anyone as mean as this guy!

This is quite serious a whole year n 2 tink even b4 nw they had even stopped operatin esp in lag.so jus arik n aero nw in nig,no govt airline wat a shame

This man is just a brute in my opinion. How can U owe staff salaries long b4 the unfortunate DANA incidence & d following suspension of your operations and then accuse them of disloyalties?! Most of them grumbled in silence and hoped for the best despite Jimoh's policies that saw breadwinners being treated like kids in Nursery school. Abeg he shld pack well, soon he will come out wanting to run for political office....Mscheeeew

Is he married ? If not , Abeg u fit help me find him details ?

Warri Girl said...

Been long expected.

Warri Girl.
A lady's Key accessory, www.warrigirl.com

jeremy said...

The drama has just begun.

Hmmmmmm!!!!!!!! Na una sabi.

Its no longer business as usual For u,Mr Jimoh! U cannot fly ill maintained aircrafts anymore in order to make blood profits.The DANA crash has blown open ur ass!!
Ur staff has nothing to do with it. It is ur failure to follow legitimate business practises that have come to haunt u now and will also hunt ur numerous businesses.Even the ppl u r fronting for are breathing down ur neck. Warning for the rest of all the other unscrupulous business men like u
All of y'll time will soon be up. There is only a limit u can use fraudulent business practices to make illegitmate profits! It has blown up on ur face! Greedy punk!!

Jobs in d private sector in naija is thrash..u hv a job today n tomoro u don't hv a job anymore.the owners wld go to bed n wake up d next day wit new policies or ideas without due consultations..sorry for those that lost their jobs..that's another batch of unemployed people added to the already unemployed millions.billonaire biz man my foot n he cldnt buy a single healthy aeroplane.mcsheeeeeeeeeeewwwww!!

the guy is just a sicko? business wonder kid in deed.

Gbam u get him well dear.

Marilyn Oge(Sumtin) said...

Ahhh!!! Jst arik and aero in naija!!!! Abeg o!! D last time I travelled wit arik 4rm lagos 2 ph, I didnt like wot I experienced at all!! Govt plz do sumtin abt dis issue o. Bt I think aero iz jst d best for me.. Let's jst b prayerful anywayz

shile said...

GOD knws best....

was long overdue,sorry for d staff that were made scapegoat for speaking out.~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310.

All of you condemning the man ,shud shut up..So u want the airline to continue operating with poor management at the expense of passenger"s life.Its better he close the airline than for us to loose innocent life again(no wonder plane crash is common in NIGERIA)9JA NA WA OOO.

Feel bad for those who lost their jobs at a time like this.

what a clown.

He's not paid salaries since the month of May.

If by disloyal he means competent staff who have refused to go against aviation rules and regulations just to kiss Jimoh Ibrahim's ass, then he should go ahead and make a bigger fool of himself than he is already doing.

After collecting a bailout fund of N37billion, he shuts down the airline based on staff disloyalty.

Show me the business this man has run successfully.....None .His speciality is running business to the ground and move on. All his so called companies are rotten to the core and am sure his not the only billionaire in this ship its only a matter of time.

Isn't it better that corrective measures are taken now than later?it's 4 d betterment of d public.dnt want anymore plane crash here n there.sori 2 all those who hv lost their jobs..

Uba said...

let him go and put his house in order, my consern are those that lost their job. May God provide them with a better job IJN

Yes I support him in a rubbing a business o nd I acn tell you Nigerian workers are theifs

Park well dear. He's very married to a woman dats as quiet as a mouse. His kids are of marraigable age sef

ÈŠ̝̊̅† is unfortunate 4 an airline which was once d dream of those in d aviation industry, wen it was stil under richard branson...SMH...
Reminds me of First nation airlines too..d new one with fantastic aircrafts n which had prospects xcept dt its MD Kayode Odukoya of former bellview is gonna ruin n dash d hopes of its workers jst like jimoh ibrahim has.

Mee said...

That's what greed has cost Nigeria. We would still have had Virgin Nigeria and their quality operations were it not for sabotages and quest for bribes

Why hasn't anyone felt sorry for passangers that purchased their bloody tickets and are stuck wherever. How much can the baboon possibly refund that will cover a oneway ticket back from...let's say london? And it's not like the refund process will start immediately o!

He's jst α thief

Stop advertising your ignorance. Read up

And my friend travelled with air nigeria to london and she is billed to come back after 10th of sept what will she do?

Shut up. JI does not care about innocent lives(not innocent life). And the word is "lose". A lazy man complains about his tools. No management can satisfy him. He should go and import a satisfactory management from Hell

happyhausabunny said...

Sum1 said 1ce said anythn Jimoh Ibrahim touches withers! Na wa o!

