Ex-Miss Nigeria Helen Anyamelune has passed on | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 22 August 2012

Ex-Miss Nigeria Helen Anyamelune has passed on

She actually died a while back but I just heard about it. Helen Anyamelune was Miss Nigeria in 1958. She was the second woman to be so crowned in the history of beauty pageants in Nigeria. She died on Saturday July 28 2012, after a protracted illness. She was 75 years old. She will be buried in October. May her soul rest in peace...Amen.

35 comments:

So sad...RIP

Jeez
Remember this woman's storymay her soulrest in perfect peace

RIP.

But not buried until October? are u sure about that Linda? That's a longgggggggggg time, jeez.

Monique said...

When I saw d headline was actually scared, thought it was a young lady. Her beauty still reflects despite her old age. May her soul rest in peace

Even in ha old age she still look beautiful.rest on mama

Such is life.may her soul rest in peace.can we see some of her pix in d 50s,expecially d ones taken during the pageant.

Dexy said...

Wao! May her soul RIPP.. I wonder who d 1st woman is...Linda do u kno?

Honestly she still looks good @ 75,.just saying,may she rest in peace

9jadeltapikin... RIP our beauty queen

Sasha Fierce! said...

Rest well beautiful Helen.
75YRS, Wow, she really tried o.
In this day,@ 65 diabetics and HBP don already dey wack everybody.
People,make una dey eat well/smart and exercise so that you go fit reach at least 80.Mortality rate for naija is nothing to write home about.
You can't believe that a 30 yrs old Naija man/woman cannot do a 25M dash without gasping for breath.

May her soul rest in blossom of d lord(Amen).but d woman still fine o

May her soul rest in d blossom of d Lord(Amen). But she still fyn o

May her soul rest in peace (Cweamy)

deekay said...

Chei. R.I.P

Linda can find a 1958 pic of her please

@Linda,
you can't find a better picture to post with this story. which kain gbeborun blogger u be sef?!

Uche Ohia said...

Adieu!
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=4180535748442&set=o.16767650828&type=1&theater

Uche Ohia said...

Linda here is a photo of Helen Anyameluna in 1958. Please share with LIB readers. Sad to hear about her demise.

Eya. RIP

Died in August buried in October? Are tese people serious?

R.I. P. Mama ‎​Ʊ really done .U̶̲̥̅̊я̩̥̊ self wel. At old age .U̶̲̥̅̊я̩̥̊ stil looking Gd may .U̶̲̥̅̊я̩̥̊ soul rest ι̥η peace Amen

Warri Girl said...

May her soul rest in peace, in the bossom of they lord.

She did go thru some rough times when she was sick. It was hard to get anyone to help her in old age.Ironically Jail bird Ibori was one of the few ppl that helped her financially!Life is a stage! Let's all play our part well! Rest in Peace Mama!

Obeta Max said...

what a life?.....where everything eeventually gets buried deep down the erath...beauty for ashes.

Wat is sad abt this o o o.Celebration of Life that's y linda self post am even if it's a dead news. Beta go do cake than spoil prsn mood joor... Says Shewen P

@MzEllatyra said...

This comment has been removed by linda ikeji

That Girl said...

Beauty!Igbos take d cake anyday!
Nowadays,ugly gals win beauty contests!

Ziba! said...

She even looked good at 75 and the illness sef. She was a beauty sha. RIP ma'am

floxy said...

RIP mama, May her gentle soul rest in peace. She's forever beautiful!

Chei.... I Pray To Grow Old Like This.. Even Older.. See My Great Grand Kids.. May She R.I.P.. Stunning Beauty Queen Back In 1958!!!!!!... She Must Have Been Helen Of Troy Back Then!!!.... *So Truly Truly Our Beauty Will Fade Away One Day.... Funny Life... R.I.P Queen!!!!!!!!

Dirty Diana...

Beauty really is only skin deep, we should NEVER base excess importance on look or fame or even wealth , they can only get us so far. The quality of life and impact in lives we meet makes all the difference, as we thank God for the beautiful Helen Anyameluna's life, we Must reflect on the Quality of ours and what we use it for whilst we still have the strength

I had the priviledge of meeting Mrs Anyameluna a few years ago. She was a lovely woman with a kind soul. What struck me most about her was her beauty and penchant for cleanliness. May her beautiful soul rest in peach and may God grant her kids the fortitude to bear this loss.

tolud said...

She was really pretty. R.I.P ex mgbn

Rest in peace.
She was a beauty.

This woman was pretty,an looked younger than her age.May she rest in peace.Smart woman,as in miss nigeria 1950s.