Nigerian Army General, others arrested over Baga Attack | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 January 2015

Nigerian Army General, others arrested over Baga Attack

More than 10 senior Nigerian Army officers, including a Brigadier-General have been arrested and are telling the military hierarchy what they know about the Baga attack by the insurgent group, Boko Haram.

According to the Director of Defence Information, Major-General Chris Olukolade, the senior army officers are being investigated for allegedly shirking their responsibilities during the attack by the militants.

Those arrested are Brigadier-General Enitan Ransome-Kuti, his Chief of Staff Lt. Colonel G.A Suru. Others are the Commanding Officer of 134 and 174 battalions, Lt. Colonel Haruna and a certain Major aliyu.

The two Nigerian Army battalions are under the Multi-National Task Joint Task Force in Baga, attacked by the insurgents. Speaking on the arrest, General Olukolade said that the arrested officers were being investigated because at the time of the attack on the multinational headquarters in Baga, Brigadier-General Ransome-Kuti and his men were fully in charge of the military formation.

He said it was disappointing that the attack on Baga was not repelled by both battalions, despite having the necessary weapons to carry out the necessary operations. On January 3, 2015, suspected members of Boko Haram attacked the base of the Multinational Task Force in Baga, Borno State, dislodging the soldiers there. Reports say the troops were warned to be on alert following intelligence reports that terrorists would strike between January 22 and January 25.

Eyewitnesses said that the attack started around 5am when residents started hearing gunshots as the insurgents tried to gain entrance into the MNJTF premises. Many civilians living in the barracks were said to have been killed during the attack.

Source: Channels TV

93 comments:

SANDRA said...

I'm tired of reading all these, God pls do smetin

AbokiDaWarriBoy. said...

Humm Nigeria na wa!

AbokiDaWarriBoy. said...

Humm Nigeria na wa!

God help this country

Arrest ke, why nah?

more investigations

Anything that will stop BH boys is ok

Which way Nigeria?

Hintealand said...

I pray something good will come out of this.

...............'''''' PRAY4NIGERIA ''''''.................

God will expose all of them..more news will spill. Weakedness in high places. All of them will be exposed IJN.

I heard it over d news last nite...
Pls they should properly investigate it so dat necessary action b taken accordingly.

When soldiers realise why they are soldiers,everything regarding defending the Nation will be achieved.

So he means weapons were available? Who should one believe? May God see it all through for us... gets tougher everyday. Psalm 121:7-8. @Bishop_Dammy

Nice move but hope arresting them wunt discourage the soldiers...they need all the morals they can get,not fear

I've always known BH have moles in the army.So am not surprised at all.

Arresting them for trial won't stop this BH menace....precautionary measures have to been taken by the govt to terminate this people permanently.....

••••••QUEENMAYA•••••

May God help us all.

we pray God to give our soldiers and indeed govt wisdom and strength to fight this war.

The olukolade should be arrested.

Hmmmmm

They should be punished severly and then put in the war front to fill wah the less ranked soldiers are going through naa.we dnt need to dismiss this ones pls we need soldiers

Give this country to Buhari

Unn said...

Am I the only one that think there is something that Nigerian military is not telling us about Boko Haram?

Yes let them be arrested and investigated. The big generals and officers get millions of naira in security votes and do nothing to stop the advancement of Boko Haram. Let them deal with these generals too and not to go around witch hunting the foot soldiers who were not provided with any equipment yet they are expected to go and die at the expense of these corrupt, negligent and cowards called army generals and officers.

Arresting them is so uncalled for jhoorr.....na 2day BH start nii

When I watched the video of boko haram, taking away the army weapons is they have taken control of the country.small children with no experience in control of army guns and vehicles shouting alha ho akuba. I even saw two soldiers running for their life and the insurgents is shooting at them till they escape through.
It's a great shame to the nigerian army authority.

It's well.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen.

our help is in the name the lord

Its okay............lets see hw it goes...

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

Ok o

Vote out the clueless and impotent one. Good governance is what we need not goodluck.

orovan said...

Na today? Wey the ones una arrest last year, Their court martial started and end on your conference table. While the poor other ranks that suffered from their betrayal are waiting to die....carry on the end is in sight

Only time will tell

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Human error is always one problem

Na real wa!

Erm boko haram used rocket propellers and all sorts * how will an army with mere guns combat such violence! I would personally not engage in such an unbalanced battle

kezie said...

