Italian writer held over murder of Nigerian prostitute in Italy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 22 August 2012

Italian writer held over murder of Nigerian prostitute in Italy

An Italian man has been arrested over the murder of a Nigerian prostitute after police searching her apartment found a short story he wrote with close similarities to the killing.

Police in the northern Italian city of Turin discovered the nine-page story entitled "The Rose and the Lion" among the belongings of Anthonia Egbuna, whose body was fished out of the river Po in February. Anthonia had been stabbed to death.

Police took some months to identify the body and then visited Egbuna's apartment last month.
In the murder case, reminiscent of the 1992 Hollywood thriller film "Basic Instinct", aspiring author Daniele Ughetto Piampaschet was arrested last week because of likenesses between his short story and the real murder, the police said.

He denies murder.

In "Basic Instinct", Sharon Stone's character Catherine Tramell had described in a novel she wrote a rock star's murder with an ice pick that was later committed in real life, making her the top suspect.

After finding 34-year-old Ughetto Piampaschet's short story, police say they discovered he had been in a relationship with Egbuna, then 19, between February and August of last year.

They alleged in a statement that he murdered her in November because their relationship was going badly and she refused to give up prostitution - in what appeared to be a link to the short story.

"He loved her and he loved her more every day, but she did not want to leave the streets. All his efforts to convince her to change her life had failed. And for this reason she had become his torturer," reads an excerpt of the story quoted by police.

Source: Reuters

61 comments:

That Girl said...

Evn this one b ashawo? He he he

Heiya.

Linda u dnt ℓi̶̲̥̅ke̶̲̥̅ †̥ publish ♍Ɣ comment .wel. R .I .p

Emee said...

See fine geh doing ashawo, no wonder d guy loved her...all dis oyinbo and their serial killings ehh?

U see?

What a waste..chai..ds fine gal..NEKS

may her soul RIP,,,,,wat a word.

na wa o

I'm not judging . I believe the Young man had his reason but it can't be enough to take a life. Nothing is enough to take a life you can't give . But all the same !!!! WE ALL DO STUPID THINGS FOR LOVE . @morlardybaba

pweetylisa said...

Madness!!! Na wa o

Madness!!@dat girl

Na so... He'll soon be released.... Shebi na Nigerian Girl...

Shebi nah naija gal.... Dem go soon release the man..... Racist people

Na wah o. Choi! Wat a waste of beauty. May her soul R.I.P

He never loved her. What he loved was her p*ssy. Most Italian men enjoy black women in bed than their own. They love hard sex.

Some 'Ashewo' have done juju to make them sell. I hope such juju did not go to the head of the writer because it was for marketing only. She shouldn't have had a serious affair as a prostitute.

Most prostitutes have to settle the pimps who brought them to Italy. It is very hard to stop the job. Didn't he know that? He just wanted to kill her. Oloriburuku!

What sort of love is dat, Choi...... y he nor kill himself too? all dis oyinbo pple sef I wonder d way dey tink and wettin mk d gurl nor stop ashawo business, well...may her soul RIP

NecFix said...

She say she no wan do, na by force? The girl's face sha doesn't look like that of a hoe, neither does the guy's face look like that of a murderer. I guess there's no art to see the mind's construction on the face.

chai na wa o

What a pity

one death to anoda , how wont dere b talks bout runs nd co.

Rachael k said...

Hmmm innocent looking gal! So sad!

A.F. Dosumu said...

O ma she oo

Igbo girl... we know the real name and identity cos shes dead. if she was caught alive doing prostitution in Italy she would have changed her name to an Edo name or to be deportation to Nigeria she go claim Edo state.. ..sad that's what always happens most times i said......Well RIP Egbuna

What a pretty girl; the graveyard is indeed the richest place on earth. What a shame, hope d man receives appropriate punishment*although it will not bring her back* and it serves as a lesson to other girls. RIPoste

Flavour said...

Nawa oh,such a pretty girl.na everything dey torture Oyinbo pple,mtshewwwww.May God help n deliver us frm unfriendly friends.

brandigest said...

Sad

Poor thing. The psycho probably planned her murder all along knowing she was a trafficked individual because at 19, if you are doing opio work you are probably being trafficked.

