'It wasn't suicide': French woman caught in custody battle with Saudi prince falls to her death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 20 August 2012

'It wasn't suicide': French woman caught in custody battle with Saudi prince falls to her death

Truly sad story. Sounds like the true life drama 'Not Without My Daughter' but this one doesn't end well. Read it below.
A French-Jewish mother in a high-profile custody battle with a Saudi prince has died after falling from a fourth-storey apartment, amid suspicions of foul play.
Police are investigating the death of Candice Cohen-Ahnine, 35, who fell from her Paris apartment on Thursday night.
Investigators had initially seen it as an accident, but by yesterday (Sunday) reports in the French media suggested that Ms Cohen-Ahnine had slipped and fallen to her death "as if she was escaping something dangerous".

Police refused to confirm the reports when contacted by The Daily Telegraph.

Ms Cohen-Ahnine's lawyer, Laurence Tarquiny-Charpentier, said the death "seemed to be some sort of accident", and did not know whether foul play was involved. She said there were witnesses, and more information is expected today.

"What I can tell you is that it wasn't a suicide," Ms Tarquiny-Charpentier said.
"She was a woman who was a real fighter and a very positive person, and plus, there were plans to see [her daughter] Aya in mid-September. That was her greatest motivation of all."

Ms Cohen-Ahnine wrote a book describing her fight to "get back" her 11-year-old daughter, Aya, who the mother claimed has been held captive by the girl's father, Prince Sattam al-Saud from the Saudi royal family, since September 2008.
She alleged that when she agreed to visit Prince Sattam with her daughter in 2008, she was locked up in a Riyadh palace, and accused by authorities of being a Muslim who converted to Judaism, a crime punishable by death in Saudi Arabia. When a maid left her door open she was able to escape to the French embassy, and return alone to France.

In January a Paris court ordered Prince Sattam al-Saud to hand over custody of his daughter to her mother and provide child support of euros 10,000 ($11,825) a month. But the prince reportedly dismissed the ruling, and said: "If need be, I'll go like [Osama] bin Laden and hide in the mountains with Aya."

Ms Cohen-Ahnine's lawyer said negotiations with the prince had led to improved ties, and a planned visit with Aya was due next month. He said simply organising the visit was an achievement. "We spoke on the telephone the day before she died. We were supposed to meet tomorrow to get things ready," said Ms Tarquiny-Charpentier. "It's so painful, and at the same time, there is a feeling of failure."

Ms Cohen-Ahnin met the prince in London and their daughter was born in November 2001.

Their relationship continued until 2006 when he allegedly announced he was obliged to marry a cousin, but that she could be a second wife. She refused and they separated.

The prince denied he had ever kidnapped the child or the mother. Jean-Claude Elfassi, co-author of Ms Cohen-Ahnin's book, wrote in his blog: "I can only show my disgust at the slowness of the investigating judge in charge of her case, who after three years of investigating never delivered an arrest warrant for Prince Sattam al-Saud."

Source: The Daily Telegragh, London

39 comments:

Eme Achanga said...

women are always at the receiving end.I'm tired of all these.
My life is in God's hands.I rest my case

Frank said...

now this is terribly sad.talk about fighting for love.i just hope there was no foul play in this cos i smell one.RIP
earn as much as $1200 weekly working part-time for some U.S. online firms right here from Nigeria.for more info,contact me on schineme@ymail.com

That's what GOLD DIGGERS get. I don't feel sorry for her. I only feel sorry for the now-motherless daughter.

That is serious, no matter the situation whether accident or intentional no two ways about it is absolutely "MURDER".
LIST OF SCHOLARSHIPS IN NIGERIA

@anon 3:54 PM a REAL gold digger would have not minded to marry the prince as a second wife just to still have some access to his money. Instead, she ran away and is only asking for her daughter. So what are you on about?

