Prof. Pat Utomi writes on the controversial Charles Soludo article | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 30 January 2015

Prof. Pat Utomi writes on the controversial Charles Soludo article

Professor of political economy and former presidential candidate Pat Utomi shared this on his Facebook this morning. Read and tell us what you think... 
The firestorm generated by Chukwuma Soludo’s well reasoned commentary on the place of issues in the 2015 electioneering campaign has somehow become the core of the campaign. What a way to come from outside and define agenda.
Of course I do not agree with all the points marshaled by the erstwhile CBN Governor and Patito’s Gang member, but not to commend his citizen duty of engagement or indicate as reprehensible the resort to ad hominen bashing of the former Economic Adviser instead of providing Facts to counter the views he had raised. 
That is issues based campaign. I will myself raise logic to support and dispute some of the points in the Soludo intervention.

I do agree with Soludo that issues matter. I also think that those who turn to divisive emotion-laden typecasting of others rather than issues pertaining to the well being of the Nigerian people do a grave disservice not only to democracy but to the long term common Good of all.

The Soludo thrust of criticism sounds like an attack on the statist perspective that intervention can generate jobs and economic growth. Even as one who likes to see government out of the way, I find the approach worrying because beyond the Keynesian logic that brought the ultimate capitalist state, the US, out of the Great Depression with initiatives like the Tennessee Valley Authority in Infrastructure, there is more recent example of post 2008 global financial crisis and the stimulus packages of the Obama Administration, and now Europe turning to Quantitative Easing, not to knock the wall street / Main street tag team approach to ensuring prosperity. Soludo’s solutions sometimes sounded like Deepak Lal on the poverty of Development Economics. I think that if we see current oil price slum as an opportunity rather than a threat then we have to see a role for government in the way Lee Kuan Yew used state intervention when Singapore was prostrate in 1965, as Nigeria is today.

This leads to another point I am not in agreement with Soludo on. He talks about cost of programmes and the fact that low oil prices mean you cannot finance a big idea. In 1965 Singapore’s main revenues came from rent for the British Naval Base and the British had decided to shut all bases east of Eden. The decision of leaders of the United Malay, National Organisational (UMNO) to eject Singapore from the Federation that was thought to be the only hope left. Singapore, out of pocket, and all dressed up with nowhere to go. Then they rolled up their sleeves, got creative, transmitted the right values and found leadership that inspired and had integrity. Today the small country probably has the largest concentration of billionaires per capital on earth.

Here in Nigeria, shortly after self government, in the 1950’s, Nnamdi Azikiwe as Premier of Eastern Region was anxious to match the free education policy of Chief Obafemi Awolowo. Palm Produce did not fetch as much as Cocoa in the Market. The civil servants led by the new Permanent Secretary in Finance, Chief Jerome Udoji thought it could not be done because of limitations of money. Zik insisted and accused Udoji, in Parliament, of trying to sabotage his government. After 40 percent of the Eastern Nigeria budget of 1957 had gone to education and was still inadequate, the Ugoji team suggested the introduction of fees for Primary 1 and Primary 5. But leadership kicked in. A philosophy called “Ibu anyi danda” raised a formula that created a partnership between government, the communities and missionaries that enabled the East leapfrog the gap in education between the East and West.
In both cases the difference was leadership. At the centre in Abuja for some reason that may be from exposure, or whatever, does not inspire as Lee Kuan Yew, Nnamdi Azikiwe and Michael Okpara did. Money is not everything in making dreams come through.

