Nigerian student, Olaolu Femi, facing life imprisonment in Ukraine | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 20 August 2012

Nigerian student, Olaolu Femi, facing life imprisonment in Ukraine

A young Nigerian student, Olaolu Femi, (pictured above) is facing life in prison in Ukraine for attempted murder. Continue to read the full story.

From African Outlook...

African Outlook gathered that the Nigerian identified as Olaolu Sunkanmi Femi and one of his friends were physically attacked in front of his apartment by four Ukrainian young men and two women who pulled them to the ground while hurling racist slurs on them.

According to eye witness account, Sunkanmi was said to have managed to get up and defended himself against the assailants with a glass from a broken bottle.

"It was while he was defending himself that police arrived at the scene and the Nigerian was subsequently arrested and charged with attempted murder of five people" a Nigerian embassy staff who has knowledge of the case told African Outlook, adding that the victim thus became an accused in a case which has become a celebrated case in Ukraine.

African Outlook gathered that Olasunkanmi has since been remanded in detention by the Ukrainian police who refused to take the case to court citing unavailability of the police to get an interpreter for him.

But the Nigerian students' community in Ukraine under the leadership of Osarumen David-Izevbokun, a Phd student in international relations has been working tirelessly to ensure justice for the Nigerian by organizing protests as well as drawing the attentions of the human right groups in Ukraine to the plight of Olasunkanmi who has spent almost seven months in jail without trial.

David-Izevbokun told African Outlook that he alongside other Nigerian students in conjunctions with some members of the Ukrainian human right groups staged a protest on April, 9 outside the Leninsky District Court in Luhanski demanding the release of Olasunkanmi.

The actions, according to David-Izevbokun has put the Ukraine police on the spot as the case came up for hearing on May 3. "We had a lot of media coverage on the protest " David-Izevbokun said, noting that he was sure the attention given the case may have prompted the May 3 court appearance of the suspect.

David-Izevbokun who was at the May 3, court hearing told African Outlook that Olasunkanmi appeared depressed when he showed up in court.

Many other Nigerian students spoken to by African Outlook however raised concern about the competence of the female lawyer: Ludmila Havrysh handling Olasunkanmi's case.

The Ukrainian lawyer was reported to have told protesters that her client has not been able to read the file material since it is all written in Ukrainian or Russian which he doesn’t understand and that was why her client had remained in jail.

"We heard she wanted to be paid $10,000 when she had not even been able to secure bail for her client who has been in detention for more than six months" an irate Nigerian told African Outlook wondering whether the lawyer was capable of defending Olasunkanmi.

Another source also told African Outlook that one of the attackers's family who has a connection with the Ukrainian police may have been the reason why the Nigerian student was being detained without trial.

"They went to the hospital and documents were secured for infliction of wounds. I learnt that one of the supposed victim (Ukrainian) has a police relative or parent, and so vowed to deal ruthlessly with Olasunkanmi" a Nigerian student quoted one narrator as saying while lamenting that the Nigerian embassy's representative came to visit Olasunkanmi in jail once but did not return again after the first visit.

But an embassy spokesperson who pleaded anonymity (because he is not authorized to comment on the case) told African Outlook that the Nigerian consulate had not abandoned the Nigerian to his fate "We are in torch with the Ukrainian authority and we have been doing everything to ensure the boy is released unconditionally using diplomatic channel" he said, adding that the Olasunkanmi was being charged for attempted murder, an offense which under Ukrainian law is not bailable.

"There are ways in which we handle cases like this so that we would not appear to be hostile or criticizing our host countries' laws" the embassy staff said while assuring that he was confident Olasunkanmi would be released soon.

When asked if the embassy has been able to secure the service of an attorney for the Nigerian student, the embassy staff said: "It is not within our mandate to pay for attorney's fees for any Nigerian in distress, you may check this out with other Nigerian embassies abroad, but we have been working with the Nigerian community leaders here to ensure that we do everything within our means to help Olasunkanmi in time of his need" the staff added hinting that the representative of the embassy was at the May 3 hearing.

