The Future Awards 2012 shortlist – See who made the cut | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 22 August 2012

The Future Awards 2012 shortlist – See who made the cut

Four days to The Future Awards 2012, holding in Port Harcourt, Rivers State this weekend, 25 and 26 August, the Central Working Committee (CWC) has unveiled the shortlist of 5 people per category for the Awards. See it after the cut...

"It's, as usual, been an intense eight weeks," says Chude Jideonwo, who is Executive Director of The Future Project. "After the nominations, there was the process of administering nomination forms, where we also interviewed the nominees, secured references, conducted independent research, and held random inspections of books, finances, and so on. We also got evidence of all the nominees' ages and had a two-week period for any complaints from the public. Simultaneous with voting, the Board of Judges - 30 young media influences from across the country - sat for a full day and produced the shortlist, which goes to the Independent Audit Committee. The names will then return to the Board of Judges who will choose the final winners."
Members of the Independent Audit Committee include TV host Mo Abudu, external relations director of the Nigeria LNG, SieneAlwell-Brown, politician Jimi Agbaje, Stanbic IBTC director YemiOsindero, LEAP Africa founder NdidiNwuneliamongst others.

Finalists and winners of each category will be unveiled at The Future Awards 2012 this weekend, where the KeynoteSpeaker is one of Africa's most influential entrepreneurs,Chairman of Heirs Holdings and the Founderof the Tony Elumelu Foundation, Tony O. Elumelu (MFR).Elumelu was Group Chief Executive Officer of United Bank for Africa Plc.

"Sadly, many nominees did not fill their forms, perhaps assuming despite emphasis to the contrary - that voting alone would progress them to the next stage," Jideonwo noted. "Many of those nominees, without publicly verifiable information, lost out when they got to the judges table. The awards insist on the highest standards of transparency, and while the process can be tedious and time-consuming for the nominees, it is an ultimately rewarding exercise and crucial to choose the very best."

The Future Awards 2012 is hosted by the Rivers State Government, with support from Access Bank, Diamond Bank, Microsoft, and Notore. Media partners are Media Partners for the event are Channels TV, Silverbird TV, TVContinental, Wazobia FM, Nigeria Info, BellaNaija, 360Nobs,LindaIkejiBlog, Jobberman, Premium Times, NET, TW, Complete Fashion, andFAB.Officialmedia partners are Africa Magic, Cool FM, and Y! (www.ynaija.com).

The event can be watched live from 2pm on the Sunday, the 26th on www.ynaija.com/thefutureawards.

NOMINEE LIST

CHANGE

BEST USE OF ADVOCACY

Olumide Makanjuola (The Initiative for Equal Rights)
Adamma Umeofia (WeBuilt: Nigeria)
Chizoba Imoka Unveiling Africa Foundation)
Priscilla Usiobaifo (BraveHeart Initiative)
Babafemi Oyediran (Rural Enterprise Development Project)

BEST USE OF NEW MEDIA

Japheth Omojuwa
@Gidi_Traffic
EdiongsenyaneUmoh (NigeriaNewsDesk)
#SaveOke
NmachiJidenma

CREATIVITY

CREATIVE ARTIST OF THE YEAR

Obi Somto (Photographer)
Bayo Omoboriowo (Photographer)
Imole Balogun (Photographer)
Remi Adegbite (Photographer)
Mohammed Abbagana (Painter)

DESIGNER OF THE YEAR

Adebisi Anita (MsMakor)
Olorunyomi OmoniyiMakun (Yomi Casuals)
Toluwaloju Olowofoyeku (TojuFoyeh)
RukkyLadoja/Obi Obi/TolaAyanwale (Grey)
Ugonna Omeruo (House of Nwocha)

EXCELLENCE IN SERVICE

EXCELLENCE IN SERVICE -PUBLIC

Ohimai Amaize (Ministry of Sports)
Akin Rotimi (Ekiti State Government)
Banks Omisore (National Assembly)
John GomilukOtokwala(Securities and Exchange Commission)
Hadiza Abdullahi (MDG Office, The Presidency)

EXCELLENCE IN SERVICE - JOURNALISM

Chiemelie Ezeobi (Thisday)
Alkasim Abdulkadir (CNN)
Toyosi Ogunseye (The Punch)
Oluyinka Ezekiel Adeparusi (National Mirror)
Tomi Oladipo (BBC)