Among the many lessons we will learn, if we begin to operationalize the cash transfers initiative of APC, a concept that helped Inatio Da Silva pull Brazil out of ‘potential’ into a global economic powerhouse, is that we may not need as much cash as Soludo projects and that corruption and goal displacement is so high in a bloated public service that the savings will more than be adequate. Besides from Kayode Fayemi and Rauf Aregbesola we learn that with such programmes in Ekiti and Osun that the numbers projected are often exaggerated. Given our abuse of census we are likely to find much fewer people in those brackets. Check with the Bill Gates Foundation on satellite imagery studies of target population groups.
Having stated my major point of disagreement, it is useful to reflect on some other points raised by Soludo.
His broadside on austerity measures pronouncement and the road to austerity is a true, fair and proper read. No question that we walked with our eyes open into a repeat of 1982. In many of my speeches and my 2006 book WHY NATIONS Are Poor, I recall how the Iranian revolution pushed oil prices into the stratosphere of USD 40 a barrel. We went reckless with champagne and even importing sand and big men bought Rolls Royces. We managed to borrow ourselves into a dept trap. On this round we moved up private jets and buying up Dubai.
When this current boom started with India Rising and China producing I recall on several occasions calling for fiscal responsibility compact in which flows into the distributable pool, the FAC account, not go above $40 a barrel, with additional revenues up to $70 a barrel price going to a stabilization fund. This fund would be available were prices to drop below $40 to be used to ensure a constant budget funding up $40 in lean times. Beyond $70 it should flow into a future fund. I have been singing this song for several years but the technocrats say the politicians insist on sharing the whole money and say of talk about saving for a rainy day that it is pointless planning for the rain when it was already pouring torrents. My retort was what is so wrong in resigning to make a point and force public conversation to educate the people because these politicians may be greedy but they surely do not hate their children. They have only acted in ignorance. I point them to young Mahathir Mohammed in Malaysia who disagreed with the position of the then Prime Minister and spoke up. He was dropped from the government where he was a junior minister, and expelled from The United Malay National Organization (UMNO) the dominant party at that time. Out of government he wrote a book: The Malay Dilemma. That triggered soul searching that finished with the resignation of the Prime Minister. He was brought back into the Party. Not long after Dr Mahathir Ibn Mohammed became Prime Minister and the history of Malaysia changed for good.
What does it take to lead such change- Genius? No. I draw from the Ronald Reagan experience in the US. President Reagan was not a genius. Some think he probably already had Alzheimer disease when he entered the White house. But his values were clear as was his vision. He found the right people and an America, in retreat, was revitalized, opening the way for teen and twenty American young stars to create a new industry with the .com revolution. Ironically, I have said elsewhere that the Buhari movement somehow reminds me of the coming of Ronald Reagan.

Let me close with a caveat. My response is a citizen response. My prism on this is not partisan. But I am a card carrying member of the APC. The emergence of the APC is a culmination of my life’s quest as an institutionalist to see the dynamic of two balanced political parties. I was sure that without competition between parties that are equals progress would continue to elude Nigeria So I longed for and worked for the scenario we have today. But I see in the torrent of abuse on Chukwumah Soludo for speaking truth to power and worry this thing we have worked hard for, not in any pursuit of any self interest, but for the advance of the common good, could be threatened by those who fail to understand the very idea of the public squares and the triumph of the ideas rather than emotional outbursts that result in tension and violence.

I have read unprintable things on line and in so many e-groups, some more offensive than Charlie Hebdo cartoons from both sides. This is poison we must curb. It is a double blow when those who follow this track are well educated. So let us leave this business of certificates and uncompleted PHDs and hateful portrayals of opponents in caricature from the cross to throw backs of earlier life of candidates that seem like Hitler’s Goebbels at work let’s examine vision of society of challenges and the record of incumbents. Lets ask people, regarding incumbents, is your life better today than it was four years ago and to the challengers how can you make these same lives much better four years from now. To win elections from intimidation, a shower of insults and trying to diminish opponents rather than engage their minds can only produce pyrrhic victory. 

The worst such “victory” would be to win an election and lose a nation through bitterness that makes it difficult to get people to work together to advance the shared good of the people. For people like me the public sphere is about the pursuit of the elevated immortality. This comes when you do what is right and if providence beckons, as it did for Mahathir Mohammed, lee Kuan Yew and Ronald Reagan then you live a name that time cannot find an eraser to rub off. Those who negate the opportunity for progress to blossom and the triumph of the human spirit to bring progress deserved die a thousand times while they still inhale and exhale no matter the title they get for their place is in infamy.

PU

129 comments:

At least he admitted Soludo's pice was well-reasoned!

No comment.