In a related development African Outlook gathered that a 28-year-old Nigerian student of Kharkiv National Radio Electronic University is in intensive care unit with knife injuries to his neck following an attack on him by people believed to be racists.

Another 19-year-old Nigerian student from the Poltava Agrarian Academy is also lying critically ill in the Ukrainian hospital following knife injury inflicted on him by yet to be identified persons.

African Outlook gathered that the two Nigerian students were attacked late in the evenings by assailants who fled the scene immediately after the attacks.

The Kharkiv Regional Prosecutor’s Office in Ukraine are treating both cases as attempted murder motivated by racial intolerance.

Speaking on the two recent attacks, the Nigerian embassy said they were yet to be briefed on the case.

There's a #FreeOlaolu page on Facebook..you can go there to show support - Facebook.com/FreeOlaolu

112 comments:

7months without trial?
Where is the Nigeria embassy?
Thank you Linda Ikeji for creating awareness.

Good to know the Nigeria embassy there's even making an effort" unlike some. The Ukrainian government should know that racism is a more deadly crime against humanity than their so called "attempted murder".

Abike Dabiri Must hear this if she has not hear about it. She's likes thus type of case. God punish these useless racists.

Linda Oloobola said...

Ukrainian's are bastards... A documentry was shown about their country and poland b4 d European cup, that they are racist.

Their police is worse, bribes and corruption is second to none in that useless country. I pray they won't be allowed to join the EU.

God will deliver olaolu, from their hands

Chai! JESUS CHRIST May we not experience bad things in our time oh!

Infobizz9ja

HRHTega1 said...

This is a note of warning to Nigerians. Pls don't go to Ukraine to further your studies. Most of them are racists. My friend used to live in Russia, bcos she was very fair in complexion(like a half caste),her russian friends thot she was canadian or american.The day she told them she was from Nigeria,attitudes changed towards her.She became like a pariah in her apartment building. Racism is really rife in those areas. I hope everything possible is done to secure his release. God will be with him.

I am not surprised by this kind of injustice! In white man's land we Africans, blacks and immigrants in general, have no say when it comes to issues like this! I pray this poor guy finds the help he needs to get out of jail! To everyone in nigeria trying to go live abroad, I can only tell you this: there is no place like home! I am saying this for personal experience! I regret leaving my lovely country to come and live in this so called first world country! Linda pls post.

All dis bois will nt stay at home n husstle!, racisim is nt yet a thing of d past ooo!

Onakachi said...

This is a very sad story. In the past, I've read about how much racism Africam students in Russia face and it is really disheartening. I pray that this case gets a brealthrough that will keep him out of prison or any other problems.

Ahan....dis s evil. I knew dat racism was still ukarine....a fwend schooling dere s complaining

lala said...

Na by force 2 stay dere??? Cos I don't get y u shud b livin sumwhere in fear come back home ooooo

when we have useless and worthless govt what do you expect...is there not a Nigerian embassy there..of what use is an embassy in that country when its not functioning.... rubbish..mssh..Na only to hide our billions...

I pray that the poor boy gets justice n b realesed I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ good condition

God help him

If u follow racial documentaries on dis country u ll pity their non-nationals, I know God will sustain d poor boy n his release wiill b secured soon.

Akoba adaba

The German Immigrant says....Big Big shame to our Nigerian government to whom i will solely blame for all this...All our able bodied youth languishing all over the former eastern communist block have this experiences daily. I met a guy from Hungary who said vile racist people slapped his head on the train right in his face and if he fought back he'd be the one arressted. Now tell me why a Black Nigerian would be studying in this environment if not for our stupid government.This is happening even in Ghana. They charge exhorbitant school fees, tax and miscarriage of "justice" is rife. A Nigerian is simply an un-represented lone traveller. BUT WHY???...says The German Immigrant

Oma gaa gan...

Pls pls can we keep our children away from all this country that are racist so that we can have our kids grow well I can't get it a place like ukraine Russia where we pay fee and our kids still suffer in the hands of the authority of host country pls abike dabiri committee should pls help this poor boy and secure his release

Bambi said...

