Video: Rihanna's full interview on Oprah's Next Chapter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 20 August 2012

Video: Rihanna's full interview on Oprah's Next Chapter

70 comments:

Angel said...

This girl is so real. That's one of the things I like about her. She doesn't paint the 'I'm Perfect' picture. She is herself and she doesn't give a damn! It takes a lot of boldness to admit to the world you still love a man who put you through a traumatic experience. Chris is lucky to have this girl! Go Rih!

wow. i was really touched by this interview.This girl is really humble. upon all the fame she hasnt forgotten her roots.if na some naija people dem for don deny their roots. one great lesson i have learnt is that i shouldnt forget my roots.

she is so real! loving her

"I lost my best friend" Deep!!!

awe I enjoyed this...so beautiful!

KELSONLINE7 said...

I TOTALLY LOVE RIHANNA MORE....

My view on this is quite simple. People who do this are confused and lie to themselves. I was in a relationship like that once upon a time where my girlfriend kept hanging on to her so called first love. But the so called first love was merely using her to collect money. He played on her intelligence because she had declared her love to him. If he tells her to jump, all she would ask is how high. With that kind of hold over another human being there is the temptation to abuse it. The current state in which RiRi has put herself, if CB tells her to eat his shit I bet she would, yet she may not even want to love her current boyfriend. I can bet you Chris Brown does not feel the same way with about RiRi. He certainly does not hate her, but he will not call her the love of his life. This thing happens to women a lot (only God knows why). The same also happened to Brittney and Justin Timberlake. The truth is that women who go on this journey not only make themselves miserable but they also destroy genuine people who truly love them. One of the fundamental lessons of life is learning to let go. Whatever you cannot let go will ultimately destroy you.

UNITED said...

That was touching. L♥√ U̶̲̥̅̊ more now Rihanna, cos U̶̲̥̅̊ brought out Ɣ☺ΰя real self during that interview with oprah. Α̲̅πϑ congratulations τ̅☺ Ɣ☺ΰя mum for the house U̶̲̥̅̊ got for ђε̲̣̣̣̥я̩̥̊, cos T̶̲̥̅̊ha̶̲̥̅̊t's every parent's prayer τ̅☺ eat the fruits ☀̤̣̈̇f their labour.

As for me I feel Riri has a very low self esteem of herself. CB is not the only man in the world. It is more than cruel to do this to oneself, It looks like she will be unhappy for the rest of her life - I pray for her that this is not the case.

Dee dee said...

Awww she's cute and she's real...quite giggly. She's young and going to make mistakes like we all do and I'm glad that she's stayed grounded to her roots. We're all human at the end of the day...people telling her to move on from the Chris incident don't realise how some things can cut so deep that they follow you for a very long time, maybe forever.

Miss Understood said...

Much as I don't too send Oprah sha, you've got to hand it to her...she has a gift for truly capturing the essence of a person's being. Rihanna came across as real in this interview. Sometimes we forget that these larger than life stars also struggle with feelings of insecurity, vulnerabilities and bouts of raw, pulsating emotion. Now I get Rihanna's whole tough chick persona. She's still a scared and scarred little girl inside a grown up body.

Gracy said...

Such a humble girl...I love her simplicity..

That's so emotional and touching.

Bianca said...

I love the interview. She put the media in check and stood her ground. She's still in love with Chris, and honestly he was young and people make stupid mistakes.

I believe with counseling, they can get back together and have a healthy relationship.

Gb09 said...

Hmmmmm, very interesting. Children who grow up in abusive homes always tend to sympathize with their abusers. I hope she finds a different kind of love again.

Ant said...

Really proud of Riri, she has definitely moved on and she sounds so mature! Very down to earth.

This girl has serious issues and what's sad is how she has herself convinced that she is rational in her handling of some of them. Oprah's ridiculous validation of some of her responses astounds me. Anyway, it's their lives, we're just watching.

It's amazing how down to earth she is. She related to folks in her neighborhood so well. Now I love dis gal . Omo rere bi iyan.

Femiluv said...

Watched it!! Impressed by Rihanna's humility.

Illuminati or not, shr's just a ill girl trying to find herself. Funny how we(the viewers, fans, haters) turned a personal issue in her life into this great circus and literally drove her into recklessness and I'd like to say depression. One key lesson was how the relationship with her father affects her relationships with men, very eye-opening. Meanwhile, see house!

Blunt Queen said...

