First Lady Patience Jonathan's health update: illness started in Dubai | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 September 2012

First Lady Patience Jonathan's health update: illness started in Dubai

An update from Sahara Reporters
The “food poisoning” condition that landed Mrs. Patience Jonathan in a hospital in Germany reportedly started in Dubai eleven days ago where she had gone to see a doctor because her hands were twitching.
Presidency sources said she had gone to Dubai after the recent African First Ladies Summit in Abuja, an event that imposed an unfamiliar and grueling schedule of meetings and late nights on Mrs. Jonathan, saying she needed some rest.

Her visit to Dubai was explained as a vacation but our sources said it involved a medical procedure, while in Dubai, she reportedly had "food poisoning" alongside her medical doctor, soon after she returned to Abuja last Monday, the emergency broke and she had to be airlifted to Wiesbaden, Germany for food poisoning.

Since SaharaReporters broke the news yesterday, the Presidency has officially kept mum about the First Lady's condition. Despite a media arm recently fortified to give Mrs. Jonathan a more aggressive press presence, it has provided neither denial nor confirmation.

Last night, Ayo Adewuyi, the First Lady’s media aide, told us that he had himself only just returned from vacation, and pleaded for time to respond to our inquiries.

When we called him today to find out if he had found out Mrs. Jonathan’s whereabouts, he confirmed that she was in Germany and pleaded to let him send a press statement regarding the issue. Several hours later, he insisted that he was still working on a statement.

There have, however, been half-hearted denials and spins in some newspapers and blogs claiming that Mrs. Jonathan is only resting, but none of those outlets have provided her location or shed light on her condition.

Sahara Reporters

93 comments:

i was thinking the update is that she is dead!
oops, thats mean!!!

Amarachi said...

Wishing her a speedy recovery.Hope this is not a curse to Nigerian Presidents where 2 people will go in and one person comes out.Anyways

chrissie said...

Erm sorry to deviate from the issue but ....she went to DUBAI for treatment BECAUSE HER HANDS WERE TWITCHING???? i tot they had absolute faith in the nigerian system...so those who r dying of serious illnesses n cnt fly to dubai nko? issorai now, twitching hands don promote go food poisoning. wonder what the illness the german hospital will add...blinking eyes maybe? sha get well soon madam first lady!

Witch pple from Bayelsa are following her.

why will u wish her dead....nawa for people, remember the word back to sender....hmmmmm

Hia! Wat kind of food poisoning is it that cnt b treated in 9ja biko nu? This pple shld speak d truth jor! Food poisoning ko food poisoning ni! Next fin nw dey'l say she died of "food poisoning" *sigh* (˘̯˘ )

God forbid!! I wish her quick recovery

nky arah said...

Please don't wish Mrs Patience Jonathan dead.She will not die but live to glorify God.She has been working so hard.A Leader is in the eyes of all.Let us check ourselves and use the resources we have to also work hard.We all as women must support her with prayers.God bless our 1st Lady.

sahara reporters.... very biased in their reporting... i just dnt believe anythng frm them..

She will be fine! Let's get positive and always pray for her recovery. She could be anyones mother, sister, aunt or friend; pls everyone let's pray and get positive for her. Fredrick Uduoba

Well, doesn't come as a surprise considering the state of the country! Remember Abacha? GEJ and Pepe should tread carefully. And not piss off the Gods of the land.

BLOGBABY said...

Only in 9ja!

BLOGBABY said...

Only in 9ja!

NecFix said...

Anon 9:54: Oh yea, that was mean...& dumb too. & that my friend, is a dangerous combination.

Hmmmm I hear her aides have been fired following dis whole 'poison' story...dis stories,ders more lili dig deep!!..come to think of it what work has she done as Firstlady/perm sec that she's claiming 'resting'..steal public funds, tax pple pay after working hard and u can't still equip a medical center for even the high and mighty instead dey keep flying from post to post....nonsense!

Why should people being unreasonable, wishing her death, even if dey are not doing well, why not pray that dey will leave to witness a better leadership, if God judge us by our mistake, who will stand or if all the people we hv done wrong in one way or the other pronounce death, do u think u will leave, remember when ur pointing one finger on someone the rest is on u.