I dont know why Nigerians continue to go to these useless countries!! What for? A country where you dont speak or understand the language, full of racists and skinheads! What kind of money or education are you looking for there. these are the dangers of going/living in such countries. As for me anythg way pass US, UK, Australia, NewZealand and other English speaking countries, i dont knw what i'm looking for there. Call me myopic or whatever, I like my life pass anybody and wont put myself in a situation where there are potential risks. Wetin concern cat with face powder? mscheeeew!

Linda, I hope you did not write the text of this story. If you did, you have just dropped several levels in my reckoning. Bad English everywhere!

Wakeup up said...

Ok,as someone who has achieved certain things by hardworking,I really hate all this #free wateva pages and what so not.You want to help the boy?contribute money and higher a top lawyer,we are talking a lawyer who knows the judge,this cases happen everyday,if it was an American,this shot will be over,see the Amnda Knox case n many other cases our government needs to start standing up and helping its pople after all y'allmuthafucker selfish stealing ass niggas send this youngsters out the damn country.get your ass off,find lawyers n interpreters and do something.
Let me give a simple issue nthe solution.Everyday people are on twitter tweeting #verifyDonjazzy #Verifywizkid now have they been verified?they need to take a step and proceed towards verification,see the people who got verified did they do the tweets and had tags?no they made it happen,you don't fight a war from home,you go to the war front fools #angry

Nigeria school said...

This kind of thing bore me. I hope he get released soon...

If by chance anyone decides to travel or study abroad, don't dare go to Ukraine, Yugoslavia or Russia because these countries are known for being the most influenced racist community. Africans are being killed like rats abroad.

Femiluv said...

Ukraine is a mess. I feel sorry for my cousin who lives there. I hear they are very racist.

No place like home.

This is so unfair and inhuman. They are pure undiluted racists in dat country. Jonathan should do something about this

They are so hostile to us, buh Nigerians treats †ђξm like gods, blowing sirens and clearing roads for †ђξm to pass! Naija people shine U̶̲̥̅̊я̩̥̊  oh! They don't really care about us!

bee said...

This is soo not right!!! Nig govt shud look in2 dis ASAP....enuf of racism and ill treatment of ñigerians in foreign countries

If no be too much money,dem 4 school 4 nigeria ,where de'll be nothing like Racism.oho!!!2 bad

yinka said...

Ukraine again? Is there anywhere in this world us naijas do not go just to run away from "home" in search of greener pastures? What exactly does ukraine have to offer us? Is there educational system top notch? That aside this is an outrage. 7months with no bail hearing? Cannot get an interpreter? Is the languahge they need to interprete to not english? Why do we do these these things to ourselves? See how they are almost hurting naija on a regular basis down there and these are not even 419boys o. Mostly students. Smh

When we have useless corrupt officials in our embassies abroad, how wont these crimes against Nigerians go overlooked. Mtchewww!!!

This is horrible. This poor guy is probably being tortured like crazy in that jail. This is terrible. And the lawyer looking for 10k dollars is that a retainer of her full fee? Naijas have suffered sha

Ukraine ke? That disgustingly racist place? If they were sharing raw gold daily, I won't go there. Naija govt pls wake up. For your citizens to be going toi countries where they are attacked and sometimes even murdered like chickens shld tell you something. Naija has money. Pls distribute this evenly, create jobs. Stop sending stuff overseas or hiring outside help for what naijas are capable of handling. This is just too bad.

odili said...

I am sure those bastard policemen have brutalized this man tire in there.):

BLOGLORD said...

If Nigerian Educational system is paid serious attention, with all learning facilities timely/currently updated and all things being equall nobody will be running out of the country to study let alone face racist hurl and tussle.
i hope he is set free as he was only trying to protect himself.

hmmm said...