@Sophia Stephen

"But I see in the torrent of abuse on Chukwumah Soludo for speaking truth to power and worry this thing we have worked hard for, not in any pursuit of any self interest, but for the advance of the common good, could be threatened by those who fail to understand the very idea of the public squares and the triumph of the ideas rather than emotional outbursts that result in tension and violence"
He couldn't have said it any better, I don't know what they need us do again, if you as a concerned citizen decides to come down from the fence and contribute in the national polity, you'll be labeled a member of one political party or group. Its quite unfortunate Soludo as an authority in that field gave his opinion,but instead of attacking the salient issues he raised, his person was attacked.

A logical reasoning there without any abusive words. May the wellspring of ur knowledge never go dry

Linda, you de read this long, long tin wey you de post for us? Yougo just de punish sombori....

everybody must have something to say.. but only the mouthed one would be listen to..

TOO MUCH GRAMMAR PROF...LIB READERS CANT UNDERSTAND THIS.THEY ARE MOSTLY DULL YOUTHS WHO LISTEN TO WIZKID AND OLAMIDE

This ppl think we have nothing to do, kinda jobless with their long essay. Save it for another day

Well said, well written. Charles should have know better than joining Buhari's band wagon.

Dozed off after the first 2 paragraph! But he sounded like he knew what he was saying!

Pere Jay said...

I hear

TO THINK THAT I UNDERSTAND ENGLISH. THANK GOD THIS WAS NOT USED IN MY EXAM FOR ME TO SUMMARIZE. I DIE WELL!! THERE IS ENGLISH AND THERE IS ENGLISH. LOL

Too long die.....

TO THINK THAT I UNDERSTAND ENGLISH. THANK GOD THIS WAS NOT USED IN MY EXAM FOR ME TO SUMMARIZE. I DIE WELL!! THERE IS ENGLISH AND THERE IS ENGLISH. LOL

What a good writeup........no excoriation

Dnt hv de strength 2 read now but wil do dat much later. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

APC card carrier.. Ok!

Akuko

And here come a lazy reader!!!

Too long to read mbok

@Charles Soludos write up is commendable... But if u read between the "lines"(article) u wil observe that @Charles has a personal beef with @Good luck Jonathan's government.., so with that, I can't take him seriously

ANYA IKENGA said...

Good writ Up but encourage Buhari to go for the NEDG debate. Even wit expo he can still tell us what he wants to do. Not singing about corruption which has been with us even when Utomi was adviser to Shagari.

ATM. said...

Prof. Pat Utomi stated his disagreement in an intelligent and matured way. You see Linda, we risk throwing the baby and the bathwater when our passion becomes a raging flood that sweeps away reason and structural facts. He touched both sides of the coin on Soludo's article. This is what we want and not insults.

Beatty A said...

God bless you sir.We know we can rely on our dear renowned prof to give a balanced,profound and well researched answer to lay aside self serving motives and put what matters:Nigeria first.

Richie said...

Somebody please read this and summerise it to me! I have work to do. Such a willy willy write up.

Richard was here.

Well said.My good peopl,let's reason within ourselves,do we want the status quo to continue?This round tripping of reasources,going back to few cabalistic individuals,who lack common sense and human feeling.It is time for a change.Pls don't be afraid to try new things.The ruling party has shown time without number that they lack think-tanks,economic drivers and committed individual to the foremost tasks of fighting corruption.Let us in one voice vote them out despite our religious/ethnic stance!Change is now brothers and sisters!

Obi Ananti said...

Nope not reading his jargon

He should use simple, easy to comprehend grammar.

Well said, had to read some sentences more than once though

Nice one. This makes sense.

Niyi said...

When intellectuals speaks , it's not hard to tell! Linda pls post sensible stuff like this and not the insults of Doyin okupe and co.

Osafele Fredrick said...

This is war of words

Niyi said...

When intellectuals speaks , it's not hard to tell! Linda pls post sensible stuff like this and not the insults of Doyin okupe and co.

Niyi said...

REAL. PIKIN said...

So much turenshi GEJ 2015!!!

Wow!

Thank God d fact r b tabled down for all to see and read to b better enlighten and educated concerning issues dat has b turned to divisional side's and as arise a lot of controversy.

THUMBS UP to Prof. Pat Utomi.
God bless him abundantly.

Navi Henry said...

Prof. Pat Utomi "Nwafor Igbo, I ga di ndu na'eziokwu" forget those mad dogs surrounding our president that attack anyone who says or writes the truth, they are ones misleading the good man in GEJ

O.M.A. said...