Anonymous 3.54pm, u are a poor bastard. A woman refused to marry a Saudi prince because she was giving option of second wife and u call her a gold digger. Someone is fighting to see the seed if her womb and ur orphaned soul is calling her a gold digger. It's ur type who watch nollywood movies and justify the maltreating of house helps who later become triumphant. It's ur type that that lack any moral upbringing cos ur absent father wasn't there to watch ur wayward mother raise u d wrong way. I know that at least 2 of my summations on u are right. But if they are all wrong, then I am sorry because I usually don't indulge outright fools. U can call me nemesis

What is funny is that he had a child out of wedlock and kidnapped the child. my question is, with all the hijab and bukka they force their women to wear and all the stringent laws, they still allow their princes to be having sex outside wedlock, carrying prostitutes and misbehaving. and he took the woman to saudi. isn`t that against Islam and the saudi laws? if he was a commoner now, they would have stoned him or the lady. #GodisWatchingThem

Good for her didn't she know the marriage laws of islam??? Now she no wan be 2nd wifey, ehen ma

I hope its not scam. Just saying

IF YOU ARE CALLING HER A GOLD DIGGER CHECK YOURSELF FIRST. THEN UNDERSTAND THAT THE CHILD SUPPORT MONEY IS HIS RESPONSIBILITY. SO WHY CALL HER A GOLD DIGGER? WHAT ABOUT THE PRINCE THAT WOOED HER? IS HE NOT TO BLAME ALSO? AFTER ALL, SHE DIDN'T FORCE HIM TO SLEEP WITH HER AND GET HER PREGNANT SO HE SHOULD LIVE UP TO HIS RESPONSIBILITIES AND STOP BEHAVING LIKE A BUSH IDIOT BOY!!

@ anon 4:35 read d story well before u type nonsense ehe back to d story dis ppl are downright hypocrites why did dey not stone him for comittin Zina with d woman instead dey areested d woman on false charges its only God dat will jugde dos muslims nd dier evil way of life

Kim said...

U are a sad person!

3:54 PM .....wow, your education fees was well wasted. So you feel no shame in writting that nonsence that doesnt make sense. You are just an olodo ..

What Gold digger, you clearly dont knw d meaning of it

U dey mind the idiot?? Msheww

Ebukah Emmanuel Nzeji said...

Oh!,so it's now u've come 2 realize that women are always at the receiving end of all the wahala in relationships abi?

@ anonymous 4:30pm and 3:54pm, u both sound ignorant and bitter. Really, if she was a gold digger wouldn't she have married the prince or u don't know how 2 read and understand? She just wants her child and if it was money she wanted am sure she would have opted 4 a settlement not a custody battle where she would have 2 spend so much in legal fees. Its really sad and I feel 4 her. I just hope foul play wasn't involved and dat little girl..growing up In a society dat objectifies women...

@anon 3:54 u're so daft,so any1 who marries a wealthy person is a gold digger? My gawd! Dis is stupidity @ its peak,Smh @ u.

I'm sure u suffer 4 partial blindness if nt u wud av read where she refused 2 b a 2nd wife...fooooool

Why are some Nigerians sooo silly? Seriously, we can now add stupidity to the epidemics that plague our country.

@ Anon 4:27 PM, Ur father is d bastard! n U sure as hell don't know me to be calling me poor bastard LOL! We know yo type! lol. U hide behind yo computer n talk shit about others giving their own opinion?! Look idiot, i'm entitled to mine! And i know what d hell i'm talking about when i called her Gold Digger! I speak from experience, so kindly shut d hell up n get d fuck outta here if u can't relate!

@4:27 PM Lemme quickly chip this in.. Not only broke asses like you rotting in Nigeria read Linda's Blog OK! Just a lil piece of info, cos u clearly have no clue.. and I'm out.

God help Us In This World Of Ours..

Paz said...

A really sad person indeed! If she was a gold digger, she'd have accepted the second wife position.

Paz said...

I weep for the poor child. I imagined how ecxited she was at the thought of vusiting 'my daddy'now she's forcefully separated from her mum and exposed to a crude religion/way of life. If the child was boy..