As much as I refuse to badmouth naija, I just read this on ndi igbos page on FB and this posters outcry couldn't have broken my sentiments down any better:...Fuck You All Nigerian Embassies all over the World... Fuck You All Nigeria Top Government Assholes.... You Nigeria should be deleted from the World list entirely, I am totaly ashamed to present myself as Nigerian Born. Imagine, At the Club I went, European fought with Bouncer at the Club, he was injured and he just dialed his Embassy phone to come to his Rescue and of course within 24hrs his Embassy appeared to the case and handled it immediately, treating their fuck up and wanted to close down the Club, but look at Nigerian man who even traveled to Ukraine, paying all sort of Money to their country to study, look at the way they humiliated him... Look at poor innocent Brother suffering for nothing the so-called fucking Nigeria Government could not do anything about it..... I wish all of them will die vomiting Blood one day..

wow said...

Just read some comments on facebook and a lot of african students said they had to leave ukraine becos the racism and violence on non whites over there was crazy. That is just unacceptable. Are blacks truly cursed?

Seriously I feel bad for the children of a lot of our naija politicians. These wicked souls are eating money anyhow. Sending those their bastard offsprings to the best schools abroad and their family to the best countries with the money they are supposed to use to develop and build the nation. As for those bastard islamic northern muslims causing unrest in the country too, their own end is near. When God arises in His anger... Anyway until then. This is depressing sha

some of these eastern europeans can be very racist, I tell you!linda pleas use your blog and influence to give this case a lot of publicity. start a petition if you can or something. we cant let this slide. Those students go to ukraine to study cos of the dire state of our educational system and because studying in ukraine is helluva lot cheaper than the US or the UK. Please take this up. May God bless you even as you do so. amen
Igwe bu ike

Why oh why do Nigerians still visit countries infested with racists such as Ukraine and Russia???

madam! confirm your stories b4 you post them! the story about the boy is not true...........i am nigerian living in ukraine, there is racism but both parties are at fault and what he did was wrong so do not blame it on race!!! oh, he wasnt drinking in front of his house and no he wasn't caught immediately....his friemd brought him out

scataa! said...

Rubbish talk! So annoying*

Am sure its only those that won't stay where they should be at the right time that will be a victiM of such...I hope and pray ola will be freed soon

OMG!!! Linda Is that d best Nigerian embassy can come up wiv?Some Folk is languishing in Jail for defending himself and countless others in hospital as victims of hate crime and they are waiting to be briefed???What a Joke!I live in the UK and I have seen the Uk govt fight tirelessly for their citizens detained in any part of the world no matter the offence they commit.Makes you proud to be british.I feel soo sad!!!

mnb said...

They are so many nigeria facing jail time all over the world....
Linda what do you think about my review of your blog
http://www.dennisotugo.blogspot.com/2012/08/linda-
ikejis-blog-review.html?m=0

NecFix said...

Racist Bastards! Hope the lad gets released soon. But the fb page is almost completely in ukrainian language...

tutove said...

God almighty will prvail I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ dis matter.femi,eleda e a ko e yo º°˚. .....racial discrimination sha....

I have to alert Nigerians that Ukranians are very Racists and Bigoted ppl! U are advised to do ur research well b4 u travel to some of these countries! They hate and detest black ppl with a Passion.
Yes their school fees maybe cheap,but u must weigh btw a cheap school fees and the safety of ur lives. These ppl r also pagans and their economy is badly depressed. This is why they cut down the school fees to attract foreign students.U cannot work while u are there cos there is no job! The jobless uneducated racist ukranians r busy spreading hate literatures that these black ppl have come to take their non existent jobs.Racism is a potentially a white problem and sadly this problem is subtly encouraged by the authorities.I would advise Nigerians to avoid traveling to Ukraine or even Russia as a precautionary measure.

sugarmummy said...

Too long abeg.

Buh dis stuff aint dat hard,were re dose remainin pple dat dey attacked wif Olaolu,he wasn't d only 1 who was attacked by d racist dese pple re fools every 1 in dat scene is a suspect dey re all supposed 2 be detained and searched. E be like say dis ukrainian wan see our Red eye o.

bayo sandlers said...