Lovely piece.. very objective.

Timi noni said...

What'd fun is he saying? Speak English Prof!

trash

Timi noni said...

What'd fun is he saying? Speak English Prof!

This is very mature issue based contribution,pls less continue like this

Roland Olusola Oluwafemi said...

Soludo should stop talking and respect public, that is not what we need for the country right now

Layo said...

When intelligent people speak, you can not but concur. You just gained more respect from me prof Utomi. Hats off to you.

GEJ till 2019, Pat go sit someplace dirty.

Wetin we no go hear chai.

We just need fathers that plant tree they know they will not sit under it shade.
lekyan2002@yahoo.com

Donnel Chime said...

The only thing I can take from your thesis is that yes, it is awesome to have a competing party rather than a two party system. The coming of APC is welcomed as it will keep the ruling party on their toes. But then the comparison of Buhari to Reagan is absolutely obtuse, facile, puerile and a gross insult to the person of Reagan. There exist no grounds whatsoever for that reference. Deep down in your mind you know that, but for the sake of your being an APC card carying member. On Soludos piece, it's riddled with misinformation and bedevilled with crass assumptions and need to get attention and become relevant. It's good we've finally have a strong "two party system". Let APC restrategise and come out in 2019 with a strong credible and purposeful presidential flag bearer. Then we will look intently!

TEEMAK said...

What an intelligent response....

Prayers for GEJ & PDP Supporters

Jonathan/PDP promised us electricity.

*If you're a Nigerian living in the dark and you said you want to continue with PDP/GEJ's government, you will remain in the dark for the rest of your life.

Jonathan/PDP promised us Security.

*If you're a Nigerian living without an adequate security and you said you want to continue with PDP/GEJ's government, you will continue living in fear.

Jonathan/PDP promised to create jobs for all Nigerians.

*If you're a Nigerian, jobless or without a good job and insist you want to continue with PDP/GEJ's government, You will remain jobless for the rest of yourself.

Jonathan/PDP promised Health care reform.

*If you're a Nigerian with no access to quality health care and you said you want to continue with PDP/GEJ's government, you will remain living in sickness.

Jonathan/PDP promised qualitative and competitive education.

*If you're Nigerian and you witnessed the ASUU strike during GEJ administration that lasted almost a year and you insist on PDP/GEJ's government, good things will go on strike in your life.

Jonathan/PDP promised to Fight corruption.

*If you're a Nigerian and can see the level of corruption in the system but you insist on PDP/GEJ's government, your system will remain corrupt.

Jonathan/PDP promised to fight Injustice.

*If you're a Nigeria and you can see the level of injustice in the country but you said you want to continue with PDP/GEJ's government. Nigerian Police/Military will harrass you and no justice will be done.

If you're a True PDP/GEJ supporter and you can't say AMEN to this, shame on you.
By DazzlingSmile •

Well said Niyi, absolutely intellectual.

Charlie said...

On Point... well said prof

A balanced view. APC should nominate such persons to represent them - and they will have a landslide. Clearly we need wise and good men in the helm of affairs in Nigeria. That is the only way forward.
@ Linda - have you noticed the few comments to this post. This shows the kind of persons the blog attracts. May be raising the quality of content may help. My thoughts though.

Sensei Utomi's got mouth sha!well said Sir, well said indeed!

I agree with u 100%

Too long a story.... Me no fit read all dis one.

Well ... I suppose it says a lot that even when a salient point knocks you in the face..your best response is to mock the message.. You as a person totally deserve a GEJ government as your reply reeks of a total lack of baseline common sense... A cohort of yourself, FFK and Dokupe... PDP !

It's always a great feeling when creative minds speak with passion.... love the article

Ebere said...

Word.

well spoken. everyone fighting for their own good. naija for real

And the drama continues.....Nigerian movie really have something to act upon....

••••••QUEENMAYA•••••••

DEARSTAN said...

Wonderful article prof. some Nigerians keep screaming GEJ till 2019. Fools

Good and well articulated...

This is unnecessarily too academic.

The prof could have made his points less cumbersome for all to digest.

Both parties engage in diatribes, and so do their followers. GEJ is insulted everyday by people who could be his children or nephews and nieces, Nobody says to them ''HUSH!"

