Tupac Foundation Honours Top Comedian, Julius Agwu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 22 August 2012

Tupac Foundation Honours Top Comedian, Julius Agwu

One of the most versatile entertainers in Africa, Julius D’Genius’ Agwu has yet bag another international recognition few weeks after winning the African Achievers Awards in London. This honour is coming from Tupac Foundation in Atlanta where the leading comedian happens to be one of the international stars that have their names in-scriped on the bricks at the foundation.

Few days back, Julius was presented with an autobiography of Tupac Shakur titled ‘Tupac Shakur Legacy’. Autographed by Tupac’s mum, Afeni Shakur, this might not be unconnected with Julius Agwu’s support to the foundation during one of his visits to America and his popularity in Africa.

Afeni, who also wrote the forward of the book written by Jamal Joseph, wrote; “Julius Agwu, peace, love, respect, se alaafia ni? We pray we will able to come to home, Nigeria in the future. Help make our home land safe. We are ever hopeful for African peace and prosperity”.

The book, Tupac Shakur Legacy features removable reproductions of handwritten, lyrics, notebook pages and other personal memorabilia plus Tupac Shakur Speaks, a 60minutes CD featuring rare interviews with Tupac.

Speaking on this recognition, Julius said he feels very much excited and grateful to God about it. “I feel very excited and elated for this recognition. And most importantly, it is an inspiration for most of us who are in the business of entertainment because even for the fact the guy’s age was cut short at a very early stage, we know he has left a very indelible mark on the sand of time. I went to Tupac Foundation in Atlanta and I saw the projects he was working on before he died and what his mum too is doing at the foundation. I was so inspired and it got to say that for those of us who are here doing entertainment business, if we do not give back to the society, we have not really started. So everything we do, we should see it as a way of giving back to the society”.

He said further that “the foundation inspired me more that I have not even started yet. The expanse of land where the foundation is located including how they have impacted on the society says a lot that as role models, we really need to work harder because you have not achieved if you have not impacted on the people. No matter who you are and how much you think you have, you are not an achiever if you have not impacted on the people. I actually bought a brick at the foundation and my name was inscribed on it. If you go to Tupac Foundation in Atlanta, you will see my name on one of the bricks there with other great super stars. From what have been told, this is the first copy in Africa which was actually autographed by Tupac’s mother and I’m very privileged and honoured to be part of the chosen few. I’m planning a trip to the foundation this year to visit Tupac’s mum after Crack Ya Ribs in America”.

The comedian who has been hosting the Crack Ya Ribs Comedy Show annually in London over a decade has decided to take the show to other cities. And for the first time, the show will hold in New York, Houston, Dallas and Glasgow.

The London show will hold on 26 August, 2012 at the Light House Hall, 262-274 Camberwell Road, SE5 ODL, which happens to be the same venue where Laff for Christ's sake show held in April 2012. Artistes and comedians billed to perform at the London show include D’Prince, Seyi Law, Dj Abass, FunnyBone, Senator, MC Shakara and Funny Face from Ghana. Top Ghanaian acts like Guru and Khaki will also be performing at the event.

In a similar vein, the New York and Glasgow shows will hold on 1 September, 2012 at the Simphony Space Theater, 2537 Broadway, NY 10025 and 24 August, 2012 at O2 ABC 2 Glasgow respectively. Houston and Dallas are billed for September 7 & 8 respectively.

23 comments:

Oh congrats Julius I know they honored OMOTOLA too last year . They honor I think celebrity activists . Saw the pictures then on Bella Naija.

deekay said...

Impressive!! Kudos, dude. Keep it up.

Emmy Oruh said...

"Has yet bag"?;"inscriped"?;"autobiography" was written by Jamal Joseph?Like seriously?Who wrote dis piece?Smh.Go bck n edit dis job Linda

pweetylisa said...

Wooow... So happy 4 him, its gud dt we bein recognisd buh I feel der r oda commedians dt do betta dan him n hence dey deserve it mor

Warri Girl said...

That's good, am happy that he see there is a need for entertainers to give back to the society.

There is a fresh article this morning, check it https://warrigirl.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/proverb-award-2012/

Kudos to u julius...nd plz mak sure dey laf till dia ribs start cracking,lol

Congratz juliuz..bt hope u r also doin smetng 4 piple of naija...p.s..didnt even knw dat 2pac..was naija or partly naija.#CHOKOLATA#..dats wassup!

Julius d genuis!!! U ar rily a SON OF D SOIL..U do well bros!

Congrats to Julius, truly funny without fussing. More power to your elbows

Celebrity World said...

But pac is from tanzania not nigeria ok oo

If its autobiography then its written by Tupac himself so this is biography as another prsn wrote it.kindly correct this error

Celebrity World said...

Julius weldone but didn't have nigerian blood in his legend gs face so Linda stop lIe lie and unknowing history in your blog ok how how old are you to know all about afeani SHakur did ever se mum pac one on one or daddy his still alive in prison .yoruba is very very easy to speack in anY counties .what thinks about ciara when she visited Nigeria for citypeople she speacking yoruba live on stage or did forget nas jone speack yoruba live in Nigeria .so pac's families is from Tanzania not this hot county so call nigerian ok?

Oh! Sept 1st. My birthday! Wish I could be there. Julius congrats. Keep flying and inspiring us. Talent is really something worth having and utilising. Bless you God,for all talented pp like me.

Linda, change the person who wrote this story ASAP! There's a reason why small business owners are taught to employ on merit and this is it. This person could really mess up ur highly referenced blog. - Obinna

blackornamental pls let spell check be ur guide, got a headache trying to read ur post...gave up!!

IfeD

slickyken said...

Lord have mercy!!Seriously are you for real or you just trying to crack us up??

Lake said...

As in eeh!! blackornamental whatever happened to spell checking?...jeez!!

BigMike said...

They gave the address of all the shows except Houston & Dallas. I live in Houston and would like to know the address of the upcoming event.... Help pls...Thx

English of life....WoW!!!

kels said...

Ur legacy lives on Pac!!! #SheddingTears

Julius mekao for making Ikwerre, Rivers people and nigeria in general proud.

DASphyzie96 said...

Eyah!!! Tupac will be smiling in his Grave....

congratulations.