Hmmmmm that's serious buh itz well..happy B'day to me

This military officers are really selling out on GEJ office to the sponsors of boko haram may almighty God help us

Good for them.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Let them investigate well.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Alright, but soldiers dey finish for road oh!

Let all those who are guilty be punished accordingly

is an encouraging move.Only soldiers dat can stop,destroy and capture boko haram is Biafran soldiers.dis is d time nigeria need dem.

God send us a Messiah

It baffles me how some low life untrained persons over power a well trained formation of soldiers... God is watching

Heaven helps those who helps themselves. The only way to conquer dis menace is not just state of emergency. Taking the war to boko haram's camp is the best option.

Sumtin is fishing in de military. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Kellydbob said...

So painful

Hmmmn, this is an important development. There is need to Check the authenticit of information supplied by Nigerian government officials. Are we 100% sure that these soldiers have the correct tools to do their job? If they have correct tools and had intelligence and had been on alert, then they have case to answer. Else, they should be released. Their arrest could be victimisation. ...

The involvement of top military officers is one of the reasons why boko haram has not been stopped. How do boko haram get all the ammunitions that they use for attacking innocent citizens?

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Why are they running 4 their duties? Are they not the ones collecting plenty money (OFFICERS)...

Dat is gud so dat many of de we learn deir lesson

Now they are talking! Its time people are held accountable for all this rubbish. Boko haram has a lot of sympathizers in d army. Dats y dis rubbish has refused to end

Blame soldiers laxity & incompetence on Jonathan too........ Mtttttcccchewwww all those corrupt northerners will have themselves to blame.........

*oparoescalade*

Blame soldiers laxity & incompetence on Jonathan too........ Mtttttcccchewwww all those corrupt northerners will have themselves to blame.........

*oparoescalade*

You can't read, just rushed to comment , our youths becoming note useless and lazy as the days go by

They may have compromised terribly

I'm sure it's all part of divine plan. GOD works in mysterious ways. We've been praying for him to do something since 2009.i sure the devil ain't more powerful than Baba God. Let's be patient.

Campaign strategy

rejoice said...

This is how it is supposed to be.
From my point of view a lot needs to be explained on how a whole military barracks could be sacked by BH militants.
A step in the right direction.
People need to be accountable

umoh Linda said...

It had beta not b true o..

Who is that asking arrest ke? Can't you read? Some people have been given responsibility and they ran away and you still ask why nah? Na wah for some people o!

small time dem anoda person go say nah peter obi dey sponsor boko dem.. as GEJ don already dey accused. can some body sweet away apc and buhari pls

na waa

i see

They are Muslim who have swore to jhadist where do u expect their loyality to lie. The truth is we have two army 1.) The Nigeria army 2.)army in Nigeria who are boko haram faithfully. And we know their general as well. Nigerians are not stupid.

It is important dat d military pursue ds to a logical conclusion.

nnodim said...

Full-proof solution to this BH problem? Let Boko Haram have their Islamic Republic/Caliphate of the North and let this nonsense stop. I know 70% of Northerners support them either overtly or covertly.

These guys must surely be getting tips.

@Sophia Stephen

CONSPIRACY ND SOBATAGE WITHIN

Next

We surely need the hand of God to curb this deadly disease that has infested the nation.

God Save Nigeria from Boko haram. For latest news see also donrodneylatestupdates.blogspot.com

Why arresting only the western general, when the real people sponsoring this boko haram are the northern general both those in service and the once that have retire

Why can't they stop this boko haram boys sef.are they powerful than a whole nation?

is this the way out?
Abeg the warlords should do something meaningful

Exactly. I'm just so tired of all these army and bokoharam boys news. Can't wait for it to be over.

Are you an undergraduate, employed or unemployed? Do you want to make money in the comfort of your home? Just click the below. NOTE: no private info is required. http://payfunda.biz/ref/?share=DOSKY

princess said...

It's well

TheRe would soon be wahala when the arrested would reveal weapons are not as adequate. Hope the army know what they are doing.

Can you imagine? Serves them right.

Let Nigerians siddon dey wait make God come from heaven to do something okay.

God help us

Because there are saboteurs among them, that's why.

Boko Haram! Blood thirsty idiots frm d pit of hell. Agburu Ishmael ndi aburu onu

Indeed, story 4 d gods. Jona is working. Linda take note!

And they say GEJ is clueless...Mr. President, u will win the saboteurs!..and the election..just keep it up!

To our tent oh Niger Deltans

feel so sorry for the villagers