Smalls said...

The wicked would never go unpurnished. My God is not sleeping. For four months this man did not pay salaries, no alowance for flights to london, he did not remit his staff's pension. and he thinks he can just close down the company and go free??
Everything he touches dies, everywhere he enters dies. but this one he wont eat his cake and have it. God isnt sleeping na.

This is bad. What does he mean by staff disloyalty? The stupid term nigerian pooliticians use to boot out non ass likers. God please save this country.

VK i hail thee said...

Its really pathetic.
As at last nite wen i slept,i ws a staff of air nigeria bt by ds morning...my pple..av bn told dt av bn sacked..its really nt funny..

even wen tins wia in ful operation,tins werent easy...no health insurance benefits,no annual leave( cos JI placed an embargo on it),no pension,no gratuity,no staff travel benefits.no nothin.and he is busy shouting dt we ar nt loyal?

Imagine leaving ur home bfor 5am so dt u wont b late for work.work starts by 6am sharp.dts not adding briefing time o.wich mins u ought to b dia bfor 6am....somtimes,i dont liv work until past midnite..me and d vigilante pple r friends.imagine..no staff bus..no welfare package... notin

Abt 2 month ago,we went to sign a "loyalty pledge" at d head office,we placed our grieviances on d table bt he ddnt lend a ear to wat we wia saying..all he ws saying ws dt we shld b loyal...pray tell me,hw do u expect som one to b loyal wen u owe him/her 4mths pay?.pple wit wives n kids?hw wil he pay fees and household allowances?

My pple,its bn a dire few months and i pray dt my coligs get a beta paying job asap.

(am sorry its long..pls bear wit me..its nt easy loosing ones' job)..thks

VK i hail thee said...

Aunty linda..abeg post my comment o.....its a form of therapy for me o...abeg..thks

Pls where can I find an agent cos I need my money ASAP !

His handlers have put him on a short leash! Perform or face EFCC! Billionaire ma ass!

Arik and Aero need to get grants to buy more Jets to fill in the void left by Dana and Air Nigeria... As a successful entrepreneur myself , I kinda understand Jim a bit (I am not saying he is wholesome perfect in his approach) In Nigeria employees always fail to get the big picture of the business and what its vision are , they are mostly just concerned about salary, salary and salary like U have a printing machine at home , they fail to realise that for me to pay you 200 thousand naira a month U need to give me productivity above 200k even if its just a naira .. But here in Nigeria this is not so . Most airlines in Nigeria will run into red if they are grounded for 2 weeks believe me . Well for the Air Nigeria staff pls this is not the end of the road as one door closes a gate opens( I say this from experience), take this moment and reflect on ur lives just for a day and hear ur heart talk to U on the next step( this is usually the rigth step).. Regards

BILIONARE KO , I FINK ITS NORMAL WITH THIS STUPID IDIOTIC SO CALD RICH BASTARDS, TO TREAT PEOPLE ANY HOW , D STAFF COVERED UR SILLY ASS FOR DIS LONG COS DEY HAD NO CHOICE DEN NOW U SACK DEM ?, AT LEAST PAY DEM THEIR WAGES COS DAT IS A SIN , WAT NONSENSE . EVERY PRIVATE COMPANY IN DIS COUNTRY IS OWING THEIR STAFF INCLUDIN MEE SEF . WAT RUBISH WEN SOME ONE STARTS DOING PROSTITUTION NOW NA ANODA NAME SHE GO GET , DEN U TRY DOING A NORMAL JOB ND DEY USE U MORE DAN DEY USE HARLOTS . SOOOO FREAKIN PISSED RITE NOW . on a lighter note heard NNPC is recrutin.

For all you that say support Jimoh Ibrahim you'll fools ...that man is like poison ivy anything he touches wither and he's fucking cocky buys businesses take loan and grant from govt and use it for himself and you'll say he's done Good...
SMH 4 U ..

i fink wen people acuire alot of money dey become stupid nd mean nd ruthless. b4 swear catch u pls pay ur staff wat u owe dem . its not jus fair at alll . alot of private companies r used 2 owing pple dier salary nxt minute dey wud sack dem nd u xpect all 2 b well with 2 noooooo it doesnt work dat way . dis govt sef isnt even helpin matters . nxt minute dey wud complain dat youths r armed robbers hisssssssssssssssssss. it is well oh

PLS CAN THEY SUE HIS THIS MAN BIKO . COS DIS IS SOO SAD.

noooo dis is heartbreakin , d labour market jus became larger . kai e no go better for u JI. somepple r jus heartless . money miss road bilionare , dis r the type of people dat r scared of even their shadows cos of were dey have gone to wash their body in , den u make ur staff sign loyalty wat ??????? . u dnt trust dem enuf 2 cover ur dirty shokoto.

okay now angry comments are going 2 flood dis page cos dis man done FUCK P die walai .

please how many wives does he have? im hearing a gist about an ex OAU Law student that had a baby for him ooooooo.....ishhhhh

Shadow said...