The truth of the matter is, APC governs Lagos, and everyone's life isn't an ELDORADO. Their change is skewed towards the friends of Tinubu in Lekki, Ikoyi and Victoria Island. They don't have plans for the common man.

The New Lagos they are building, how much of it is designed to be affordable by the common man?

Mind you all,

GEJ wins it.

#SAIJONATHAN

well spoken..

when the likes of Soludo, Fayemi and Utomi speak, it does make me still have hope for Nigeria as a whole. But i cant say the same for likes of Fayose, Femi Fani-Kayode and Okupe

No much comments here, I laff lyk a common man, all dese ppl d@ pick up der fon 2 comment on any breeze d@ blows passed, have opened and closed, no way 2 assimilate 2 to 3 words and get a meaning, LWKMH... Give away blood go dey hot...

It's only the blind that will Generate his own power, drill his own borehole for water, provide security for himself, pay multiple tax with no good roads to commute, and yet is happy to dust his PVC and ready to vote in the same person who subjected him to such torture. Someone has ruled you 6 years and yet despite your church prayers that your life last year should not be better than this year, 6 years after you are worst off. You certainly will remain blind if you do not act.

paul aina said...

This is purely a robust debate that is germane to national development and not verbal attack
Great minds thinks alike,enough of living this country in the hands of mediocres

Kayode said...

This election is about economics and the future of our country.
Dear Friends, Vote your conscience. Don't be manipulated. If your pastor says don't vote for a Muslim, ask him if Daniel served a saint; whether Modeccai did not serve King Ahaseurus and if Joseph was not a prime Minister under Pharaoh.This election is not about North versus South, nor is it Christian versus Muslim. It is about Nigeria and good governance. Don't allow politicians divide us. When they share money, they don't talk about religion. When they want donations from Aliko Dangote, they don't remember he is a Muslim. When they enter an aircraft, they don't ask the religious faith of the pilot. When their bosses are atheists, they don't resign from the job. When an Alhaji gives them contracts, they don't reject it.They and their wives go to Dubai to spend money. Dubai is in United Arab Emirate but they have no problems buying houses in Dubai. But when it comes to politics back home, they say they want to "ISLAMIZE" you. Yet, some of these people were spiritual consultants to Abacha. Vote your conscience. If you want to vote for Jonathan, vote for him based on your conviction that he has performed in your estimation and not because he is a "Christian". If you want to vote for Buhari, vote for him because you feel disenchanted with Jonathan's government, not because he is a Muslim. All those insulting President Jonathan should stop henceforth. He's still our President and he deserves our respect.

Weldone Prof

This is news. Not all those shallow, meaningless news saying omotola came in a limo, dis person bought dis ride, so so and so person wears dis watch.

TIANA said...

In other words, vote GMB FOR PRESIDENT. VOTE JIMI AGBAJE FOR GOVERNOR. It's never about the party but what the candidates have to offer.

Goodluck Till2019 said...

Your head dey there. GEJ till 2019.

If the likes of Pat Utomi are with GMB, it convince s me more where to put my vote.

Linda please help me with a panadol.

Goodluck Till2019 said...

"In 1965 Singapore’s main revenues came from rent for the British Naval Base and the British had decided to shut all bases east of Eden. The decision of leaders of the United Malay, National Organisational (UMNO) to eject Singapore from the Federation that was thought to be the only hope left. Singapore, out of pocket, and all dressed up with nowhere to go. Then they rolled up their sleeves, got creative, transmitted the right values and found leadership that inspired and had integrity. Today the small country probably has the largest concentration of billionaires per capital on earth."

There is always a way out. Soludo I think has melted in his own solution.

Vote GEJ. ##VoteWisely

Thank you.

Rotimi Lawanson said...