Choi, wetin we no go c finish Oº°

Deczy

....but why killing

SPLENDID said...

this is where devil glorifies himself. how can a beautiful lady like this travel all the way to italy for prostitution instead of looking for a job or businesses there she preferred prostitution. RIP DEAR DATS DEVILS REWARD FOR SUCH DEALS

may her soul rest in peace.

nigeria university news said...

beautiful girl.
The Nigeria University News Team Says rip.

That Girl,
anybody can be an ashawo! Do ashawos have to be pretty? Are you one of the people that thought Cynthia was ashawo cos she was pretty? Don't be silly.

Dazzling..... Na weac passport photo be dis? Na wa oo. Wonders shall never end de gal looks innocent. But this writer dey should investigate well not to punish an innocent person.

How could anybody find anything funny in this story?

I feel bad her young life had to end this way. The oddest part is that she did not die on the street by the hands of a stranger, but the one she was closest to. NO justification for murdering her.

Men and their desire to control women always lead to things like this.

9jadeltapikin... Abeg ds na end time wey Wƺ D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ Ooº°˚˚°ºoo serial killings evrywia »W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ Ȋ̊§ happening ladies U̶̲̥̅̊ people need Τ̅☺ βε̲̣̣̣̥ extra ordinary careful

Ashawo no be work. take it or leave it

Na wa ooo,dis one life don end so,vanity upon vanity! RIP

Spoken like a true ashewo!

.....As a prostitute in Italy her death is being investigated. If she had been killed in Nigeria....

If to say na edo name she get now many of una wey get small mind go don they mouth off since. Any way RIP i hope others will learn from this.

Never judge a book by its cover, see ashawo looking innocent. Hhhmmmm sad. RIP

Sad story.... Wonders sha neva end, d stupid oyinbo man wld hv killed himself too nau, which kind luv be dat

ugoo said...

na so kiling dey dem like chopin rice?.i dey craz fal in luv wth oyibo gir?.nxt page abeg

Were are the Igbos?? Who na mouth don sealed na Benin girl be this? Am not from Edo If her name was not writine you guys will pass the text to Edo people Una don see am say nor be only Edo girls dey Italy.even my Calabar people are in Italy too that's I don't judge. Rest in peace

Warri Girl said...

Itay, benin women's h.q, they should do and return home.

You are a fucking fool

Tolantino said...

There is no legitimate reason to take a life. What was the worst that this girl could have done even if she was a prostitute trying to eek out a living? Challenge the guy that he didn't pay her enough? or perhaps he didn't pay and she accosted him? Whatever her lifestyle choices may have been..she did not deserve such a violent death and then be dumped into a river. I hope she gets justice!

DORIS said...

Oyinbo and their sense.... Imagine how they discovered who murdered the girl but if na Naija dey for say the girl deserve am...No one deserves death and at least her soul will rest... Niaja abeg make we use our sense( brains) for better things not to conceive evil(BH)

This story does not add up- the guy knew she was a prostitute, yet still went out with her and expected her to give it up??? Even if she had given up the prostitution, his mind would still have been racked with jealousy over the thoughts of the men she must have been with! This man was foolish and unrealistic to say the least. Are there no other black girls who are not prostitutes in Italy?

Oh shattap!! Local thing! So after reading the article, Dat was all u cud think of 2 put down? U cudnt even get a clue from other pples constructive comments? Wats bringing Edo or Benin or any tribe in2 dis naw? Anu mpama! Msheww
«~DORA»

melbin said...

what a sorry case!!!!

Benin said...

You didn't read clearly right? She is not Bini. Thank you...

babe oku said...

Okwa Nwa madu bu ife a! Na wa O, God please show her mercy and May her soul rest in peace

Can't tell,but this girl does't come across as a prostitute,she looks very innocent,if she is one,then she is certainly not a hawker by choice,i can tell from a professional hawker who believes in d trade from an innocent one.May she rest in peace.Those irresponsible parent that encourages their children into such should learn from this.

my goodness she looks nothing a prostitute, she looks like a student, its so scary what some gals get up to these days...hipsy

Ok what does "ashawo" mean?

RIP.
very sad.

Trixie Mathews said...

The guy is probably in love, but their relationship should not end up this way. This is touching story. I've also seen a movie similar to this plot.

the man should be killed 2