This useless ukranians always treat africans as if they are better than us, stupid c**ts it will never be better for any of Uuu ukranians in ur life, when this world will end, GOD will punish Uuu dirty, smelling, faggots, u'll all wish for death buh will nt find it.... That boy is innocent beyond resonable doubt , i dare you to touch a hair on his head and u'll knw GOD is alive , most dirty, illiterate race on earth, cant even speak good english......

stevemak said...

Rubish! I dont know why we have ambasadors sef! are doing anything at all? what is the use of an office if not functioning. If any of this boys die we should hold the embassy responsible and the Consulate general and the ambassador should resign!

Hmn dis is sad....may God prevail over this matter.can't send my child to school in all these countries o!!!

He really looked depressed...May God help him, but Linda the facebook account u gave to show support is not working oooo.

Tosin said...

This is most unfortunate n I do wish they find a a solution to it bt we black pple too sud try to stay away from where we r not wanted

Franklin said...

This is absolutely disgusting! reading through the article just makes my belly turn. My question is this: Why do Nigerians keep going to this country? It's the same in Poland. You keep queuing to get visa to a country that's got its fabric etched in racism. Is their University Degree that great??? This will make them look down on us like we have fish brains on something. Why pay your hard earned money into such racist country's economy??? Na by force to study abroad? can't they go somewhere else? I can imagine Olaolu's state of mind before making the decision to defend himself. Imagine if they managed to kill him, will they have been charged? definitely not. It's terrible that Nigerian Government have a lackadaisical approach to things like this. Fight for your own! UK government will fight for their own. #rantover

Is self-defense murder? Racism @ its highest order. And dey still com to our con3 and we allow dem 2 mis-manage our companies. RUbbisH.

Ode! The only fing u cld pick from all this is poor grammar? U r really stupid. Plus u shelled too.

I have to alert Nigerians that Ukranians are very Racists and Bigoted ppl! U are advised to do ur research well b4 u travel to some of these countries! They hate and detest black ppl with a Passion.
Yes their school fees maybe cheap,but u must weigh btw a cheap school fees and the safety of ur lives. These ppl r also pagans and their economy is badly depressed. This is why they cut down the school fees to attract foreign students.U cannot work while u are there cos there is no job! The jobless uneducated racist ukranians r busy spreading hate literatures that these black ppl have come to take their non existent jobs.Racism is a potentially a white problem and sadly this problem is subtly encouraged by the authorities.I would advise Nigerians to avoid traveling to Ukraine or even Russia as a precautionary measure.

I'm sure u r wiv naija embassy over there. Na una way. Push ur own out to be slaughtered and even join d enemy in casting stones. God dey see una. Keep lying o. They will soon come after u too.

Wetin dey that Ukraine sef. Mtsheeew ! Well! Its understandable given the high influx of Nigerians Over there in the past 5 yrs . I no blame anybody shaa! That Our Government dey fall our hands . @morlardybaba

Read well! He's a student.

mridontry said...

One just needs to be prayerful. U cant imagine being on ur own and trouble will just start looking for u and find u sef...
http://www.mridontry.com/

This is why it is very important to hold the feet of our leaders in Nigeria on fire,to do the right thing in our country!A lot of Nigerians are stuck with the Demon of Racism cos it is more preferable compared to what u deal with in Nigeria.I have been to England,France,Canada,and live in the US! In all of these countries,black ppl are treated with a lot of disrepect in society and at their work place just cos of the colour of their skin!
Unfortunately,most ppl back home think that as soon as u come to the U S,u have hit paradise. That's wrong! White America is visciously racist,and America is supposed to be the most developed economy in d world,so u can imagine a hungry country like ukraine and what it will be like to live among these animals! As the white man kicks us around like disposable garbbage,our own country treats us even worse!
Under normal circumstances,why shld a Nigerian go to Ukraine to study? For what? My father told me that in d seventies,foreigners used to troop into Nigeria to look for work! Indians,whites,Ghanaians etc. The question I ask my fellow countrymen is this;What went wrong?

May God help Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ intervene in Ðiڪ case cos m̶̲̥̅ã hrt Į̸̸̨Ƨ̷ S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ heavy Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ full of tears. Plz the govt Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ dos at the top shld do sometime abt it. Ðɑ̤̈̊t̶̲̥̅ innocent boy Į̸̸̨Ƨ̷ lavishing in cell.