Prof Utomi thank you very much. AT least you are bold enough to state your position. What we intellectuals find very dishonest is for Soludo to pretend as if he is proffering advice when he is actually indirectly lobbying for a position. The question i have to ask is this. He has not spoken for the past four years. If he was so concerned about the economy and not his career advancement, why didn't he speak up until now? Why wait until an election before feigning interest? We saw through his dishonest posture. This man did the same thing in 2010 when he abused Jonathan and sided with Atiku because he thought Atiku will win the primaries. This same man wanted to be VP under Yaradua, then tried to renew his CBN tenure and failed then tried to be Governor twice and failed. He is being abused because he used abusive comments. How can he say that his fellow intellectuals know nothing? In his typical manner with his over bloated ego, he is basically telling everyone he is the solution. What a load of nonsense. We cannot be deceived by anyone anymore.

Charles Soludo's piece had truths in it but what made some of it offensive is his intellectual masturbation. He disparaged the present economic team and presented himself as a wonder and hero who perfectly managed things when he was in office. His reference to his globetrotting and international ways smacked of self aggrandizement as well. Suffice to say, he could have made all his points without presenting himself as professor okachamara aka ITK. as for this Pat UTomi piece, I read it but oh boy, it was a real example of that saying which goes....do not purchase what you can buy. Now, he has only succeeded in educating other economists like himself and not the ordinary masses cos I struggled to understand half of what he said.

they'll soon respond to Utomi too. I agree with him with the fact that as government officials if they must respond they should respond with proof to counter what Soludo said not call him names and bash him with insults

Unfortunately, I had to stop reading when I got to the spot wherein he stated that he's a card carrying member of APC. No matter how he tries to portray this write up as non partisan, and that it was borne of of his altruistic zeal for the country, I will not be convinced. His attempt to hide the partisan nature of this article by glossing over his weak attempt to disagree with the prof, has failed woefully. This is nothing but another partisan attack on PDP.
Professor Chukwuma Soludo deserved all that came his way and much more for doing a hatchet job for the APC. If I were to be in his shoes, and wanted to write a non partisan discuss on the economy, I must make sure that my article does not only appear unaligned, but actually is unaligned. His article was a deliberate attack piece against the government, and I won't be surprised, if he was actually paid to write that. He devoted 98% of it attacking the government and ended up given it an F. And what did he write about the APC? Nothing, only to state that it has not shown yet that it has the capacity to bring about a better economy. Meanwhile, he failed to make the observation that most of the members of APC were ex members of PDP that were part and parcel of the government. Little wonder the honorable minister of finance had to come for him in a very hard way. I don't blame her. No government worth it's salt would fold it's hands and watch as it is being excoriated in a partisan manner. No matter how bad this administration may be, I cannot be convinced that it has performed so woefully on the economy that it has to be awarded an f.
One thing that I have noticed with us Nigerians, is that we always try to rewrite history. The economic malaise that we are facing now did not start with jonathan. The corruption that is so endemic now, did not start with him. The numerous societal ills that we are experiencing now also did not start with him. Actually, he inherited all these. What Soludo and his master, obasanjo, are doing now is nothing but a desperate attempt to rewrite history. Corruption was equally endemic when obj was in power. What did he do? He did virtually nothing to fight it, rather, he used the toga of fight against corruption as a means to deal with his enemies, while his friends were running a rough shod over our treasury. On the part of Soludo, he was hailed to the high heavens as the savior of our banking system, only for us to find out that he left us a system that was on the verge of collapse, after he left. Suffice it to state that their attempt to rewrite history is not convincing enough. They have to try harder. Nigerians are now wiser.
Mind you, I'm not a card carrying member of either party, but truth must be told at all times.

Chyke
City: Unknown.

This is so much sense! My respect for this man has immensely increased. Such an objective analysis based on facts, and I'm sure that caveat is to pre-empt the counters.

Mehn well said

A civilized democracy is second to none.

they are free to confuse us

This are the kind of people we need as leaders, not when one gets all the educational qualification without same reflecting on leadership style

"Quite unfortunate after gigantic expression of ingenuity( not wisdom) but intelligence acquired by reading too much and knowing nothing ,he ended up pivoting himself by defending his interest as core APC driver.if not why will you come out to defend a Soludo who printed and ate money for 5 years and was not satisfied and instead of moralizing himself with the accolades and respect he got during his tenure ,he resented to power intoxication and killed his integrity. sweet democracy ......Silkyguy

talk2frankky said...

