Lagos Hotels 2nd Most Expensive Globally – Research | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 19 August 2012

Lagos Hotels 2nd Most Expensive Globally – Research

According to a recent research by the Hogg Robinson Group (HRG), hotels in Lagos are the second most expensive in the world behind Moscow.

According to the survey conducted in 50 cities worldwide, a hotel room in Lagos cost an average of £217.05. That's about N55k.

Geneva comes 3rd with rooms priced at an average of £215.92.

The Hilton Hotel I stayed in London cost me 160/170 pounds a night...that would be about N40/45k a night. In Nigeria, the cheapest room at Transcorp Hilton I hear is about N65k ...with all 'dem shitty service and etc.

Government should look into the hospitality business in Nigeria. Maybe find a way to regulate it.

73 comments:

Guess you haven't considered the cost of running a generator for about 24hrs a day and all the taxes and levies and bribes, etc. the country itself is the problem, and Russia is even more corrupt

Yeah, right...don't forget though that most of these countries have steady power supply unlike Nigeria...

How many generators do they run at the Hilton in London?

9jadeltapikin... Hotel business Ȋ̊§ a Ǧ☺☺ϑ business Τ̅☺ invest in

Linda why now? You just had to go there. Telling us you stayed at the Hilton and paid N50K a night. Clap for yourself, two times!

PrettyPrincess...... said...

linda baby.....u sha want us to know you lodged at hilton...i hail lol

Duke Emeka said...

Exactly and that's a serious matter U̶̲̥̅̊ see 4 star hotels and even less in Nigeria with Very high rate on their rooms. I tire.

Duke Emeka said...

Well maybe its because of howmuch they spend on diesel.

I was just discussing this ish with my mum...travelled recently,stayed in a 4star hotel,with great services...paid a reasonable sum of money and I stayed for 6night,I was pleased wit their services,unlike dis shitty hotels in naija.

as long as the electricity and infrastructures are not there, the prices are always going to be high. constant electricity alone will slash the price into half. that's my opinion.

did u really have to tell us u stayed in hilton? Grow up plsssss

Even your Hilton is cheap Wasn't it the Metropole opposite M&S?

Linda, next time say, 'a room at hilton in london is....' and do not add that you stayed there. It did appear as if you wanted to be boastful, which was a bit childish.

It was the paddington hilton from the picture she posted.. I too know. Rolling eyes.@ anon7:37

Oh, shattaap!!! U jealous? Its not like its even a big thing to stay at a hilton hotel, anytime I visit lag, I also stay at a hilton hotel, poverty is sad.
--Zaynab

Omg!!! The holtel is right opposite my apartment; cravern road, so linda was near nd I had no idea *crying*
--Zaynab

Why must you mention you stayed in a UK hilton hotel.....very unnecessary

*abuja
--Zaynab

So is a crime to refer to a place uve stayed, or a restaurant uve eaten or where u made ur hair.. All those complaining think they are humble but its pride that's making u all complain about Linda's innocent reference or maybe its ur insecurities making u people uncomfortable. She should feel free to tell us her experiences. Una neva see wetin to complain about. Ignoramus. What's there if she says on HER blog that she stayed at the hilton?

The same government u said should regulate should first of all give full power supply for the hotels to run on,stop their officials from getting rooms on credit and create safe environment for the hotels .This is not a surprise?!! Off course it should be expensive

Yes! But its not their pride but their poverty! Really sad

PurpleHeart said...

Lool.... Leave the Zaynab chic ojare. Maybe there's a Hilton in Lag now.

Atanni said...

I Budgeted €150 a nite 4 3wks during d olympic game in London, on arrival in stratford London, I got a cheaper hotel 4 £40 a nite, dey Cal it bread & breakfast lol I never mind i enjoyed all moments in Dere.came back wth xtra cash gagan..luv London!

Jealous pple everywhere..y'all ve left the topic for discussion n ve faced linda!so she shld sleep @ bnb wen she can afford d hilton.n I dnt think she was tryn to be boastful...biko get ova urselves!eish!!!