Warri Girl said...

Eyah, I wonder wen 9ja embassy would actively step up, dis is so unfortunate

Fucking Racists..*in De niro's voice*

Oour government is d problem we have, in nigeria they r there 4 their self interest, they dont care 4 anyone, i pray dat GOD will deliver him.

ONOME says......
My goodness.
Where is Abike Dabiri?
This is so sad.

oyinda said...

Nigerian students studying in European encounter racism on a daily basis because those bastards believe they are God's gift to Africans...I study in Cyprus and those Turkish rednecks who are poverty stricken whose lives depend on loans have d nerve to be racist to me who is there to spend my raw cash that helps their dead economy like seriously?? Blacks are been racially battered everywhere and the fact that u are even Nigerian makes your case worse yet these idiots are been treated as demi-gods back home because of their skin and even have more rights than the Nigerians in Nigeria...these are the reasons why they feel we are inferior because apart from us not knowing our human rights we are still mentally colonized...the embassy representatives are just pure fools who are there not because they studied for d diplomatic job but because of connection or a favor from someone in power so how are they expected to know how to represent Nigerians?we really need to go out there to understand how inferior the white assholes treat us so we can do same to them back home and not hype them..Olaolu God would save u but honestly I can proudly say am racist and I show whites every bit of hatred they have shown blacks

oyinda said...

Countries

Linda thanks so much, he was my senior in secondary schl n I really feel bad hearing this. May God interceed on his behalf, I knw its well

Then go back home fool

WHY WOULD ANYONE GOT TO THE UKRAINE..WITH THEIR HIDEOUS ECONOMY, BITTERLY COLD WEATHER, AND THEIR HORRIBLE DIFFICULT LANGUAGE....UKRAINE, RUSSIA,BELARUS, AND THOSE EASTERN EUROPEAN COUNTRIES, ARE TERRIBLE PLACES...THE PEOPLE THERE ARE HARDENED AND VERY EVIL, MANY OF THEM ARE CANNIBALS, AND PATHETICCRIMINALS...IN OUR BID TO CHECK OUT OF NIJA ..NIGERIANS ARE WILLING TO GO ANYWHERE, AND THINK EVERYWHERE IS OBODO OYIBO....I JUST HOPE HE GETS JUSTICE SOMEHOW....

Why are you calling him a fool for saying his mind, idiot.

And how exactly is this anon3:42 a fool?? He has jst adviced other pple to avoid making same mistakes he has made! Anon 1:51,U r jst a naïve idiot!! Pls parkwell! Anu mpama! Mshewww

Satan inspired leaders!!!!

Correct!!! I love u jaaare. Well m also studying in Ukraine n they've never attacked me before. They don't even attack pple like that, when u scream at dem they get really scared. I can do anything just to knw d real story

I don't know what the real story is anad I hope justice prevails. Pray for him.

As an aside, what are Nigerians doing in such strange hardship places? the Ukrainians are escaping from there to seek better opportunities elsewhere. Who is selling Nigerians this bill of goods to go to desolate places to live ot go to school. they don't have the best education system, do don't have money to take care of their citizens and a lot of them are racists yet we go there. For what? You have to spend at least a year learning the language first, when you have mastered that, you then start school to get a degree that may or may not be accredited. Terrible economy so you are not about to find a job to supplement your income. It is a hardship location worse than anything you can experience in naija yet we go there? Why?

Because they are white? Why? They are still third world...I shall stop here

Oyinda, since you are paying your way through, what on earth are you doing there? You have an option....
These places are dreadful and I don't see the logic in going to such dreadful places.

From frying pan to fire.

awww said...

I want to cry. Look at how sad he looks. @ the person who cursed the politician's children. Is it their fault their fathers and mothers are not thinking of the future of their own seeds and are only thinking of the wealth they can build now?

hiss said...