Somehow, somehow, I don't trust this man. He is a recurring decimal when corrpution surfaces in corporations!

Honestly,der shd b a law in Nigeria dat protects employees of private companies,y shd pple work for 3months and not get paid? It's insane. I workd for a company and we weren't paid for 3 months, dis company is owned by a man who is very close to jimoh,both are from d same ondo,claiming to run tins politically in that state. I resigned cos I just Couldnt cope, they still haven't paid me. Not bothered cos I know karma will catch up with him someday.

Can u imagine. I have a job but I am not happy with it. I feel that I can be self employed, but I have tried it twice and it didnt work out for me. Yet I am not happy with the one I am doing now. But after reading the reactions of people here, their consolatary words and employing the saying that half bread is better than ....... I now think otherwise and say Thank u Jesus.

'staff disloyalty' and 'environmental tension'? All 50 of them sacked for the same thing?? Surely it can only mean that this Jimoh Ibrahim guy is a bad boss, a bad manager, a bad employer and a completely amoral man???? It is no wonder his companies are all loss making ventures. I should know- my cousin worked for one of his companies and got really disillusioned after realising that there was no prospects!

How about we that booked online? Pls how do we get a refund?

LoL. Just say you're broke and we need to o under. The statement is so unprofessional

Jimoh Ibrahim, Kudos, 3 gbosa for you.
This is better than plane crash.

I've never flown any of this sick airlines, i love my BA, Airfrance, whenever i visit my folks in Nigeria. Sorry for those who lost their jobs. The logo on Air Nigeria says all is not well.

this man is not okay o......he really needs help why do people refer to him a billionaire sef?

Jimoh Ibrahim is a fraudster and an embezzler. He hasn't paid his staff since May. Then, he has been diverting their pension into a fictitious insurance company since Nicon Insurance is down (this is similar to a pyramid scheme) and our government cannot protect their masses. Sad country

MAD MAN!!!!

stevemak said...

After collecting a bail out money of 37 billion the man dey yan Okpata> seriously he is a fool! The guy saying that his better to close down so that we wont have another crash; very obvious u dont know what u are saying. Air Nigeria always comes out top in any inspection by aviation Auditors. The fool just used the Airline to make money on the peril of the Hard working staff who earlier in the career enjoyed good condition of service; Its a pity that in this country that we allow dull men like this to have acess to such company and funds to even buy such org. Shame on you man; I pity your children!

jimoh ibrahim is a criminal and shouldnt be treated otherwise.I do not believe too much in curses buh jimoh is cursed. After collecting 35bn aviation intervention fund, you are shutting down on the basis of staff disloyalty, hw abt other ailines operating successfully. Hehas only done it again, trace his history, EAS, Newswatch,nICON, HE KILLS EVERYTHING HE TOUCHES. I just feel sorry for his staffs and his passengers that are stranded in different countries. And now, Nigerians will call hi a business tycoon, jimoh is a business tornado, kills everybusiness he comes across. In recent times, i doubt his sanity sef, well, i am not surprised. He joined the ruling party recently as a way to get away wiv all his mischiefs..Congratulations Jimoh, another fraud well perpetuated..

I have asked this question before. Let me ask again. Do we have any Labour laws known to employers and employees in Nigeria?

I have asked this question before. Permit me to ask again. Do we have Labour laws in Nigeria known to employers and employees? Or is it any thing goes?

sorry for you Yeye gold digger... the man will maltreat you the way he does everyone including his wife

Why am I not surprised. This guy is bad news . Nothing he touchs works.

well it is not his fault ,there is nothing working well in this country any more.how can he wake up one day and sack all the staff.things are going wrong here in Nigeria

Jimoh Ibrahim has the touch of death- Very unprofessional buinessman.

Morlard said...

@ VK I Hail thee!.. So sorry !!! All Is Well..

It is the management's responsibility to communicate the vison to employees. If they don't know where ur coming from and going to hou do you expect them to walk/ work with you?

Linda there is an error in what you posted,he sacked all the his staff and spare jst loyal 50 to start business with with 12 month.

iSaAc said...

This man needs serious medical check up for diabetes.

Money miss road.