Linda we want to watch the karadashians interview with oprah

Jenny said...

I so love u RiRi,so much,muah.

Looks like she was being real.....

Boring

Thank you Linda for this video, I love and understand Rihanna even more ❤

Linda, you are awesome.

lovely!!!

She's so real..

I cried from the beginning to end I showed my mum cos what happened to her mum is happening to my mum in her marriage I can so relate.I love rihanna so much I don't care what people say about her.I wanna be greater than her and I am going to achieve my goals.#RihannaNavy.thanks for being you.

CUTE VERY CUTE

Simply pure.

MissBoss said...

Wow!i totally loved it. Rihanna is such a darlyn. I feel I shld call her Robin, cos dats who she truly is, I always tell Pple a lot of who u are is who who u were. Ur past frames u, Neva 4get family, cos family is ur 1st luv, family is where u go back to at d end of d day. I hope artists nd evn upcomin acts nd evn individuals that make it big in life can take a cue frm dis. HUMILITY is everything.
Luvly Luvly Luvly.

Ammawhite said...

Haba Linda, you couldn't wish your Muslim readers A Happy Eid Celebration to mark the end of the fasting period. The Holiday has and ends today and I was expecting to see your post on it for our Muslims brothers and sisters but it wasn't forthcoming. At least you were magnanimous to wish them a Happy Ramadan fasting so why the silence on the festivities... Anyway I am wishing you one

God bless you for this...

Rihanna has always been such a lovely damsel, she is so natural and genuine.She said she does not buy into people calling her a role model, because the term has widely been abused. Publicly declaring her unconditional love for Chris Brown and opening up on how she felt bad when Chris was indicted because of her. mehn!!! wish many girls from Nigeria can emulate her kindness to the dad, mum and late granny. She is very proig of where she came from...

Awwwww,cute!! Rihanna isnt the way we all fink she is after all...behind the glamour and fiercy attitude lies a little gurl...nice one rihanna.

This is the realest interview ever..i loved rihanna more

Woooow, I have cRied my eyes out by watching this interview,Rihanna was so real, I understand her now and all d defense mechanism she portrays,we all sometimes don't like to feel vulnerable nor weak.

I cried so much watching dis interview...I love Rihanna so much mehn 4 kipn it real...can't wait til d day I surprise my mum tew wiv a house n a car :D

Beautiful!!!!

Femiluv said...

@ Anon 2:13: You are right. I really loved the interview but I agree that some of her responses were quite ridiculous and left me thinking "she high?" and were quickly validated by Oprah which I thought was odd.

Oh well..we now know Rihanna a lil bit better and I never had any respect for her but I do now.

Erm, I tot u said u wer in the relationship? So which one are u? D guy or d girl? Y r u talkin in thirdperson?

Jay O said...

Initially I was skeptical, but realized the problem, she is just a regular lady with an amazing talent, and its hard to be normal when its lights, camera, action all the time.

I do agree that she has some personal issues to deal with but she reminds me of a child hood friend that I grew up with, that eventually hits it big. At the end of the day, she really wants to just be Robyn, but she cant anymore, the world wont let her.

Most importantly, I think she needs God. Dont think she mentioned Him even 1x in the interview, there's a big gap still missing in her life, that no human being but God can really fill.

Although i dont support her way of life (who am i to even say that self,)but i love her music. She is so humble and lovely. I was very moved by this interview and i just hope for the best for her.

tolud said...

It takes a lot of nerves to admit ur imperfections and talk about ur past mistakes. M loving dis girl. This is real, touching.

A lesson learnt.Thank you.

It was kool, she was real and I hope she finds true happiness, life can be funny sha this is just another example money can't buy the basic things of life only temporary things.

There is nothing like been truthful to yourself, Rihanna is so real
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Touching story..but there's a very big vaccum left to be filled,without that,she can never find true happiness : GOD

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

awwwwwwwwww i have fallen in love with Robyn i love the way she is so true to her roots and remembers people from her past the drive through to her childhood neighbourhood was the best part for me

metche said...

This is very interesting. I never used to like her but now i think i Love her.

She said she is not comfortable been called a role model because its a place nobody can attain, a place of perfection, and to her nobody is perfect including her. Interesting. I never knew she an reason like that.

Blue said...

relationship with her father affects her relationships with men!! Very very True! I respect her more, thanks Rih

Folarin Akin said...