Yeah it really started on a visit to DubaI,she noticed that her hands were twitching.So my bet is that it maybe D early onset of Alzeihmers or signs of untreated diabetes!
What ever it is,she is surrounded by d best experts in d world who will give Her d best diagnosis and best medical treatment! I wish her well and pray for her full and spêedy recovery!

R we sure she didn't go 4 wot Stella Obasanjo wen 4????? Foood poisioning aka tummy tuck......hmmmmmmm!

citijists247 said...

It's a ruptured appendicitis

Editor said...

All these Black christian public/political VIPs that always run to dubai like it's a good place. Those countries are rich, but they have the poorest and darkest minds known to man. be warned.

IVORY CHI said...

NAWA OH 'HANDS TWITCHING'

I PRAY SHE IS HEALED

Warri Girl said...

Anon 9;54 tank God you told your self thats mean. but make dis 1 nor die for aso rock ooo, too many deaths in that aso rock.

Warri Girl.

I fêel that she is entitled to d best medical treatment in d world as wife of d President of d fed republic of NigerIa and an hounourable perm sec tôo!
Would u like our fIrst lady to end up in d Abuja general hospital?If anything untoward happens to her,u ppl will be d first to say lôok at our Mama wey him husband be Oga,dem come carry am go Abuja general! This man dey stingy well well.
So plebians,pls let d first lady be and kêep ur traps shut!!

I hope she recovers. She's annoying as hell but I don't wish her any ill will. I just have to ask though - the First Ladies Summit had a grueling schedule? What exactly were they doing there and for how many hours of the day? What's so exhausting about a summit if you haven't been working non-stop for a week before the summit? It's not like she does 9 to 5 of hard labour and then works overtime.

Haba Linda, you are relying on Sahara Reporters for this information about the first lady??? Don't you know that SR are not the best of Nigerian blogs???? That they are unreliable and make up too many stories???

I dont wish her bad but what will be will be..... how many people have died indirectly from this govt's hands...let them search themselves... jona and patience should have remembered that God hears the cries of orphans and widows/widowers...
a word is enough for the wise.
Mary I.

that is idiot that commented at 10.38 is a big idiot abeg Linda post my comment.
she deserves the best health care in the world my thick ass!!
the poor citizens of this country nko? the tax payers nko? the graduates that managed to do well for themselves through school and dint get jobs nko......
abeg dont let me say more..
yes the state of this country dint start with jonathan's era but he has contributed generously to make it worse.....
if u have nothing to write hold it there abeg!!!
most of u people writing shit here are eating from this govt if not u wont open ur heads to type shit here.
pardon my foul languages but i dey vex.......
Mary I.

I lost a dear cousin just last week to food poison, and he died in a nigerian hospital.... u guys writing all sorts here have no idea how bitter it is, since jona has bn in office has he made any attempt on better health care????
pls i could rant and rant and rant, do u know how it feels to bury ur own child? i pray u guys dont ever go through that!!!
the money patience is spending right now is who's money?
Mary I

Chai, u must be one of d very few benefitting from GEj's administration to call her post as a perm second honourable. Tufiakwa. U better fear God

Do u knw d reason y she wil b wished death,d silence of her husband n his statements over dis boko haram n fuel subsidy of which d strike took many people lives.at least they dnt knw wht it means to loose luved ones.dis is d prayer of the aggreved n oppressd workin.check out Pslm:109 u wil c d prayer of d oppressd.nonscence!!!

she go treat twitching palms fo dubai....omo ale ma ni woman yii fa! doesnt she know that means more money coming????? choi. WASTER

pls they better start praying for the first lady sharpaly!!!
what goes around comes around, and with the last 3 villa deaths in past administrations...

BRITISHROYAL FAMILY said...

Pay back's a bitch!!! She's been murdering the english language times without number.. Guess revenge is best served cold!! Go English!!!!!

TalkiNg PicTureS said...