EXCELLENCE IN SERVICE - CORPORATE
Adim Isiakpona (HP)
Seyi Ogunro (Banwo&Ighodalo)
Ngozi Nkwoji (Nigerian Breweries Plc)
Tomiwa Adesida (Sahara Group)
Kayode Jegede (General Manager, Head of Facilities Management, Deux
Project)

INNOVATION

Ahmed Mukoshy (Yarnable)
Olumide Adewunmi (Gidilounge)
Zubair Abubakar (Constitution App)
Seun Onigbinde (BudgIT)
Raheem Temitope Bello (GeoUtill)

INNOVATOR OF THE YEAR (EDUCATION)
Tolulope Sangosanya (LOTS)
Gossy Ukanwoke (Beni Online University)
Iyinoluwa Aboyeji (Bookneto)
Adebayo Adegbembo(ASA)
Otto Orondaam (Slum2School)

ENTREPRENEURSHIP

ENTREPRENEUR OF THE YEAR (GENERAL)

Kola Oyeneyin (Venia Business Hub)
Titus and Tobias Igwe(Speedmeals Mobile Kitchen)
Aisha Maina (Aquarian Consult)
Ola Orekunrin (Flying Doctors Nigeria)
Ladi Delano (Bakrie Delano Africa)

ENTREPRENEUR OF THE YEAR (AGRICULTURE)

AjoKunnuho John (Animal husbandry)
Omoteso Sogo Ayodele (Piggery/Fishery/Poulty)
Tochukwu Ikpegbu (Jaeet Nigeria)
Olukayode Adeoye (Whails and Chase)
Fawolu Taiwo (Abivict Farms)

ENTREPRENEUR OF THE YEAR (COMMUNICATION& MEDIA)
Julie Odia (WOW!)
Uyi Omokaro (DM2)
Komolafe Adeshola (Media Insight)
Samuel Olatunji (Big Sam Media)
Funmilade Alalade (Elev8)

ENTREPRENEUR OF THE YEAR (ENTERTAINMENT)
Davido (HKN)
Keke Hammond (Flytime Productions)
Michael Ajereh (Mo'Hits/Mavin)
Cobams Asuquo (CAMP)
Clarence Peters (CAPital)

ENTREPRENEUR OF THE YEAR (TECHNOLOGY)

Ayodeji Adewunmi/OpeyemiAwoyemi/OlalekanOlude (Jobberman)
Jason Njoku (Iroko TV)
Eno Essien (Rheytrack)
Temi Kolawole (Antigravity)
Femi Alade (Pliris Mobile)

ENTERTAINMENT

ON-AIR PERSONALITY

Radio

Oladotun Kayode (Cool FM)
Twitwi (Wazobia FM)
Nike Adewuyi (Splash FM)
Tolu"Toolz) Oniru (Beat FM)
Mazino (Smooth FM)

TV

Dolapo Oni (Studio 53)
Denrele Edun (Channel O)
Uti Nwachukwu (Jara)
Illrymz (Nigerian Idol)
Maupe Ogun (Channels TV)

MUSICIAN OF THE YEAR

Davido
Wizkid
Ice Prince
Flavour
Bez

ACTOR OF THE YEAR
Ini Edo
Tonto Dike
Okechukwu"OC" Ukeje
Ivie Okujaye
Gideon Okeke

PRODUCER OF THE YEAR

Music

D/tunes
SamKlef
DJ Klem
Legendary Beats
J. Sleek

PRODUCER OF THE YEAR Screen

Clarence Peters
Victor Sanchez Aghahowa
Onye Ubanatu
Ladi Odebunmi
Anietie James Ekins

YOUNG PERSON OF THE YEAR
Bankole Wellington (Banky W)
Dapo Oyebanjo (D'banj)
Jason Njoku
Peter and Paul Okoye (Psquare)
Linda Ikeji
Chinwe Njoku
Idris Akinbanjo
Raheem Temitope Bello

29 comments:

na wah for this kind list ooo...so lame

Warri Girl said...

Ha, Akpos Okudu has been screened out from designer of the year, too bad.