Ok I really hate idiots who have their heads buried in the sand. Seriously anoymous August 20, 2012 4:52 PM. How can about 80% of people who have commented on the racist Ukraine be wrong. So because they have never attacked YOU, it means people are overeacting and lying. You are probably one of those fools who sees the white man as a god that can do no wrong abi. The day your eye will open dey come. Ode

charles said...

@anoymous 4:45PM. Mechionu. So you study there and they have never attacked you but do you not see your mates or other Africans they brutalize and harrass everyday. I also live there and I am even married to a Ukrainian woman. I am also mixed but trust me the racism in Ukraine does not have part 2 and does not go over my head just belong I blend in well. They are wicked people unless you look like them.

Our major problem is that "we sought independence when we were not determined to be independent".

I am leaving in Ukraine, yes the racism is crazy cos I am black too. But if you're in the right place at the right time, shit like this wont reach you. I know from first hand experience the Nigerians in Ukraine, esp those in the state where this guy comes from are brutal and very violent, making unnecessary trouble. I know for a fact what went down with this guy, the full story, but for security reasons, I won't say anything.

It's time for retaliation against Ukranians living Nigeria.

Ladi

Naijassef...we her us, uk, Ghana ...na wetn na dey find reach Ukraine? I laff when we go to other people' country and when them no gree let u ruintheir country like an ruin NAija an to scream racism

Why don't these ppl do thorough research before going into some of these countries. Must they go into any and every place whether they are wanted or not? Who the hell would want to go to Russia anyways. Born and raised Russians are trying every which way to get out fast. It is a dismal place. I cannot see what could entice me to even go for a visit; it's cold, food sucks, every building is gray and the people are some of the surliest I have ever come across. Only when they are old and weak you see them being nicer and only because they don't have a choice.

Spend your money in places you are wanted and valued and leave these hell holes alone. Do your research before you leave home!

I wish this young man well and hopefully Amnesty International or some other place can take up his case. Maybe his friends could use one of the crowd funding sites to raise money to get a good, and unbiased lawyer, and to pay for translators. He needs supernatural support, so I hope the prayer warriors and mind science students are also working on his case.

Anonymous 1.51 you are a goat.

it's comments like this that make me know the level of ignorance the world is facing. do your researches first before making conclusions about people and places. you all saying there's no place like home, do you know the rate of daily killings going on in your so called country nigeria?? if you want a better world start from yourself, make people happy to meet nigerians, instead of associating us with scam, and poverty and religious fightings. if you have never met a ukranian before say no word about them. they are wonderful, nice people.

princeton said...

I have been so down and worried since I saw this on the net, olaolu was my secondary school mate and we use to be at Ago iwoye together too. I called his brother who is also there with him and he told me how the whole thing went, olaolu was been harrased and was trying to defend himself. I pray the nigeria goverment would do something about this and the should do it quick cos olaolu is still too young for all this. We love you Olaolu and we will keep praying for you Ex-ISOOUITE

GaMuGaZa said...

Haa .. Any country wey dem no dey speak English me no dey go study ooo abeg

www.gamugaza.blogspot.com
follow @GaMuGaZa

Anon 10.02am, olodo ni e! Oo gb'eebo! Gb'enu dake!

hmm, after dme go say nigerians are corrupt, wetin we go call that one now, detaining a person for more than six months without trial, one question for those ukrainians can we do that to foriengners here in nigeria..those people are just heartless and stupid racists, na thunder go fire them if them no release that guy, mtcheww..

The sage said...

Shut ur traps and eat ur oily ghana food.

The sage said...

That's a bloody lie! And its not just Nigerians complaining. Ur a bigoted set of racists and ur one of them.

But its fine, Nigerians are also learning from all these,whether d stone is from Ukraine or ghana,its making us less patient with our govt and less receptive to whatever foreign views of us.

Something good always comes out of a bad situation. Nigerians scattered around the world for whatever reason will one day become a benefit to the country itself, and I'll live to see the day other countries will see us far in front and wish for the kind of situation we r in now.