Hello My sweet Linda,

As for me, i think the food poisoning is only a cover up for her Tummy tuck. Lets hope God helps her. Nigerians even if we dislike people, we should not wish them the worst, rather pray for them, that is humiliating enough.

just for laughs visit, Too Funny talking9japictures.blogspot.com

oluchi aka B dazzler said...

may she be healed in Jesus Name Amen...but please president and his family i beg as we are praying for you people also visit Linda's blog to donate money to people who needs urgent treatment in abroad too.
www.beedazzler.blogspot.com

Am sory this is long but am pourin my heart out 4rm sumthn v bin thru!
WeLl, y won't we wish her dead! Do u knw how many pple die from those eye sore we call teaching hospitals!
My baby was recently admitted 2 1 of these hospitals n we had 2 go luk 4 a bed by ourslf! Thy put 5babies on a strecher 2 save space n use it as a bed! Its rily rily sad n I was always weepin 4d pple dat culdnt afford 2 get their own bed n drugs lik we did.
Babies die lik chickn thr n u knw just 1million will do a lot 4 dm thr. N these pple spend millions of dollars on vanities.
Wn we were leavin" thankfully alive" we donated a few stuffs n we r nt gazillionaires n u culd c d appreciation! Peeps die cos of 20 naira valium injection
Anyway I hope she goes thru d pain ordinary pple go thru

Anonymous 10:38 u r a big fool. So she shldn't go to general hospital in Abuja cs she s first lady? If she and her husband were working hard and not looting our funds like they r supposed to, the general hospital in Abuja wld be good enough for her. Is she better than the people dt go to the general hospital and die cs of poor medical facilities or even power outage? Rubbish.

olichi aka B dazzler said...

yes anonymous 11:43 i get you sweet..but let's leave it to God to handle we will all pray that we won't be a victim but then, Mr Presido and all others connected to him should link him to www.lindaikeji.blogspot.com to see people who needs medical attentn. too

okorodudu said...

"...she was not used to the gruelling schedule during the time she hosted bla bla bla". haba! isn't she a Perm Sec in addition to being 1st Lady? You mean she isn't used to hard work like the majority of us? na wah o!

And her itching hands... nor be say when money dey come your palms would itch? She was merely anticipating the illgotten wealth she and GEJ will amass ni yen ke!

Linda, how i wish your blog has "like and dislike buttons" , so i can do so to some of the comments here . That been said i wish her speedy recovery, May God help us all in Nigeria...Amen!

To all of you wishing Dame Patience Jonathan dead, Its you and your family members that will die a painful and an untimely death...Ijn.

How did she even get food poisoning in the first place? Upon all the Gucci rice and Louis Vuitton beans?:/. It must be the cassava bread or Bayelsa plantain.=D. Anyways, why do dey av to fly her out? Or dem foprget general hospital and private hospital dey here . Chai, c example of leaders we gt

Who knows mayb they poisoned her food in dubai. D̶̲̥̅̊ont forget mrs yar adua has her cabal in dubai. They should not be trusted. I bet that woman Ȋ̝̊̅§ not happy leaving that office for patience. Oga Jo, open ur eyes,enemies are sorounding u. Patie, stop dragging land with madam yar adua..abeggi

Abeg rem to save debbie o nt the woman wey hand dey itch,mphew. As if der re no nigerians with bad conditioan of health. Make dem pretend say dem no hear ppl dey suffer frm cancer and all.

How did she even get food poisoning in the first place? Upon all the Gucci rice and Louis Vuitton beans?:/. It must be the cassava bread or Bayelsa plantain.=D. Anyways, why do dey av to fly her out? Or dem foprget general hospital and private hospital dey here . Chai, c example of leaders we gt

let us see OH!!!!...after spending so much money on food in the villa, the same food has given her food poisioning.issorait popcorn and bottled coke out

Hw do u know ur nt one of d family members? Am nt saying its right to wish her dead bt u dnt know if u just wished ursrlf evil.

I don't wish her dead, but the truth is this guys are wasting a lot money if they can improve the health sector what is stopping them from treating their ailment here in the country!

Jaja said...