As In ehhh...I tire for pple!nawa!!!

Get ova urself!pepper body!!!mtschewww

Anon August 19, 2012 7:57 PM shut your trap. Hater. Did you see her in Hilton Paddington? Posted a pic, so?

There is really no standard in the hospitality industry in Nigeria yet we have the NTDC and even the emolument given hotel staffs in Nigeria when compared to other countries is scrap.

Linda baby,issokay now we know you lodged at Hilton Hotel when you were in the UK

Linda, God will bless you for this original gist.

Did you not enjoy yourself in London. Did electricity blink once? That is why some Nigerians don't want to go back home for good. It is very hot in London rightnow. We could not sleep well last night without the fan.

When light goes off in a 5-Star hotel in Nigeria, you will notice a quick blink therefore the prize is too much ooo.

Here, there are supposed to inform you days ahead of a powercut, which would be to fix a minor problem in your area or risk legal action. Most people here have never encountered powercut in their lifetime.

All these poor ppl,when someone innocently makes a reference that they stayed in Hilton,u flare up like Porthacourt gas.With this attitude some of u will never go up in life!
Jelousy and envy will continue to torment riff raffs like u!
Useless ppl!

Envy? Please leave her alone joor! Go to London and see the Queen too. Jealousy na him dey worry you, bad belle... ala Shina Peters.

Lindsa sing this song: Owun ojumiri maso kabiti kabiti loro araye, if u get money dem go talk, if u no get dem go stil yan... by Saheed Osupa.

NIGERIA is a really frustrating place. the price of everything is over inflated and not worth it at all. sufferhead nation sha forget the 5% rich people. even for middle class people things r tough. me i holiday in ghana...infact anywhere in the world except nigeria. BULLSHIT MEHN. tufiakwa

for fuck sake it's her blog. Linda shares her thoughts on some topics,so she is using herself as an example. relax people!

deo said...

Anon 8:07 sounds like linda replying.

LINDA....its ur BLOG...so u can BLOG whatever u want. I have found out from experience that misery loves company, so 4get the haters.Next time u are in london..save up enough cash and Lodge at THE MARRIOT..it costs more!. But on the issue at hand, the cost of doing business here esp power is high and so adds to the total running cost and so for them to break even they have to pass the cost to clients!

KOFOSHY said...

Linda,na money dem dy take buy fuel na.

Africanbeauty said...

Linda, is using her own personal as an example, nothing wrong with how she mentioned where she stayed.

Yes it was the hilton paddington and not the metropole.. Why are u soo touchy. I'm sure u were the "I too know" who said metropole. Idiota. And who said it wasn't a big deal. You are the idiot that said its cheap. People like u come to London and squat in a box room.

Zaynab don't say so before some peeps start crying that u stay in central London. Some losers like that that would never see good in their life. If one can't celebrate any good they would never see good.

Femiluv said...

Anon 7:56 is right, next time just say "A room at..." Basically, u can't win because some people would think u'r being boastful, others won't.

I also thought u were showing off at first although it isn't a big deal because I've stayed at the Hilton. I'm just 21 and I save up from my summer job to travel.

Anon August 19, 2012 10:22 PM ehm, London born and bred here. So the squatting thing is for you, ass wipe. Linda's idiotic moron.

Na wa 4 bad belle people yabbing linda,she is just trying to make a point.you guys are just poverty stricken heya sorry#

You guys are all here insulting Linda ikeja, the innocent girl is making her money, raking in millions daily from advertisers, the only simple reason, why she post all your comment, is to create that freedom of expression, so it makes it look like a very objective blog, I think u guys need to think of what to do, to generate money, instead of always raining insults daily. Majority of u are just here to criticize other people, u do ur own event, or create a business idea, so that other people can criticize, una come word come look people, make god punish una, as many that will open their dirty mouth to insult hard working nigerians

Well.when I read it,I thought she was showing off buh critically speaking, she wasn't! So dem haters shld just get busy or get lost. Its her freaking blog!! I tire for pple sef!

now if only one received 'expensive' customer service at these hotels you could try to start to defend it. Unfortunately...