The worst country in the world is Ukraine,full of racism,but blacks in Ukraine are really really facing life very hard because no work for blacks.I don't blame the stupid racism country(Ukraine)because Nigeria is has no place for the poor,after 5 to 6 yrs in school come out as a graduate you hardly find a job, or less u are connected,If not no good work for the person,Nigeria embassy in Kiev Ukraine they don't even show care to Nigerians their,all they do is taken the little money student have for documents,other embassy's like i know hardly collect huge amount from student but Nigeria own is fixed charging money as if the person is not from the country too bad.

bubbly girl said...

the sad truth is that Nigerian Embasssies DO NOT work to help Nigerians living abroad. They are only there to renew Nigerians' Passports and Consular Cards. I doubt they are even interested in helping theis student.

I'm sure u r a stupid fool, even if he's @ fault is that wot u r suppose to say, omo ode, stupid fool. Washing ur own citizen like that! Mad idiot. Go and f**k urself. Mumu!

danexd said...

Those Ukrainian are big time racist, scared, lazy, incompetent and because we do better than their bunch put together......so fucking jealous. And we are far better than these people in all ramification just that our government doesn"t care much about the citizen>>>>>I believe a simple letter from the FG either through the presidency< senate or Reps may even solve this situation. Worst case they dismiss the guy from the school and send him back cos the next thing they will kill him>>>>>>>>>>>fucking Ukrainian

hey y dis hapnin 2 we 9ijria Buh dose idiot feel relax hia God y dis?

This is a fatal tragedy. The embassy of any country abroad should be able to defend its citizens facing any catastrophe. Nigerian Govt is extremely sick in all ways this is basically why most Nigerian believe they can live anywhere in the world no matter how the level of racism. I pray God Almighty will intervene in Olaolu's trial.

hmmm,Lili has done it again, tanx Linda bt 4u one wouldnt hav known of dis story biko keep us posted on dis issue cos i realy want 2knw d job of our ambassador over there xpecialy how he is handling cases like dis or is he going to be quiet, Nigerians realy needs 2knw all dis

Eleazar Reward said...

High time Nigerians start standing up to all these bloody whitewashed bastards. Who the heck do they think they are, if it comes to the worst, Nigerian government should play it by -do me, I do you- so that they know they alone can't be racist. How come, they come here wit their bony faces, work in (even control) some of our factories unmolested and feel they got the goddamn right to abuse us in their country anyhow. Those dimwitted embassy officials should know knw we got eyes on them and every commitee concerned wit diaspora n foriegn relations should knw getting olaolu outt of that hellhole is what they eat our fat billions for..
Stay cool bro, help is on its way. #angry

Nigerian government should do something about this and free the boy from injustice

Where are d niger delta militants,d opc, d boko haram d kidnappers and massive, have they not seen these Ukrainians in this Nina? Or do they take delight in purníshing their brothers? God bless naija

lawyers said...

We consider it necessary to draw the attention of the reader, that the information provided here by African Outlook, is not completely true.
We do not know exactly who provided this information about the case of Olaolu, but obviously it is very distorted.
This may have occurred because of a lack of awareness and lack of knowledge of the Ukrainian legislation the person who provided this information, and therefore lack of possibility to assess the situation and everything that is being done to Olaolu.
For this reason, readers got a very wrong impression about the case of Olaolu.
If you want to get reliable information on the case, please contact: www.advokat-ua.org
We see a lot of comments about case of Olaolu from sympathetic people, but apart from the words of sympathy he really needs real help. He is being brought a meal every two to three weeks and the not the products it needs for proper nutrition, not to mention other outstanding issues are even more important for Olaolu support. Only sympathetic comments will not help Femi.

Sad. What is in Ukraine of all countries?

My sister was recently attacked with racial words thrown at her whilst they were carrying out their evil deed.Her phones and all gone.

Let it be an eye for an eye...which way nija?as dem pepper us dere,make we pepper dem ere.no time joor.Efcc leave boiz make we bust in awa own way.dose guys ova dere r wicked.dey r d major cause of d p in nija today.

Lord,pls have mercy on Olaolu.Lets all support him with prayers.There's nothing God cannot do.We can dedicate one minute out of our quiet time to pray for him.it is well!!!!