Maybe it is due to overwork from combining her perm sec job with the office of first lady duties plus servicing Ebele every night including doing night school for English grammar. She definitely needs a rest in Dubai from all these...who wouldn't?

Don't u think dat was too extreme? Slikky

I wish her well. Her symptoms could be related to anything including stress. Everybody deserves the best treatment for their illnesses and no one should be assured of such an opportunity only when they can travel out of hell-hole-Naija. But that is the reality of the nation. Because of the worm of greed that has eaten through our society, unless Jonathan takes the shovel himself and digs the ground for the hospital, personally hires the doctors and med personnel and approves their pay checks monthly, personally tries and jails med personnel when they siphone immunizations and med equipment to their private clinics, and strips them of their licenses when they maim and kill because dem wan do jack of all trade medicine, all efforts to run a successful hospital or clinic in Nigeria will fail. na so e be.

Really? Are u the 1st couple's physician or what informed ur diagnosis?

Morlard said...

People wickHead shaa!! Well its her turn !! #nuffsaid

QF
I dnt believe d fud poisoning story, its probably cancer! Get well patience we cant afford to kip spendin on u.

Like seriously??????it's dame we r talkin abt o!!!choi!!

U guys r so not observant! Have u guys noticed that since Madam Patience have been away,GEJ is shinning and glowing like a man na Ara Ezigbo OoTu!! Looking so reLaxed! All d ononadi Acho Di women have desecended on him. Uninvited too!
Assorted kwa! I dey for near d action so this one no be small yarnoO!Wetin ma eye see,e no fit talkoooo! Umunwanyi!! Tufiakwa!!

mtcheew fellow widows her husband has done bck to sender why will she not fall sick too much sweet mouth

Mehn dis is so hilarious... Abeg make she tolk wetin do am... 2 much story dey ere...

September 4, 2012 10:38 AM you are a FOOL for opening that gutter you call a mouth. they are all the cause of lack of healthcare in naija and it is okay for me and you to die in a naija hospital due to lack of facilities abi and for jona and patience to travell all over the world to get the best healthcare!!!whose moeny are they spending if i may ask!!!!

as lond as she is in germany then i believe the story is plausible.....probably it was cassava bread that caused the food poision pele oh umbelella

Come 2 think of it. Since 1993 till 2011 either the president or his wife has to die while in office. Lets take Abacha he died while in office, OBJ came in with stella, and stella died, then Yaradua and his wife and Yaradua died now we have GEJ and mama Nigeria. who know what will happen. what am saying is that Aso rock need prayers.

Captainmama said...

If she die no be new thing na, Abacha died, stella die, Yaradua die maybe be na she be d next democratic sacrifice.

So no hospital in Nigeria could help her? These ppl are such hypocrites. Twitching hands don't need visit all the way to Dubai to fix.

Why is it that anytime the Nigerian president or his wife is sick, the story is never STRAIGHT??? na wa oh. can they ever be straightforward. hian!

#twitchinghands #vacation #foodpoisoning #abuja #dubai #Germany.....which one na?

Over indulgence? Patience, get a personal trainer. It will do you and the country good. We would actually be able to point at something inspiring from you

If she only has food poisoning y r they bein so secretive...could be worse than dt oo...hope stella obasanjo's fate wnt befall her too oo...hope she gets well soon tho

You see Linda remember in the other write up i told you my friend and I saw her in disguise in Dubai...I was right afterall.

whatever happen to Yar'Adua can still happen to...

its always a tradition since we gain democracy two go i comes out alive check it out. obj enta stella died , yar adua and jonathan yar adua go and nw jonathan sanbo 1 person must die in this govt so its a tradition

My thots exactly nd its alwais turn by turn if Man die na woman go die next! Wishing her speedy recovery!

Sexily Endowed said...

Hmmmmmm since Abacha die for dat seat, couples sit on it & stand either as α widow or widower. Our dear 1st lady, na prayin tins oooo. De money wey u dey steal ahhh na save i mean. Use am buy urself α beta Pastor oooo. Get well soon our oyibo blaster #winkin

Kemi said...

why Germany?Are there no good hospitals here?lol!She should ave bin taken to d National hospital in Abuja now!No be only food poison!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

see her greed and wakawaka...when she wouldn't sit in one place..money laundering and buying property..now see!!..hope the rest of the oles are watching!!..not sorry for her at all..sue me!!