THEY REFER TO THEM AS GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS.....THUNDER FIRE U AND THE LIKES OF OTEDOLA AND ALL THE REST AT THE TOP SUFFERING THE MASSES! WRATH OF GOD IS UPON YOU ALL AND SURELY U SHALL NOT GO UNPUNISHED. SHEGEE.

this is the same man that the lies of Dan Agbese and Ray Ekpu sold Newswatch to? common sense is not as common as we often think. Maybe the spirit of Dele Giwa will join forces with the living sacked workers of Air Nigeria and bring this man to his senses.

JIMOH IBRAHIM IS A BASTARD AND HE WILL REAP WHAT HE HAS SOWN. MY GOD WILL FIGHT FOR ME N DEAL WITH HIM. IMAGINE. GOD SEES, HE KNOWS N HE HEARS ALL OUR PRAYERS.

Dazzle Opera said...

You only hear this sort of happenings in Nigeria. What a lame reason for laying off workers!*smh*
O ga gan!!
www.dazzleopera.blogspot.com

If men were God!

passengers you have bought tickets should meet their agents for refund..just like that???......what if they where already abroad???

Dis bastard should be sued to his pants. Hw will he feel if he was afflicted with unpaid labour. Heartless Nigerian

A business based on a lie has a certain end

This man is just a fraud. He obtained a bailout from the Aviation Intervention fund set aside by the Bank of Industry and did not invest kobo in Air Nigeria. He has massive trail of failed businesses behind him.

YOU FUCKERS SHOULD SHUT UP......YOU NEED STAFF LOYALTY......STOP THINKING LIKE FUCKING EMPLOYEES AND START THINKING LIKE EMPLOYERS FOR A SECOND......

atleast we have averted another air crash with all these cheap plans dem dey use

Vintage Jimoh Ibrahim.

"May Jimoh Ibrahim buy your business" is now the new "E no go better for you"

Jimoh Ibrahim go and pay your vendors the millions you owe them for services rendered!!!! They thought you were credible and credit worthy and thought it wrong it let your business be crippled because of your debts. Do you want their businesses to "shut down" like yours?????? Enemy of Progress Oshi. Olori buruku guy.

business nigeria said...

What a reply he gave. Does he know he has sent some youths back into the unemployed market? His reason even sounds too political. All this big business men in Nigeria sef..

Jimoh Ibrahim the goat! it unfortunate some people are talking about safety her- the issues had nothing to do with safety( Air Nigeria as far as i have the information was the safest airline in Nigeria).
The guy is just wicked and diabolic!!!first he takes away leave previledeges, then he takes away health insurance, they deduct pension from staff salaries and have not remitted in over 20months, Cooperative deductions are also taken but the staff can't even have access to their money.
You don't pay staff for 3months and say they are disloyal?
Even his global fleet staff are like zombies, they've been robbed of all self esteem and i do not think they can find jobs elsewhere 'cos they all foolow him about like some hypnotized goats!

That said- he will surely reap what he has sown in due season!!!

I just left Gatwick airport apparently there is no air Nigeria office, help desk went to the inquiry desk in the airport was given these 2 dead numbers 02074488400 and 01293569007 which I have been calling since morning no response. This is crazy and unbelievable so how will I go back agents have not received any refunds offices in nigeria shut down and no office in the whole united kingdom this is out right fraud and i am stranded here because of one useless man's incompetency to run a business..... What do I do because I really need to get back to work. This absolutely insane and Nigerians should up for once in their lives and fight for our rights, no refunds , no alternative flights nothing.....Im so livid right here

Can u kindly post my previous comments and save people from wasting time and money going to Gatwick airport

Go back to primary 1...mumu

Don't worry dear,Gods gonna give u n ur colleagues better jobs,,God will fight for u n u will hold ur peace. Every disappointment makes way for blessings

Ow does ds ur comment add to d topic of discussion,,,smh for u. Tatafo

Gues u r jimoh Ibrahim or his spokesman

Hehehehe,,Lol

My older sister worked for him at global fleet aja,he is such a bad manager,he can never listen to others,he is not open to advice,he feels he knows every thing better than any one.All his businesses has almost collapsed,work wt him,he will verbally insult your entire life.As far as my sister knows,he has only two wives,his younger wife resides in the UK,wt all his wealth,d lady would tell u life is't that rosy for her and her parent.Mr super glue,he has extended this attitude to his businesses.

Jimoh ibrahim is some one i know too well,he feels he is god,he listens to know one,he does't one to listen to any thing u hv to say,why should't he hv issues in business,and very heartless man, highly disrespectful.You need to hear him the day he insulted an elderly man at his reception,the old man went aside,and said am not asking him for his money,is the payment for my fuel station that he rented.The old man was weeping,he was tired of going daily to his office,i was hurt cause the old man looks ill,he said he owed him this money over 7mnths.He has done very evil things to people,i would't mention,all i can say is that he is a fraud star,and he will pay.