There is a fresh article this morning, check it https://warrigirl.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/proverb-award-2012/

I wish u all d best linda...ur category is really tough filled wit talents.God bless u

ETHAN said...

Linda dis place wen dem fix u hmmmm the competition strong o.But i wish u all d best.Love u muah

So Many Young Talented Nigerians.....

Dirty Diana...

Linda, this your category na group of "death" o! Hian, all the best, we shall vote u if there is a forum like that!

Linda dis ur position dey very tight. Wishing u all da best

@Warri girl,nawaa ohh..its so sad Akpos was screened out...Dt 1 concern dem,her game is too tight!!Shez doing very well.

Please where can we vote?i need to start voting for linda ikeji now now.All the best linda

Dazzling B said.

Linda is supposed to be under ENTREPRENEUR OF THE YEAR (COMMUNICATION& MEDIA) or TECHNOLOGY. that kind place wey dem put u i no like am. meanwhile see my mates abi dem get 2 heads infact i don vex where do they pick the form next yr i must follow. mtchew beef.

9jadeltapikin... Lindus na U̶̲̥̅̊ must win 4 U̶̲̥̅̊я category ohhh na by force ijn U̶̲̥̅̊ must win

Producer of the year SARZ is not nominated ?????? hmmmm wat a list!!!

Ziba! said...

Full list is not soooooo interesting but I'll be rooting for you all the same :-). But the only comma to this is a potential conflict of interest; I mean why are some nominees also sponsors/partners? E.g., Linda Ikeji??? #Justsaying.....

mridontry said...

hmmm! My fav category is "Young person of the year award" I get am for plenty candidates...*winks*
http://www.mridontry.com/

Linda! Linda!! Linda!!! Let's all campaign for her. Promise us if u win dis u'll start auto comment. :d

Where is toke makinwa na, linda are u sure u didnt "mistakenly" delete her name *wink wink*

'Laide said...

Na wa o! You made me read the whole list looking for your name! Anyway, wish you all the best, 'cause this your category is powerful. No matter what, you will always remain very much loved by us. Go girl!

as for me i wnt Maupe Ogun to win her category, no competition dr at alll..she is d best.linda luv gdluck too, we go wait and watch,make i go vote for my toughie smart Maupe first

linda. U still join for young ppl? Old mama like u

brandigest said...

I know Jason Njoku (Iroko TV)will win something.

Chai!!! Lindi baby, u no fit win ds one o! Make we talk true! Ds guys r on TV and radio and newspapers and shows everyday.. But ur own if no internet no bloggin! Anyway sha, all da best.. atleast dem even nominate u sef, na achievement o.. Agba

Its Orondaam Otto all the way for me...I'm so proud to be an AIESECer

Denrele must win that category hands down! So Adams of Soundcity was screened out? Eeeeya, a typical Denrele wannabe! I hear he is doing Chidinma of project fame....child abuse!
Illrhymz and his hot yam in his mouth presentation, Dolapo ONI is over 34 so why is she there? Can't recall who the others are. Oh Uti, lol. His live in lover must be quite happy for him.

Voting counts.. Go msmakor...

Ziba! said...

Heyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, I take God beg una o. Our Linda CAN win this. Haba! That's how you haterz said she will never make a dime from blogging. Who's laughing to the bank now??? Yeah, LINDA and not you. Keep dreaming about what she's achieving. Oshisco!

@ least am happy Gomiluk made it

Ade said...

linda this ur category should be called confused judgement category , why dbanj psquare banky w this guys are artist and not young like linda our gossip madam, ok if wizzy n davido is there then i can agree is 4 young ppl,putting miss ikeji wit famous old artist as young people makes no sense at al, linda should either be on Enterpreneure or web users(blogger)

and why is iroko boss jasen on just tech group, what happened to enterpreneur?
ppl no vex oh my mouth too big

big same group is interesting,i think three of those guys are really strong in social n communication media(print,tv,social,radio)

my choice big sam.

Ade liverpool dirty corner

Best of luck to all the nominees.

PhBoy said...

Abeg make una come see our fast deteriorating state wey our able governor no dey stay again sef. Bad roads, bad power supply, arrogant and useless assembly members (touts), and cantankerous lga chairmen and councilmen. A visit will convince you!
Linda, try o...wish you the best.