ALL THE MONEY DEYVE BEEN KEEPING TO THEMSELVES, WITHOUT HELPIN D POOR..DATS WATS MAKIN D FINGERS TWITCH!

Mary,Mary Mary,u don't call someone a fool simply because they expressed an opinion about the first lady! That is uncouth,if u know what that means.
Think abt this,d first lady was already in Dubai when her hands started twitching! Do u expect her to fly back to Abuja for treatment? There will always be one President and fIrst lady at any one time and since they r living off d ppls tax money,it is our responsibility to encourage them to get d best medical services anywhere in d world!

In Nigeria,gateman and bank mahager no dey chop 4 d same place! Fact: All animals r equal but some r more equal than d otHers! Good day frm Texas.Jerry.

Speedy recovery,but I dnt buy d idea of flyin her out of d country 4 health issues.dey cnt use d hospitals dey expect us to use abi.........

Our Viller na Killer!

Do u guys know that Jonathan was once the first lady's teacher at d college of education? Do u know that when d first lady was in my class she was very slim and beautiful? Just saying!
Do u know dat my wife Dr G was her friend in skool? And do u know dat I made it in d states without cowtowing to d first lady nor her husband. Patie get well soon!!!

why don't i feel any pity huh? #pinchmyself# yeah! am human.

She has a ruptured appendix not food poisoning..Listen to NTA news!

Guess she's been eatin 2 much garri lately... Get well soom mummy pee...

justlikeme@live.com said...

See as she fine for picture.....i no think say she fine reach thiis before oh. But do you remember that people dey fine MOST just before they die #justsaying ni oh

Naija una too much, coffee wey i dey drink hia comot my nose as i read this

Lmaooooo

You are very very foolish. I'm sure you must be chopping from the national cake, that's why you have the mouth to talk. Yeye goat like you

Please go and write a damn book!

At least they gave us d idea while our reliable reporters r claiming *busy*

Abeg, let's not fool ourselves. Where does she work/live, ABUJA or Bayelsa, maintaining 2office, na wah o.

At least they gave us d idea while our reliable reporters r claiming *busy*

Afterall, she's still anyone's anything but not a mother, thank u.

Chukwudum said...

Nigeria is a country where the leaders have no respect, regard or sympathy for the led. we live in a system where we claim democracy but is far from being democratic. Why would a sensible and responsible leader turn a deaf ear to the cries of over 150million while squandering billions on frivolities?
Those countries they run to when they have a headache or itching fingers, and throw away millions of taxpayers hot sweat, do those countries reinvest in nigeria? I am really so sad and wish there were an avenue to pour out the bile in me upon Mr. President and his hordes. Unfortunately he may never read this blog, and even if he did, would never blink an eyelid over it.
Well, Dame Patie, in as much as I could never wish you death, but be rest assured dat my eyes would be dry and clear if you did die.

Chukwudum said...

Nigeria is a country where the leaders have no respect, regard or sympathy for the led. we live in a system where we claim democracy but is far from being democratic. Why would a sensible and responsible leader turn a deaf ear to the cries of over 150million while squandering billions on frivolities?
Those countries they run to when they have a headache or itching fingers, and throw away millions of taxpayers hot sweat, do those countries reinvest in nigeria? I am really so sad and wish there were an avenue to pour out the bile in me upon Mr. President and his hordes. Unfortunately he may never read this blog, and even if he did, would never blink an eyelid over it.
Well, Dame Patie, in as much as I could never wish you death, but be rest assured that my eyes would be dry and clear if you did die.

Hmmmm Chinemerem you just might have something here! First Stella, then the last president and now Patience. Is there more to this pattern or is it a coincidence? I for one do not believe in coincidences! Perhaps there's something afoot in Asorock...make we siddon look.

Patience flown out of country, Dziani flown out of country...both for undisclosed illnesses. Hmmm oya jona come out come explain oh