Relationship shouldn't be generalised. Relationship is like a DNA. It might not end happily ever after but it can go successfully ever after. Rihanna is sincere; I always knew Chris and Riri are good pair.

Victoria said...

Bianca, Chris doesn't want her back. If he did she'd be with him. She went back to him after the abuse and she left again because he wasn't interested. She had songs about this and referred to it in interviews. Remember his interviews afterwards? This man is not sorry. She was prepared to throw her career away over him and she still is. She damned the consequences to feature him on her song and vice versa and what did he do? He put her on blast, accusing her of sleeping with the industry guys and she deleted him from twitter (after putting her on blast in the song Deuces). Yet she's there basically telling him and the whole world she wants him, not caring that he's in a relationship. I followed this because 7 months before Rihanna was beaten, bitten, choked and dumped bleeding on the side of the road by this man she still wants, I was hospitalized by my boyfriend. When my brother got guys to beat him, I fought with them and went to see him. Unlike Chris my ex was sorry and begging but thank God He called me to order. He showed me that such a man is sorry only till the next time. A man who loves me will never beat the hell out of me. It was so hard to move on, I'd slept with him but I had to force myself to do the right thing and walk away. I confessed the positive by saying I had moved on by God's grace until one day I found that it was true. God had removed that boy from my heart. I know she's real but she's also weak. She should fight those feelings. A woman who has it all like Rihanna shouldn't be loving a man that beat her and doesn't want her. She shouldn't be saying she feels butterflies when she sees him or whatever. As Jay said she needs God. I wish her all the best.

Hahahaha! Riri and her manipulative capabilities in full blare, and she don catch many of una. Smh! I watched it live, Wasn't moved then, and can't be moved now. Why is no one asking how come Chris is not in the media as a woman beater while dating Karrueche? No let dis witch of barbados fool u.

wow,she is totally different from when she is on stage.oh i wish she is always in this kind of character always.she how she handled the forgiving section of the interview.am blown away.a nice interview

@ Anonymous 12:37 AM (21 August)

Couldn't agree more. I think Rihanna needs to move on. Hard as it is, she has to let go so she can get on with her life. She is stuck emotionally. Rihanna has forgiven Chris but has not learned the importance of moving on for her own good. And that is just too sad. Chris has moved on. Move on, Rihann!. That's your lesson right there. Until you move on, there would be no real peace or happiness. Do it! Do it for yourself!

That is the life of celebrities.they end up committing suicide when they can't continue with life,to survive u either develop a tough skin like the khardasians or u continue to fake it

Damilola Amele said...

Ok, I'm not a big Rihanna fan, in fact I don't like her music. But I must confess, the interview was so down-to-earth and while I might still not like her music, I'm definitely starting to like her person. As per her "undying love" for Chris, it really is her business who she chooses to love, really. And just because Chris messed up and she hasn't stopped loving him doesn't make her a freak. Emotions are not like taps that you can just turn off and on. Please let us leave her alone. When the right person comes along, she will fall for him. And if it remains Chris, so be it!

Tbaby said...

Wow!!! just shows how real she is...

anjie said...

Yo, cuz she speaks the truth doesnt make her weak...if anything it makes her even stronger and chris brown d jokE!...if from the VID your first impulse is to pick out the negatives?...then you should go remove the LOG in your eye...*judgmental shii

She's beautiful! I pray God gives her her hearts desires according to His perfect will.

Plz leave dem alone....

Wow i started loving this girl from today... So nice.

awww...soo rreal.i wish our naija celebs can be dis way nd not so uptyt...

Its very difficult when you are still in love with your first love who hurt you so much you just dont get it...and a part of you still wants him badly ..Everyone keeps criticizing which makes it impossible to get back together but both of you still want eachoda so bad You can see it in your eyes...HMMMMMM i do know how Riri feels right now and CB feels the same way...he's just trying to pretend he loves her coz he has no choice....I hope she finds love and learns to love with her whole heart again

I HAVE TO SAY AFTER WATCHING THIS....I LOVE HER MORE ...SHE'S HUMAN JUST LIKE EVERYONE OF US AND HAS FEELINGS...

Zoey said...

I can finally say this is the best post i have ever read/watch on Linda Ikeji.....thumbs up.....wow! amazing interview! You cant help but love her more.....Love the part where she says only you truly know who it feels.....

Thanks for sharing this interview. I missed it when it aired on Sunday night. It was a great interview and it gave us a little bit deeper perspective about Rihanna.

I love you Robyn.