Hmmmmm Smh! Abeg let's leave Envy,jeolous and poverty biko. My own problem is that Hilton's in London is a cheap and rubbish hotel to be compained as a Good hotel. There r lots and alots of beatiful hotels,u should ve compained with n nt Hilton.

Poverty na wa! All this aggro just because she said she stayed at the Hilton. Come on people! Its not like she bought the whole building.

I hope some entrepreneur or hotel chain out there is looking at those prices and trying to figure out a way to provide decent hotel rooms at an affordable price. They will practically be printing money if they can pull it off.

BTW. Where is Luanda in this list or the person conducting the survey couldn't get a room because all the hotels were fully booked for months in advance?

When they have to provide their own electricity and water 24/7?
I don't blame them.
I paid N50K, for a room in VGC when in Nigeria, and the service was good.

Mujer Casada said...

Glad someone is looking into this. I slept at Sheraton Ikeja a couple of years ago for about $300 a night. First it was for a room with twin beds. Second, they would not take the fucking naira. I had to part with my hard earned dollars in a country where the local currency is naira. Third, they would not use points from my Sheraton starwood club membership and I could not FREAKING accrue points from a 300 bucks per night stay. The icing on the cake - th e foam on the bed was no different than the six spring bed in a boarding school from my days in secondary school. Me and hubby got only two pillows and they were gaddem flat. In the morning, we had to pay for the buffet. Never went back. Two years ago, I stayed at Transcorp Abuja on a biz trip. I paid about $200 a night. At least they took naira. The hotel staff were courteoous hopefully not because because I dont look Nigerian (as one of them would later declare when I spoke Waffi lingua franca). I could accrue Hilton points and I would have been able to use club points if I had enough. The room was unimpressive though. One small less than twin sized bed. Flat mattress so that you could feel the wood underneath and the pillows were small. The staff were extremely courteous and pleasant to me and made me feel welcome though. So I did not focus on that.

it is easy to complain about this from my end as a consumer who has stayed in really high class hotels where you open the door and music starts blasting, the expensive blinds draw back and you are in heaven. However, one commenter has an excellent point - the overhead cost of doing biz in Nigeria is excessively high. Running a diesel gen 24/7 all year round can run into thousands of dollars weekly for a large hotel. Private security to ensure miscreants dont take over your hotel is expensive. BTW, occupancy is not always 100%. There are times in the year when it is going to run low. So hoteliers have to spread the cost out throughout the year. Until electricity becomes a certainty in Naija, perhaps hotels should look into more efficient means of generating independent power. Govt should reduce cost of doing business in naija and help introduce certainty. If people can use economic forcasting spreadsheets that are used elsewhere in the world to accurately estimate their costs, I am pretty sure the cost of staying in hotels will become manageable. This can only happen once there is certainty in at least 70% of the areas that are important for businesses.

KOFOSHY said...

Linda 'Ikeja'......choii Lmfaoooooooo !!

kelekele said...

na wa o .. all these comments lashing out @ linda is baffling. its not like Hilton is the greatest hotel out there. i think she was just making a sincere comparison. To the topic, that is why when am in Gidds i stay with family and if family annoy u, stay with friends and if no friends, make friends via bbm quick! not spending thousands on hotel when i can do more with $$$$ o pls.

@zaynab ...pls gimme the address of the Hilton in Lagos that u always go to....lwkmd....na ya papa build am???
@atani it's call BED and breakfast not bread...na who give u visa sef .....dnt c anything wrong wit Linda saying she stayed at the Hilton tho....wit all the money she makes from this blog

My own issue here is............ Wat is dis zynab of a girl feeling like? Daughter of a corrupt father.

I guess ur compained is nt a mistake cus u made it twice. Its compared nt compained.

There's no comparison between hotels in Nigeria and London. Firstly, our currency is higher than theirs. If our currency was to be viewed like the British pounds, then it won't be that high.