GEJ and madam helicopter ghele go hear.
Nigeria need to put up some real SWOT analysis in order to turn our weakness to strength but at the same time I cant blame Soludo for having a big disdain and pessimistic view of these bunch of rogues and thieves because if we can't even break even to show what we achieved in our time of plenty (when oil was $150pb) how can we then even breakeven and achieve anything when the price has crashed over 70%.
Food for thought.

Prof. Pat Utomi, no matter how u try to sound like a centrist, ur comments are biased. However, it's a welcome lecture which is pleasing to the ears when compared to Reno Omokiri's cheap shots. But, Reagan was elected president in a structured America not an unstructured or semi structured Nigeria. I don't really know much about the remaining guys. Good piece. More intellectual pieces like this please. Thanks.

So what post in Buhari's govt are u gunning for now.... U this rhetoric man. Take several seats cus Buhari will never smell the seat of governance by GOD's grace. All of u pushing him cus GEJ does not consult u and for personal reasons and for being intellectual and political losers will be duely punished by GOD. Pat everyone knows how much of a power hallot u are...let Jonathan offer u some carrot now and u will jump into his wagon..... Disappear already pls

Good points noted but writing like an APC agent that he is and who were all part of the recless spenders. Everybody is free to throw jabs at Mr President but will not enjoy the luxury when and if GMB ever gets there.

I just dey laugh.. .

this is just brilliant...!i love the careful treatment/response he gave to the issues raised....Thank you, Pat Utomi.

-deleayoko@yahoo.com

This is one very objective piece. Soludo said a lot of truth in his piece; whether or not its politically motivated is a different thing entirely. A lot of us are blinded by religious and ethic sentiments so much so we would be smiling and suffering. I pray we wake up and smell the coffee before we all become refugees in this beautiful land.

People with a clear understanding of how the economy works pays less time to abuses and sycophancies.

Straight to the point and with evidence and examples.

A Gud point we'll taken. I tink I share ur school of thot, Pat.

Great mind!!! I started following U sir since the days you modeled Lagos Business School. Your graduates will rule Nigeria economy someday. .

TAOFIQ said...

I REALLY LOVE THIS, I FEEL LINDA SHOULD POST MORE OF THIS AS AGAINST THE NAKED STUFF WE SEE HERE EVERYDAY

This is intellectual talking. Simple and clear. Change is what we need now and Jonathan know it. Waiting for retarded ffk response

Mehn! Mehn! U don't need to wear glasses to see intelligence. After reading this, I'm too an extent disappointed in the party I factitiously support (APC that is), however I'm so so proud, an intelligent man as Pat Utomi, like many others are APC flag bearers. There's therefore no prize for guessing right that this is the right party to support.

I, for a person, wudnt have supported Buhari, but he has too many wise and intelligent people with proof of good works around him that he mos def cannot fail.

These are men of goodwill speaking. I am still very hopeful when i remember that Nigeria as a nation still have great minds and very intelligent people like Prof. Pat Utomi and Charles Soludo.

speaks so much about your audience profile Linda. If na Tonto open nyansh story now comment go reach 1million

He was actually making sense until he landed with his APC brain! Must everything involve party! Mtcheeeeew

M.Blac said...

Wow, what a read. There should be a spot for you in the Buhari lead government. With people like Pat Utomi our great nation can emerge from the abyss.

Thank, you Prof. Beautiful commentary!

I know who i'll vote for now. Thanks Linda. More of these please.

My fellow igbos amaze me. All the ruffles are coming from them. What for? To be seen and noticed for possible posts in a potential up coming government. Please igbo, look right and left, why are you the only ones being blown by this uncertain wind? My advice to Buhari: do not recycle anyone who has passed through the corridors of past Nigerian governments. They are no stars, if they were, it would have been better for us!

The write up was making sense until he admitted that he was a card carrying APC member. Vested interests!

Like serzly did u just say dt... U really must b dumb. Dts why nigeria is where it is with bunch of dumb youths like shine shine who mply cannot read. Ow sad

Well said sir, but I have a problem wit our people any time there is a long article that will make them understand what is really going on in Naija, it's all complain too too too too long, I discover that 80% of Naija people are not intelligent, d only thing they want to read is lies. Wake up people, when oil was booming all governors both PDP and APC sat at a round table in Abuja to share excess money without savings for rainy day. Guys have u ever thought of this. In APC of today the only integrity people I see are Buhari and Prof Osinbajo, all others are rouges starting from Tinubu downward. Buhari 's agenda will start from APC unless he wants to be partial. After all, JEG has taken Naija back to 1982, we want change we pray dat God's will be done.