@ anon 3.54 u r a total moron I guess u jst dnt kno hw to read well coz am tryin to figure out hw she is a GOLD DIGGER guess u jst heard d word nd u av to use it... as for anon 4.35 dnt b stupid dey met in london if u read correctly hw was she meant to kno all d islam rules nd all after all he was nt married wen they did wat they did nd they were nt in saudi...I dnt get y people dnt tk their time to read stuff properly nd run it around in their heads b4 opening their silly mouths to talk trash..to think most of the people that comment stupidly actuali went to school is amazin but I guess goin to school doesn't mk u smart afterall or doesn't giv u sense sum people r jst born daft...

ChiChiLuv said...

May God give her soul rest, may that child grow up to know the truth about her mother and the sacrifice she made for her sake. This is sad but money and power can get anyone anything in the world and it's scary when it's an unscrupulous person that holds both.

Kanyinulia said...

Sad story..may her soul rest in peace..

sarafina said...

To butress ur point, u're a mumu

La petite said...

Una no get work at all

Anon 5:33 u must be mad..very mentally disturbed,a shame really.u said u are speaking from experience..fool did u go through the dead lady's experience too?aw can u use ur miserable life to judge sumbody else's?y so daft?

I smell foul play linda..in saudi its a man's world,they wld never have given custody to d mother..men have d final say,and women av no right to outrightly disobey their men,to cap it all he is a prince..with money and power at his side.

I bet ma allowance dat d prince put a hit on her,he has ample motive..and I also bet ed never be brought to book..who dare accuses sum1 from d royal family?

Yetinde said...

Arabians dnt marry outsiders as 1st wife,dier cousins comes first.,d mistake she made was taking her daughter there,i knw dey would av made negotiations wiv her bt she would insist she wants her daughter wich dey would NEVER let her have.dey would NEVER allow dat gal live in d western world,she murdered herself,she shld av let it go sincerely as least 1 day her daughter would find her out herself instead of getting killed like dis.

Her soul rest in peace.

Very sad story. Poor little child. Must нαvє lookin forward τ̅☺ mummy visitin her. She will lack motherly love α̲̅πϑ care. Grw up with so much wealth α̲̅πϑ marry her cousin as a 3rd wive. Lesson τ̅☺ women don't get yoked with an unbeliver wat u knw notin about. Amanda

Haba u guyz r over flogging this gold digger issue, haba! If u guyz dnt know what to comment why not shut up? One or two have comemmented on it so let it be.

The only experience you have had are the dreams you dreamt in your state of stupidity. You can never relate to a saudi prince so its YOU that should shut the hell up :P

Hahaha @ anon 3.54. U see? I was right after all. U have confirmed one of my summations. Ur parents were never there for u morally and that's why u are emotionally bankrupt. U are speaking from experience. You are myopic u fool. Better not have children. Nemesis

we should always consider especially religion when going into any relationship. RIP Ma, GD KEEPS YOUR DAUGHTER

You see some of us come to this blog to chill out especially when the work load is getting out of hand.The comments especially either make me laugh or set off on an angry path. After reading the story of Cynthia i really believed such evil people who make devilish comments surely do not exist.But ALAS!!They do and even come to this blog.

Now this fool (and they are always anonymous)posted this Anonymous said...
That's what GOLD DIGGERS get. I don't feel sorry for her. I only feel sorry for the now-motherless daughter.

August 20, 2012 3:54 PM

Only a fool will post something like this.Only Lucifer himself/herself would call a woman like this a GOLD digger.You must be soooo ugly you hate anyone who is even prettier than you.HaBA!!KI LA GBE KI LA JU?Golddigger from where is that coming from.You don't fear death o i am really sorry for you like someone said you are morally, ethically and emotionally bank rupt.You are a poor example of a human being and i see you are still insulting other people.Why don't you stop being a coward.sign up properly like some of us have done ane lets see your ugly face. Its people like you that killed Cynthia and am warning you if you don't stop exhibiting your lack of home training on social media the wrath of Cynthia and the woman above times 100 will befall you. I am disgusted and madam linda you sef?beta post u go bury am LUCIFEROUS ACIDIC POSTS like the one this fool and his/her cohorts send na that one you go upload.

Princess of Zion said...

May her soul rest in perfect peace! She died fighting to reunite with her child. That is a blessed mother.