Having said that, before you go about saying what you don't know about hotel business in Nigeria, I thing you should work there or better still date an owner. Myself and my hubby own 2 hotels in Lagos, and we sometimes don't make any profit in months. So pls get ur facts right

linda pls check dis out http://www.httconnect.com/most-expensive-hotel-rooms.html

Did u mean to say 'bed and breakfast' Atanni......#olodo

tooo many bitter people on here...1st it was school that was not free, secondly it was psquare's mansion and now its linda's stay in hilton hotel... make ur own money and let's see what you will use it for ..all you haters..that is if you ever make money in your life time tho. since you do not appreciate people that have struggled to make it...reading linda's blog and wasting your 24hrs on dis blog posting irrelevant comments will only make you worse than ever...always be a wretch and stay stagnant even when others are climbing the ladder of success...happy posting while you eventually become a nobody!

zaynab said...

Babes, isn't it obvious I corrected the comment, anyway, I agree wiv the 2nd part of ur comment.

zaynab said...

Same mistake many ppl make, DO NOT bring my parents into this, if u want 2 insult any1, insult me, thanks.

"Oh, shattaap!!! U jealous? Its not like its even a big thing to stay at a hilton hotel, anytime I visit lag, I also stay at a hilton hotel, poverty is sad.
--Zaynab"

#DEAD

Please tell me this chick is under 14. It's the only rational explanation I'll accept in order to forgive her. Your dirty mouth like 'poverty is sad'. It's obvious you don't understand the value of money because no one who did would make such a stupid statement about how it costs nothing to stay at the Hilton - or ANY hotel for that matter! This only leads me to conclude that as you don't know the value of money, you have never been taught that you should work for money which of course implies some rather unsavoury things about how you got your own money. My dear please move out of your house and live in the Hilton for the rest of your life okay? I'm sure you can afford it, but in the long run I feel very sorry for you *hiss*

Hahahahahahahaha somany pple claiming tins here! Lmao. No be only bread & breakfast, na bread n butter! Lolz. Linda ders 45k room aat Hilton abuja o. Dey try small for Their customers, plus there's always weekend rates, rooms can go as low as 25k.

Hi does anyone know any affordable bed and breakfast in central london preferably bloomsbury area. I'm goin for a short course at UCL nd all the hotels I ve seen are soooooo expensive. Thanks guys

I think pple should focus on what linda is saying here..nigerians are just so difficult to deal with.if this successful blogger decides to use herself as an anology of somesort,she shouldn't be criticized,or spoken of a boastful,word is,its talks like all urs that lifts her higher and higher in her career and she'll stay in many more hiltons around the world(if they exist) and come here to talk about them.
I urge ya'll,be civil,and help nija move forward.thanks

Imagine this Mumu Annon.1:03'My own problem is that Hilton in London is a cheap and rubbish hotel to be COMPAINED To? Who the hell is this Ghetto ajegunle fool who cannot write simple English? Mumu it is compared to and not compained to!
Obviously u have no idea where Hilton in London is.Take a hike illiterate buffoon! Compained to! Tmr u will claim graduate too!

Myopic twats! What offense is there now in stating the hotel that she stayed in? She wasn't bragging or boasting it was part of the topic she was discussing u black belle jealous monkeys. Na ppl lyk u wey money dey fear to come near. Hence ur poverty stricken mentalities. Broke-ass donkey!!

Linda, no mind them jare. You can check prices of Hotels on line. Do they want you to stay with a friend of a friend as most naijas do when they do overseas

ngbeke s feeling funky

LOL why are you guys beefing Linda because she mentioned she stayed at Hilton in London? Do you guys think that highly of Hilton? Please be happy for her instead of getting angry unnecessarily.

Wetti D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ pain me И̲̮̣̥̅̊Ơ̴̴͡ pass say as una D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ yab linda, na her money she D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ make. One yabbing cost alot of money to her.so keep yabbing. More insults plsssssss

This is so true.......with $2500 you can stay in a 5star hotel + VIP lounge access for 7nights....average of $290 per night inclusive of free wifi and complimentary breakfast

Thats bout N425,000 or N44,000 per night......thats prob a single or double room in lagos