Well said sir, but I have a problem wit our people any time there is a long article that will make them understand what is really going on in Naija, it's all complain too too too too long, I discover that 80% of Naija people are not intelligent, d only thing they want to read is lies. Wake up people, when oil was booming all governors both PDP and APC sat at a round table in Abuja to share excess money without savings for rainy day. Guys have u ever thought of this. In APC of today the only integrity people I see are Buhari and Prof Osinbajo, all others are rouges starting from Tinubu downward. Buhari 's agenda will start from APC unless he wants to be partial. After all, JEG has taken Naija back to 1982, we want change we pray dat God's will be done. Linda if u like post my comment

Shit!!! Naija youths are so fucking DUMB!! They can't even understand what the man is saying that is why they will support people like Fayose. Then you will all want to go to the US and UK and buy Iphones. Go to Europe to buy Range Rover and G Wagosns. Without creating any value increasing demand for the dollar, making inflation go up and the economy worse. Some pretty dumb shits!!! This country sef. Chai e dey pain me.

Well spoken Prof!!! If not for anything else ,for your being open by making it known to the public the party you belong to. Sincerely I am very proud of you,with elites like you we can make head way.....

Mrs CJ said...

Exactly.

gab2shoes said...

Abeg linda, dey ask for summarized writeup...how dis matter concern mathayas...

The gods are wise
Gab2shoessaysso

U can't even read n contribute positively that's y u make silly coments. Agbaya

Itunu said...

I will vote APC just because PaT Utomi will then have a chance of being a part of the economic team and possible president of Nigeria. Imagine i this guy became our president.....we will have someone who we all can be proud of! May God give us credible and honest leaders whi have a good name to protect

James Olorunosebi said...

Good piece Pat. Good job clearing some areas and shedding good light and possibilities.

Accepted!Naija nids change.But plz not Buhari

Doc A said...

And this is how intellectuals debate politics in a civilized society!

This is my uncle Pat! Imagine if all our leadership reasoned and spoke like him.

My first time here.... If majority of our youths are refusing to read. or cannot comprehend a straightforward piece like this or blatantly refuse to get involved in a discuss about their future, their country and their common wealth, electing rather to bury their heads in the sand like the ostrich.... Nigeria has a big problem

His submission on being a card carrying APC member is only to clear your doubt and make you see that his review is non partisan

How did you make it through school? Dat's if u attended any though. ..

Well articulated response/article at the right time, may God bless you sir

Ketofied Tisto said...

Most sensible read ever! He raised some objections to Soludo's article and buttressed his reasons with examples. My fear is that my people are overly sentimental and emotional that even when faced with the truth we would rather look the other way.
I respect this man a lot. I pray every day for my country. We deserve better! We deserve change.

Utuocha said...

Well spoken.

I so agree Bona! I am tired,drained, exhausted! These politicians never want to tackle issues, Never!! It makes me very sad when even the technocrats run away from same. How is it NOI comes back with insults for Soludo rather than take him on on issues raised. Anyway, I kknow change is in the air. O ga e bi very soon!!

Lol!!! ROTFLMAO!!! You got that right. Sooo on the money!! They're so dull it's unbelievable. They'll tell u now how this is too long.

"My prism on this is not partisan. But I am a card carrying member of the APC" lol! I get where your sentiments are coming from. #TO BE OR NOT TO BE#

soludo is brilliant i salute u utomi,, forget those ladies fighting soludo lol

Ruddee said...

State intervention and Quantitative Easing whilst the same people who got us in the mess in the first place are still in government is a bit of joke and irresponsible Mr utomi. Your opinion on how we approach our issues are a bit of fairy tale, asking Nigerians to dig dip, when the politicians in government are sniffing around anywhere they can enrich themselves.Nigerian Senators are still one of the highest paid in the world and yet then couldn't put together a plan to diversify the economy and these are the same group of people the you expect us to be printing money for (QE) to improve the economy.

No movie, babes... clear yur eyes.

Comment reserved